paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
inthefrey Friday, March 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month819 of 858 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Marker Setup: Response Trigger
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Well, hereís this 43-year-old satellite engineer who gets convinced to try paintball with his 15-year-old son. So, I started doing research on paintball products a little after Christmas 2002. By the beginning of March, I had read almost every article on the subject. The technology is getting better every day. And since I have a wife, kids, mortgage, car payment, insurance, food, fuel and those domestic things that some 15-year-old kids think magically appear, I chose the Tippmann A5.
Here are several reasons. Let me share just a few.

**The Tippmann marker LOOKS Awesome!**
The marker is an excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship. There is the distinct Ďfeelí of craftsmanship when holding it. It doesnít feel in any way like a toy. The coatings are perfect with only a few mold marks where the two halves of the frame come together across the site rail. It closely resembles an MP5.( Maybe too close for the sensibilities of some parents )

**The Mechanicals**
So many markers of today look like they are straight out of the prop room of a low-budget science fiction movie Ė with enough gadgets to confuse even the most adept button pusher. The Tippmann A5 is a workhorse of integrated technology. The only adjustments are the safe button and the needle valve for the Response Trigger. Thatís it! Needless to say the markersí 100+ pieces were laid out on my kitchen table the night the UPS truck brought it home. I inspected everything. (Special note: NEVER take this marker apart in the woods Ė other than the basic field strip Ė you WILL loose something. Trust me on this!) Almost everything about this marker fits tightly together. Nothing looks like it was added as an after thought and needed to be re-engineered. However, Iím a little disappointed in the piston that drives the Cyclone Feeder system. Although it works perfectly, it seems a little fragile. A little longer collar on the feed chamber to support this piston would correct the wobble. You are definitely getting an original product and not someone elseís ideas. The mechanism should last a long time with the proper care and maintenance.

**Accuracy**
A friend of mine has a Tippmann 98 with R/T and Flatline barrel. He raves about it! The stock barrel on my A5 seems just fine however, many, many, many reviews are telling the tale of the A5 Flatline barrel. The A5 Stock barrel on my setup can hit a 9Ēx15Ē target 9 out of ten times using Co2 and RPS/PMI Super Swirl Tournament balls at 100í. ( I know! Donít give me any heat about cheap balls!) The outside temp was about 40. I shot almost 500. I didnít chop a single one. My next purchase for the marker would be the Flatline barrel. And yes, I will be getting some better balls for that. The reviews say Marbleizers or Diablo.


**Rate of Fire**
Well, I guess this is where the purist comes out in me. Although Tippmann doesn't advertise this very well, for a NON-electric marker, this shoots like a paintball fire hose! No missed feeds, no broken balls, just a steady stream of flying hell from the muzzle. I would estimate 10 to 12 per second. It truly didnít miss a lick! Although with the cost of paintballs, this novelty will wear off soon enough. Consistency and accuracy will always prevail.
Weaknesses: We'll have to see about this. Nothing too bad so far to report.
It could use a little bigger hopper and a little bit better barrel.
Say that 5 times fast!
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone that wants reliability. The extra $75 to $100 bucks you spend will be well worth it in agony spent on lesser markers.

If Iím not too Ďgeezedí by then, I hope to be using it 5 years from now. Or maybe, my sonís or daughter's children will be using it someday. Now if you want to pay ($$$$) for a phased plasma rifle in the 40 watt range, go buy a Cocker or an Angel.
If you want an excellent, well engineered marker, and still be able to afford a family, this may be the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
203 Comments - Add Comment

Forsayken Monday, May 19th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month400 of 417 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other blowback semi's. Sherriden, tippmann 98 custom, a few brass eagles (I pity the owners) and I saw an angel fired once. In terms of rate of fire and accuracy, only the angel beats it. And the angel had an electro trigger and it didn't beat the A-5 by much.
Marker Setup: I use the A-5 right out of the box. That's it. It's all I need.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only minor things for casual players because this gun has so many extra features that are usually mods or upgrades. You dont need electric hopper because this has a unique cyclone feed. You dont need electro trigger because this thing fires too fast as it is. You dont need longer barrel because this I use open sights and can hit small targets (probably about 4 inches x 4 inches) from 50 feet away without any problems. A fun thing to get would be a red dot or a scope because this gun does have the standard scope grooves. I don't have either of these upgrades yet, but I'm looking into them.
Strengths: -Durability: strong
-Reliability: accuracty, rate of fire
-Built-in features: cyclone feed, vertical CO2 adapter
Weaknesses: -slightly bulky hopper
-VERY slight Co2 inefficiency due to cyclone feed.
Review: I did a lot of homework before making a final purchase decision. I wanted a marker that I know what last, have great durability, reliability, stability and accuracy, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money. This sounds sort of selfish in a way: I want an awesome marker for not a lot of money. Well, after doing a lot of research and reading a lot of reviews on this site as well as any others I could find, I started shopping around for prices on a Tippmann A-5. I finally found a place that had the Tippmann A-5 for a nice price and that shipped to Canada.

