paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 87
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nel-Splat line was designed to compete in price with products from lesser known companies, but without any reduction in performance.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nel-Splat Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
WarHamster Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Black-Ops
Zap Spank
Zap Chronic
Draxxus Blaze
Draxxus Formula 13
Marker Setup: -Upgraded 2004 Ariakon SIM-4 w/ accessories
-Stock 2004 WGP Autococker Prostock (converted to Sniper II)
-Stock Ariakon ACP Pistol
Recommended
Barrels:
Larger bore barrel or a system (freak or scepter)
Strengths: -Reasonable Price
-Nice shell & fill
Weaknesses: -Inconsistant size
Review: I picked up a case of Nelson Nesplat a while ago because Action Village didn't have Zap Spank or Zap Chronic (my preferred paints) in stock. I went with Nelson because I had previously tried their Black-Ops paint (a larger bore variation of their spec-ops paint specially made for Armotech).

It had a nice shell which was fairly durable but still broke on the target (I didn't have any problems with bouncing). Likewise the fill was near perfect. It so thick as to be annoying like with Zap paint, but on the other hand it wasn't so watery that it could be wiped easily. All round the shell & fill were darn near perfect.

My one big complaint? Inconsistant size... When using my Powerlyte Scepter kit with it some balls sized perfectly for my .686 inserts while some were so big that I was worried they might break in my .690 insert. I figured they probably ranged between .685 and .691. However, when you consider that is all from one batch of the same type of paint that's a HUGE range. I ended up having to use my .690 insert all weekend even though 1/2 to 3/4 of the balls were too small for it... If i tried using a smaller insert I'd inevitably break as soon as I found one of the balls that strayed towards the larger end of the range.
Conclusion: All round, it's not the best paint I've ever used, but it's not the worst either. If they could keep the size a bit more consistant it'd be GREAT. As it stands however, I'll give it a 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kersplat Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro Ball, PMI Big Ball, Nitro Duck First Choice, XO Hot box, XO Velocity
Marker Setup: WGP Nightkast w/ delrin bolt, System X drop, and 72 4500 Crossfire peanut
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Pipe kit
Freak
Kaner
Any other barrel kit
Strengths: Fairly consistant
Good medium fill
Doesn't break in barrel
Weaknesses: Doesn't seem to be well liked by Timmys.
not all colors are real bright
Review: Well the other reviews seem to be a little old so I thought I would add my input. I am a field owner and we just started using the Nelsplat as our field paint. We haven't seen near the size that a lot of other reviews have complained about. We are an indoor field so that might have something to do with it. Most of the people here that have used it have been able to use .687 and smaller bores with this paint. It seems to fly pretty straight and break on target. You get a few bounces here and there, but it is designed as a mid grade paint. Some of the colors could be a little brighter. All in all it is a pretty good paint for the price level.
Conclusion: If you don't want to spend the money on premium paint then go with this. You will get as good of quality as you are going to get from a paint at this price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suXor Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Various draXXus paint - A++
Heat - B
Gameface Scorch - B
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S.
Lighter Trigger Switch
System X DF with On/Off
Knock Out Barrel Kit
OGI Clamping Low Rise Feedneck
88ci/4500PSI Crossfire
Macroline
Halo TSA Frontman
Recommended
Barrels:
None
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Breaks too easily, brittle
Review: This was the cheap stuff this week at our normal field. Usually they have draXXus brown box. This stuff sucked. I use a barrel kit and run < 300 PSI on my marker and this crap broke 1 out of every 20 shots. I spent more time cleaning my barrel than shooting. It seemed to get worse with increased ROF. I tried a larger barrel back, no change. It was breaking at the bolt impact. Used it most of the day to see if it got better with temp....nope. This was 50-80 degree rage of temp with moderate humidity.

My teammate had 4 of 5 pods ruined in one game b/c they broke int he pod just sprinting from the break.
Conclusion: Do not use this stuff unless you absolutely have no other choice. You will end up wasting money that was better spent on nicer paint.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Not Two Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson HotSpot (ok for price, fill is thin and lightweight)
Zap Spank (better, but tends to be smaller bore .682-.684)
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse Vision
Recommended
Barrels:
.687-.689
Strengths: Good fill
Stays round
Good packaging
Weaknesses: Inconsistent quality from case to case
Numerous barrel breaks
Seam can be improved
Review: I originally rated this a 9 based on my first 2 cases. However, this last weekend I must have bought a really, really bad batch cause the shells were very delicate and many broke in my barrel. Every ball would break from a 2 foot drop. No kidding.

Here's my original comments based on the first 2 cases that I bought from local store (pink shell and fill):
For the price this is a good buy. This paint performs well:
-no barrel breaks
-accurate
-no bounces
-good med fill
You won't be able to blame this paint if you don't get any kills. I would recommend you try them at least once and see how they compare to other brands you tried. I found that they perform well for the price.

Here's my rating for the last case I just bought
(yellow shell and fill):
-breaks in barrel consistently
-defective batch?
Conclusion: 2 out of the 3 cases I bought were excellent. However, the last case I just bought was horrible. So I'm revising my rating from a 9 to a 6 for inconsistency. I'm not sure if I'll risk buying another case.

