paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
hugh jass103 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock reg. on the fenix
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Bob Long torpedo reg
16" night stick barrel
new designs high performance valve
dead on products drop forward
ricochet ak hopper
and hopefully an acs bolt soon
Strengths: Good looking and fuctional
Weaknesses: It isn't that comfy
Review: I had purchased this reg as an upgrade and to start with i couldn't get the plug out of the hole to put a guage in it. this made me awfully mad but i returned it and asked them if they could get it out or give me another one. well leaving and then getting home and they called and said that they had gotten it out. they had another one in the store and it was the same way. but after i had bent allen wrenches to get it out i don't know how they did but they did. then after that everything went great. hooked up my macroline from drop forward to it and no leaks and got the operating pressure at about 500 psi because i don't buy the low pressure thing for a spyder. i can get around 1400-1500 shots out of a 20 oz and about 1000 out of a 68 3000 psi system. so gas efficiency is a lot better.
Conclusion: I have no problem with the reg other than a stubborn plug. other than that it is a great reg. go buy one if you want to be able to use co2 and compressed air.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder freek Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi inline (worse) Palmers (better with co2)
Marker Setup: blue Spyder victor body
Cp 1 piece barrel
Ans feedneck
black raised sight rail
Supa Fly delren bolt
Dark horizon Ti hammer
Rocket Valve
Assault block
Torp reg set at 230psi 300fps
steel hose
Physco Drop forward
Ipi 2.0 Esp frame
dye gen 3 stickies
check it sweetspot trigger 1mm pull
25g switch
empire reloader
pmi 72ci 3k
Strengths: Sleek
regulates
fairly consistant
low pressure
Weaknesses: Terrible with co2
6fps diff at chrono max, usualy aroud 3 though
Review: Good Reg does what it should, great for guns shooting at or below 400 after being worn in, at the crono it is fairly consistent....helps with accuracy allot.

But the bad, i ran out of Hpa and my field doesn't fill it so i used a spare 9oz, now I HAD a bob long guage 300psi one, but with co2 on there for 500 shoots (not quick shots over an hour or so) it creeped up to what im guessing was 600psi.....ruining my guage, and compromising my rocket valve (not supposed go over 500psi). It was my fault i guess, but i know now to Throughly Lube this thing....i use white lithium grease its like 3 dollars for a HUGE TUB of it so i lube after 500 shots when running co2 to be safe, otherwise about 2000 or day of play with hpa. its very easy to strip down....i have a socket screwdriver in my tool kit just for it, i can strip and lube it in less than 5 minutes...easy for in between games when necessary
Conclusion: I recommend Buying this....and lubeing it often. its great for the price, HAs fairly quick recharge, it keeps up at 13bps without to much shoot down. 9 because its good on hpa, but not on co2 but for the price its AWSOME!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BlackOwl Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic Regulator
CP Regulator
CIP Powerstation Regulator
Palmers Stabilizer
much much more......
Marker Setup: -Dragun TES
-APM Tigershark Bolt
-J&J Ceramic 16 inch
-Mag modded trigger w/ 50g IS switch
-Bob Long Torpedo
-Psycho Ballistics on/off Drop Forward
-Eggy II
-20oz Anti-siphoned
Strengths: -fast recharge
-excellent with Co2, good for N2
-Stylish
Weaknesses: -May be hard to hold for HUGE hands
Review: I use this regulator on my TES and i've used it for two outings. It doesn't ice up very easily, and provides good consistency and recharge rate when firing. If you have bigger hands, you may have a problem holding it without your pinky finger hanging off.
It works excellent with my C02, and is pretty good on N2.
Conclusion: Have c02? Consider this when buying one. If you ever want to upgrade to n2, it still works well with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rushifell Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock reg on the Rodeo
Marker Setup: Rodeo, check it 15* assault block, Bob Long Torpedo, J&J Ceramic 14"/Armson Stealth 16", 32* remote, Emp Reloader, soon to be poor mans lightning bolt, ESP frame.

Inferno Terminator T3, ACI 6 stage Xchamber, see rodeo for likely to use barrels.
Strengths: looks good with the Assault Block, does its job very well, price
Weaknesses: none really, not the greatest grip on the planet, little short.
Review: Works very well, well worth the $55 it costs, keeps pressure very stable regardless of how I want to play. Allowed my to lower operating pressure which is saving me some gas and quieting the gun down a little bit.
Tried it and the check it on my friends e99, looks sweet, and after a few minutes of playing with it got his gun to stop sounding like a cannon and more like a paintgun, his gun was horribly loud. Great reg, any further regulator purchases for my equipment will be BL Torps.
Conclusion: great reg, does its job very well, good feel even though it is a little small, looks good with the check it 15*. Great product, worth a look at the very least.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