Now onto my review of the gun: This marker was so easy to set up out of the box: put it on safety, load it, and attach the Co2 cylinder. Done. From the very first shot I knew I had made the right decision. Just holding this marker gives you the feeling that a lot of work went into making this marker just right. And it's worth every penny even if it is slightly more expensive than most blowbacks. This gun has everything the average paintballer would ever need: Amazing accuracy, height rate of fire when it's needed, durable construction, easy to use sights, and the almighty cyclone feed.

What this really means is that you don't have to go out and spend another $200 to get the gun to work the way you thought it would. You can get about 10 balls a second just by pulling the trigger normally. The cyclone feed works just as well as the advertisements say: the faster you pull the trigger, the faster this thing loads the balls. And it never messes up (well, not so far. And I've done some pretty rigorous testing). The gun shoots pretty straight compared to every other gun I've seen, this is the most accurate. This gun also has a built in front handle that's darned comfortable albeit a little small for those with big hands. Also, the vertical Co2 adapter is a nice feature when you want a compact marker for indoor play.

First off, I'm going to break down the cocking, loading of the balls, rate of fire and accuracy. The cocking handle is located on the left side at the front of the fun. It's easy to pull back and actually quite fun to load because it mimics a real gun.

If you don't know how the cyclone feed works, it's actually pretty simple. A star shaped object (a sprocket if you will) sits at the bottom of the hopper. In between the sprocket are 5 balls. To the left of the sprocket is the hole where the balls are pushed from the sprocket located at the bottom of the hopper and go into the chamber. When the trigger is pulled, the ball in the chamber is fired. At the same time, excess Co2 is diverted from the barrel to a smaller chamber to force the sprocket to rotate, pushing a fresh ball into the chamber. This sounds like a timely process, but it's not. It can happen up to 15 times a second according to the advertisements. Of course, you do need an electronic trigger to achieve a rate of 15 rounds per second. It's the main reason this gun fires as quickly as it does. The faster you pull the trigger, the faster a fresh ball will enter the chamber after firing. So far it has worked perfectly. Not a single ball has backfired or been chopped by the bolt.

Traditionally, rate of fire is usually inversely proportional to the accuracy. Well this is not the case with the A-5. The accuracy is just as great if you are sniping while prone or charging the enemy base. The balls shoot pretty much as straight as a spherical object can given that wind and air resistance can have a profound affect on its trajectory. For example, in a low wind situation, I can kneel about 30 feet away from a pole about 1 inch in diameter and hit it more than 50% of the time at a rate of about 4 balls a second. Most of the misses are within 1-inch left of right of the pole. Bear in mind that I am in a kneeling position and attempting to react to the slight recoil while maintaining a constant ROF. With practice I'm sure I could get up to 75% accuracy.

Secondly, I will know discuss the construction, weight and durability of the marker.

The gun weighs in at about 6 pounds total with 200 balls in the hopper and a 12oz Co2 tank attached. I'm not really sure if that is heavier than the average gun, but it feels very solid and stable. The frame of the gun is a very dense plastic.Strong plastic! Almost every piece of the body of the marker is held in place by additional support as well. My only concern is the manual-loading arm for the cyclone feed. It's only normal plastic and does not have much support. The armís only use is to manually rotate the sprocket in the event that a ball is not pushed into the chamber (You can also just fire 1 blank round to force the cyclone feed into action to load a new ball anyways). This arm is also needed when your Co2 tank is low on gas. Occasionally the sprocket wonít rotate, but at this point, your muzzle velocity is so low due to lack of gas that you should just replace the cylinder anyways. I'm sure that I will never break this piece off in the lifetime of this gun because it runs parallel to the main part of the body and has some protection from the strong hopper. This arm is also very flexible too; I'm sure it would take a lot of stress to break it off.

Another great feature of this gun is the quick strip. Me, being the casual paintballer, will probably never need to use this feature. But I did quick strip it just to see some of the innards of this marker. And yes. You can strip this gun down very quickly. 2 pushpins and the handle falls off. A few more and you can get to any piece of the gun. Also, you donít have to worry about the pushpins falling out while playing. A pin has to be pushed from one side of the gun, and then pulled from the other side. The pin is also securely fitted as well.

All right, I've pretty much gone over the technical end of things. I will now proceed to my experiences while using the gun in a game.

