paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
~XF~ Dukester Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spiders, Bob Longs, Auto Cockers, Angels and many more.
Marker Setup: The Tippmann A-5 with a Smarts Parts All American barrel
Flatline barrel for the scenario games when you just need to reach out and touch someone.
E-Grip, which really makes the gun ROCK
Compressed air with a coiled remote
Red Dot sight
Neopreme camo hopper cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and most important is the barrel. I got the Smart Parts 12" barrel first which works really well with most paints. It provides great accuracy and good range.

I use compressed air so I recommend using the E-Grip. This grip turns your marker into a electro for about $125. I found that the Response trigger did not work well with compressed air. It took several months for me to figure this out but everyone on our team that has a response trigger and compressed air has problems getting the gun to go full auto. I have shot A5's with CO2 and a response trigger and they really rock. The response trigger just really doesn't like compressed air.

If money is no object then go for the Flatline barrel. It will do crazy things to your range but you loose just a little on accuracy. When I say loose a little I'm talking about at long ranges. With good paint and good weather you should get about 100 feet further with the Flatline barrel. This barrel is not good for the junk paint nor the old paint. I use RPS Premiums and it works very well.

A coiled remote will do two things for you. One it will lighten up the gun for those long 24 hour scenarios and two it will make the gun look and feel more like a real gun which works well with the guys who like playing scenarios.

If you have the Flatline Barrel then adding a Red Dot scope will help you out for those pesty little guys who like to "duck and jive" out of one bunker. You just pop that Red Dot on one of the places he keeps poping up and let him have it. It also works well for the guys who see you and think they are too far away so they give you that little wave, just daring you to shot them.

Strengths: The cyclone feed and reliability. I can't say it enough...this gun rocks
Weaknesses: Loud
Loud
Loud
Review: I have lots of experience with paintball. I'm one of these guys who started playing back in the late 80's. My first paint marker was a Splat Master, single shot and would only hold 10 rounds. I could play 3-4 days a month, all day and not shoot more than 500 rounds total. The game has really come a long ways and the players are much better and so it the equipment. I now play for a scenario team of 20 players. What I'm getting too is this, I did a lot or research before purchasing this marker. I wanted something that wasn't going to leave me on the side lines because I had to tweak it or fix it. I wanted something that would work well in all weather, something that would last and be able to still put a hurt'n on some of the guys who are shooting thousand dollar guns. The A5 was the ticket.

I was a little concerned about the price. Believe It or not it didn't seem to cost enough money. I was use to more expensive markers so I was really cautious about this marker. I didn't like the way other Tippmann markers looked or the way they were assembled. The A5 is completely different. It is assembled more like a Spider than other Tippmanns. The simplicity of taking this marker about is very nice as well.
If the weather turns bad it takes about 3 minutes to pop on the stock trigger so there is no need to worry about that expensive electro trigger.

Tippmann put a lot of effort into the production of this marker and it really shows.
As stated earlier I play on a scenario team and we really put a lot of paint through these markers. Tippmann has been great about replacing worn parts at no charge. When they say 1 year warranty they really mean it.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT marker for the price. I'm sure their are better markers but not for the money. It looks cool, works well and will keep you on the field playing and not in the parking lot tweaking. Like I said earlier, this gun is loud. It will make newbies shake with fear when you open it up on full auto at 15 RPS. Veterans will keep their heads down and swear under their breath at you just for making so much noise.
It really is GREAT!
Good luck on you purchase and I hope to see you in the middle.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2003 at 12:11 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jconklin123 Friday, December 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months27 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP VF Tactical Autococker
Automag
Spyder Rodeo
System X Extreme
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip and Reactive trigger- LOVE THE E-GRIP
Smartparts Freak barrel kit
BT Tippmann M-16 barrel
Boomstick ultralite
High Pressure Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
I Love the look you can give your gun with the parts from OPS GEAR !
And all the above parts

