paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Terminate Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, 98 custom, and some other low end markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, e-grip, dye titanium boomstick, centerflag HPA tanks, JCS double trigger, Ricochet r-5 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the barrel as soon as possible. Maybe the hopper too since the r-5 is only 10 bucks.
Strengths: Durability, upgrades, and durability.
Weaknesses: Shooting left handed is almost impossible due to cyclone.
Review: This was been my first and only gun purchased. I've played with other guns from friends which have mostly been tippmanns and a few spyders.

When i bought this gun I bought the e-grip same time so I've never actually used the stock trigger and therefore can't give that a critique.

I love this gun. When I bought it I was working in Northern Alberta and would play woodsball every other night after work. This gun was great. It was easily fixable by myself with almost no knowledge and simply the manual and some trial and error. I took this entirely apart and could change all o-rings and fix any leaks myself. Of course these things only happened due to the extremely rugged play I put this gun through.

The cyclone feed on this gun means with a <15 bps rof you will probably never chop a ball unless it's extremely poor paint, or your low on CO2. I might have chopped 10 balls from my first case and almost all of them from when i was on my last bit of CO2. All though the cyclone is great for feeding it really cuts your view when trying to fire left handed. looking down the left hand side of the gun is pretty much impossible with this thing in the way. So my suggestion is if you are left handed or play speedball where you constantly switch this is not the greatest thing for you.

The stock barrel for this gun sucks... it's loud, short, and mostly inaccurate. This was my first gun so when i bought it i did't realize who inaccurate it was. I just assumed that paintballs were that inaccurate until i watched a guy shooting darts out of his gun. Still don't know what kind of gun it was since i was new and never asked. But he did say it was because he just bought a new barrel. So I went looking. At that time I'd never been to pbreview so i just asked around. The owner of the field found out i was looking and ended up selling me a titanium boomstick for 90$ because nobody with an A5 would ever by it otherwise based on the price tag. Put this thing on and omg.... ball on ball accuracy from 20' no problems.

Conclusion: Overall with a new barrel this gun rocks. I've had it break i won't lie, but that was always after a mean dive behind a rock or a slide down the side of a hill. This gun will server any woodsballer well. And with some widely available kits it's very easily made into a mil-sim marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintdrummer33 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: i have an a-5 and and an ion. for woods i use the A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, stock, remote coil
Strengths: accuracy, never brakes, easy to dismantle, CYCLON FEED!!
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot to fast, not allow to use e grip at places, eats air!!!!!!!!
Review: -the gun is probably the best tippmann as a stock. i liked using it on woods ball untill i got sick of being pinned down behind trees from people with fast guns. the quility is great . the accuracy is great and so is its looks.
for some one who is hopeing to get lots of speed from this machine gun looking marker you wont but it is great for woods ballers. the gun is kind of loud and has lots of kick back.

I was able to put out 14 bps with that stock gun and that is without a responce trigger all you have to do is rebound finger off of the round thing that covers the trigger.
Conclusion: Great gun for woods and fun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

