paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Works Paintball Autococker / Works Paintball Autococker / Works Paintball Autococker / Works Paintball Autococker

Works Paintball Autococker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Works Paintball

Buy Works Paintball Autococker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Works Paintball Autococker
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Works Paintball Autococker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
MedicBanks Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, Oracle, STO, various other custom cockers; Toxic, Nasty, and stock Impulses; Auto, Mini, and RT mags.
Marker Setup: Red to Siver Fade and Splash Works Mini Cocker
Works Hinge and Front Pneumatics
Shocktech Large Drop
32 degrees on/off
PowerLyte Scepter System
Pure Energy 88/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, simply for using various size paint. The Stock barrel is great for medium size paint. E-Blade if you want to go electronic
Strengths: This gun is by far the lightest cocker i've ever used. The milling is ok but you can have it anodized with any color you can imagine. All the parts (except stickies) are made by the same company. All the parts are assembled by one person so the quality is outstanding. Compared to a WGP Stock Cocker nothing on this gun is stock. Every part of this gun is custom. The Absolute best part of this gun is......LIFETIME WARRANTY, which is transferable from person to person, any problems you have sent it back no if's, and's, or but's about it. You can get the optional E-Blade from works (which I should have done, but I'm sending it back Monday to have it installed.) The Customer service is excellent.
Weaknesses: The only complaint some may have is the milling, and that a matter of personal opinion. I personally don't mind.
Conclusion: This is by far the best cocker I've ever shot. You have several options as far as trigger, reg, and type of cocker (regular versus mini). The customer service is outstanding. Basically you can slap a tank and hopper on this thing and go play. My Works was set a 290 fps when I got it. I talked to the owner on several occasions and I was told that every Works is tested by HAND, not MACHINE before being sent out. You cannot beat the quality of this product. If you are looking for a high-end cocker BUY THIS MARKER!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Riflescout1 Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
system-X cocker
dye cocker
Marker Setup: grey works cocker with crome front block, crome stock barrel(14in), slide trigger, air america 88/4500 tank, shocktech drop(crome), grey macroline, black rase tank cover, and black revy with X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper, nitro system, tank cover for better grip, dropforward, barrel with inserts
Strengths: lightweight, accurate, cool milling, what more could you ask for? its cronoed and timed out of the box. i cronoed in at 275, 273, 276. i didn't need to turn it up because it has great range. all in all its a great gun,easy to clean ,and theres nothing cooler than seeing/hearing the bolt moving back and forth.
Weaknesses: i aired it up and my three way was leeking, but i talked to one of the airsmiths at the field, he unscrewed my tank, put three drops of oil in my bottomline then aired it back, dryfired it about 5-6 time and the leak was gone. one of the O-rings in the three way needed some oil thats all. i also chopped a ball on the break, but i can't remember if i had my hopper on or not. it could have be my own stupid falt. in about 14 shots the barrel was clean again.
Conclusion: this is a good solid gun, easy to clean, didn't have anymore air problems the rest of the day. very accurate so you dont use as much paint but get the same if not more eliminations. cost is high, $700 for the gun but you get a good regulator and barrel with it, but i think it's worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lyden Henderson Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution X
Black Magic
STO
Outcast
Orracle
Vertebrate
Stock Vert Feed
DYE
SFL
Various Custom Cockers
Free Flows
Eclipse
Marker Setup: Works Autococker
-Red/Black Acid Wash
-Works Reg
-Works Lowrise
-Sliding Trigger
-Shocktech Trigger Pants
-Stock Barrel
-Freak Barrel Kit
-Shocktech Full Size Drop
PMI 68 4500psi Nitro Tank
Ricochet 2K Loader
Smoke 12v Xboard Revvy w/ Vortex Impellers
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper
nitro system
changable bore size barrel (if that's what you're into)
Strengths: This gun is very light, I'll even go as far as to say that it is as light as the SFL, even though the SFL is a mini and the works isn't (I held both w/o barrel attached, almost exact same weight)

The trigger (sliding, i haven't felt the hinge) is very smooth and feels great. Easily just as good as the slider on an Evolution X.

Bolt Pressure, very light, the internals, sonic reg, and all delrin bolt allow for super low cocking pressure, I haven't chopped a ball with over two cases of paint through it.

Stock Barrel, shoots great if you have a good paint/barrel match. I shot RPS Evil paint at a tournament last weekend with it and it shot darts.

Very consistent over the chrono, I chrono'd in at 295, 295, 294

The warranty is awesome, it has a transferable warranty that let's you send it in for free fixing as long as Works is still in business.