Don't run with C02, with the E-grip
Strengths: Dead Accurate
Never Breaks Paint in barrel, even in full automatic.
Weaknesses: Nothing to List.
I sold my VF Tactical Autococker, and bought a second A-5.
Review: I used to paintball years ago, and recently decided to do it again. I did my research and decided a Autococker was theway to go.... Money being no object (yea right) I ran off and spent $800 o a new marker....I was happy with the way it looked and felt, but I had to wait the week out to field test it......
I got to our local outdoor field, and The VF Tactical Autococker got everyones attention, but I was still yet to use it..... During the first game it was pretty good, I had fun, didn't break any balls, but it wasn't GREAT.....There was a team of guys with A-5's set up to look like M-16's, and they were killing everyone.... I played the rest of the day wondering if those guys were that good, or if their markers helped them out..... The next week I read up on the A-5's. I wondered how a 300 dollar gun could compete,if not beat a 800-1000 dollar marker.... Well I bought one. I immediately bought a barrel, and a kit from OPSGEAR to make it look mean.... The next weekend I went to the same field, with the same group of guys, and I was amazed how now, I was a competitor !!!
IT MADE THE GAME SO MUCH MORE FUN!!!
I went home that night, put my autococker on EBAY, (sold it in a buy it now to some sucker) and bout a second A-5 with an E-GRIP.... I just can't tell you how good this gun is, and happy I am with it......

I hope this review helps some one out....
Conclusion: This is the Only gun to have.....15/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TippyGood4U Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98 Custom
-Spyder Shutter
-Tippmann Pro-Carbine
-Brass Eagle Eradicator
-Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5, Shocktech Drop Forward, Low pressure system, Pmi 72 4500, J&J edge Kit, Response Trigger (OH YEAH), Double Trigger, and Cool stickers
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Response is a must, as is a double trigger, and a barrel(anything is better than the stock)
Strengths: -Very Durable
-Accurate
-Fast
-Good Grouping
-Looks awesome(thats what won me over)
-Easy clean
Weaknesses: -Cyclone is a pain to clean
Review: I have played alot of paintball, from rec to scenario, and i have used alot of guns, even played with the timmies and Angels, but Tippmann's durability, precision, price and performance won me over and stopped me from buying something that costed a thousand bucks.
Lets go over why the A-5 is such a good buy
-Basically has a built in hopper, so you don't have to spend that extra money for a evo or halo and batteries
-It is true that the A-5 is a gas hog compared to some guns, but i use a 72 4500 and you should get around 1500 shots, well at 850 psi i was getting 1100 shots and to me thats is not a huge differance, i mean what is 400 shots
-The stock barrel is not the most accurate barrel, hence why i got the J&J edge (which is the coolest barrel), but what stock barrel is perfect, there are some good barrels out there so spending an extra 50 bucks is not that much or even 70 if you want the J&J edge
-The respnse is probably the most clever system ever invented for a paintball gun, i love it, When you hit that sweet spot on the respnse it is the best feeling on a paintball marker, I do play alot of rec ball and i shoot just as fast as it seems as all of the cockers and timmies
-As i have said i play alot of rec ball and scenario and i have to honestly say this is the funest paintball marker i have ever played with
Conclusion: I have spent alot of money on my A-5, but when you play as much paintball as i do and spend 75 to 100 bucks a week for paintball then I would get this gun and do what i did to get the highest perfoming, best looking paintball marker you will ever encounter, and remember that paintball is a sport so have fun with it and kick a**
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 at 6:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberWolf Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None - I am a total newbie
Marker Setup: A-5 Response Trigger, 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
* 20 oz co2 w/butt stock and cover
Strengths: *Functional iron sights
*Reliable
*Durable and solid
*Ease of maint
* Cyclone feeder
Weaknesses: *Bit of a gas hog
*Short front handle
*Flat edge on hopper
Review: I am a total newbie to this sport, but not to guns. This thing feels and shoots like a real gun (even looks remarkably real). I even like the "single" trigger - feels more like a real trigger to me and made me feel right at home. Since I have experienced no other markers, I am not biased (I have shot others that belonged to my friends, but only a few tiimes and never in combat).

Having read the reviews from others here, I half expected to not be able to hit the broad side of a barn with the stock barrel. Boy was THAT wrong! This thing shoots great right out of the box. I was able to hit soda cans at 50 feet with a SINGLE SHOT. Granted, accuracy fades proportionally as distance is increased, so perhaps that is what the others meant.

We play scenario-style CTF in very thick woods. Seldom are targets encountered at great distances. In those cases, I would just lay down a lot of fire and advance (and boy this thing can lay down an amazing amount of suppression fire).