I have to say, I love the realistic look of this gun. From the sights down to the handle and the cocking handle, it feels very authentic. You probably donít want to carry this one in your front seat on the way down to your local park, nor would you want to ever fire this gun in an urban area. I live in the bush so no one cares. Anyways, this is the best thing I have ever invested money in. So far it's performed exactly how I wanted it to. With the exception of the weak looking manual cyclone feed loader arm and the slightly bulky hopper I am thoroughly satisfied with my purchase. The hopper only looks bulky because of the wide neck. It's really not any bigger than any other 200 round hoppers. It's just that I place the gun on my left shoulder so the hopper blocks a small portion of my field of view. For everyone else that places the Co2 against their right shoulder, you probably won't even notice. And let me reiterate that reliability of the cyclone feed and the gun in general: I thought it would be a good idea to waste what was left of a 200 can of Brass Eagle paintballs that were nearing the age of one year. I fired them off as fast as I could and not a single ball broke nor did they curve off of their trajectory. I then proceeded to load up some quality paint and was very pleased with the results.
Conclusion: If this in-depth review doesn't convince you to spend the extra bit of cash and get an A-5 as opposed to a marker that will need more maintenance and upgrades, then nothing will. For approximately $240 US (lower if you shop around) you get a lot more bang for your buck because of all the included extra features at are otherwise mods or upgrades for every other gun. I sincerely hope this review helps someone out. Inthefrey, another person who wrote an excellet review of the Tippmann A-5 under this section was posted on march 7, 2003 sold me on this marker. So I hope I am writing this to atleast back up his claims that the A-5 is an "excellent piece of Tippmann engineering and workmanship". It was worth every penny to get it. I hope anyone who buys this gun enjoys it even half as much as I have.

P.S. I want to thank all those that submitted whole-hearted, detailed reviews of the Tippmann A-5. You helped me make the right purchase decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
86 Comments - Add Comment

BBjones Sunday, March 2nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months111 of 132 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 AutoCocker
Marker Setup: Tippman a-5 with an all american 2002 two piece, running a remote with Nitro. everything else is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
**NITRO** and an all american 2002 two piece barrel (they are amazing with distance and acurracy) u can get a remote, but you'll really only need one if ur running Co2. **if u want nitro you need to get a special upgrade for the a-5 from tippman, the upgrade fixes all the problems causes when running nitro**
um, you can replace the bolt and other minor things if u want, can only make it better.
Strengths: hmm.. the good, yes.

Today one of my friends came over to show me his new auto cocker, he took it apart, showed me all the pretty stuff , 3 way, ect... he knew what he was talking about too. i was like, finnaly i get to shoot an almighty autococker, we went out back and gased up, my a-5 and his auto cocker, we stood ecxactly 100 feet away form a piece of wood. the wood piece was about 9 inches high and 9 inches wide(about the size of your head) we started firing to test
our guns accuaracy. after we stopped, i saw that i had hit the same exact spot each time for 7 shots in a row, and i only fired 7 shots in total. meanwhile, my friend with his 2002 autococker had hit the board every time, but not in the same spot each time, they were scatered on the wood piece. i was puzzled because i have always herd auto cockers were the most accurate guns out their and i was amazed as my a-5 easily outshot him, he had a few upgrades including a barrel too and he had a great new aftermarket bolt. all i upgraded on my a-5 was the barrel to an all american 2002 two piece (14 inches)

we both had good barrels and nitro
So in conclusion, my a-5 was more accurate than his upgraded cocker (2002) with only a new barrel. i couldnt help smiling after i saw his cocker shoot, and it couldnt touch my my a-5's accuracy.
Weaknesses: hmm, the bad, yes..

1. the bad is that the rating for this gun is only a 9.2 it should be atleast a 9.8
2. their is nothing bad about this marker, NOTHING!!! (exept it can severly deprive auto cocker owners of their pride)
Conclusion: this marker is amazing, nothing short of perfection, i wouldnt trade this gun for any other one out their including cockers and angels, ect...
i only decided to write this review becasue of my appreciation for the A-5.

thanks Tippmann.

ps- if u dont believe my story, get an Cocker and an A-5 and see for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
74 Comments - Add Comment

cowface Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year103 of 116 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, smart parts impulse, 98 custom, auto-cocker (black magic i think?)
Marker Setup: A-5- Flatline, Double trigger, 68/4500 nitro w/ remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE BARREL, nitro if you can afford it
Strengths: accuracy, price, cyclone feeder
Weaknesses: loudness, gas usage
Review: The A-5... a very good gun. I play in the woods and speed-ball, at paintball courses, and the A-5 works really well in both. The only other gun I've owned was a spyder compact, but ive played with all the other guns I put above in a game, borrowed from a friend or brother.

Paint
I've used a wide range of paintballs (from zap to RPS evil) in it and none ever break in the barrel or cyclone, However I did notice that better paint gives it better accuracy and constancy.

Flatline
I think the best thing I put on my gun was the flatline barrel. I didn't like the stock barrel at all. The flatline improved the range of fire and the accuracy. I also noticed that paint shot from the flatline will go through brush easier instead of breaking on a little twig in the woods. One thing I don't like about the flatline is that you have to unscrew certain parts of the gun to get it off, using allen wrenches but it never really breaks paint in the barrel because of the cyclone so it doesn't really matter, just sometimes it's a little hard for storage.

