paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ultraback Tactical Vest incorporates everything into it that you might need on the playing field. It's modular, Special Forces inspired design lets you configure it how you want. Whether you want to wear the packs horizontal or vertical its very easy to switch the setup. You can also add or take away the tank holder attachment if you want to run a remote setup! When playing with friends with these vests you can toss a whole attachment pack to them that they can secure it right onto their vest.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, March 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Matrix with mods
Centerflag 68ci 4500
Strengths: Got done using this today at the field and this vest is Sweet. Actually its better than I had thought it would be. Its made really nice and I was able to adjust it to myself perfect. I had my friends take a picture of me too because I looked like an assault trooper. I didn't expect the mask holder to be as useful as it really is and it came in handy. I don't play with a remote so I just carried 4 tubes with me and I placed them pointing down at an angle and thats how I always wanted. It has padding but isn't bulky and I took a couple of bounces today during key situations which was awesome.
Weaknesses: The only thing that I can think of is that the straps on one of the attachments just seem a little short. So they should be longer but I fixed this by just putting my tubes in there and they stretched out some. That was only a minor problem.

I could only order this online at the time because my local store doesn't carry them yet but it was ordered on a tuesday and I got it on thursday!

I wish it came in camo but in reality if you move around when you play camo doesn't really do anything because people dectect the movement but a camo choice would be cool.
Conclusion: I think this is awesome and would recommend it to anybody that asks. This is going to be awesome for the scenario games that I'm playing in and they said that there is a hydration system that fits into the tank holder attachment. I can't wait. Oh I got some free stickers too with my order and it looks awesome on the front of my revvy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

savecore Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
3+1 Harness
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Vertical Feed Autococker
12" Dye Boomstick Barrel
Viewloader Revolution 12v X-Board
Lapco Drop Forward
ACI Coiled Remote
Crossfire Stub Air System
Strengths: At first glance I was really impressed with the design and comfort of the vest after I put it on. The "Flurry Industries" logo on the front isn't really a big deal to me, and if I ever get tired of looking at it I can always go buy a nifty patch from Gadzooks or On Cue to put over it. Although I don't use a 2-way radio while I'm playing recreational paintball, the upper pocket comes in really handy for storing a rag or two to wipe my mask and gun off with.
Weaknesses: My only problem with the vest was that it had no place for a swab (I have a KAPP Flexyswab), and you can't machine wash it. If anyone has machine washed their vest, please email me and tell me how it turned out. But for now, I'll stick to scrubbing it with some soap and water.
Conclusion: Definitely worth every penny that I paid for it despite the small discrepancies.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
4+1, 6+1 harnesses.
Marker Setup: Black Magic 2002 Tourney- with sight rail-full stock version
Odessey Halo Motorized Hopper
T-stock

Stripped down and add-ons for different fields and conditions:
Gen X regulator/Thor adjustable regulator
WGP hinge / Dye Pivot Hinge (4 to 6mm pull)
Smart Part 68/4500 system / CenterFlag HighFlow 68/4500
Lapco 12", 14", and 16" Bigshot / 12", 14" Dye Boomstick / 14" SS 32 Degrees Fiber barrels
Shockteck Bomb-3 way (4-way..?)
Shocktech Rat 3:16 valve
Shocktech Super Fly bolt (piece of crap..rather stick to my stock)