trunkz1212 Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PPS Typhoon!!
Marker Setup: #1 - PPS Typhoon, Q-Loader under barrel, spiral ported barrel, muzzle brake, pro-touch trigger, 2 finger trigger, male stabilizer w/ bottom line ASA, QEV
#2 - PPS Nasty Typhoon, muzzle brake on both barrels, pro-touch trigger, 2 finger trigger, QEV, sight hood
#3 - Dual PGP Strokers, Q-Loader mounted on bottom of the Grip, muzzle brake, pro-touch trigger, QEV, 1 remote line split to two hoses with an inline stabilizer.
#4 - Tippmann A5, Q-Loader under barrel, Longbow Titanium Barrel 14", SAW Stock, Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt, Palmer's Male stabilizer, 2 finger trigger, E-Grip, remote line w/ another stabilizer. (i'm currently selling this item if anyone interested, email me at trunkz@alum.rpi.edu)
#5 - Tiberius Arms TAG-8 Pistol. 6 Extra magazines and a Special Ops Vest w/ holster for the pistol (i'm currently selling this item if anyone interested, email me at trunkz@alum.rpi.edu)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel!!
E-Grip & MadMan spring kit
Stabilizer
Strengths: Price(see below)
Looks good
Performs well(see below)
Any paintballshop repairs them
Weaknesses: Price(see below)
Not so acurate
Review: Since everyone told me the A5 was the best gun out there, so this was my first paintball Marker. I love the way it looks and feels. The stock barrel just completely blows, so upgrading the barrel is a must. The reason I put "price" as strength and weakness are for the following reasons. It is cheap to buy just a plain A5 with nothing on it, maybe the stealth package which includes de flat line barrel. But i realized that you need many more upgrades so that iT matches my (and many others) requirements. I tried more than 7 barrels on my marker and none of them shot too accurately. Finally purchased the Longbow Titanium Barrel for $125.00 which is awesome. The e-grip is ok, but sometimes it keeps shooting even after i release the trigger. putting a scope or anything on the rail is useless. the cyclone feeder either stopped feeding or broke paint inside, so i decided to put a q-loader instead. The Q-loader works great! and also it gave a lower profile on my marker. We all know the A5's are known for being a simple gun to service, opening and reassembling the gun is simple and easy (although the exploded diagram of the inner parts in the manual looks scary). the main valve leaked twice in 1 year and had it changed under warranty... that says something about their quality of rubber gaskets. Anyways, it's afordable to have an A5 stock, but takes too much money to upgrade it to the way other guns perform. For instance: $125.00 for the barrel, about $200.00 for the Q-loader, $100.00 for a stabilizer (the A5's FPS spikes a lot even on compressed air!!) and E-Grip which is another $100.00. So i'm calculating around $700-$800 spent on the setup that I have. With this amout of money you could get a better marker. I got a Palmer's Typhoon (all upgraded, see my marker setups) for less than what i spent on my A5...
Conclusion: the Tippmann A5 is a good marker overall, I like the way mine shoots now, but it need way too many expensive upgrades for it be me performing well. Now I only use my typhoon and my A5 is catching dust, anyone interested in buying mine, email me @ trunkz@alum.rpi.edu, I'll give for a good price!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 2:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ycfan456 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really,
Spyder
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
-lpk
-CP black reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
-better barrel (hammerhead, freak, stiffi, JJ ceramic, flatline, etc.
-comp air and lpk should come later
Strengths: -Accurate
-Never chops
-Never chops
-Never chops
-Did I mention it never chops?
Weaknesses: -A little on the heavy side
Review: The A-5 is the most durable, accurate, non-chopping gun there is. It's pretty cheap ($230 online) and you get what you pay for. I have put about 15,000 rounds through it and have not had one single chop yet. It is almost impossible for it to chop unless something isn't set up right. There is a difference between chopping and barrel breaks. Yes I have had barrel breaks but that is not the guns fault. I have a hammerhead and that will chop if I put too small of a fin on. But its a great barrel to get with your A-5. A little expensive, but it soooooooooo accurate. Flatlines are good too. I have never had anything go wrong with my A-5. Sometimes the front grip comes loose but that is easy to fix. Just get an allen wrench and tighten it. This is awesome for woods and scenario play. If you play speedball get an E Grip and double trigger and it will fire as fast as you can.(unless you can fire very very very very fast) I can get out about 5 rounds a second without an E Grip. Great great great gun.
Conclusion: Extremely accurate(with good barrel). Extremely loud.(scares the poo out of the enemy)
NNNEEEVVVEEERRRR chops.
Buy it. You get your moneys worth.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crybabie Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Slingshot
Marker Setup: Flatline
NO2
Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Nice Hopper and cyclone feed.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean in game.
Chops balls
Review: Although its plastic, very solid and durable. Nice hard real look and very customizable. However, I do not like the fact that when I am in the middle of a game and I happen to chop a ball, it isn't as easy to get at as an autococker. I wouldn't recommend the Flatline barrel for it either. Almost every shot was curved left or right. I chrony'd it, windexed it, and still nothing. Every time I go to SKIRMISH USA, there is a group or person with flatlines and A-5 that don't work. They get upset and leave the field. In the end I purchased a Dye Boomstick, which happened to work better for me.
Conclusion: I wouldn't waste your time by purchasing this gun. With all the money for upgrades and problems, you should just get an Autococker Pro Stock which is an awesome gun. You don't even need any upgrades. It is the most quiet, accurate, and easy to clean gun. I didn't chop a ball till my tenth time using it, and at the time I was running through a river.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