Air
The gun works well on CO2 but performance starts to decrease when the tank is about half empty, so i put a nitro tank on it which stopped that problem. Nitro has worked well for me and I get more shots out of it. Also the gun uses gas very quickly due to the cyclone feeder but I like it better than an electric hopper because I am horrible at remembering to change/recharge a battery. When im at a field I refill my air often, but when im playing in the woods I turn down my velocity to about 220 and the gun works fine on that, because of the flatline, but it dose work better with the velocity closer to 300.

Loudness.
When I put the flatline on the gun it made it particularly loud, then I put a nitro tank on it and it got even louder, because the flatline barrel has no holes in it to make it quiet. However it dose make this echo noise that is hard to pinpoint exactly so sometimes even though you hear it you can't exactly tell were its coming from. So the gun isn't that bad on "giving away your positions" in the woods. Also in speed-ball the loudness scares newbies which makes shooting them that much more fun!

Cyclone
The cyclone has always been dependable for me (just like the gun) and never chopped and paint it shoves the ball into the gun and holds it there. It also takes the place of a good expensive electric hopper. You can get the gun to shoot pretty fast (which is good for speed-ball settings) and it wont ever skip paint, you can get it to shoot even faster with the e-grip or response trigger, but i don't have either of those so I really don't know much about them.
Conclusion: All in all its a good gun, accuracy, range and everything. The stock barrel sucks, go for the flatline barrel its worth the money. I spent over $500 on my gun and I think it was well worth it. One thing thats bad about it is that it is a longer gun instead of a stubby gun, like most guns, which sometimes can get annoying in those "not so perfect bunkers" so i got a remote which helps. I prefer the plastic it's made out of instead of the heavy bright metal most guns are made out of. Its a very comfortable gun in your hands. I give it a 10 out of 10 because its a good gun that I would choose over an autococker and the price is VERY good, I paid $220 for just my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

alphableak83 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years94 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-Plus, Tippman 98, Autococker
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline Barrel, Response Trigger, Soon to have Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, Response Trigger, HPA/N2
Strengths: Duribility, Consistency, Accuracy, Customize very easily, the abilitiy to keep up with high end markers
Weaknesses: Uses a lot more air than other markers.
Review: I have had this marker for over 2 years now and shot god knows how many paintballs throught it. I have played mainly woodsball but some speedball with it.


Let me start with how the marker feels in ones hands: 10/10

STURDY. This isn't some cheap plastic marker like some believe. It feels like you are holding an actual SMG in your hands. If you shake it, it doesn't rattle at all and it doesn't feel like pieces are gonna fall off if you drop it or bang it around in the woods, and yes i have dropped it and banged it around in the woods with no problems at all.


Next how it shoots: Accuracy: Stock: 7/10 Upgraded barrel: 10/10

Speed: Stock 9/10 Upgraded system(RT/Egrip): 10/10

Accuracy: The stock barrel sucks bad. Make this your first upgrade. I would suggest the flatline. A lot of people say that it isn't accurate or the balls don't break at long distances. Let me put this to rest. That is all rumor!!!! You have to tune your marker to obtain the most accuracy, so yes that means grabbin some paintballs and a chrono and spending some time figuring out your optimum fps for accuracy. You should do this with any barrel not just the flatline!!!! Also remember CO2 effects your accuracy as well, so upgrading to HPA/N2 will make you more accurate due to the fact that there is no fluctuation in your psi going into the marker like CO2 does. And lastly the quality of paint is always a big factor. Suck it up and buy some decent paint. My fav is RPS Marbilizers, they are awesome in the flatline.

Speed: This marker will blaze if you can make it. As fast as you pull the trigger it will shoot, and without chopping balls due to the cyclone feed. A response trigger (15bps) or E-grip is definately an awesome upgrade if you want to throw some paint down range. I have never had a single chop in my cyclone feed system and I have had it over 2 years and played countless games. Also a plus is no need to buy an expensive electronic hopper due to the cyclone feed.

Overall stock it shoots great for the price you pay. Spend a little extra money and you have yourselves a marker that can out shoot any marker. I say this knowing that angels and the sort can fire 25+ bps, but thats not everything. You need distance and accuracy and the flatline definately gives you that. You will reach out and touch those angels and other high end electro markers before they can even think about getting an accurate shot at you. Trust me I've played against them.


Reliability: 15/10 Maintainence money: $4

Like I said I have had this marker for over 2 years now and the amount of money I have spent maintaining it: $4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I bought a 4 dollar bottle of paintball marker oil. That is it. No O-rings, No parts whatsoever. You may say that I never play with it, but this is my only paintball marker. I play all the time and I'm rough with it. I am probably going to change all of the o-rings this spring before I play, and that is only b/c I feel I should, not b/c it is required. This marker shoots like it did the day that I first bought it. Awesome.


