paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
necr0tech Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder imagine
Smart Parts AA barrel 14 AA & 16 Teardrop fronts / Dye Stainless 12
Bob Long Torpedo
Bob Long VA adapter
Maddman Rocket Valve
32 Spring kit
Dead on Paintball Drop Forward
Spudnukl bolt
Empire Reloader w/ Java feed neck.
20 oz. Pure Energy w/ wasatch ballers siphon kit
Strengths: ummmm, regulates gas
looks good
Weaknesses: look below
Review: pros:
My gun is very consistent after installing this and the Bob Long vertical adapter (larger holes than stock). Definitely better than stock. Im currently running 275 psi and am consistently getting 270-275 fps.
Looks good.
Good grip too.

cons:
On my spyder, the gauge port/gauge is positioned in a 45 degree angle so it kinda gets in the way. No biggie.
Didn't come with instructions but you do not really need to be a rocket scientist to figure out how it works.
Conclusion: Highly Recommended. Cheap, looks good and does its job well. You can't go wrong with this.
Check out otterscustoms' review in his project LP page for more tech data.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Monday, December 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman regulator
Marker Setup: 14" Ice Cold - Bob Long Torpedo Regulator - 200 Round Revy - Low pressure kit - Phyco Ballistics Dropforward - Crossfire 4500 psi N2 Tank - Dye Sticky Grips - Double Trigger (responce trigger) - Macroline...

Basicly a C98 with nothing stock on it exept for the body... (and yes, internals too, the LPK gives new interals too)
Strengths: Looks great on a tippmann (or at least mine)
Works great on a tippmann (or at least mine)
Very smooth and clean
Easy to work with
Very good price, as far as regulators go - the tippmann 2nd regulator is 70 bucks while this one is available for 50-60 bucks.
Weaknesses: Not much - Plus its hard to complain about regulators...
Conclusion: Great product, Great company, Great Buy, Great price

Go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

IUBushido Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye hyper reg
testing a few others, will post those reviews later
Marker Setup: Here we go
03 Dye Reflex Autococker
Halo B w/ Rip drive (blue)
12'' Blue Evil Pipe kit (excellent system, highly recommended)
3ds Litestik bolt (2nd generation, smooth as silk)
CCM Delrin back block
Shocktech FGP regulator (awesome)
Eclipse Ram w/ QEV's ( a must for e-cockers)
E-Blade trigger and solenoid (E-1, has a few kinks but overall very good)
Bob Long Torpedo Reg w/ Centerflag gauge (see review body)
Eclipse Supercharger vavle
Nelson hammer and valve springs
Jackal Str8-line pump arm
Eclipse SS hammer with Rex Dialer
Dead on Paintball Bullet drop (perfect possitioning for 68-72ci tanks)
68ci 4500psi Nitro Duck Plasma tank
70ci 4500psi Worr Gas
Dye Rhino cover (blue, best tank cover, and very sexy too!)
Strengths: Adjustabe pressure
Doesn't creep
Drilled for guage (unlike dye hyper reg)
Decently comfortable grip
Weaknesses: Recharge rate
Poor consistancy (becuase of recharge rate)
Review: This reg has a bad recharge rate, plain and simple. If you plan on shooting more than 5-6 pb/s then look for a better reg. That's really all there is to it. If you set the reg at 250psi and your tank output pressure is set at 800-850psi there shouldn't be too much recharge time right, wrong. While waking the trigger I would watch the gauge and it would start at 250psi and after I started shooting the gauge would drop to about 200psi and stay right around there, that's horrible in my opinion. I tested that over a chrono and it translated to a 70fps drop from 285-215fps. That's very bad if you really need to get a guy out and your shots drop instead of hitting him.
Conclusion: If you need to get a reg a don't have one this reg isn't a bad starting spot. If you are obsessed with perfection (like me) don't get this reg, there a better ones out there. I give it a 6 because it does its job, doesn't creep on you (increase pressure in the reg above set pressure), but has a horrible recharge rate (somewhere around a second or more). So overall it isn't perfect, but nothing is, but this is further away from perfect than I find acceptable, and wouldn't recommend it to those serious about getting the most out of there gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 7th, 2005 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skitz Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Center Flag Clone, Air America Vigilante, Stock A/C
Marker Setup: Matrix, Reloader, SM-1, SM-1 Barrel System, 91/4500 or 68/3000 Crossfire Tanks, Dye LPR, Evolve Bolt kit
Strengths: Simple well thought out construction, large internal air passages
Weaknesses: Torpedo or Lightning Strike milling
Review: In MHO, the reg is very consistent, has a high flow rate, is easily disassembled, looks simple, feels comfortable in the hand. I have two Air America Vigilantes and the stock Center Flag Reg that came on my Matrix. I did not have any problems with the center flag, but i just wanted to replace it. Found a great deal on the Torpedo and have not looked back since. This reg has been trouble and maintenance free for well over 30,000 balls and numerous dry fires. If I need another reg, it will be a Torpedo. Update: Have some sand get into this reg and Bob Long replaced the damaged pieces for free, great custome service!!!
Conclusion: Great product, simple, inexpensive, buy it if you can find it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 22nd, 2003 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kowz_76 Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NOthing
Marker Setup: 2k2 VF Cocker, BL Torpedo, Psycho Ballistics drop, Outkast Bolt, 12" Lapco Bigshot
Strengths: Good reg with CO2 and N2. Good Looking. Very fast recharge.
Weaknesses: Max pressure of 600, not great for blowbacks.
Review: Awesome reg. Easily adjustable, nice looking, a great overall reg. Bob Long has done a great job with this reg. It comes in both black and chrome, so it will match most all color schemes. Taking this reg apart is a breeze. It also has a guage port, which is always handy.
Conclusion: This is the best reg for a budget player. Excellet reg, do buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 31st, 2004 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iBalls Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: E-99, SP TearDrop barrel, Bob Long Torpedo w/ micro gauge, Maddman rocket valve, Custom sanded trigger frame, Psycho Ballistics bullet drop forward
Strengths: Perfect size, easy to use, comfortable with the right size of hose
Weaknesses: none that I have found.
Review: This is a very good regulator. It works narly with CO2.
Everything was very easy to set up, and it is very easy to adjust.

