paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ultraback Tactical Vest incorporates everything into it that you might need on the playing field. It's modular, Special Forces inspired design lets you configure it how you want. Whether you want to wear the packs horizontal or vertical its very easy to switch the setup. You can also add or take away the tank holder attachment if you want to run a remote setup! When playing with friends with these vests you can toss a whole attachment pack to them that they can secure it right onto their vest.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Kaizur Monday, March 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus w/:
ESP frame
Ricochet AK
Bandit Bolt
CP Barrel
Strengths: The vest is fully adjustable. The pods don't bounce around. It keeps me warm during winter games. The pouches are held on with velcro so you can take them off and use other ones, etc. The mask clip comes in handy when I'm not playing. The two lower pockets allow you to carry nades easily. The front pouch is ideal for holding allen keys, etc.
Weaknesses: You have to hand wash the vest. Although this vest keeps you warm in the winter, is gets too hot in the summer...
Conclusion: Besides the minor draw-backs, this is an excellent vest. I got mine off of eBay, so I got a good price! :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Blackhawk Omega Tactical Vest and 6+1 harness with suspenders
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator (orange) - Stock with blue 12v revolution
Strengths: You look hardcore. Protects you. You can carry almost everything...money, tools, etc. I like using this better than my 6+1 harness because its less bulky and doesn't shift that much. I like my Blackhawk vest better though! BTW...my friends thing I'm a wussy because I am using a padded vest and they always laugh at the logo. Tourney play NO...walk on, OK (all the kids n newbies will think your badass but pros will laugh at you)
Weaknesses: Can't hold 140rd tubes...have to stick with the 100rd tubes. won't fit 6 that well but 4 ok. really really humid inside in the hot weather but keeps you warm in the winter. red logo makes you a primary target like a bulls eye.

It would be a lot better if the pods were in the front instead of the back so it would be easier to access and thats how real tactical vests are set up...everything is in the front.

Tourney play NO...walk on, OK (pros will laugh at you).

YOUR NOT GOING TO WAR...YOU PLAYING PAINTBALL...would you run up to someone to try and bunker him if he has a AK-47??? See my point. This is the vest to wear for authentic war games but not tourney...rec games, maybe.
Conclusion: Walk on people should get it because it's fun to use (do something about the logo!). Tourney players need to stay away!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Monday, September 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops "Dagger" vest
ICS Vests back in the day
various pod packs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Special Ops air thru stock setup with remote, Centerflag air tank with sliding valve
Strengths: Solid customer service, well constructed and innovative design
Weaknesses: No room to add on future upgrades or pouches
Review: Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery, which is why this product has been ripped off and made as a knock-off by another company. The original is still the best.

I got my Flurry vest a long time ago, and also got a pod pack to go along with it. The velcro panel on the back had me worried for burr catching, but that's never been an issue. Pods are held on securely, and I've never had an issue with the velcro failing at any time.

The big problems are that I'm a large guy, so I had to be somewhat creative in how I adjusted my vest. The shoulder straps had to be let out almost the whole way. The guy who runs Flurry lives in my area, and plays at the field I play at. He worked with me for a few minutes adjusting pieces, then gave me some extra velcro so that the vest would sit comfortably on my shoulders. He also replaced defective parts, no questions asked. I can admire that.

It does come with some unique features, like the goggle holder strap and the cell phone / radio holder. The front pockets are deep, and large enough to hold the hugest paint grenade you can imagine. The chest pocket has a velcro name tape on it, which is handy so people don't just yell "hey you" all day.

However, the vest isn't modular or adjustable, so the pockets you got are the pockets you got. Not that big a problem, but MOLLE vests spoiled me for pick-n-choose mods. But you can adjust the back to fit as few or many pods as you need to carry. This came in handy when I was running a mission that I only needed 2 pods. I ripped off panels until I had what I needed, and ran the mission. 4 seconds of time, and I was off.

In summer the vest can get hot, as do all vests. But the hydration pack in the back can help solve that. I also removed the foam right away, knowing I'd be sweating in it.
Conclusion: For the customer service alone, this is a product worth buying. If you're a hardcore scenario player, you will like this vest. The only reason I stopped using mine is that I got a MOLLE vest now. But I still keep the Flurry vest because when I loan stuff out, I like to loan out quality. And this vest is certainly high quality.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

louiepb Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none other then standard 6+1 harnesses.
Marker Setup: A5 with flatline
Strengths: Ample room to carry ur extra paint and gear. Great modular design.
Weaknesses: weird fit for larger players. Elastic straps are useless.
Review: Got the new flurry vest 2 in digital camo. GREAT PIECE OF GEAR! your able to carry about 1000 rounds on you depending on ur pod size and you can run a remote line or jsut carry spear air tank. Vest is well constructed. Bladder in the back is a BLESSING when ur dying of thurst.