Care: 10/10

This marker is easy to take care of. After every game, I take it apart, wipe it down, and oil everything up. All in all it takes about 20 minutes. In the field if you break a ball there is no problem. Field stripping is a cinch. The only thing about field stripping is you have to remove the velocity screw to take out the bolt. Other than that no prob. I have never broken a ball inside of the a-5. I have broken a couple balls in the stock barrel though. As far as breaking balls in the flatline, it has never happened to me. I accredit this to the quality of paintballs. Like I said I use Marbilizers. Never a break inside the marker, never in the flatline. Only a couple in the stock barrel.


Upgradability: 20/10

You can do about anything to this marker. You can make it full auto, you can make it shoot 100 feet further than any other paintball marker, and accurately too. You can make it look like a real MP5 or M4. You can do soooo much to this marker it is awesome. If you are into speedball or want to shoot crazy fast, get an egrip or RT. Response Trigger is easy to get 15 bps. The egrip you can get crazy bps too, but I haven't used it. If you want distance/accuracy. You have the flatline. If you are into mil/sim there are a ridiculous amount of add-ons/parts to make your a-5 look like a real assault rifle/smg. I believe this marker has the most upgradability out of any marker.


Overall Looks: 9.5/10

The a-5 looks beautiful in my opinion. The only reason I gave it a 9.5 and not a 10 is that there are those guys out there that like there markers chromed out and all shiny. Can't do that to this marker. Thats not my style though. I love how it looks like an mp5 and with a couple of add-ons it looks even better. Go to ops gear's website and look at some of the a-5's that they have for examples. Absolutely amazing looking.


Gas/Air: 8/10

This is a contraversial issue. Some say that it is an air hog, some say its not. I found out that it is an air hog compared to other markers, but its not ridiculously bad. Most fields have free air refills anyways. I would have rated it lower but this marker runs awesome on either CO2 or HPA/N2, so I bumped the rating to an 8. Many say that it doesn't like HPA/N2. You have to use a HP regulator, or if it is an adjustable regulator, keep it around 800/850 psi. That is unless you convert it to low pressure. I believe that is why some people have bad experiences with HPA/N2, they simply don't have the right psi flowing through the marker. After all HPA/N2 is better than CO2 for the reason that it is more consistent and doesn't put liquid into the marker. It also won't freeze the marker like CO2. Theres more but thats a different forum. People also say that the Response Trigger doesn't like HPA/N2, well thats the same issue as I just stated. Gotta have the right psi flowing through the marker. So overall its kind of an airhog, but it performs awesome with CO2 and HPA/N2. Not many markers can do that.


Feeding system: 9.5/10

The cyclone feeding system is just plain awesome. In over 2 years never chopped a single ball. Thats all I have to say, just plain awesome. Some complain about the hopper. I have not had any problems with it and I don't find it to be a problem, but I do prefer the TAC CAP. It holds 30, 40, or 50 balls. I like it for the reason that when in woods you can hide and not worry about the enemy seeing your hopper. You can cut it down to which ever size you like. Note: that isnt' good for speedballers.


Overall: 10/10

Overall I give this marker a 10/10. It has some great features that comes with the marker stock. When upgraded (barrel mainly) it is untouchable and you can look awesome when playing (opsgear cosmetic parts). Add in the fact that it is basicly a tank, in terms of the durability and the ease of cleaning, and you have yourself a frickin awesome marker.



***EDIT***
I was reading some reviews that others have written on the a-5. Many have said how it is heavy. I am in the Army Infantry and a SAW Gunner. The SAW weighs in at 18 lbs, so to me the a-5 isn't heavy at all. It feels like a feather. If you are really gonna wine about a couple pounds then I suggest you check your manhood, no offense to any ladies, and hit the gym. I would rather have a little weight to my marker and know that its built sturdy then carry around a flimsy light marker that will break if I fall with it. So if you are crying about the weight of the a-5 then you shouldn't be playing paintball at all or else you might wine during a review of a certain brand of paintballs b/c they hurt too bad when they hit you. In other words, don't be a softy and toughen up. IT'S ONLY 3.5 LBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (look at tippmann's website for specs)
Conclusion: If you are only remotely thinking about getting an a-5, just do it. You will not regret it at all. It is the best paintball marker in my eyes for those above reasons. Don't let the guys who have never played with the a-5, who talk smack on it b/c they spent way to much for their marker, talk you out of it. They are just jealous b/c we bought a marker that can perform in their realm, and even out perform them in some areas for 1000 dollars less then their marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 6th, 2006 at 9:00 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Soyboy Monday, May 27th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested79 of 111 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98, Green paintjob, Lapco Bigshot Aluminum, Psycho Ballistics Aluminum Bolt and Powetube, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger, Psycho Ballistics Universal DropFoward, 32 degrees boblong style 6 stage expansion chamber, 12v Revolution hopper, JT Mask, Various Trigger Jobs, Rocket Cocker, Maddmann Spring Kit, 20 oz tank, two 9 oz tanks, 12 oz tank, 14 oz tank, and i think that's it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a decent barrel and a 20 oz. tank.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Durability
- Reliability
- Cyclone feed
- Fast Trigger
- Looks awesome
- Not too expensive
- Light Weight
- Low profile
- Barrel Adaptors (soon)
- Same upgrades as M98 and More (soon)
Weaknesses: The only thing that I do not like about this gun is that it is like 99%% plastic. It would be so much better if it was aluminum. However I must say this plastic is very hard and durable, and not to mention light weight, so it isn't such a downfall.
Conclusion: At first I was very skepticle of the A-5. I knew that I just had to try it for myself...