Two of my four kills this past weekend were when I was laying down and using the sights, and in both cases, a single paintball was used. This marker fits my style of playing like a glove! You can use wolf-tactics very effectively due to having real sights that really work good, or you can stand your ground in heavy shootouts by using short, fast bursts. An EXTREMELY versitile weapon, much like it's real world counterpart, the MP5. Also like the MP5, it can be shouldered for a tight, accurate shot, or pistolled like a handgun when in pursuit or being chased. Especially useful in CTF since as the flag carrier, you are usually holding the flag with one hand. I made a kill on a friend that was chasing me in just that fashion.

The marker seemed light to me, but not having owned others and having experienced real guns, I don't see it's wight as an issue unless you have a long march to the battlefield, which we do (about 20 mins). The metal ring on the back is very easy to clip on a sling. A very solid weapon that just feels right when I hold it.

The front grip is short. It doesn't fit in my (somewhat large) hand well, but that didn't bother me much; it was when I was laying on the ground trying to line up a shot, it would have helped a lot if it had been a bit longer. As it is, I had to prop my left fist under it to elevate the barrel - no big deal, really, but I'll be getting a better one when they come out.

To date, I have fired approx 3000 rounds through this baby without a single mishap or chop. Very easy to disassemble, but each time I take it apart after playing, it is sqeaky clean on the inside - no paint anywhere, even though the outside was covered with it. This brings up another good feature: the entire marker is enclosed. There is no entry point for dirt, paint, etc, except right down the barrel, and no annoying hammer/cocker to hit your face or thumb.

It's true what they say about the front (flat) edge on the hopper being a paint magnet. I took a direct hit there (no damage whatsoever to the hopper) which by our rules, constitutes a kill, so I was dead. Had it been more rounded, it would have deflected the shot, which MAY have then hit me, but it's definitely gonna break when it hits it as is on the hopper.

It does use a little more juice than say my friend's tweaked-out Spyder E99. But this last time I used a 20oz aluminum tank and had no problems. Previous times I was using a 14oz, that always ran out before anyone else.

You might want to get a chrono, though, mine was set to 305fps (+/- 5) from the factory, which might explain some of the gas usage since I only fixed it (280fps) this weekend.

One thing I noticed, and this may be my own ignorance, but it seems that when I wanted sustained auto fire with the response trigger, it would only go a couple of seconds. I couldn't lay on it and empty a hopper, which is no big deal for me and my style of play, but others should take note. There were NO problems in combat shooting frequent bursts, just didn't seem to like sustained (which I only tried when practicing). But for all _I_ know, this may be normal for a RT.

Overall I am VERY impressed with this product and am happy I made the purchase. I will probably get a better barrel eventually, but I am not in a hurry. There are enough upgrades available that I feel this is a gun that can grow with me as I get better.

Since I never have and likely never will play speedball, etc, I cannot speak to the marker's performance in those applications, but out in the woods, it is taken VERY seriously by your enemies!

The quality and thought that went into designing this marker are obvious at the onset, and become more so as you use it in combat.

So that's the total newbie's view on this thing - hope someone finds it useful.

-TimberWolf (June 2, 03)

Conclusion: I bought the gun, read the manual, set it up, entered the woods and began killing! No malfunctions or mishaps, no surprises, just good quality fun. I am very pleased and would recommend this to anyone who plays woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pm6825 Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-Lite
Tippmann 98 Custom
Bob Long Intimidator (not mine)
Marker Setup: Flatline Barrel for back play
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel for forward play
Response Trigger
PMI Remote
Sniper FX Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
All that are on mine
Strengths: Reliability, ROF, Easy Maintenance, Accuracy, Comfortable, Great looks
Weaknesses: A bit on the husky side
Stock barrel is real small
Very loud!
Review: My first gun was a Tippmann Pro-Lite which I loved so much. That gun was the most reliable gun I had ever owned, but after a while I wanted to step it up. So I bought a 98 Custom. I switched the barrel on my 98 Custom to an Excel Sniper barrel and that only increased it's accuracy. But the 98 is a little boring b/c you're not supposed to keep it stock, ur supposed hook it up with more Tippmann products. Once I got my gf into paintballing, I gave her my 98 Custom and I bought the A5.

Let me just say something about the A5. The first thing I noticed when I was done admiring it's beauty and feeling like I was holding an MP5K PDW instead of a paintball gun, I noticed how loud it was. Oh my god, u pull the trigger and it's like a cannon! To me, that is not a good thing, but it didn't ever chop a ball thanks to the Cyclone feeder. I immediately started hooking up the A5 and getting it ready for the 2004 paintball season. The gun is great stock, but you may want something a little more special since some fields are renting out A5s.