hairyman24 Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: black dusted speed
pysco-drop
68/45
16" ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: cyclone feed system, 15 bps
Weaknesses: loud
Review: its a good marker for new guys getting into the sport..its very loud so i would get a new barrel..if a ball breaks in the cyclone feed system its really really hard 2 clean and its a pain in the u no what..it happened 2 my friend and it was not a pretty site..lol..but its a good marker.
Conclusion: this marker is good...get it if u have the money..but i would go with with tippmann 98 custom
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benzy2 Wednesday, December 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c w/Rt; tons of mechanical spyders. A few Bob Longs.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger, j&j 14 inch ceramic, and a 68 3000 crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and nitro and response is a must.
Strengths: The gun will feed real fast. With the response trigger it will really shoot a ton of paint. Not bad accuracy. I liked the tough feel it gave. It seems like you could beat it up without problems.
Weaknesses: Well the first thing i noticed is that it is a real big gas hog. Mine is real bad. It is loud but i dont mind that. When i use big ball i chop a lot. I dont know why but it does. The stock barrel is ok but nothing great. i had to replace my foregrip as it fell out and i lost the screw to it and later on i lost the grip itself. Without the rt you cant really shoot that fast. I mean it is still only a tippmann trigger. I would love to try a ebolt when they come out. Not many options out yet but still new.
Conclusion: I was hopping for more out of a gun when i bought mine. The hopper waqs nice but if you dont add a rt or ebolt then i would go for a 98c. If you cant shoot that fast why pay that much. But with the rt it is great. It will out feed my friends 98c with revy. So if you play at a place that will allow rts get it with an rt. Otherwise i would skip it and look else where.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8nt ball3r 245 Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 response trigger, no name hpa tank (still good), empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Full auto, efficiency???
Weaknesses: WEIGHT, accuracy, sights, cyclone feed (see review)
Review: Ok let me start out with the bad, the cyclone feed system doesn't work like it should, it can be a little inconstant. The weight on the marker is way 2 high, if your in a game for a little too long your arms will feel like falling off. also i dont like how its nearly imposibe to play in speed ball. the accuracy on the gun is ok i guess. the sights are completly pointless so i took them out.

Now for the strengths, the full auto works pretty well, can be a little hard to get used to the sweet spot. the efficiency is nothing to bad but nothing to be proud of you can get about 500 shots out of it ( oh i forgot to tell you that as the tank goes down in air, the accuracy gets worse).
Conclusion: This gun is good for anyone just starting out with paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fisherman33 Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion/Triton II
Spyder MR1
BT Rental
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
smart parts linear 14 barrel
others on their way
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
expension chamber
Strengths: Fast shooting
No chops
Looks
Loud
crap loads of mods
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Stock barrel sucks
Loud
Review: This gun is awsesome with my barrel. I can snipe everybody, even thought they have rental guns like viewloaders. It's really loud with the stock barrel it really freaks out the other players who don't know me. It gives you accuracy and speed when you need

unlimited mods and upgrades
Conclusion: This gun is very versatile out off the box, and can be upgrade when you fing youre playing still
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt 13 Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
GTA Drop Forward
14" thunderpig sniper barrel
custom sniper stand
custom stock
custom paint
stock paint and stand all made by me.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Fast rate of fire
intense feel
killer looks
decent price
Weaknesses: chops balls if you have the Reactive Trigger loader wont keep up
Review: all in all i would say this is an all around good gun and very good for a beginner. If you want a gun that you don't have to worry about breaking down this is it. this marker can stomp on the competition wihtout even frostin' the tank. if you want it get it. it's one of the best decisions you will ever make.
Conclusion: i'd by it just for the durability. With the looks feel and the rate of fire i'd say it's the best gun out there for under 300 dollars. i'd say get it and get it fast because they are popular. i'm trading in my 98 for one and getting all my upgrades at once so i can have a totally tricked out A5 for scenario.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media