My friend's brother previously owned a M98 with a 14inch J&J Ceramic. He sold that, and got the A-5. With a 20 oz CO2 tank and a brand new Smart Parts Progressive barrel, he handed me the gun.

It seemed well balanced with the 20 oz tank and very light. With Severe Premium (Cyclone) paint my friend took a few shots took a few shots...

WOW! No way, I couldn't believe it. As I aimed for the center of the tree (which was 75 ft away) with the sight it hit dead center. I can't stress this anymore... DEAD CENTER!!! It did it again and again from all ranges. And this is only with CO2 and an upgraded barrel.

I also noticed the trigger pull was very light and with the barrel, the gun was quiet.

All in all, I was very impressed with the Tippmann A-5, and I am definately considering in getting one.

I'm not saying it is as good as an angel, but of the semi-auto guns, I would take it over an automag and autococker because of the price, and because of nitro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
54 Comments - Add Comment

CrImSoN_TiDe Thursday, August 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month61 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing even compares!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 right out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
I heard good stuff about the flatline and the response trigger so I am looking into both of them
Strengths: -Everything you could ever want in a paintball gun
Weaknesses: -A little loud, but who really cares
-Price
Review: Ok, first let me start off in saying I know most of the people who are reading this forum right now are on the boarder line of getting this paintball gun. I kow what that is like becasue I used to do that before I got my Tippmann A5. I have begged my parents for months to let me get a paintball gun. I had done all my homework. I read thousands of reviews on this gun and several others. I had done my research on thousands of web pages and this is the gun I came up with.
This gun is the greatest. It is great for serious players who have played a lot and beginners. The price is pretty hefty but if you are serious about paintballing go for it. The Cyclone feed is amazing. I have shot over a case of 2,000 paintballs, if I may say, it has never broke one. If you pull that trigger, it will shoot. Most people say the stock barrel sucks. Man, could they be anymore wrong?! It gives the gun good range and has gave me excellent accuracy. This gun is made of plastic and is the most durable gun I have ever come into contact with. Cleaning this gun and keeping it oiled is very easily and it didn't take me long to learn.
I used to go to the paintball ranges and be scared when I saw all these people with shiny guns and whereing all their camo and stuff. Now, I walk in there with my A5 and do all the intimidating. This gun has done wonders for me. My friends are scared to death of me now, eventhough i'm just a little under 100 pounds less than them. This gun packs a lot of punch.
BUY THIS GUN YOU WON'T REGRET IT, I PROMISE.
Conclusion: If you are on the boarder line of buying this gun get it. Trust me. I know how it feels and I went through the same stage. Right out of the box this gun is great. You don't need to upgrade it and stuff. If you have the funds, get this gun. And you can tell them autocockers TO WATCH OUT. I give this gun a 12 but since the scale only goes to 10 I can only give a 10. I could go on all day but I think you should get this gun.

I hope this was useful because this is the kind of stuff that helped me out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SaintofKillers Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months61 of 71 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, and Prolite. Orracle autococker (is that considered similiar?)
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with E-grip, Flatline, Palmer Reg., PMI 68cu 3000 psi fiber hp/nitro tank, PMI perfect drop forward, DOP double trigger, DOP rear velocity adjustor, Combat sling from lord knows where...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, E-grip, and a hp tank w/ a reg.
Strengths: With the right upgrades, this is the best midranged marker on the market. period.
Weaknesses: Loud. Can't be chromed out. With the proper upgrades, it's a little expensive.
Review: I purchased the Tippman A-5 six months ago as my back-up, and I could't be more pleased with the markers performance.