My first mod was the 32 Degrees Whisper Barrel. It does improve accuracy and seems to have better range then the stock barrel, but the manufacturer's claim it acts like a silencer/suppressor and you can barely hear the rounds firing over the noise of the bolt. Now those claims are completely inaccurate. I found the Whisper barrel to quiet the A5 down to about the noise of an average marker and maybe a little quieter. But that is pretty good considering the A5 is so loud.

My second mod was the Response Trigger. This is an amazing mod. Tippmann claims about 12-15 balls per second and they are right. It is a bit difficult to install, but anyone can do it. It just takes a little time. It's also hard to find the sweet spot setting so that it fires the maximum amount of balls per second. But that's just trial and error. The E-Grip is another way to go, but I chose the response trigger so I didn't have to be bothered with batteries and I've heard of bolts breaking with the E-Grip. The only downside is that

Flatline barrel was my next mod. Talk about improved accuracy! And the range is ridiculous now! If you're a back player, the Flatline is a must have! Plus it makes the A5 twice as sexy! Everything they say about how great this barrel is, is true. Some stores sell the Flatline for $215! That is ridiculous! I ordered mine brand new online for just over $100. Now I switch between the Flatline and the Whisper depending on what kind of position I'm going to play in the game. The Flatline makes the A5 look like the MP5K PDW with a suppressor on it.

I also added the Sniper FX stock and a remote (so that the stock fit properly). The sniper stock is solid and high quality. It also makes the A5 very comfy to shoot. No more Uzi style shooting. You can really put the A5 up to your should and fire controlled rounds on target in comfort. It also adds to the MP5 look.

This part of my review is my comparison between the Bob Long Intimidator and the A5 with the previous mods. I was lucky enough to play a round at Skirmish USA with a friend's Intimidator. The Intimidator is a sexy looking gun...like a phazer out of some sci-fi movie. But you know what? I didnt really feel that my A5 was being out performed. The Bob Long is an awesome gun, don't get me wrong, and if both guns were free, I'd take the Intimidator just because of all of its features and b/c it is such a smooth gun. But in my opinion, the A5 performs very similar to the Bob Long when it comes to putting the paint on target. Plus you get great reliability with the A5.
Conclusion: If you don't want to spend money on an expensive PRO GUN, then get the A5, there's no better choice out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warsco Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have used is similar to this.but I have Used:
Spyder TL-X
Spyder Imagine W/ ACS
VL Orion
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Pro Team S.A.W. Stock
Tasco Red Dot
Java Remote Coil W/ Slide Check
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on what you play but this marker Is extremely Upgradeable
The remote coil is nice because it takes the tank off your gun and acts as an expansion chamber
Strengths: 1.ROF
2.Reliability
3.Intimidation Factor
4.ACCURACY!!!
5.Cyclone
Weaknesses: 1.Heavy
2.Likes Gas
Review: I returned home from Iraq a little over a year ago where I served as an Infantryman. After I returned I found I could use paintball to scratch that combat itch. At first I Just wanted a cheap gun because I didn't know how often I would play. So after my skill level increased and after a couple of other markers I spent the extra money and bought the A-5. The first thing I noticed when I took the gun out of the box was that it was made alot like any military weapon, Quick strip pins and all. This thing was built to take a pounding. Some people worry about the plastic parts but trust me they are military grade plastic and cannot be broken. The bolt system is completely different then anything I have ever seen, but it works outstandingly. The cyclone is a great piece of equipment and I have yet to chop a ball thanks to this system. I have played several woods ball games and 2 scenario games since I purchased my A-5 and still have had no problems, No chops and no complaints. before I installed my remote coil my marker was an air hog but today in about 60 degree weather with the remot coil I shot 800 on a 12oz believe or not I don't care im just stating the facts. I also like the fact that people are kind of intimidated by how it looks. With the S.A.W. Stock and the Red Dot it does look pretty serious I think. It is a bit on the heavy side but get a remote it help with gas efficiency
and lightens the gun.