Backup Spyder TL Plus, loaded...with SmartPart 4500/68 nitro system, or interchangeable dual customized 20 oz CO2 system.
Strengths: Very easy access to tank in back, or interchange with 6 of the 100 rnd pods. Very handy pockets in front to strap keys and misc. junks in. Very handy. Good protection from paint that people like to shoot right up close and personal (still have 4 permanent quarter size marks on body from rookie years for 6 years now).
Weaknesses: Hell of a nightmare strapping down Virus 140 and 150 round tubes. Solve problem by purchasing extra velcro straps, sew on by hand to extend another 5 inches, and voi la...instant 150+ rnd tubes modification straps (cost only $10 for modding). The bloody red log gives my position away all the time when the sun hit it for first few times. Easy fix. Cover it up with camo shreds. Perfect blending into the wood area. The padding killed me on hot day. Easy fix. Add a lining silk/rayon/polyester fabric to the inner side, and it's smooth as the baby's bottom, and cool as a nice glass of Cool-Aide.
Conclusion: Good for beginner and advance people, especially shielding from the pains of close encounter (10 feet away) paint shots. Bad for hot places.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various packs, belts etc. to facilitate remote setup and medium ball hauling.
Marker Setup: Autococker, too many to list and not relevant to review.
Strengths: Unbeleivable quality for the price. I read the reviews here before I bought it and they said the quality was outstanding. I still wasn't prepared. I've paid this much before for a belt/remote/pod holder and this is 10 times better. I haven't had a chance to use it yet (been raining for weeks) but just the quality, adjustablility and convenience of this product is aome of the best I've seen in our sport and I've been playing for 10+ years. Something I am leaving out is the innovation this product pushes. It's the first serious made-for-paintball vest of it's kind and they couldn't have made it better. Some of the features were really well thought out and you can tell that it was pain-stakingly designed to be the answer to what paintball enthusiasts like me have been looking for.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far. Some others have mentioned that they should offer choices of colors as far as the Flurry Logo is concerned and I tend to agree. But, I'm not so sure the added cost we would incur for that choice would make it worth it for me. So, for now, I am using a permanent marker(Sharpie) to blacken the logo out.
Conclusion: It is bar none the best single bargain and one of the best overall products I have EVER bought for paintball. It is almost a must-have, and all my friends are wanting or getting one now. Great job Flurry, hope we can expect more of the same in the future.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrFire22 Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
4+1 packs
Marker Setup: AGD minimag , Polished sight rail , SIght , Turbo rev , Lapco SS big shot , Intruder fore grip , Crossfire 88ci tank , BP SS folding stock , Intelliframe blade trigger.
Strengths: The modular design of the back is very cool , being able to arrange your pods any way you like right before a game is great , only bring the number of pods you need and only put them where you want them. I never use remote cause I dont like the hose so I can take 6 140 tubes into a game that I expect to use alot of paint , or just a pair of tubes to the side if I plan on using very little paint. The extra pockets on the front are great for stoing my swab and squegee and my barrell condom. The goggle strap is also usefull.
Weaknesses: The padding on the inside feels kind of cheap and gets warm (doesnt breath as well as I had hoped) I'm pretty thin so if I have three packs installed (6pods) the side adjusters cant atach as far back cause the pods are already using the velcro. Pretty minor stuff. If your looking to play tourney this probably is not the way to go , but if your a hard core rec player like me , it's really great.
Conclusion: Overall this is ALOT better than using a 4+1 pack , and becuase it's modular it's great for the kind of rec play I do , I can take the paint I want and leave the rest of the pods , or load up and lay some serious paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adam Carroll Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BlackHawk Industries Tactical Vest (real life) and PMI 4+1
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom

32 Degrees Expansion Chamber
Custom Products 12' Barrel
32 Degrees Gel Grips
Pro-Team Products Collapsable Stock
PMI 3000psi Coiled Remote
ATN Red-Dot Ultra-Sight
TacStar Weapons Lights System 2000
Strengths: Well first off I've used Tactical Gear in real life (Law enforcement) and this vest is as comfortable and functional as any I've ever worn, the set-up was definitely made by someone who was using their head, it's very well made, the small zipper to run earpieces and mikes for radios, is the best feature for any paintball gear I've ever seen, and the cargo pouches are great for quick access to important items you might need i.e. tools, squeegee's etc, best purchase ever!
Weaknesses: The only thing I didn't like is the company logo in bright red on the chest pocket, but the solution I used was to sew black velcro (loop) over it, and use my velco (hook) nametag to eliminate the problem
Conclusion: If you play any type of paintball buy this vest!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder w/ Hyperframe
Strengths: Very well made. This thing fits me great and I have a fairly decent chest size. You can adjust it to fit you perfectly. It has some padding to it which is great because as a girl I didn't want to wear a regular chest protector and be viewed by other players that I couldn't hack it. plus I didn't want to spend $40 on just some contoured foam with straps like those standard chest protectors.

This vest isn't viewed as a chest protector but a full assault rig when I'm on the field. It feels good when you are one of the few girls out there playing and your team is asking you to be the "general".

I really like the design and all the features it has. I'm notorious for leaving my mask in the staging area and the mask clip helps me alot.

The attachments stay secured to the vest really well and have not even come anywhere close to falling off like I questioned when I first got it. Then again I don't think a company would release a product as engineered like this that had stuff falling off.
Weaknesses: the only thing bad that I can say about the vest is that the straps should be a tad bit longer so its easier to close them using 140 round tubes.

They ran out of stickers to give me BUT... they said that they would send them to me as soon as they got some more in. So thats not bad.
Conclusion: This product is great and some of the guys at my field got some of these vests after they saw mine.

I think it is a great new product and it works well.

Plus the guy on their website is sooooo HOT! mmm mmm good!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt slampack
ronin gear
Marker Setup: black magic cocker - eclipse hinge trigger, riochet 2k, soon: bomb 3-way, supafly bolt

2k1 c&c angel lcd - stock, aside from a flame warped dropforward & cp on/off asa. i won it last week for free. after using it, i feel guilty for loving it so much since i'm a cocker kid
Strengths: very surprised at the great quality of the vest and how bad @ss it looks. fits any size, the vest is made is separated in two halves that connect by velcro on the shoulders and sides, so you can fully adjust it in those areas

biggest surprise of all is that i got bounces! i figured with the vest over my jersey, i wouldn't get any bounces anymore. but i saw a paintball hit me from out of no where and saw it bounce right off the the front of my vest, i figure it's because the vest is so well padded

doesn't sting at all to get hit on the vest, could be bad thing if you don't know you're hit and get caught playing on

people on the field think you're hardcore and all the little newbie kids want to follow you and hide at your bunker. today i actually told one to leave because he wasn't firing and just took up space, preventing me from shooting out of the right side

goggle strap is excellent. no longer have to worry about dropping and scratching my proteus

pockets are great. i'm usually paranoid about having my keys and wallet on me on the field, but with the zippered front pocket (the one for the walkie talkies and the cool zippered slot to let an ear piece go through), i didn't worry at all about losing my stuff.