STOCK IMPRESSIONS (comparing to the 98)-For starters, a stock A-5 is slightly better than a stock custom 98. With prices having fallen on the A-5 (don't spend more than 200.00,) the price difference between the two markers is more than made up by the cyclone feeder/hopper that comes stock. The stock barrel is also far more accurate than the 98's, though you'll want to replace that soon enough. As for weight, the A-5 seemed to weigh about the same as the 98, and I've heard some little kids complain about the A-5's weight, but anyone slightly larger than your average 10 year old girl should be able to handle it just fine! The cyclone hopper works great, and it's a relief not to have to put batteries into it. I was slightly worried about the hoppers profile, but upon comparison with the halo on my Orracle, its no where near as bad as I had feared. As for the front end of the hopper being flat and that being bad, I've used every gimmick hopper out there that supposedly makes the balls bounce off the hopper, and they are all useless-the flat front wont be any better or any worse than what you've used (note-old A-5s apparently had weak plastic that could crack from frontal blows, that has been changed since the second manufactural run of the markers.)

LOOKS-This is subjective, but, in my opinion, the A-5 looks like some sort of smg and looks great. If you like chromed out markers, which I do as well, then you might hate not being able to trick your A-5 out like you can with any 'cocker. Since I like it both ways, it's no problem, but I'm surprised that tippman or one of it's after market manufacturers hasn't spent the time/money/effort to give it's fans a few more visual options.

UPGRADES-This is the good part. The A-5 has some upgrades that are pricey, but, once purchased, they make this marker the best of the mid ranged markers. The flatline barrel on this thing is the only barrel to get, put away your boomsticks and AA's, they cant touch it. The 98s flatline shoots farther than the A-5's but is very inaccurate, and alot of players assumed the A-5 had the same barrel, it doesn't. It is just as accurate as the barrels I mentioned (i put 2 cases of paint through each,) but it can go far further. The A-5 with the flatline is loud as hell, but with the increase in range it's an acceptable trade-off. This leads us into the famous "I caught a flatline ball" fish story...at least with the A-5, this is not possible, I've gotten 3 tools out when they tried (about the funniest damn thing you've ever seen too.) The E-grip is the next toy you gotta have, because full auto and/or burst is just too much fun. In full auto, your ROF will match anything out there that I've fired, and with HP you wont have to worry about freeze-ups. True full auto will cost you in accuracy (and money for paint,) but this is true for any gun that's firing 15+ bps. My only complaint about the e-grip is that its too vulnerable to dirt getting into the holes and into the board, I recommend putting electrical tape over the holes once you select your rof prior to play. Though those upgrades are pricey, they are well worth it. There isn't ANY marker out there that for the exact same price can match a properly built A-5 (see my build.)

Conclusion: It's pretty simple. There's alot of substandard markers out there, so save your money and go with the best for the price no matter what your money sit. is. If you don't have much money, get a tippman custom 98. If you have enough money to buy a mid-range marker, get the A-5, you wont be sorry! Lastly, if you've got alot of cash to drop, get the Orracle Autococker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Spike180master Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months49 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ stock barrel, then flatline, then J&J ceramic 14inch Barrel, 20oz w/ remote and a double trigger,

Comparing Gun: 98c w/ stock barrel,flatline and a Nyte stick 18 inch with 20oz w/ remote and a double trigger,

During the Air testing i used the CO2 scale
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel,double trigger, also if you want the full affect of the field strip get thumb screws.
Strengths: Fast
accurate with a right barrel
Cyclone feed
DOESN'T CHOP BALLS!!!
Field strip
Weaknesses: Frontgrip rather small
Grip is plastic, not comfortable
You can bend Cocking spring
Air Hog
Review: Before i got the A-5, I read many reviews from Pbreview.com. After reading happy reviews, i wanted to see the worst rating reviews. I did this because I wanted to see what was the common problem. Mostly the cyclone chopping paintballs, if you have a A stamped on the bottom of the cyclone then your fine. And you can read the forum post on the tippmann forum page the title of post is " Does the a-5 chop balls? "

Out Of the Box: When you first take it out of the box it looks pretty cool, actually it looks better without a barrel on it. Looks like a mp5 or SMG. The stock barrel is ok but the inside of the barrel doesn't look smooth, and sometimes your barrel can have a piece of metal stuck to where they drilled the holes. And when you start looking at the cyclone feed you might do what probly most people do, push the reset button on the cyclone feeder and watch the cyclone spin, lol. When u hold the grip, it feels kinda weak. with the 98c is rubber and metal. And the grip gets uncomfortable after a while. And then you look at the hopper, some people say it looks bulky, it kinda does but not by that much comparing to a regular hopper.

Field Test: I brought two guns with me the a-5 with the accesories and a 98 custom so i can compare the two. First i tried the a-5 with the stock barrel, aimed at a Human wood target from about 30-40 feet. The stock barrel was 50/50. I shot 24 shots aiming 12 at the head and 12 at the torso. 1/3 paintballs hit the head and 9/12 hit the torso. Then I took out the 98c with stock barrel, pretty much the same result. Then i took the a-5 with 14 JJ barrel. I aimed from same distance and shot 12 at each part of the target. 5/6 of the shots hit the head and 11/12 hit the torso. Then i took out the 98c with the Nyte 18 barrel 3/4 of the shots hit the head and 12/12 hit the torso. After that I installed the Flatline on both guns. I went twice as far from the target, 60-80 feet from target. Used the A-5 first and fired 12 shots all together. 6 at the head and 6 at the torso. 5/6 paintballs hit the head and 6/6 hit the torso. Then I got the 98c. Shot same amout 4/6 hit the head and 6/6 hit torso. A-5 is a bit louder than the 98c

Speed test: For this i this i just pretty much fired it as fast as i can until a paintball broke. And conclusion is that the a-5 goes faster then the 98 custom.