Now a word of advice....After using the vest in the summer you will get VERY HOT......i would recommend if its a warm day that you remove the front and back foam pads. YOU WILL OVERHEAT...i had to sit out a game and take my vest off cause i was about to die! Flurry says u can carry 3 pods on each of the modules they give u. No WAY! There is a center folded elastic strap yes but getting a pod in and out of the strap in next to impossible. Do even attempt it during a live game. However i did find a use for them, 2 actually. 1. u can force a pod in the staps b4 u get to the field and u can hold 2-3 paint gernades in the pods. Or 2 u can force in a bottle of water and yank it out when ur in the safe zone.....But dont try putting it back in ull NEVER get it back in! lol
Conclusion: Great vest...A MUST have in my opinion for any woodsball player. Invest in a bladder for this vest u wont be sorry
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moboley Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ronin Gear 4+1, basic harness and it doesn't compare to the Flurry Vest.
Marker Setup: A-5; E-Grip Installed; Flatline Barrel w/ SD Shroud; EZ Sling; Lapco Offset Sight Mount; Tapco Saw Stock; Shocktech Supafly Bolt; JCS Red Hot Power Tube; Cops911 Red Barrel Bag; Dead-On Front Grip; 42mm Red Dot Sight. COMING SOON: JCS 4 Rail Shroud and RAP4 Mini M-203 Launcher.
Strengths: -Comfortable, Secure, Easy to use, Modular Pod Setup, Extra Gear Pouches and the Mask Strap!
Weaknesses: Difficult to see stuff in pouches with mask on, Not the Emissary
Review: I purchased this vest after looking at some of the more expensive custom vests from Cops911 and other sites. I purchased the Black one, because at the time I had a thing for the movies S.W.A.T. and Bad Boys 2. I have used this at every event I attended in 2004 and now into 2005. This vest is for a lack of a better word: perfect. It is comfortable and distributes the weight of the vest evenly. I'm a bigger guy (6'1", 275), so I had to be the extender straps, which were very easy to install. Everything uses Velcro and it is strong. I've never lost a tank pouch, which also has a clip, or the pod holders. I also purchased and extra pod attachment, so I can carry 6 pods into the field. My squadmates liked this vest so much, that 4 out of 6 of us own one now. It is that good. I've also sewn on a few patches and they hold strong to the vest. The small front pouches I typically use for grenades, but I have seen them used for small 100 round pods.

Personalized Vests or Vests that are military in nature but adapted for paintball are good, but this vest is universal and made strictly for paintball. The only real down side to the original Ultraback vest is that it is not the Emissary Vest. I keep hoping that Flurry will produce a separate Radio Pouch.

Incidentally, If I go out to play supression gunner in a scenario game and want to carry extra paint, I throw on my Ronin Gear 4+1 w/ Suspenders underneath my Flurry Vest. It hangs just below my vest and is perfect for carrying more paint and doesn't interfere at all.
Conclusion: If you don't have the money for the Emissary, get the original Ultraback cheap. If you don't have the money for the Ultraback, save your money til you do. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 8:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thepatman Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt 2-pod harness
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Polished internals
J&J 12" Ceramic barrel
Rocket Cock II
Strengths: Very comfortable and durable. Holds lots of paint and has plenty of accessory pockets
Weaknesses: Must be careful with pod placement.
Review: I needed to get a new pod holder - the cheapie two-podder I bought was not working for me in fast situations. I was also seriously considering going remote on my air.

This vest comes with two 2+1 pod holders and a tank holder. The back of the vest from waist to shoulder blades is velcro. The pod holders and tank holder are all highly movable and adjustable. This alone is worth the price to me. I can adjust the weight to better distribute across my back and shoulders. This also allows you to transfer some of the weight up onto your shoulders. If you have any back issues, this is the way to go.

The pod holders are easy to release. If you choose to have the pods upside down, there's a pull strap on the velcro to allow you to grab-and-yank. Very quick to grab a pod when you need it.

The tank holder has a connection at the back of your neck which allows you to latch the tank up onto the shoulders. This helps keep the tank from bouncing around too much.

The front pockets are very useful. I keep a Leatherman in one for quick access when I need it.

The vest is highly adjustable. There are adjustable Velcro straps at the sides and on the shoulders. You can fit the vest to you very easily.

I've played remote with this vest many times now, and I can say that I barely feel the tank. It stays in place well, especially with the strap attached.