The price is great, you can get them for extemely cheap When compared to an evolution (the only gun that i believe is up to the same standards as this gun) you get more (comes w/ in-line reg) for much, much less.
Weaknesses: So far, nothing. I haven't had any problems with this gun falling out of time. It is great.
Conclusion: If you want an autococker that needs no upgrades and is ready to go straight out of the box, get this gun. Almost all of the parts are built in-house and work together so smoothly that you should never replace a single one of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cockerdawg Friday, August 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
"Custom 2k Cocker"
"Shocker V-Sport"
And I have shot most other cockers, if it shoots like a cocker it's a cocker to me, including:

Evolution
EvoX
Free Flows
Rudy Cocker
Revenge
Sonic
and probably more that I've forgotten.
Marker Setup: Basically stock set up, 12v revolution, hinge, Nitro duck 68/3000 tank, and I switch between a boomstick and the stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a resizable barrel system like a Freak or Aradus.
Strengths: The stock barrel is awesome if you have a good paint match.
Awesome reg, I'm able to get the same reading 3+ times in a row.
Smooth hinge.
Feed neck is a great Idea.
All parts are made by works except the Ram which is STO and the LPR which is macdev.
Really low cocking pressure, as low if not lower than a free flow which means no chops.
I haven't tested it myself, but I think their Operating pressure is like 190.
Life Time warranty.
And just like Pro Paintball, if they come out with any new parts, then you can send it in and you can get that new part put on for no additional cost.
And I got a rare one without the reverse P-Block, I think there were only like 5 made.
There is probably something I am forgetting.
Weaknesses: I can think of only two and a half things.
One, the feed nect is a little hard to remove, you have to put a hopper in there, tighten it as much as you can, then twist off the feed neck. So that's not really a big deal.
Second, to see the serial number you have to take off the trigger frame. And I don't really think anyone cares about that.
Then the half thing is I wanted a sliding trigger but they didn't have any in stock. I would have had to wait a month for one, so I decided to go with the hinge and it was only my impatience that caused that. But the hinge is awesome, and you can shoot really fast with it.
Conclusion: This is by far the best out-of-the-box cocker I have shot. Imagine all the nice cockers Free flow, evolution, etc. coming together kinda like Captain Planet and forming this one super cocker. The works is definately one of the best if not the best cocker there is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pookie Saturday, July 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Coker
a STO
Bob Long Angel
.68 PC Barrel
.68 Dye ultralight Barrel
68/4500 Dynaflow tank
Marker Setup: Works and nothing but the Works.
.68 Dye ultralight Barrel
68/4500 Dynaflow tank
Palmer Reg
and a modified Revy to keep up with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None but I am looking at the new powerlight barrel.
Strengths: What's not great about this product. I shoot a first run orange (Bench mark for those of you that know the works). As for breaking paint, only in a bad tourney dream and I didn't have a squeegee. Any way she has never let me down and I have put her in some nasty stuff (as a front). Hot, cold, wet or dry this gun humms like a new corvette and shoots straight as an arrow. Watch your packs boys, the tip of a lid is all she needs.
Weaknesses: Every body complains about the price, but what would you pay for a gun that come tourney ready out of the box.
Conclusion: What can I say until someone can build a better Works, I'll be shooting one!!!!!!!
If you see me at Pev's Woodbridge store or at the field ask and I'll let you shoot it. Then you can rade your piggy bank and Pev's will put one together for you.

