paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
xorillaxrectax Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ion With Alot Of Ups
Alias
Strengths: Light, Never Fails, Always Consisent
Weaknesses: What The Elbow Sets Up At. Always In My Hands Way
Review: I Love this reg. Its just like a cp but a little cheaper. works really well and has never faild me. easy to clean and not awhole lot to worry about. Its on one of the best guns ever made and those are timmys. that has to say something. I recmomend this reg to anyone looking to add style and better performance to there marker.
Conclusion: Get It
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ergo reg-uncomfortable, not as consistent
Sidewinder: better quality, but Torp's still decent
Marker Setup: Unmilled WASd AKA Viking, Smoke Halo B, 45/45, St!ffi/Ultralite, CP stuff

VSC Phantom

But I used the Torp on my Timmy.
Strengths: Cheap
Easily adjustable
Looks cool
Easy to clean/disassemble
Weaknesses: None really...there are better regs out there, but not for the price.
Review: I used the Torpedo on my Timmy, on which it comes stock. It's a great reg; no shootdown/consistency issues, and gets even better after the break-in period, as with every reg. It's very easy to adjust, and as easy to disassemble and clean/rebuild.

There are only a few gripes I might have; namely, the output fitting is on the side, which makes it more uncomfortable than, say, a CP reg or a Sidewinder that has the fitting on the bottom...w/e. At least it's not as atrociously uncomfortable as the WGP Ergo reg, which is designed to be comfortable but ironically has the worst hose placement ever, and gets even worse when using a gauge.

Also on the Torpedo, you can only put the hose on one of the output holes, so that might pose a placement problem...but it should work with most guns.
Conclusion: A great affordable omnigas reg...there's a reason it comes stock on Timmies; it's one of the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP reg ( not bad )
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups
Strengths: * Very cool looking
* Easily strippable
* Very consistent ( even with c02)
* Cheap
Weaknesses: I have yet to find any.
Review: The BL Torp. reg is an awsome reg for anyone who would want a cheap reg that works great with c02/ n2. My first few shots wit this reg were: 284-287 and it wasnt broken in yet. It usually takes I figure about 3000 shots to fully break it in. The lightning milling on this reg. is very cool looking. It is recommended that you lube the o-ring inside the reg before you use it so you'll need to know how to take it apart. Pretty simple, there's a place in the middle of the reg where it can separate in two. Inside, you should find an o-ring on the piston, lube this o-ring with some Dow 33 and then put the reg back together. If you need to adjust this reg, turning the screw at the bottom clockwise will result in a higher velocity and turning it counter- clockwise will result in a lower velocity.
Conclusion: This reg. is very good. Its a nice, cheap and consistent reg. Other alternatives would be, Palmer Stab., CP reg, Sidewinder, etc..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 6th, 2004 at 2:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyfreaker Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock outkast reg
Stock Spyder reg
Palmer stabilizer
VIgilante
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
Freak Barrel kit
88/4500 crossfire stubby
47/3k pmi
Custom dual battery Halo B
CP adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Fast recharge rate
Consistant
Variety of available pressured
Weaknesses: New non-coded springs arent as good as the old orange ones
Review: I first bought one for my intimidator, then bought another one for my spyder. The intimidator one worked fine, but the spyder one didnt. It would creep and my velocity would be pretty screwy. Turns out that the bad one had a silver spring and the good one had orange. I called up blast and they sent me a new spring immediatly. Now I have 2 perfect torpedo regs. They take both HPA and CO2, which is perfect for my spyder(although I would recomend a/sing your CO2, especially if youre using any reg).
Conclusion: Definately worth the money, but only get it if your marker runs under 600 psi.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXniTemAreXx Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Consistent, compact
Weaknesses: The input hole points outward, bad grip
Review: This is a great reg for co2, and its only 55$, i admit its no palmer but its pretty good. I get +6/-6 and its not broken in. The reg looks damn sexy, but its really small in person, Its hard to get a good grip on it because its so small. Also, the input hole points outward for my spyder, so i have to grab the macro line when i hole the grip. oh well, also, the milling seems pretty strong to me.
Conclusion: Great Reg, only 55$!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