The vest is also very comfortable. I play four or five straight hours of paintball on the weekends, and I wear the vest the whole time.

The vest has two awesome features - a mask clip and marker loops. The mask clip is easy to use with one hand and lets you hang the mask from the vest. The marker loops allow you to hang the marker from the vest . This is great if you're playing remote and need a free hand for a second - say to put on your mask.

Cons: It does make you a bit warmer. If you take out the padding(easy to do), it does help.

The first time I played, I wore the pod holders as low as I could. This is a mistakte if you crouch! Since the holders have no bottom, if you crouch and push up on the pod, the pod will burst open and spill paint. I moved the pod-holders up higher, and solved the problem. A different pod(lock lid or speed pod) would help that, too.

I highly recommend this product. The extra price over a good harness is veyr much worth it, and the comfort is unmatched.
Conclusion: I don't regret buying this vest at all. It's comfortable, holds a lot of paint, and is very accessible and usable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5paintballer Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a-5 flatline
Strengths: it helps a lot for those long games when u need more paint
Weaknesses: it gets somewhat heavy after a whole game of play
Review: i would definitely buy one because it helps out a lot. i always run out of paint in the middle of a game a need some more but dont want to quit. if ur like me and run out of paint a lot i would recommend this for u.if u dont want to buy one with so many pods i would buy on with like 2-4 pods instead because its less weight and i dont use that much paint unless it is a huge game.
Conclusion: i would buy it cus it will help u out one way or another.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chapel451 Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Four pod harness with remote set up by PMI
Marker Setup: Currently the A-5 with a response trigger
Strengths: Versatile, deflects hits, increase maneuverability
Weaknesses: sometimes pods fly out of the pod harness.
Review: Okay, I finally broke down and bought this product after a few recommendations.
Trust me it is worth the expense. I know dumping 70 bucks on a harness (86 total with pods and extension straps) seems like a lot, but I gained a ton of maneuverability with this rig. I was much faster and lighter on my feet, because the weight of my extra paint and remote set up rested higher on my back, making it more like a back pack. Also the fact that it has the compartments in the front made it easy to carry squeegees, alan renches and my car keys and wallet. It also has a special zipper on the side of one of the front pockets to string your VOX headset for all you players who are using radios.

And you cannot beat the fact that it absorbs shot impact and cleans up very easily. Just hose it off and let it dry over night.

Also, its the most versatile harness out there. You can detach the pod packs or remote packs and configure them in a way that best suits your needs. Everything attaches via very durable velcro. I tried three different set ups, in one day of paintballing.

It is pretty light weight.

Also, it just makes you look like a bad mama jamma.

I have only two compaints.
First, I had a pod fly out of the harness once, which sucks cause I lost it. So be careful if you want to arrange the pods sideways or upside down.

Second, when I first got it was too small for me, and I had to drop a few pounds before I could use it. However, Flurry has since remedied that problem by issuing extension straps. So, for all you big guys, your prayers are answered.
Conclusion: With versatility and practicality this harness is the best out on the market right now. hands down. It will be great to see what Flurry does with the product in the future.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

floatch Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, completely stock... hoping to get an A5.
Strengths: Tough, seems reliable, simple, does the job.
Weaknesses: Might be hot in summer?
Review: Yowza, this thing looks cool. It holds 4 pods nicely, could carry two more with some slight modification (cutting stitching on elastic part). Holds tank as well, HPA or CO2. Holds tank very securely. Plenty of pockets for tools, squeegies, radio, grenades, etc. The logo is a nice subdued color, dark and not too noticable. Very black, if that's your thing. I might paint mine with some camo paint to blend in more... It might be hot in summertime, but I might cut out the slight padding to make it cooler.
Conclusion: Great for carrying paint and tank. Great for lessening the impact paint makes on the body. Super nice people at Flurry, sent me some free stickers when I asked, along with my order. I give it a 9, not because it's not great, but because it'd have to be perfect to get a ten. It really is great, though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrbacon Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Java harness
Game face harness
Marker Setup: dragun T.E.S., shocktech drop forward, warp feed, J & J 16" ceramic, evil valve kit, custom trigger switch
Strengths: Can hold plenty of tubes
Comfortable
Weaknesses: none really, catch greif from the "L33T" players untill they try it
Review: Really like my vest. Modular set up allows it to be customized to how you play. Being a larger body frame regular harnesses are not comfortable and slide around alot. The tactical vest is steady and comfortable. From time to time I catch greif from the L33T players, but have had more than one suddenly change their mind and start using one.
Conclusion: I recomend this vest to anyone, customize the load out to how you play. Ignore the inital taunts by the jelous ones and laugh as they start showing up with vests of their own
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 9:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media