Nino
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmans, all kinds of semis
Marker Setup: A mut... all the works parts, but a sto body... like i said... its a mut
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOTHING... well
a roller sear... if thats considered an upgrade?
Strengths: ok, this gun is so money, it doesnt even know it. i have yet to shoot, or see a cocker that is set up this well. this gun is SO So So light that small children could run and cause trouble on the field with this gun. Like im saying i have never seen a gun operate this well. the low pressure system of this gun is INSANE and the gun fires superdeeduper sweet. ok so thats not a word but you get the picture. again this gun is money...
im saving for the real deal. like i said i own the mutt and well i want the real deal. forget electros, forget sto forget anything youve ever seen about cockers.... if you are wanting to buy a cocker.... save yourself the trouble and the time and just buy the cocker that has anything and everything already smacked in it...
Weaknesses: cost... that is the one and only thing i would ever say bad about this marker... the cost is much. if you dont have 1400 or so bucks... save... dont go for cheap...
Conclusion: quality over quantity... Pev's Woodbridge, Va suggested it... they sell it... this gun IS MONEY.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rip1 Sunday, February 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Autococker owned.
Marker Setup: Works Cocker w/Satin Gray Finish
Freak Barrel System
Palmer Reg
Dyna-Flow 68/4500 Air System
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: This is my first high end marker after wading through several low end semi autos. It was purchased on the recommendation of a tech at Pev's Pro shop in Woodbridge, VA. I am extremely happy with the performance of this marker. It is light, accurate and easy to handle . The sliding trigger has a great action. I have yet to chop a ball after 4000+ rounds. When it was purchased it did not include a barrel. That is why I went with the Freak system. I would in turn recommend this marker to anyone who is planning to invest in excess of $1400.00 for an entire set-up.
Weaknesses: None
Conclusion: Autocockers can be temperamental (and sometimes frustrating) due to the pneumatics and timing. With a little study and a good tech to fall back on, your troubles should be few. This is a great marker, which needs very little if any upgrade. You can purchase a less expensive Cocker and piecemeal your upgrades until you have spent as much, if not more as the price of the Works.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustMyLuck Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 stock autococker with a delrin bolt.
Marker Setup: What ever came with gun. I got the aqua custom color gun. ( it looks much better then this gun. This is just my opinion )
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just the barrel. Try the Freak or Equation mult. barrel system.
Strengths: Looks awesome and shoots very fast for a non electronic gun. It is very light and I like the trigger system. Very accurate too.
Weaknesses: The price. I purchase mine for $1100 at Pev's paintball store. But I think it is worth every penny.
Conclusion: This is my second autococker and I like this one alot. Like all autococker, if you don't know what or how to time this gun, then let the pros do it. Autocockers aren't for everyone. I gave the first one up just because of the high learning curve on timing the gun. But I am giving this autococker a second chance. I will learn to time it my self. ( the first one was a 2000 stock autococker)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ArmanXPM Wednesday, February 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 STO Vertical Feed - Blue
Palmers Rock reg - Blue
STO 3 - way - Chrome
STO Ram - chrome
Air America P&P Products Messiah Reg - Blue
.45 Frame/Black Magic - Chrome
32 Degrees Gel Grips - Blue
Trigger shoe - Blue
Twisted Cocking rod - Blue
CP Flame Drop forward - Blue
CP Bottom Line Adapter - Blue
WGP Beaver Tail - Blue
All S.S. Fittings and hose
12" J&J Two Peice Barrel - .689
9" Black custom barrel - .689
68/4500 Crossfire Preset
----------------------------------------------
2001 Angel LCD
KAPP Accessories
68/4500 Maxflow
-------------------------------
Excalibur
68/3000 Melee
Marker Setup: -2001 Work Autococker - Satin Red finish.
-Double Window Milling
-Custom CCM Chrome Feed tube with Red clamp.
-Works 3 Way
-Black Sonic LPR Front Reg.
-STO Ram
-Custom CCM Vertical Adapter
-Shockteck Delrin bolt(Supafly) Open Face
-Clear Dye Stickies
-Extremely short Trigger pull
-Works Vertical Adapter
-Works Cocking Rod
-Works Front Block
-Works Backblock
-88/3000 Melee tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing.
Strengths: First off, let me comment on the great milling and anodizing that these markers come with. The anodizing is super tought, and is very high quality. The milling is the greatest aspect of the marker. Definetly a head turner.
The Backblock is killer! This thing weighs next to nothing.
Next, the Works Autococker is very light. Definetly one of the lightest Cockers I have played with. The trigger pull is extremely light, and like butter.
You have the option of recieving the marker with the Sliding trigger, or for extra: The New Works hinge frame. I would prefer the sliding trigger, but that is personal.
Also, the Works Autococker comes with All Works parts now, from the 3 way to the body. The only thing that is not Works is the Front LPR Reg(MacDev Sonic) and the Ram(STO). Everything on this marker is of high quality. Also, the Hinge frame comes with a grip built into it. Nice little upgrade.
The CCM Feed tube that comes standard with this marker is the greatest thing ever! No more hopper sloppiness, you can clamp it down in there. Best of all, it looks great.
Bottomline, if you are looking for a beautiful marker - that performs - the Works is for you. From the weight to the looks, it definetly exceeds all expectations. Go with it.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Nothing at all.
Conclusion: BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no cocker or electro can even compare
Marker Setup: black mini works cocker w/ boomstick, gladiator, wgp hinge, centerflag hyper flow
Recommended
Upgrades:
it now comes w/ a barrel so no, the stock is awesome
Strengths: extremely accurate
cocks at 35psi (doesn't ever chop)
runs at 200 for normal sized cockers and the minis run at 250 cause the valve space is drilled out
extremely consistant 1+/- velocity
look sweet
quiet as hell
lightest gun on the market
all parts are made from and for wao=orks guns made of solid block of aluminum (all customs are just wgp bodies milled out)
smoothest 3-way avlaible
smoothest slide avlaible comes w/ the gun
come w/ a life time warrenty
my hinge has the best hinge pullever because of the smoothest lightest 3-way(works) and i polished my sear and i have the original works sear spring in
Weaknesses: price is 950 stock
Conclusion: BEST COCKER EVER! if the scale would let me iwould give it a 20 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media