As Forrest would say "....you never know what you're gonna get."
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigTarget04 Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Sun Flare/ Dusk
PMI/RPS Super Swirls
Nelson Anarchy
Marker Setup: Spyder X-tra, 20 oz CO2, 14" Teardrop, G2k
Recommended
Barrels:
Teardrop
Strengths: -Fill
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Rubbery Shell
-Icey Hot like Fill
Review: Well the only reason I have used this paint is because it is the required FOP that is sold at the newest and only field in my area. I split a case with my buddy so 1000 came out to $30, which isnt that bad(even though 2000 can be had from Nelson for 49.99 plus shipping). The paint shoots straight and doesnt break in gun. The only true weakness of this stuff is that the shell is very rubbery, on many occasions I can see shoots from less than 15 ft. hit an opponent and just bounce clear off. The coolest part about the fill of the red ones I have is that it looks just like blood. So when u hit someone its as if they are bleeding. But by far the wierdest part of the fill is that it physically causes a burning sensation on any exposed skin.
Conclusion: Only buy if you want blood paint or you have to. 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Run_and_Hide Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Dusk
-Afterburner
-Spank
Marker Setup: -Piranha R6 With E-force Electronic Trigger
-Empire Reloader
-Pure Energy 20oz Co2
Recommended
Barrels:
-Any .689 bore size barrel
Strengths: -Bright Fill
-Cheap
-Shoots Straight
Weaknesses: -Paint is Huge
-Sometimes get caught in barrel
Review: I bought this paint for 32$ for 2000 at my local field. The paint is all around really good, besides the fact that the paint is so huge that the sides bulge out from the center line. The paint says .689 but i think it is a little bigger than that. Anyways, this paint is great paint that stays on target and has a bright fill.
Conclusion: I would get this paint any day because of the price i bought it for.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

volkswagen Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
shell- hotspot, big ball

fill- tork, prems
Marker Setup: vic 2
esp
levered microswitch
dye stickies
stock shutter gas-thru reg
shocktech lpc
lapco bigshot
shocktech springs
shocktech supafly short
12v revi
a/s co2
Recommended
Barrels:
bigshot worked dam good for me
Strengths: -accuracy
-price
-color
-fill
Weaknesses: -shell is kinda hard
- seams kinda big
Review: usually this paint gets pretty bad review so i didnt try it until i was desperate. then when i checked the barrel match, it was big. so i was really paranoid about breaking. when i got to the field, i played front and they were prefect. i didnt break (on a .689) and it was accuracte (probably cuz targets were less than 20 ft away.). the fill is perfect to me, its not too thick not too thin. the seams make it swirve a little after about 30-40 feet. i was satisfied for its price
Conclusion: uhh if my batch was one of the good ones, get a fresh batch, they're pretty good, to me at least. i personally would definitely buy it again since it is pretty cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impairedability Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Neslon Hot Spot
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
Stock Barrel
Viewloader 12v Revolution With Xboard
CO2
Strengths: -Cheap(got a case for 35$)
-Breaks on target
Weaknesses: -Swirves occasionaly
-To small for my barrel
Review: This is pretty good paint for the price. I only tried it with my e-99 avant stock barrel and i realized after i bought the paint that when i dropped the ball it went right through my barrel which is not good. as you all should know the paint is supposed to kind of get stuck in the barrel so you can blow it out without blowing your head off. well it just drops right through. now i know why this paint swirves alot more than the hot spot. a new barrel would probably fix this though.
Conclusion: this paint is pretty good for the price. like i said though this paint is to small for my barrel which causes swirving. but also like i said a new barrel would fix that problem. if you want a great barrel for a great price i would reccomend a smart parts progressive barrel. go ahead and give this paint a try. maybe it won't swirve in your barrel.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 26th, 2004 at 6:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brasseaglesuck1 Monday, January 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nelson hotspot
Marker Setup: 32 degrees rebel bottomline
Recommended
Barrels:
i dont know but stock barrels hate these paintballs
Strengths: relitivly good paintball, good shell, all in shape, breaks on target, good paint
Weaknesses: breaks in gun but not too often, hard to find right size for gun
Review: These paintballs were the reason my gun broke-mostly because i was being a dumba$$ and kept shooting even when they where clogged. Otherwise i would like these paintballs the best. you just need to find the right barrel size. It has a good shell and it breaks on the target. Good paintballs for the price.
Conclusion: i would recommend these paintballs because they are easy to work with-with the right stuff.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dancing racoon Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marbelizers, Diablo Dusk.
Strengths: Orange Fill Is easy to see-
No Dimples-
Good fill
Weaknesses: Chops ocasionally
Review: I used this paint at one game and Iv used it alot since. I really like this paint because it doesnt have any dimples and doesnt chop that much at all. Iv used it in my Tippmann and its shot like a dream. It doesnt curve its priced very well
Conclusion: In conclusion this is an excellant paintball I would recomend it to intermediates beginners and advanced paintballers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media