When I got it, all I did was screw it in, take out the screw so I could put in my gauge, then I gassed it up and it worked very nicely.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product to anybody that is running CO2. It is the best bang for your buck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xm65 Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Plamer Stab, Gen X, Ergo, centerflag, Angel mini, system X pro, AA vig.
Strengths: Small, inexpensive, uses AA springs
Weaknesses: was not very consistant.
Review: I bought this reg to test it out. I was not impressed. While the reg worked ok. It did not perform as well as other in lines I have used. The reg would not recharge as fast as other regs that I have used. There was about a 3 second delay before full recharge. It was a noticeable decrease in performance from most of the other in regs I have used.
I took the reg apart, lubed it and still the same. I switched the Guage on it... still the same. I finally put the Centerflag reg back on... and recharge was almost instantaneous. The reg never crept past set pressure. So that was good.
Conclusion: This reg did not work well for me. I have found much better at this price. Perhaps I expected too much from it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

chino Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer stablizer, CP, MacDev 2k4 Gladiator, Bob Long Torpedo
Marker Setup: B2k2 - Halo B, Chaos Board, PDS, MacDev Red Valve, Palmer Micro Rock, Zentram Mag Trigger Fram, Zenitram 15' ASA, Full Freak Kit 14", Palmer Stablizer
B2k - 12v Warp Feed, Chaos Max board, Mac Dev Red Valve, CP Reg, Palmer Micro Rock, Full Freak 10", Bulldog 68/3000 Nitrogen tank
Alias 2k4 - Gladiator 2k4, Techna Trigger, Magnetic Mod, CP gas/grip, Dye Ultralight 12", Shocktech adjustable ram/ramcap.
Strengths: CO2 compatible, HPA compatible, easy disassembly, very light, gauge port.
Weaknesses: requires constant lubing with Dow 55 or Dow 33 grease. Quality control issues.
Review: My torpedo has had problems since the inception. They might be great regulators when you get a good one - but the one I received had burrs on the spring so the regulator would not be consistant since the regulator spring would catch on the side of the torpedo. I understand that this is an issue with not just mine but others as well. The solution is to debur the spring or return it to the dealer for free repair.
Conclusion: It seems that the platinum reputation of the torpedo regulator is in doubt recently since so many have had quality control issues. I hope that the next production run will have better luck. Good design - poor manufacturing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