AK47 Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vigilante,maxflow
Marker Setup: GZ timmy, pipe, 68/45 PE tank and Halo b
Strengths: easy to clean and adjust
Weaknesses: inconsistant
Review: This reg came stock on my timmy and its not very consistant, the first show is always 10+fps and everyother about 5fps. For good performance 5fps is still too much but it does keep up at 20 bps. Its easy to adjust, easy to put on a gauge and easy to clean.
The consistantcy can be as much as 20fps which is huge, one shot I had at 283,next was 303.
Conclusion: Excluding the first shot the reg is rather consistant but their are better one's out their such as the gladiator and maxflow.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drkstr740 Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp reg
Marker Setup: Dark Timmy Frenzied, Cp reg, Reloader B, Check it on/off, Freak kit
Strengths: Good looks.
Weaknesses: Regulator quality inconsistent
Review: Within a week of purchase, the reg on my Dark Intimidator developed a groove causing it to break down. The same thing happened to my brother's Lasoya. Additionally, the regulator changes speed during play, +/- 1oo feet per second. The store i brought it from was willing to repair or replace it, but i was not willing to go back every day so i decided to buy a different reg.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a regulator, don't buy this one.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spinal Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really. Unless a tank reg counts.
Marker Setup: Fully upped Spyder Pilot, Evo2 w/ Z-board, JT 50/3000, Empire 7pc kit
Strengths: Inexpensive
Consistent
Easy to maintain
Looks good
Weaknesses: Aside from no manual, none.
Review: For the price (around $60 new) this reg is awsome. They can be picked up used as low as $30. For that price one cannot go wrong with purchasing it. It is just as consistent as any reg out there it has 2 spots to put a gauge/plug and its not that big in size. As for cleaning it, in unscrews into 2 pieces and its fairly self explanitory from there. Also another benefit is that this reg has no problems using CO2 like some other regs may have, and that is always a plus. When I was at the chronograph the reg kept a good +/- 4fps in different so that was quite impressive.

Conclusion: Consistent, cheap price, easy to maintain and with the Bob Long name, it is a quality product. I'd reccommend this reg to anyone who is in the market for one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 10:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JGAC Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Max-Flo - better (depends on how well maintained)
CP Reg - better
Marker Setup: I did have:

FBM Spyder Teardrop Body
Smart Parts Teardrop 14" barrel
Check It Products Assault block w/ Bob Long Mini Guage
Check It Products Sweetspot Trigger
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Kingman E-Frame
Scenario Dreams T-Board w/ break beam eyes
DYE Sticky Grips
Otterized Internals

12v Revvy
45/4500
Strengths: Great regulator for the price used, comes on Intimidators, common upgrade on many many markers.
Weaknesses: Colors, black or chrome only. Output is stopped at 600
Review: I bought this reg becuase of its durability on both CO2 and on N2/AIR so I could use both. I also bought it in chrome since it matched my assault block, and oh boy did it look nice.

Once broken in it performed well, keeping me in a range of +/- 10 at most times and it got worse with co2 when shooting fast, but it kept up well and stayed within the limit.

Looks well, has a guage mount, easy to maintain.
Conclusion: I recomend this to anyone who's gun doesnt come with a regulator or has a spyder. Other than that, you want an increased recharge rate

8 because commonly found used, great performers for price, and looks great depending on accessories.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JD-Fuel Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DOP Reg
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Lightning:
32 Degrees Duckbill
Bob Long Torpedo
PMI 48ci Nitro Tank
Empire II reloader
Macroline
Strengths: Low Pressure System
Gauge Screw (optional gauge on reg)
Small
Sturdy as hell
Weaknesses: None....at all
Review: Ok so I just bought my new rocking Psycho Ballistics Lightning and I needed a reg so...the guy told me the only reg that would fit they had was a torpedo (which I know wasnt true they had a psycho ballistics reg right there) but anyways I wanted to check it out so he show me and tells me all the stuff about it...I really didnt know regs were that high stantard now. Anyways it didnt seem like anything else could compete with it except for its price (60 bucks lol). So I bought it thinking low pressure expansion chamber AND and reg on the autococker would be crazy! It ended up....IT WAS! The only part that really effects my FPS is my piece of crap stock barrel.
Conclusion: Very good on any gun that uses nitro! Dunno what it does for CO2. It will improve anything you slap it on. I recommend a macroline for it instead of steel braided. I think its the best reg out there. I dont think theres any with low pressure systems at least. Buy for any kinda gun you want especially if you coverting to nitro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media