paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator / Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Maximum input(psi): 900
Output range(psi): 200-600
Gas type: N2/HPA or CO2
Does not come with it's own gauge, the gauge measures output psi. Gauge should be mounted on side where the spring can not be seen. Threading is 1/8" female and is a ASA vertical. Comes in Nickel or Black. Nickel usually costs more.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Torpedo Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Rammstein187 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 04' Spyder Imagine, Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward, New Designz clamping Feed Neck,14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Snap Dragon Magno Trigger, ACS Delrin bolt, Dye E-spyder Stickies grips, ricochet apache, 50G switch, CIP Assault Block, Bob Long Torp, 68ci 3000psi crossfire tank.
Strengths: Pretty consistant
Works with co2 or N2
Looks nice
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I ordered this reg online and got it a few days later. When i put it on the only problem I had was that I followed the info in the description that said put a gauge in the hole where the spring can be seen, but if i do that i just send unregualated air into the gun. I switched that around and got it working right, and it has worked great since. The reg is pretty consistant, and it looks pretty nice with the new design.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this reg to anyone that wants a good reg without spending too much money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

importknight Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
fenix reg (nothin special)
Marker Setup: imagine 2k4, freak jr , halo backman, stock bolt removed venturi, drilled va, dye stickys, 72ci nitro, tons more to lazy to name em look at my sig for pis there just from before i got the bob long so ull have to bear with me till i make more.
Strengths: Easy to install ,easy to use , works great ,awsome looks , very cheap.
Weaknesses: O i wish it had higher psi even though mines at 375.
Review: As soon as i got this i screwed it on put the macroline put the guage on it went out back and started with the pressure all the way down meaning the botttom screw was farther out. to raise u just simply screw it in and watch as ur psi rise i would reccomend a guage. My guns almost all Low Pressure except for my valve (saving up maddman). back to the review i went out back took a couple of shots like around 40 and was set perfectly at my pressure of 375 i did have to raise my velocity because i got a very light spring int the gun.
Conclusion: Buy this reg it is the best in my opinion!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meola Monday, May 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any other Reg
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
68/4500 Blue Kiss A.I.R
Evil Pipe bomb barrel kit
Strengths: smooth clean operation
Weaknesses: not quite perfect
Review: This Reg is an awesome reg for the price, but as with most stuff you get what you pay for and this reg is not the best. I shoot about a +/- 7-8fps at the crono with this reg, you can probably tweak it to be better, but why not spend a bit more and get a high quality reg such as the Orracle Tickler reg or the Angel Mini Reg, both perform about the same and can be tweaked to get a smooth velocity of +/- 2-3 fps. But if you are low on funds and are considering this reg I would reccomend it over about everything.
Conclusion: you get what you pay for and this reg is worth what you pay. Overall I would give it a 9.5 but I have to rate it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bushmaster74 Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i havent used anything similar but thats probably just me...
Marker Setup: Bushmaster BKO silver body,Black bob long torpedo regulater,pure energy nitro,dye sticky grips,great gun,low price matches up with timmys[2002],impulses,and other low pressure guns.Doesnt break paint.
Strengths: everything,its light weight ,good grip,good looking,i dont break paint,i havent had any problems with it,ive never broken paint.
Weaknesses: nothing..its a great regulator
Conclusion: this is a great regulator,i would recomend it to any player good or bad,pro or begginer,intimidator or rebel bottom line.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mijintel Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
nothing! went str8 to the best.
Marker Setup: 2003 e-bladed WGP vertical feed autococker, shocktech f.g.p. regulator, shocktech cocking ram, shocktech "supafly" bolt, shocktech "rat 3:16" valve, shocktech "phat" hammer, palmers inline stabilizer, 14" all american freak kit, powerlyte sceptor kit 14", 12 cp nikel barrel, halo b w/ z code, cp flame drop forward, cp on/off asa, 68/4500 fiber wrapped hpa w/ dye tank cover
Strengths: accuracy, sound, power, and distance this bad boy makes.
Weaknesses: the hose is directly in the center of the regulator, making it hard to hold
Review: by simply adding this reg i lowered my gun from extremely hi pres. to mid- or low press. my gauge reading went from over 1000 to 475. I can feel it. I wish i wouldn't have waited so long for this upgrade. set this up with comp air and a turbo valve for your peice, and watch the comp go down.
Conclusion: go get one! if they dont make it for your gun, sell your gun and buy one that they do make it for!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 11:11 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dpg3 Wednesday, February 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: diablo ar-1
ricochet apache hopper
pure energy 48/3000
Strengths: Light
good feel

Weaknesses: (None)
Review: This is a fairly good regulator but there are definently better ones. It came stock on my diablo ar-1 and was pretty good but it got all messed up for some reason, I have no idea why but I cleaned and lubed it and it works fine now. I really like the feel on it, this makes it so easy to walk the trigger.
Conclusion: It's okay, there are better
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2009 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agitator Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock dragun reg (yuck)
another stock dragun reg but different... pretty good
Palmers reg... prob'ly better than this one
Marker Setup: 2k2 timmy, was 2.9, st ram+cap, evil detonator hpr, freak kit, 88/45 crossy, vlocity, empire on/off with empire rail, hybrid grips.

2k3 dragun 275 psi blowback, ricochet apache, tornado valve, t1 va, uncapped lcd board, "bouncy" eyes, psychoballistics z-drop, palmer stabilizer, cip bolt, polished internals (lol).
Strengths: Price
Cust. service
Looks
Co2 compatible
Availability
Weaknesses: Gave me problems
Air inlet location
Resale value
Gave me problems
Review: I bought this reg ('05 version). It was great at first. The gauge port plug was hard to remove . If you get this reg, just heat it with a hair dryer and get the right size allen wrench and force the plug out.