monkeytroy Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock regs.
Marker Setup: 2003 Vertical Feed AutoCocker
Smart Parts Freak Kit.
Bob Long Torpedo Reg
Crossfire 4500 psi N2 Tank
Old-school ViewLoader Revolution! Oh yea!
Strengths: None yet.
Weaknesses: Manufacturing flaw that appears to cause major inconsistancy if not resolved.
Review: I have had this regulator for a little over a year now. When I first bought my cocker I was told that the first two things I should upgrade were the barrel and the regulator. So I reviewed barrels and decided on a Lapco barrel. The Big Shot. Reviews on it were good, the price was right and some articles I read suggested that the style of the porting and the large bore of the barrel would not affect the accuracy or consistency.

Shortly after, I went to my local shop to look for a reg and they suggested the Bob Long Torpedo. The suggestion they gave me was, I believe, partly due to the price ( I didn't have a lot to spend on one) and partly because I think they were trying to off-load this particular unit. I really should have brought it back to the store because I suspected, looking at it when I got home, that it was used. I figured no biggie as long as it works though and kept it.

In the year that I have had this reg I have only played about 7 or 8 times. Since the two upgrades my accuracy and velocity consistency has been crap. I mean real crap. Total crap. I am bouncing from 285 down to 240 or worse.

Several people suggested that this was due to my barrel's large bore size. So recently I upgraded my barrel to the Freak Jr. Kit. While my shot accuracy has gone way up, the velocity is still dipping horribly.

I went out today and read everything I could find on this regulator. I found that, for example in these reviews, there is about 1 in 10 or 12 people that think this reg sucks... while the other 95% think it rocks! My assumption then is that some people, like me, just got a bum reg.

I opened it up tonight and gave the internals the once over. Turns out, as indicated in another posting here, that the larger spring in the lower half of the reg has some burs on the side of it. It has scraped the inside of the casing and is causing the lower half to hitch in that one spot.

I took it apart tonight and filed down the burs, re greased it and put it all back together. When I am at my field next I will test out the shot consistency and I expect it to be greatly improved. If not, I'm gonna have to buy another reg.
Conclusion: I would say that there ARE some of these regs with some manufacturing flaws in them. If you are unlucky enough to be in the 4-5% of those that have issues like this, then return it, replace the spring, file it.. whatever. I find it hard to believe that 95% of the people give this reg a 9 or 10 rating if it's not worth it. So, I give it a 5 for now because I know it is capable of working nicely and that I just got a bum piece. The question is.. can it be fixed or should just be trashed?
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 10th, 2006 at 10:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KalynSS999 Friday, March 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- WGP Standard Regulator
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
- WGP Pump Kit w/ Hitmen Mod
- CP Unimount

Invert Mini
- VL VLocity Jr. w/ Virtue Chip
- NDZ V3 Bolt and spring Kit

- 11 piece Empire Barrel kit
- Crossfire 45/4500
Strengths: - Very consistent
- Very Durable
- Simple looks yet great
Weaknesses: - Honestly none that I can think of
Review: I bought this regulator used off of a forum. Honestly, it has never failed me. I've had to lube it once or twice over the time i've owned it. I have this on my sniper and I have never had to adjust it. It is very consistent.

It has a gauge port which lots of regulators don't. (I don't use it, but its nice to know its there for those of you that want a gauge) WGP regulator did not have this

It is the perfect size for me. It fits great in your hand when you're playing. Gives you a good fore grip to control you gun. The WGP regulator was considerably smaller.

If it needs any adjustment, the adjustment screw is on the bottom, and easy to get to. You don't have to remove the macroline to adjust it, unlike the WGP. (Bought it thinking I was going to have to adjust it a lot which I didn't.

Conclusion: I don't believe that this regulator is for retail sale anymore. You'll have to pick it up used. But if you can get your hands on one, (they go quick, usually around 35-40) its a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media