etippmann98 Wednesday, August 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 with ebolt and lots more
Strengths: consistent, cheap, comfy,easy to use
Weaknesses: the hose is connected at top of reg
Review: i got this for my e-bolt on my tippmann. WWWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWW i was impressed with how it performed on my gun the velocity only spiked like +2/-2 at chrono. this was a chep reg and it performed really well. great buy. I had recieved in like 3 to 4 days and i stuck it on my vertical adapter and that was it and i just had to adjust the velocity and i was set. you will not be dissapointe of this purchase. thank you
Conclusion: save ur money and buy this thing it will work good on any gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 23rd, 2004 at 2:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xLiLHockeyFreak Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Max Flow.
Marker Setup: Upgraded Nasty Impulse
Strengths: Cheap, great regulator, looks great.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Well I got this regulator for my old Spyder a while back. It was a great regulator at a great price and seemed to perform great for me. Never had any real problems. Stuck a 32deg gauge on it and it read perfectly, it also lowered my Spyder operating pressure by a few hundred psi. Great regulator, no wonder it comes stock on Intimidators.
Conclusion: Great regulator, especially for the price. IMO it's better than the Vigilante, which costs the same.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tightassspyder Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock kingman reg
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter, ESP frame, EVIL bolt, bob long reg and cp flame drop
Strengths: easy to use, easy to adjust once you learn
Weaknesses: kinda confusing to learn to set up, besides that nothing
Review: This is a great reg. It is easy to adjust and easy to use if you know how to set it up but even if you dont have your local shop set it up for you. It has good grip and is very comfortable. A very good product altogether.. THe only misconvenience is that mine did not come with instructios or anything
Conclusion: a great product. easy to use, easy to adjust. this reg works like a charm when you adjust it correctly
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

scud2519 Sunday, October 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock kingman reg (it almost works), stock wgp reg(nicer as a grip but isn't easily adjustable) , sidewinder (nice as a reg, 2x as much)
Marker Setup: 2k1 r/f Gen X Autococker l Shocktech Hinge l Shocktech bomb 3 way l cp 2 piece barrels l Torpedo reg l Micro Rock Reg l bomb 3 way l kapp stubby cradle l 68/3000 macdev max attack l ricochet2k
Strengths: I got it mine cheap on ebay for $42 shipped
Unlike the stock wgp reg it is externally adjustable from about 0-500
works with co2 and compressed air
comfy grip
can place a gauge on it
Weaknesses: is uncomfortable with a gauge
the fitting isn't on the bottom
I may have gotten a macroline fitting stuck in it (my fault)
when using it on my spyder, it didn't have enough pressure to recock after 2 shots.
Conclusion: it does what it's suppose to very well.
May not have a high enough output pressure for all spyders.
Works great with autocockers (and timmy's)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

0_Jester_0 Sunday, December 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
aka sidewinder
Marker Setup: Evil pimp gold/black fade
halo w/ rip
delrin trigger

2004 vertical feed cocker
egg
crossfire 68/45
dye boomstick 14"
aka sidewinder
shocktech super fly bolt
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: everything( I will explain)
Review: Alright, well i bought this regulator from 888 paintball. I put it on my cocker it acually made everything worse, it needed to be rebuilt-keep in mind brand new never been used. So i was like whatever and decided to deal with it and take it to my local shop have them deal with it i don't feel like it. So they put 2 different rebuild kits in and it didnt work, and then they gutted a brand new torpedo reg and put that in and it still didnt work-By this time I'm very pissed. Now the guy fixing it calls me about 3 weeks latrer and is so pissed he's cussing at me(acually quite halarious if you ask me) so they sent it in to national paintball- they couldn't fix it and this is about the time that blast bob long fixing place wasn't well known by the people they sent it there. THEY COULD NOT FIX IT! they must have had the worst customer service in the world if they cannot fix one of there onw products and on top of that didnt replace it they gave it back to me un-fixed or replaced.

Now that has got to be the WORST cosumer service in the world and you cant say it's nto under warrenty cause you dont get a warrenty sheet to fill out. So the people who i sent to fix it just gave me a sidewinder reg and it regulates beutifly very good regulator spend the extra 20$ and buy one instead of a torpedo. Now i hate bob long even more then I did befor
Conclusion: NO! DO NOT BUY THIS PART I know what happened to me is BS but it could happen to you so i wouldnt buy it. I'm not saying it's bad but if somethign goes wrong they will keep it for like 6 months and not replace it horrible comstumer service.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

spyderp8balla Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few stock regs on various guns
Marker Setup: E99 Avant with:
>Crossfire tank
>Egg II
>14in SP Teardrop
>Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt
>Bob Long Torpedo
>Dye Stickies
>Shocktech Blade Trigger
>DOP Drop
>Shockteck Spring Kit
>Macroline
>NDZ HP Valve
Strengths: >Consistent
>Looks good
>Guage Port
>Price
>Works with CO2 and N2
>Sturdy construction
>Easily strippable
Weaknesses: >Air inlet on the side (personal preference)
>Max 600PSI
Review: Well, all I can say about this reg is just "Wow". This is an awesome reg for pretty much any gun that runs under 600PSI. Using N2 with my Spyder, I chronoed my gun and got great results. I got +/-3 over the chrono! Besides consistency, this reg simply looks good. With its sturdy construction, looks, and consistency, it is one of the best and reliable regs I've used. It also has the feature of CO2 compatible, so you dont have to blow all this money on HPA to use it, even though HPA is worth it. There's a few negative things about this though. I couldn't just put this on my Spyder right away. I needed higher flowing internals so I could lower my pressure, low enough so I could use my torp. So if you have a blowback, you're going to need to mod/buy aftermarket internals that have more flow. Also, the air inlet is on the side, rather than the bottom. Where the air inlet hole is, is really personal preference, and I hapened to not like that spot.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great reg. Don't let the 2 negatives turn you away from this product. Newer ones are $50, so there's no reason not to pick up this reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media