I started to have creeping problems. I lubed it a lot and they still happened. Blast sent me a free rebuild kit, which fixed the reg. I then traded it for something else, since I didn't like the air inlet (gets in teh way of ur hand). I also didn't want to have more problems with it in the future. The gauge port is nice, but the gauge gets in the way of your hand. THe port is good for checking pressure.. then degas and remove the gauge and re-install the plug they give you.

I'd avoid this reg in the future due to the problems myself and many others have had.

blast (bob long tech) gets an A++ in my book for helping me so much.
The reg looks nice.
Conclusion: Wouldn't buy again. Good for someone not wanting to spend a lot and trying to go lp with a low end blowback. I wouldn't recommend buying this reg new. They're a lot cheaper used.
Even though I maintained this reg very well, it gave me problems.

7/10 due to problems during regular use.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bunkerking1337 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maxflo Reg
Dye Reg
Marker Setup: BL 2005 Ripper
Blue Halo B loader
CP Uni mount II
CP adjustable ram cap
45/45k Crossfire HPA tank
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I've owned two of these regs so far and I have loved both very much. At first I was having some problems with my torpedo's but after they were broken in they were easily able to keep up with my Alias and Ripper with little to no shoot down. The only problem I have with the Torpedo is were the inlet hole is. The inlet hole is very high up on the reg. This causes a problem when you have to install the elbow or take off the reg because the elbow gets in the way of the grip frame. It not a big deal its just a pain to have to take the grip frame off of the body every time you want to take off the whole reg. This is probably only a problem with the Intimidator other guns may not have the same problem. It depends on what gun you have and how close the reg is to the trigger frame.

Strengths
Looks nice
Fast recharge rate
They're reliable

Weaknesses

The inlet hole is very high on the reg so this causes a problem when you have to install the elbow or take off the reg because the elbow gets in the way of the grip frame.
Conclusion: This is by far one of the best regs out there on the market. I have owned two of them and I love both. They have a fast recharge rate, they're reliable and look pretty nice too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alk1979 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock regulator from my Electra Dx
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX
Viewloader Evlution II
Bob long torpedo
Phycoballistics long drop
steel braided line
bored stock vertical adapter
bored and modded stock valve pin and body
removed venturi from stock bolt
32* light main light valve springs
14" evil pipe kit
PMI 48/3000
460 psi / 290 fps
Strengths: Hose fittings left and right
guage fits left over fitting

Weaknesses: Doesn't ship with an allen wrench
Should come with guage
Review: I bought this regulator to take my spyder low pressure. The regulator seems to be very quick and stable. It comes with a plug in one of the hose/guage holes.the hose can be hooked up left or right side on my Electra DX ,I suppose all vertical adapter threads are the same length but if they are not maybe your hook ups will be front and back.

The regulator adjustment is on the underside of the unit and its an inset Allen head.I think for the cost of the regulator they could have shipped an allen wrench with it to make adjustments but I guess most people installing this do have there own tools.
Conclusion: I recommend you buy this if you are shooting less then 600psi. It seems to be of an average price and it does what its supposed to very well on my setup.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

service Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
OEM Spyder Regulator (if you can consider that pos a regulator)
Marker Setup: E-99
Lightening bolt mod (inc. polishing)
J&J 14" SS Barrel
Egg2 Hopper
Heavy Bolt Spring(at weakest setting on marker adjustment/all the way out)
Drilled out stock expansion valve
3500 psi high pressure setup w/ remote kit
Strengths: Rigid construction, very good quality, highly consistent, nice grip.
Weaknesses: Ports are offset differently and in a uncomfortable location.
Review: After recieving this on ebay(~$40 usd) I was impressed with the rigid/solid feel of this. Upon close inspection the internals appear simple(less to go wrong), and the quality appeared to be very good. At first I was not sure if the internal spring would be able to hold up to the pressure, although after I installed it and pressurized it there were no problems.

After installation I also found that the air inlet ports do not line up where the crappy OEM regulator did (used a makeshift washer as a spacer to get it to line up at a decent location). Also I'm lucky I had a remote kit to attach to the regulator, because the threading and port location of the regulator was radically different than that of the OEM (you would need a new line or thread convertor w/ a 90 degree bend(see pictures) and approximate 2 additional inches of line).

In the morning when I went to chrono, the regulator was very responsive to slight angular changes in the adjustment grub screw. After having installed the heavy bolt spring a week earlier I was clocking noticeable speed variances with every shot. After installing this beautiful regulator, the shots were consistent every time(only took three shots).

Dialing in the fps to 280 took very little effort, although an allen key was needed. I would have preferred a click-lock end knob on the bottom with a rotating numbered ring. This would allow me to perform field adjustments when needed (wink wink) w/o the use of a key. And it would let me zero in the speed with less tools(want to neither rely on the field to have the right tools, nor do I want to carry them).

Used it all day(fired off about 750 shots) and achieved two huge benifits;
1) Kept the balls traveling at an extremely consistent trajectory/speed
2) Saved a freaking ton of air(I usually would have had to refill)

Conclusion: This is by far the 2nd/3rd best mod I've ever done(but really each component works together), the vertical accuracy is simply incredible with this regulator.

I am not giving a 10 simply because of the minor (asthetic/discomfort) fitment issue, and the said improvements that I would have liked to have seen. I would still highly recommend this to anybody looking for a quality regulator at a reasonable price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media