i was afraid i'd get too hot and have to take it off because it was 75-80 degrees today, but it wasn't too bad and i hardly noticed

velcro pod/tank holders work really well. i was afraid that velcro wouldn't be storng enough to hold tanks or pods but they worked great. also, for the tank, there's a strap with a clip on it that attaches to the tank holder so even if the velcro fails your tank is going to be safe. plus, because of the velcro, you can arrange the pod/tank holders any way you want.

keeps your profile small
Weaknesses: i guess if you're a back player and like to spray a lot you're going to need more pods than the vest can carry. (comes with 2 double holders = 4 pods, i think you could fit one more doubler holder, for a total of six), but the thing is it doesn't hold 140 round pods as well as the 100's. this was the first time using my new angel and i wasn't prepared for how much paint the gun spit out. i went through all 4 pods within the first game (with my autococker i would go through that much paint in a DAY)

also, since it's velcro the pods are kinda hard to put back in. what i've found is that since the straps are so long that hold the pods in the holders, i accidently end up attaching a strap to the velcro for the wrong pod holder

the pod holders don't fit snugly, even on my speed pods (which you shouldn't use b/c they stick out so much), so if you have the pods pointing down (which is probably the best because if you have them pointing up it's almost possible to remove the pod, sideways is okay but it's still kinda high and hard to remove the pods), be prepared to ease the pod out or catch it because the pod holders are too loose and the pods are gonna fall straight down if you're not careful. compared to my slampack, it's a lot more difficult to get and replace the pods

can't machine wash! i love being able to just throw all my gear into the washing machine and pull it out (don't use the dryer or some stuff might shrink), but they make it a point to attach a tag when they send it to you that specifically says not to machine wash. but screw it, i'm tossing it into the washer next time and see what happens cuz it's a bi@tch to clean otherwise
Conclusion: after playing a day of rec games with the new vest and new angel, i've realized that when i play rec, i'm better off using my autococker since it's got better range, and i won't go broke on paint (i only brought 500 rounds of adrenalin since that's all i usually need for a day, but b/c of the angel i had to buy a case of point black for $80!), and since i'm using less paint with the cocker then the vest is perfect since i won't need to carry more than 400 rounds on me, and i don't have to worry about quick refills as much (got shot once reloading cuz it takes so long, but then again the first two shots bounced off the vest until the third hit my leg so i guess it evens out)

when it comes to speedball, though, i'm going to hose paint with my angel and use the slampack since it holds more paint and i can fill faster when every second counts

the vest is a great product, it looks sick, very functional, but it's not perfect. the pod refilling system needs work. but it still gets a 9 just cuz it's so damn cool
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cobra gear vest. various other brands of harnesses
Marker Setup: Autococker
Centerflag 68ci 4500
centerflag inline reg
Strengths: I saw this thing on their website and I really wanted to get it bad. But past experiences told me that it wouldn't be any good so I waited and then decided to buy it anyway. When I received it I got a big smile on my face because it was WAY better than I expected. Its made awesome and fits great. I always wanted something like this and now I finally have it. I love the way you can set it up differently on the back. I like having 2 tubes horizontal and 2 tubes vertical. It fits nice and snug too and doesn't move around. Its made great.
Weaknesses: Might be warm in the summer but not too bad. I wish it came in camo but the black is almost as good.
Conclusion: Awesome vest and great design plus I got entered to win a model 98 on the website. These are going to be all of my friends next purchases too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Sunday, February 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICS Vests, Various other harnesses
Marker Setup: Currently a Tippmann Prolite with a 12" Lapco Barrel, but used to own Cockers, Mags, AT85s, ect.
Strengths: The quality of this vest is exceptional, especially for what you pay for it. The old ICS vests were no where near this nice. The vest design is well thought out and extremely comfortable. The vest does a great job of keeping your profile down, nothing sticks out to the sides. The Mask holder seems like a small feature, but it is extremely handy. I did some "tactical training" with some local police officers in some old abandoned buildings. The vest never once got in the way, or got caught on anything, even when I was crawling through busted out windows. I always hated the way current harnesses felt. The flopped around on my butt and pulled on my shoulders. This vest keeps most of the weight close to the small of my back and doesn't pull on me. It was extremely comfortable. I play in senario games with a friend, and we use radios. The front chest pocket is designed with this in mind and should prove to be very user friendly next time we have to use the radios. No more running a wire from my belt and risk getting it caught on something. This is the ultimate setup for those who like tactical type gear, and for senario players. It would even work for the glory boy tourney guys if they want to keep their target profiles to a minimum.
Weaknesses: nothing bad about it. Although with the padding, it might be alittle hot in the summer time. Its not bad at all though.
Conclusion: I am extremely pleased with this product. Finally, someone comes out with a vest designed for real players, and not the tourney crowd. Although they would benefit from it, they would probably prefer to use something that carried a case or two of paint in it. This thing is as good as it gets.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media