paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 87
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nel-Splat line was designed to compete in price with products from lesser known companies, but without any reduction in performance.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bjgpb Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Midnight, Hotspot, Zap Primer, JT Elite
Marker Setup: SpeedBall Setup- Shocktech Autococker with shocktech Pneumanics and supafly bolt, WGP (2nd generation) chrome Double Hinge Trigger, AA Messiah Reg, Psyco ballistics drop with on off and microline, 12" Boomstick & 10" SS Big Shot, Evo II Hopper and 68/3000 HPA tank

Woodsball Setup- C98 with metal shroud flatline, scenerio clip foregrip, Promark Double Blade trigger, response trigger, remote line, polished internals, and Revy hopper

Backup/loner markers- Spider TL plus and Shutter
Recommended
Barrels:
Little tight with my boomstick, Bigshot and surprsingly the flatline shot them great
Strengths: Good fill
Nice shell(breaks on impact)
Cheap+quality
HUGE color selection
Weaknesses: for the price none
Not as accurate and nice as some more expensive paint
Review: Weed through the replies giving this anything lower than an 8. They either got old/bad paint, or they just plain don't know what they are talking about. You can get this paint for around 37-38$ with free shipping (just order together with your friends and get 3 or more cases from Actionvillage).

When it is in stock, you can get it in just about any color you can imagine. I used the Red, as someone else said I have yet to find this color with any other paint. The fill is really thick for such an inexpensive paint. As thick as the 40$+ paints. The shell broke almost everytime. I had about 7-800 balls lying around for almost a month and played woodsball this past monday and shot them through my Flatline. I don't know where everyone gets off saying they are HUGE, the are not small bore, but they shot through my flatline great. I hit my buddy in the arm from about 100-150 feet away in his arm. It was covered red. I had no breaks that day either.

Before that I used it in my cocker, broke a little paint in my boomstick, but I think it was because it extremely hot and humid out that day and the shells got a little sticky.

Conclusion: Good shell, great bright thick fill, no dimples (nice and round) breaks on impact most of the time even at great distances, huge selection of color if you can find it (I used red, my friend's; pink). I don't think you can get a better paint for the money. Even the 42-43 dollar Midnight barely beats this paint out, and that's only because it has a little better bore size.

Bryan
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrathltd17 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI,Big ball,Draxxus,Scorch,Skirmish(haha),monster ball,hemmorage,anarchy
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath LTD
Halo B
45/3000 psi
Recommended
Barrels:
freak,j&j,redz
Strengths: Very thick paint,break fairly good on target,they taste pretty good also...
Weaknesses: If you chop them they make one big goey mess to clean
Review: Well my local field sell's a-lot of Nelson Paintballs and everytime i go i usally buy a case of there nel-splats.They come in a wide varity(sp?) of colours and have a really good fill.They break on target usally about 90% of the time.I personally love them for walk on games and just rec play but i wouldnt neccesarly say they are tourny grade.They are very inexpensive for the quality you get out of them and they shoot pretty straight.The bore size on them is a little small but hey thats what a freak is for.And if your a weirdo and eat paintballs they actually taste pretty good.The shell is very sweet tasting.
Conclusion: I would recommend these to anyone playing rec-ball or walk-on's.They fly straight,taste good,break on target,and have a lovely fill.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Viper, Brass Eagle, Pro-Ball
Marker Setup: 2000 WGP STO. Benchmark .45 trigger frame. Derlin bolt. 8.5 inch Custom Products .685 two piece barrel. 14 inch Custom Products one piece .689 barrel. WDP adjustable drop forward w/ on/off valve. ANS Gen X II regulator. Runs 280 f.p.s. at 260 p.s.i. 12 volt X-Board hopper. P.M.I. 68/4500 nitro tank.
Recommended
Barrels:
I used my Custom Products 14 inch .689 barrel.
My brother used an Impulse Vison with a .693 barrel.
Strengths: This opinion given is for my Autococker listed above with the Custom Products .689 one piece barrel and my brother shooting an Impulse Vision running at 160 p.s.i. with a .693 barrel at 280 f.p.s.. We both shot about half a case each.

We bought this paint because we were setting up an outing with friends and it was cheap.

