paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
codeman99 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,impulse and tons of differant spyders
Marker Setup: A-5
response trigger
X-7 hopper
superfly bolt
expansion chamber
cp one piece 16 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-7 HOPPER
superfly bolt
Strengths: Fast,cyclone
Weaknesses: Accurate,consistant
Review: I was looking for a new gun and i had read alot of reviews about the A-5. They said it was accurate ,consistant and fast.i thought well that sounds like everything i would want so the next day i went out to my local paintball shop and bought one.When I got home i graved some balls and co2 and shot a hopper.I wasnt impressed. i started to screw with the gun( changing psi,balls per second and cleaning it)then went out and again shot a hopper.My tweaking helped a little but not that much so in that weak i went back to my local shop and bought a couple of upgrades(bolt, expansion chamber, 16 inch barrel).got back put all the stuff on and shot it.helped but it was still not what i was looking for.I still use it till this day but i am saving up for a high end marker.
Conclusion: good gun IF you are a beginer and just starting but for the big boys that have been playing for a long time i recomend a high end gun. this gun just doesnt cut it
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ionkiller Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16 inch linear barrel
68/3000 psi pure energy compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, new cyclone internals( lightening rod, and Vortex mod) and compressed air
Strengths: Durability
Cyclone Feed
Wide range of customization
Weaknesses: Lousy internals on the cyclone feed
Cheap stock Barrel
Review: this is a very good marker for a serious Scenario of woods ball player. it has many cosmetic upgrades and performance upgrades. it is also a very cheap marker for how much you get out of it.

Performance
great air efficency (get about 900 out of a 68/3000 psi air tank
pretty good accuracy ( if you get a new barrel)
Conclusion: i think this is one of the best woodsball markers ever created(other than the X-7) i am giving this a high 9, 10 being the best woodsball gun ever (in my opinion) the X-7
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daemon512 Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine (not very similar)
Marker Setup: A-5 with polished internals
Sniper Stock
Gold Powertube
Lapco Autospirit
Teflon Front Bolt
Double Trigger (not for speedball, for a different trigger pull)
stock hopper /50 and 20 round hoppers
Compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on what you want...I replaced all of my internals (almost, working on it)
Strengths: Good quality work
Cyclone Feed
Tippmann
easily cleaned
Weaknesses: Cyclone problems (see review)
Inconsistant
Review: I love this marker, it is my primary setup. I've had feed issues with other weapons but the cyclone fixes that. I know that every time I pull the trigger there is a ball in the chamber.

Unfortunately, this comes with a price. Because the cyclone feed uses the air to cycle, there is a fitting for the air to travel through, lowering the consistency of the marker because there are more places for the air to travel/leak/create turbulence. This also occurs where the velocity adjuster is (which is why I got the gold power tube, it removes the screw that sticks into the air's path and makes turbulence [DO NOT DO THIS WITHOUT HAVING SOME OTHER WAY TO ADJUST YOUR VELOCITY].

Also, I live in the Northeast and have found problems during winter. The cold outside makes the ball brittle, so it will break more easily. Many people blame the bolt hitting the ball for the breaks that occur when it is cold outside, but this is not true (it may be in some cases, but for the A-5, the balls break more when it is cold outside for other reasons). On a day that there was snow on the ground, we were playing with 6 total people, 3 happened to have A-5's and the other three had different weapons. Everyone with the A-5 had balls breaking in the chamber at least once every 10 rounds. Others, though they had breaks, had them much less often. (Also, it cannot be blamed on CO2 as I was using an A-5 and the only one using compressed air and I had the problem as bad as everyone else). This leads me to believe that the cyclone feed pushes the ball with the brittle shell into the chamber too hard for the ball, and it breaks on impact with the side of the chamber. I do not have a way to test this, but it seems to me like it is the only logical explanation. I have heard that getting a low pressure system helps this problem, I'm assuming it makes the cyclone feed push the ball into the chamber slower, but I do not know for sure.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this product for anyone, as it is customizible for whatever your needs are. Winter play doesn't do as well, though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Janning_Conner Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot, Spyder Victor, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
20 Oz. co2
Smart Parts 20" Tactical Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-At least 14"
Regulator for co2
Double Trigger for speedball
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: -Strengths-
Cyclone feed is insane, if i owned a 98 Custom, i would order the feed system for it.