**!!UPDATE!!**
Almost 2 cases of paint through my A-5 now and no breaks, jams or chops. I bought an EVIL barrel adapter that takes the place of the stock barrel adapter and put my 14" teardrop on it. At the scenario game last weekend my team was stuck up against a family team of autocockers. I think they were all pro-stock cocker to be exact. My teamdid alright but I did excellent. It was cold so the paint was fragile and I seemed to be the only person on the field not breaking paint, I didnt even have to bring a squegee. OH and the accuaracy with the new barrel is incredible and yes the red dot works perfectly.
Conclusion: Overall this Is the Marker for the player who plays hard and dirty. Definitely worth it if you have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Nevin Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a wide variety of makers. I currently own only a Shocker 4x4 s/f and an Automag. I have found that I'm having more fun using the A-5 than either of these other markers. Other markers I have considerable experience with are Autocockers and the Tippmann pro-lite. I have used numerous other markers. I have been playing since '94.
Marker Setup: I have added few things to the stock A-5.

My favorite upgrade is the f/x sniper stock, remenecent of a Thompson's wood stock (it's the WWII Tommy gun). I also grabbed three barrels, considering they were all quite cheap - a LAPCO 7.5" Bigshot, a Blackpoint Paintball's xShort (5" barrel), and one other that slips my mind just now... its a 12".

I have no other mods

I am considering a r/t (response trigger) but will roll with what I have a half dozen more times before making that choice.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I agree with most other people who have posted reviews that the A-5 needs a new barrel. What it does not need is a pricey or flashy barrel - lets face it, the A-5 is something of an ugly duckling and throw'n on a hot need boomstick or AA is pretty pointless. More over, the reality is that one barrel's not so different from another - my 7.5" LAPCO bigshot cost me around $65 and has been my favorite so far. All in all, I would highly recomend some sort of new barrel.

The stock is really a matter of perferance - I like stocks and have added one to all the markers I own. For me, the stability of a nice stock is worth the loss of manuverablity and added weight.

For those that want raw firepower - the r/t will keep your A-5's rate of fire up there with Angels, Cockers, Mags, Shockers, Timmys, etc. You'll be dragging around a Tippmann, but you'll at lest have comprable rof.
Strengths: I'm a fan of the A-5's hopper. The cyclone sold me on this gun, and has performed to such great extent that I have forsaken my other markers. I played a hard day, ran 2000 pbs through the marker, kissed the dirt, got splattered and sprayed, took direct hits to both the feed and the hopper and have come away with a growing admiration for good ole American Know How - Tippmann has made a wonderful feed system. Every shot had a ball. Every trigger pull sent a ball. I never chopped. I never misfed. I ran the sucker dry before I noticed that I was low on rounds. Excellent, excellent loading system.

Further, I like the heft of the A-5. Some would call this marker heavy, compared to feather weight guns, but in reality the A-5 is more mid-size sedan than SUV.

The A-5 has a low profile, especially in conjunction with one of the short barrels out there - like the 7.5" LACPO or the xShort (5"). I cannot stress this enough - if you have heard that the A-5 has a large profile you have been misled. Especially on lefthand corners, the A-5 has one of the slimist profiles you will find. The only thing I have seen that has a smaller profile (and I'm including a hopper of course) is mags with WARP feeds. Add a short barrel and you can sit real tight, keeping the marker out of enemy fire while returning your own. I have used the A-5 both in speedball and woods play - I could tuck in tigher than the Angels and the Cockers - much to my surprise! - and found that I ended up more than holding my own (this of course might have something to do with my 8 yrs of experience, too).

Field strip screws work as advertised. I can pop them off in under 30 secs and get into the bolt, or swap the stock off, or throw on a reg or expansion chamber.

Trigger: remember, this is no Angel I'm talking about - there are fanastically shorter triggers out there. However, as far as comparable stock triggers - including the stock Cocker trigger (with which I might add the A-5 is priced to compete with - silly Tippmann), the A-5 trigger is my favorite. Let me qualify this by stating that I like a *somewhat* long trigger pull. What I really dislike are "sloppy" triggers - like the original 4x4 Shocker trigger. It was floppy (sloppy) and one could move it side to side quite a bit. The A-5 trigger is snug, smooth, and easy on the finger. It is no 2mm pull, but I am pleased none the less.

The marker is well balanced with the stock . I found it easy to snap shoot.

The front grip is useful. It was conveint and sat relatively well in my left hand, with my thumb resting just below the cocking lever.

Easiest external cocking gun even to cock.