Field strip and cleaning: I honestly didn't see much help with the field strips because u still have to unscrew about 6 screws and the grip strip bolts and a pain to get out. Just like always Tippmann makes it real easy to assemble. Also don't be that afraid to take apart the cyclone. Takes about 5 minutes in the beginning to put it back all together.One thing i don't like about the a-5 is the spring for the MP5 cocking handle. Because when you put the frame back on sometimes the spring gets out from the edge( dont know how to exactly say it so i said edge) and u can bend the spring without noticing.

Air Test: Yes i know, how did you do an air test and why? I did this for a simple reason that many people complain of it being an air hog. For this test i used a CO2 scale to make the tanks as even as possible while filling up the tank properly and fully. And i set the fps to 280. I took a remote so that the co2 can expand and so that the guns dont shoot out snow. It took me about 14 minutes to empty out a tank with the a-5. Me and my friend counted each ball in a pod to equal a 100 so that we can know exactly how many shots fired. An a-5 with a 20oz properly filled tank shoots about 825-900 +-2% And the 98c shoots 1050-1150. The reason i used about on the a-5 is that the ball sometimes can move in the cyclone. So yes the a-5 is an air hog but not by much. plus who wants to waste 2000 pb's in a game o and if your wondering i used a cheap brand of paintballs, DBZ i believe it was costs 30 for 2000

Overall- The gun is great, all you people who waste like a 1,000 dollars for a gun are simply, stupid( no offence) because i think its not the gun or the barrel that makes a paintball gun shoot good its the player and their strategies and you have to know your gun. The field strip is o.k but i dont see much of a difference unless u change your grip with the e-grip or to upgrade your trigger.And the A-5 is fast
Conclusion: Im giving the A-5 a 9 because it is a good marker for the price( 205-230). There are many upgrades and very easy to care. And they still have some work to do on the gun, such as making a spring holder for the cocking handle so it doesn't pop out and to make it less of an air hog. Also don't worry about the people saying that the a-5 chops balls. Just make sure that the screws arent sticking out inside of the cyclone cause that can break paintballs. Any ?'s write to me in comments or send me a message.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 20th, 2004 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

WRX_Rocky Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan Anihilator (from the OLD days, modified by Carter and Russell)
Colin Gun, PRE-Grey Ghost (again, back in the golden days . . . )
2K Cocker modified by John at Check-It
2001 LCD Angel modified by John at Check-It
Eclipse Bushmaster with MacDev parts
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, Flatline Barrel, ASA Red Dot Scope, Crossfire 68/4500 tank (red valve)
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rifle stock, and HPA
Strengths: range, accuracy, ROF, RANGE!!!!!
with the Flatline looks realistic
Weaknesses: heavy side, but not that bad
Because it looks real, can get in trouble
Review: If any of you had read my review of the Eclipse Bushmaster, you'll know how much I liked it over my Angle and Cocker. Well, that may have changed now! There is a new gun in town :)

This A5 with the Flatline barrel is incredible. Right out of the box with the tank from my Bushy (Crossfire 68/4500 with the red label = high pressure) and no reg at all, and the gun shot at just below the field limit of 275 - it was 273 . . . . and EVERY SHOT!!!!!!!! Well, only the first was a 272, but all others right on the money of 273. And I bought another ASA Red Dot scope like on my old Cocker - and without even adjusting it, it was just about right on target. WOW!

As for in the real world of the game - ohhhhhh man oh man! I really WAS shooting all the way across the field with it - and hitting targets too. I was able to (with the help of the scope) put it into tiny holes in walls consistently, and again across the field. True, if I held it sideways, it would curve around at the end of its arc - but when you get used to that, you could place the curve where you wanted and get a guy around a corner sort of. And the reactive trigger? Again another WOW! Could fire bursts of any number I chose to. Not as accurate as single shots, but more than less it would be close enough to the first shot to make it an awesome tool. I am in love with this marker. Might just be interested in selling off my Bushy! Its THAT GOOD!
Conclusion: For starters, this should be placed in the high end semi section, cause its that good (Andrew???) - even if its not as expensive as the ones in there. I really enjoy using it, and will either sell my Bushy, or just hang it on the wall for looks. And for realistic looks, its awesome. Would be great for scenario games for sure. But as it does not look like a plastic toy raygun, don't walk around in public with it. It looks TOO real and could cause a panic.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 29th, 2003 at 7:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media