Hopper-Never worry about dry firing, big opening is great

Durability-Never breaks down, I have used this for 3 months now, and i have taken it through 12 degree weather, and right now 70 degree weather, It works great, I never thought to get oil for the three months, and then i saw a friend use that stuff, so i got some liquid fire, now it is quieter. If you take care of it, it will take care of you.

Tippmann Name-The name says a lot, about its performance, durability.

-Weakness-
Banjo Spring-Connects the cyclone feed broke, but tippmann gladly replaced it

Stock Barrel-Like any stock barrel, it will hook, and break paint.

Trigger Pull-Moderate Weight for pull, not good for speedball.

I say if you are using it every weekend, and going into some tournaments, get this gun.
If you are going to go paintballing everyday, and go to tournaments all summer and winter, you may want to get a better gun, or get this gun and upgrade it to its very best.


Conclusion: Very good marker, it says its low end, but performs high-end. I say if your a woodsball player, get this gun, it will last you a long time if you take care of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wertzy Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, evil omen
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5, flatline, e-grip, 68/4500 pure energy tank

evil omen 2.0, eggy 3, 48/3000 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline (paint picky), e-grip, some kind of stock
Strengths: The a-5 is durable, accurate, and reliable, and cheap.
Weaknesses: It uses alot of air to power the cyclone feed system.
Review: I've been playin paintball ever since i got my 98 custom like 5 years ago. I bought my tippmann a-5 3 years ago and i've never had any problems with it. I've droppd it in water couple times (accidentally) and it was fine. Theri r alot of upgrades available for the a-5. if u payd enuff money u could turn the a-5 in 2 a top of the line speedball gun.
Conclusion: The a-5 is a great gun. It is accurate and reliable. It is a excellent gun for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintble Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle: eradicator
viewloader: triad
tippmann: 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
stock hopper
all american barrel
(hopefully soon a stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
all american barrel
stock (i have used one)
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good feel
Looks deadly
Weaknesses: Somewhat of an air hog (cyclone system but who cares)
Review: even though i haven't had my own a-5 for a while I know that they are good, because i have used my friends a-5 in a couple of games. I can say that it is very durable, very good feel to it, accurate and shoots smooth, and the cyclone feed system is a very very help full thing to have. The only thing that is not great about it is that it is kind of an air hog, but i don't really care because the over all gun is amazing (especially with an all-american barrel, and a stock.) The only thing that i would change right out of the box is the stock barrel, because it is not that great. If you can't afford to get a new barrel right away the stock barrel isn't bad you can still get your fair share of people out with it.
Conclusion: i say get the a-5 (their only like $200 now) so go buy one, you won't regret it I promise you. Also i hoped that my review helpe out people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amanwithaplan Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
well i have an xsv-Ego with an all american, halo thats all i use besides my tippmann. i use the a-5 for woods ball but the ego for speed ball
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline barrel tactical shroud and a tripod. double trigger (response) air-thru stock. Remote and nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the flatline, the stock barrel is uncomparable to the flatline. only problem is the flatline breaks paint if your velocity is to high.
Strengths: Very consistent
Cool looking
Reliable if its gets dirty
Very upgradeable
long range with flatline
Weaknesses: Loud
slow trigger without response
ratchet breaks cylone uses tons of co2 USE NITRO
Review: OK!! i love my a-5 fantastic woodsball gun and decent speed ball gun if you like to conserve paint.
ACCURACY- 8- very good accuracy up to 70 feet flatline adds distance but the accuracy that far is not very good. aim at a person shoot your gunna hit that person
CONSISTENCY-6- uses nitro very well 1000 balls to a refill (it does brake and chop low quality balls) but if your using good paint no problems. She doesn't brake on me very much, actually only once...the ratchet broke. co2 is absolutley terrivle on this gun it wastes so much of it. DONT USE co2 PLEASE!!!!!
PRICE- 9- heres a very good upgradeable gun thats under 300 dollars, wish there was a better stock barrel
QUALITY- 10- when you hold this gun the metal finish feels solid and real your not holding colorful plastic or cheap metal. Its a real paintball gun that is built very well and it is very easy to strip it (but dont on the field because youll lose screws)
CUSTOMABILITY-10!- This gun has fantastc upgrades to add your own flavor to the gun.
ON THE FILED-9- When im out playing woods ball this gun is fantastic...givin its loudness the sound actually throws off people because it echos. you can trust this gun to be formidable in this enviorment. only problem tht in the rare occasion that you get a brake the flatline is really annoying to clean. In speedball its fun to use because its so differnt than a speedball gun you can expect to be shooting very methodically and getting good kills.
Conclusion: I love my ego and my tippy their both fantastic. if your a woodsball player buy an a-5 its much better than the x-7 and cheaper too. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS GUN!!!!! i give this gun a nine because nothing is perfect. any comments or questions? my sn is amanwithaplan123 (aim)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