Stock and grip worked very well together when I took aim and held aim, or when I advanced slowly. Gave me a *very* stable platform.
Weaknesses: The gun is a bit of a gas hog. I shot roughly 700 pbs out of a 20 ounce. It was enough for a few games, but ... I'd like it to be better. Of course, the markers hunger comes from its use of gas to cycle the cyclone.

Front grip is a 1/2" too short to be perfectly comfortable. It is based on the front grip of the MP5 varient called the PDW, where a shor front grip is used, but Tippmann should have lengthed the grip a bit.

The marker *once*, when I really needed it to shoot, bucked up. I was rushing forward on a speedball field, drew a bead on one fellow, pulled the trigger, and heard a sound familar to old Mag hands - a softer *thump* rather than the usual *thwang*. The bolt had stuck. Took me a few to figure it out - by then I was roasted. The immeadate and easy fix was a recock. Problem never reoccured.

Marker drew much too much attention from little kids off the field. Not like that's a big problem, but I didn't feel so wounderfully cool as I'd like to.

Long balling is weak. Take this with a grain of salt however. I really only used my 7.5" barrel (I have tested the other two, but stuck with the LAPCO). Accuracy at range is poor with this barrel. I look at the A-5 as an assault gun - get to medium-short range and you can rock and roll. Try running the back end of the speedball field and you just let your teammates down. A perfect example of this was on the opening rush of of a 4v4 speedball game - we start in range, looking at each other. Angel boy and I face off. Game starts. We rock and roll. His balls hit me in the chest and arm, mine drop near his feet - guns were more or less level. My Shocker would have made it. The A-5 with the 7.5" Bigshot did not. Ce la vie.

Final note: rushing
I found the A-5 to be very unsteady with the on gun 20 ounce tank and stock when rushing. The tank makes for a larger area of impact on the shoulder, negating the advantage of the stock - the "natural" resting place of the marker on my shoulder was tank-shoulder, not stock-shoulder. This meant that running forwards left me very unstable and inaccurate. Coupled with the inherent inaccuracy of semi-auto while running and the result was poor. Once I fix my remotes (both needed t-tape and I had none!) I'll re-evaluate this.
Conclusion: Overall a superb marker for around $300 - a better than fine marker for $280. I paid $280 and feel satisfied. It *is* overpriced, but watch for that to drop. The A-5 has it's short comings. It has its benifits. It's no Angel, Cocker, Mag, etc, etc, but is a great marker for the middle of the run - and can hold its own versus the big boys. Exceptional is its loading system - the best I have ever seen. Better than WARP, Rev, Ric, HALO - it just works! The cyclone has been the best piece of mind I've ever had on a marker. I have faith in the A-5 that when I need it to work it will, that when I need that round to fly it will fly, as will the next, and the next, etc, etc. The downfall of this gun, if any, is its gas consumption. It does use much. Additionally, it is not great for rushing, but that may be just my own fault. Running a remote should solve this.

On a side note, much ado as been made over the marker's "plastic" parts - like the rear (main) grip and the hopper/loader. Know that all loaders are made of plastic - various kinds, but still plastic. The Cyclone's construction has in my case been sound, but for others has failed - this is most likely a quality control issue and not a design flaw. Tippmann replaces cracked hoppers for free. As for the plastic rear, or main, grip - its the same bloody stuff used in the Gloch! WTF are we complaining about here? It's mil-spec! And not like we run around clubbing people with our grips, eh? So who needs the more weight that a metal grip adds? I suppose tis a matter of taste.

All in all I recomend the A-5 to the user that wants a gun that will work for them, consistantly.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kaziechameleon Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
procarbine, auto cockers, spyders, piranas, imps.
Marker Setup: A5, flatline/stock barrel, ACI Sub-Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, smart parts drop forward, and ASA with on off valve, Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount, 15mm rifle scope, universal grip t stock, and double trigger. (i strip all the woods ball stuff off for speed ball games and tourneys.)
Pro carbine:tippmann expansion chamber, 21 inch true fligh(i have to take the four inch back off, it doesn't fit under the rifle grip), revy loader/the revy loader was about 6 years old and just broke on me the board got all coroaded and broke.
Recommended
Upgrades:
and expansion chamber is a must, i recommend the one i have, check my marker setup, it is beautiful and works perfectly never has liquid co2 interupted my game, if you play speed ball you'll need a small drop forward so you can play a little tighter, i also recomend a on off valve asa upgrade so that the co2 isn't always putting presure on the internal seals if you leave your tank on for a long day of scenario ball.
Strengths: Amazing durability
Great stock 8 inch barrel
flatline
Cyclone feed
Costumobility
Weaknesses: Heavy
Field striping isn't as easy as they say
Needs an expansion chamber
Profile
Review: Feel free to skip to the real review