With both reached the same conclusion with the paint. It shoots well but not great. The paint seldom broke in the barrel, consistently broke on target, and the fill is thick. Autocockers are renowned for their excellent accuracy and this paint worked well in my marker.

My brother also enjoyed good performance with his Impulse. The Impulse bore is large so he had fewer breaks than I did.
Weaknesses: Accuaracy was not consistent from one hopper to the next. I would shoot a hopper that would almost land ball on top of ball, reload and suddenly the paint would curve like a major league pitcher. Not all of the paint behaved in the this manner but it was enough to notice. So while it shot well most of the time there were some moments when it left something to be desired.
Conclusion: This paint is good for backyard and recreational play. It is inexpensive (we paid $47.50 a case) and shoots well. It is not tournament quality paint. If you are playing at your own place or there is a "Bring Your Own Paint" day at your local field this paint will allow you to have fun, shoot consistent shot patterns, and keeps the cost low.

The rating given is compared to the best high quality paint on the market.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Natethegreat302 Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle(they suk!), Zap Amp(nice),Draxxus tournament(very nice)
Marker Setup: Stock Vexor for now
Recommended
Barrels:
BIG BORE!!
Strengths: thick fill, Good break, flys straight.
Weaknesses: Chops some
Review: I saw these Paintballs at my local field and though it was a good deal for 2000 and i was not dissapointed by them, they have a very thick fill, my opponents coulden wipe the paint off(not for lack fo trying). they fly straight if yuor velocity is just right. I choped a couple when firing fast but because of the thick fill if you chop them it is a awful mess.
Conclusion: I like them, good value and great for woods
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mujothebard Friday, March 21st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs(GREAT paint) Diablo(Awesome paint) Pro ball(Not bad) Others
Marker Setup: Speedball) E99 with 12V revvy, Poorman's Lightning Bolt, 12" Teardrop, Palmer Stab, Polished Internals, C02, More to come
Scenario/woods) A5 with Flatline, Bigshot, SPAA, Intruder X Chamber, Combat Sling, Adco Sure Shot, C02, More to come
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak, Empire, Teardrop, Armson Pro, or anything that has a HUGE bore
Strengths: Thick fill
Good Breakage
Weaknesses: This paint is HUGE!!!
Accuracy really suffers even when using a big barrel (dimples)
Review: Been using these for awhile, because the 2 fields here are FPO and this is what they sell unfortunately. I have seen more UFOs with these than I could possibly count. I have also seen them bounce off of many different materials. These things won't roll out of my Flatline, which has a bore of like .693! My Lapco Bigshot shreds these because they are SO TIGHT in the barrel.
Conclusion: I've seen these sell for $45 a case +S&H, avoid them. If you can find them for $35 a case, go ahead. Remember, paint to bore match is the key to accuracy, so before you buy these, get a Big Bore Barrel, or freak or something. My SPAA and Teardrop seem to do ok though.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 20th, 2007 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

General Fuct Sunday, June 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Killer (Fieldgrade)
Meteor
Stingers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Full TechT cyclone upgrade
TechT ZKH
HPA
Borg Cocking Handle Mod
UMP shroud etc etc
Recommended
Barrels:
Smart Parts Proggressive seemed to have the best results of the day (still not good enough IMO.)
Strengths: Breaks on everything, even tiny stands of grass (which is also a weakness)
Weaknesses: Chops
Barrel Breaks
Curves
Inaccurate
Bore sizes all over the place
Review: I rocked up to our monthly game yesterday and found that the field had changed from Killer Paintballs to Nelson Nel-Splat and woe to me and majority of other players it was terrible. The temp was quiet good at around 18-25C during the day.

This paint barrel broke 1 in almost 5 shots, I had a brand new dye fuzzy stick I had never used that is now bright pink all over from constantly cleaning the barrel over and over again.

At the end of the day while cleaning I discovers a chop had occured also but the techt cyclone luckily manged to keep going despite the paint all through the housing.

I tested the balls down a few different barrels out of 5 different balls grabbed randomly out of the box they all were different bore sizes..one ball would roll straight through, one would roll halfway and get stuck, one would stick right at the bore mouth. VERY VERY inconsistant sizing...