playmopaintball Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra DX (this is the older model), Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a short stock of some sort. Other than that, nothing.
Strengths: Feels sturdy, doesn't chop, looks BA, accurate, foregrip.
Weaknesses: I didn't find any.
Review: I went to a one versus one tourney up at Springfield Paintballl, we had to use an A-5 (they supplied them). My first impression was that it feld extrememly sturdy and durable. They ones we used had stock barrels and were pretty accurate (though everyone knows that any after-market barrel will increase this). There had to have been 15 people or more playing 6 times each and no balls broke on either gun. I can't say if it was or wasn't a "gas hog" because I'm not sure what gas system we were using, but I'm pretty sure it was Co2. Another great thing about this gun was the sight on the front and the front handle. I know that people say not to use the sights during speedball but it helped me a lot. The grip was a lot of help too. It felt sturdy (like the rest of the gun) and natural to use. The only thing that concerns me is the tube thing that conects to the loader and allows the Co2 to cycle it. I wonder what would happen if it got smashed (not likely in speedball, but on a tree in the woods)? The main point is that I didn't have to worry about the gun while playing which allowed me to concentrate on my prey. teh heh heh
Conclusion: I am going to buy one of these to use when I play with my three man speedball team. I know I've only played for a while but my brain holds a wealth of info (for a noob) and I think this is a quality gun. Need I say more?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 11:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PapaSmurf27 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really considering the fact i only used about 3
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Cp regulator
Low pressure kit
Vortex mod
Response trigger
Cp adapter
CP on/off
Flatline
DeadOnPaintball RVA
Crossfire Tank( The best tank out there!!!)
Dye rhino skin tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low pressure kit
Response trigger
Flatline
Strengths: Powerful
Light Weight( in a way )
Easy on the maintenance
Upgradeable
Awesome
Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: The only weakness is it as no weaknesses
Review: Well the awesome thing about this gun is that it is a beginners gun at first but after a while when you upgrade it it the best gun you'll ever personalize.

Like I have whole bunch of unnecessary mods on my baby but that's because i work for them and I don't mistreat my baby
Conclusion: Best gun in the world recommend it to beginners and pros
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 12:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbgamerCTM Sunday, January 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TLR
Piranha R6
Piranha E force
Marker Setup: Stock setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have seen good reviews about the flatline barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Does not require high quality paintballs
does not take much CO2
Weaknesses: This gun is 90% plastic
Breaks if not cared for
Cyclone feed breaks easily
Review: I had this gun for about a month and i still have it. It did good, until i was putting paint into it and the cyclone feed jammed. It broke the inner ratchet of the hopper. I am going to buy the universal kit to repair it.

BE CAREFUL THE CYCLONE FEED BREAKS EASILY!!!!!!!
Conclusion: If you take amazingly good care of this gun it will work fine but if you treat it like a normal gun it will break.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media