first thing i want to give you guys a little background on my self so you know where i'm comming from and how i am basing my crtisims, and such. i'm a sophmore in college, i've been playing for 7 years, i started out going to promisedland in wisconsin, for those of you who don't know that is a large scenario base park that has big games once a month, where up to 400 people will show up, games are objective based and last from 30-45 minutes, about one third of the players there are recballers or beginers with rentals, i was one of those people for 3 and a half years, i only moved out of that catagory after i got my own procarbine in a raffle, it was this marker that got me started on my way to being obsesed with this sport. once i moved up the ranks to a actually usefull teammember i new i needed more, i started recballing once or twice a week in the summer before i went off to college, in this time i upgraded my procarbine as far as it could go, when i moved onto campus at western michigan i joined the western michigan paintball team, i played most of the year with procarbine, as a front player, i held my own, but i knew i needed something more a month after christmas i got my A5, it was great i took it to a all team practice where tons of the best players in that part of michigan where, and i got wasted, at my frist tourney i was blown away, why, because i was blind, the Co2 cloud was so huge the second i took my first shot i lost sight, this may be because it was about 33 degrees out, but i played procarbine in that weather before geting the A5, and the only difference i could see was the expansion chamber, i got that and my gun screamed it was glorious i finished out the school/competative year with a nice bang, the rest of my team stopped picking on me as much because i was doing more than just holding my own at this point (they all have $600+ setups)

well it was summer and i hadn't scenario balled in over a year, so i got about 20-30 people together and headed out to wisconson for some promisedland, about a weak before leaving i got my gun supped up to the setup it has right now( flatline, ACI Sub-Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, smart parts drop forward, and ASA with on off valve, Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount, 15mm rifle scope, universal grip mounting t stock, and remote, double trigger. (i strip all the woods ball stuff off for speed ball games and tourneys.)), this thing looked mean in the woods, well me and my brother being the most experinced guys in our group we lead the way our twenty something man group tor into the opposing team, our team capton would say he needed fifty guys to capture siad objective, and i'd tell him we could do it, our twenty guys many of them actually new, or using rental guns could shred, because that flatline was great, i had just tuned it into perfection, and though it didn't like the park paint alot, i was able to send nice clouds of paint almost a 150 easy to long ball guys, i was commanding from the back and still taking most of the KO's for my self, after the first two rounds i started averaging 10 -20 KO's easy, my group led the way on the field. well on that day i desided that the A5 had to be one of the best scenario ball guns ever. my only competators where either using flatlines, or shooting hot(doesn't that make you mad) the thing lasted all day, almost a good solid 10 hours, and i never broke a single piece of that crappy park paint, and never had a problem with this marker, probably shot over 2000 rounds easy, (don't tell my buds, we did community paint and they'd be angry)

my summer continued i play ed more small scale rec ball, 3 on 3, and the like, school starts up agian, and i reconfigure my gun for speedball, witch takes like a minute, and i'm tearing it up agian, i love this gun, it's been probably little over 8 months and here i am reviewing. so i've tested this thing in the ammature competative speed ball, in scenario ball, and standard outlaw rec ball.

The Actual review

ok, lets talk about this marker,
the markers body is nice and small, not tiny but not large, it has a very nice scenario vibe to it if that is your thing it resembles a mp5hk without the barrel, i like the way that once you get an expansion chamber it can double for a front grip and you can remove the stock grip, this allows fro much tighter play the stock gun is cool but i'm going to review it like you already have a expansion chamber because it is as necessary as a hopper for this marker. you can get 50 round hoppers and the like to further the senario feel, a friend of mine has, but that is up to you. this marker has a very commanding presence on the field when totaly decked out, most paintballers will take you seriously, atleast once your in the woods.