On in consistant, the accuracy was almost non existant, even at close range with an aimpoint I struggled to put a ball in the same spot as well as shooting off a bench (groups 200mm at 15 metres). After a barrel break the point shot like an apex barrel, some curving as far and 3 metres from the target.

Some of the other more expensive barrels had better results then mine. But still nothing close to other paints myself and others there on the day had used for the same price point.
Conclusion: This is the worst paint I have used so far, I'm not sure if we had a bad batch or it may have degraded on the trip over to Australia. As mentioned above I have never had a barrel break or a chop in over 10000 balls I have put through my A5.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

luxykin007 Monday, July 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
diablo (various) - other crappy paint
Marker Setup: Tippmann 68 carbine (with taso 10") and a spyder compact deluxe with a j&j 14"
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything but a stock barrel
Strengths: It is the only paint I could find that breaks red

It is cheap

It breaks on contact pretty good

Never chopped any
Weaknesses: It curves on both guns under heavy rates of fire.

Irregularly shaped (though way way better than B.E. paint)

It just doesn't compare to a relly good paint (like diablo) for the price

Conclusion: Get this over Brass Eagle any day of the week. This is a really decent paint for the price (don't get me wrong) but don't buy a case of it to try it out, but 500 or 1000 rounds before you commit to it. I like the red color (hey, what can I say) so that is cool. I will still have to give it a low rating (even though i never broke a ball in the barrel) Just because there is better paint out there
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Severe, Diablo, brass eagle, pmi
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custum, 12" nitestick, 12oz co2
Recommended
Barrels:
Whatever is on your gun
Strengths: I have been playing several times with nelspalt and it was pretty good for the price. Usualy those who were complaining about it were sore loser and had defective guns. It does bounce on "CONCRETE" and rarely breaks in my gun. If you are a smart shopper, you can find it as low as $35 online. It Shoot as strait as same quality/price other brand. Good and thick paint.
Weaknesses: Spider users seem to hate it. The smeel is pretty bad.
Conclusion: If you buy it and you are not satified with the quality, it's probably because you buy it from the wrong place or have a bad gun. The sale volume of a company and the time it stays in their warehouse could be why you had a bad experience. I often buy ten cases at the time of whatever different brand is available to lower the price of my paintball addiction. If i don't store the left over in the right condition, i sometime see a big difference the next game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clown_13_2001 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-BE afterburner
-Draxxus dusk
-blue streak
Marker Setup: -Spyder Victor II
-12" Red Custom Products One Piece Barrel .689
-Red/Black 12 Volt Revolution X-board
-20 oz. Pure Energy co2
Recommended
Barrels:
LARGE bore and I do mean large
Strengths: -nice fill
-no dimples
-cheap
Weaknesses: -huge
-not too accurate
-hard to find
Review: These are ok paintballs. I buy them for 35 bucks a case at the local field. That is REALLY cheap. The fill is very bright and hard to wipe. I have found no dimples in any balls. But they are HUMONGOUS. You need a huge bore barrel to shoot them without chopping. Many of the balls I shot weren't even close to the target. That can be a problem. They are hard to find anywhere, but luckily I can get them right down the street.
Conclusion: Get them if you can get a case for less than 40 dollars, because they aren't worth anymore.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sausage Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
Polar Ice
Monster Balls
Worrpaint
White Box
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Super R/T
Triumph TL 35 Loader
Lapco Forgrip
14"JJ Ceramic Full Tilt

Just Started on my new ICD Lasoya Promaster

Recommended
Barrels:
JJ Ceramic
Strengths: Best fill going, any grade of ball,
Decent Shell
Great Price
Flies Straight
Weaknesses: Doesn't Break as much as I would like
Review: To me these are the BEST under $50 balls available. They fly really straight and are very constant. The shell is nice as well. But to me the best part about this paint is the fill. Its thick, easy to see, and very hard to wipe. What more could you want? Its hard to describe but the colors I have used and seen is really a great color, and not a dull fill like so many of the paints. I have no problem following the track of my balls and seeing them pop where I aimed them.

I have used other guns, and I felt these balls were excellent, but they do really well in my ceramic. I couldn't be a bigger fan of these, I tell every baller I know about them.
Conclusion: Like I put in the review, easily the best ball for under $50, which for me is the sweet spot cost point. Some online sites have these for $35, how can you beat that? They are great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media