i immediatly got a double trigger for mine, it helps me keep the rate of fire up because the leverage you get at the end of the trigger lowers the trigger pull so i just rest my middle finger on there and let it rip. i can get it up to almos 8 bps, witch is good enough i know the gun is capable of 18 bps with a response, but i have yet to see a tournament legal electric grip frame that can get it that fast. i'm still running stock mech setup though, i like it simple. if the trigger pull is to much you should be fine with a egrip they are really nice, the resposne is cool two, but alot of feilds are banning them. the stock trigger pull will deffinately not be like a auto mag ule, or anything, because of the hammer in this marker you can't aviod the kick or anything, yes this marker kicks, now you can control and manage it easily enough i just thought i should mention this, it isn't a problem for me, but some will deffinately not like it. really it matter though because your rates of fire won't get high enough to make the recoil affect your accuracy majorly.

the gun wieghts a little to much for my speed ball tastes, but it doesn't bother me in woods ball, it's just a real work out preforming a dead sprint for the snake with this thing. i once droped it in a superman dive and this gun didn't even flinch, it weighs alot more than my pro carbine though, but i can make the trade for the rate of fire, and compact size.

i never have, and haven't ever heard of any one out shooting the cyclone feeder, and i don't think it's possible, that thing is great. my whole team has eggs and halo b's and they are always wining, my hoper is down, this and that, while my cyclone has yet to break a ball, or anything, or even break down, i have dumped bad paint in my hopper thought witch made a real mess, and cleaning that out is as easy as running water through the cyclone feed, and hopper then re oiling the gun, takes like 2 mins, then let it dry.

maintinence is optional, your gun will be fine if you don't take it apart and clean it for a whole year if you run water in it, like pour water in the front then let it drain out, pour some oil in the asa(where the tank screws in), screw in your tank let in shoot the oil through, and the water out, maybe ten shots, and your gun is clean, this has worked for me for a whole year, i striped my gun once so i could get to know it after using it for six months, and it was pristine inside. the only reason you might ever want to open it up besides to upgrade something, would be to replace bolt orings, witch thanks to my expansion chamber, i haven't done yet.

the stock barel is great for speed ball, it's about 8 inches long, it is actually fairly accurate, not dead on, but heck it's a stock barel, i've survived this long with it. if you play woods and scenario stuff one of the best after market investments is the Flat line, it hugely increases your flat trajectory, accuracy is okay, it is very heavily dependent on the paint you use i recomend marbalizers if you want pristine accuracy, or premium, for the budget baller, premium is not gonna give you any trouble, decent accuracy, and won't break in the barrel. i got some freadom stings paint that broke every other ball, and cleaning this barel , i mean gettting pure accuracy reaquires water, because the textured surface holds the paint, smothing itself so you loose the flatline benefit. i try to carry a small water bottle for mask and flatline maintinence into any game i can. one more sweat thing is how loud the Flatline is, it can sare the SH!t out of alot of rec/scenario people as they duck not knowing quite where you are, but hereing your intimidating marker, so it works great for withering cover fire. the flatline is only 9 inches total and looks beautiflu on the A5, and is wonderfuly assembled, the houseing resembles a silencer. giveing you a nice tactical looks fro the woods, and is short enough for speed ball, one problem is that you must keep you marker completely level and stationary when firing for any accuracy. if you want a new barel for your A5, don't get anything over 14 inches it will look horendous on the stout body of this marker. for a after market speed ball barrel i recommend a Freak/junior freak kit, or stiffi, both barrels rock my world.

if you want a sight for your marker i highly recomend gettting the lapco offset sight the only problem is zeroing and angeled sight is a little more difficult than you would expect. i recommend a drop forward for the speed ballers who are interested, lets you play tighter, mine is like two inches and works perfectly , if you want a stock i think the universal t stocks they make that mount on the bottom of the grip are the best, you can stabalize, run remote, and play tight, the universal doesn't get in your way, you can tuck it under your arm or what ever, you won't be smaking your mask on it like one of the standard sniper stock thingys.

the lever to cock the gun is in front so that you won't be jamming your gun when you fire lefty like i did with my procarbine, and my borther did with his 98.

efficiency, well this gun is a hog, it guzzels gas, i mean i'd rather it did that than buy need hopper batteries every freakin day. but as i've siad before, get a expansion chamber, or get the LPK, a reg, and comp air, i went CO2 because it was alot cheaper, and honestly this gun doesn't need comp air, now if you went totally speed ball with it i'd recommend a Egrip and LPK with reg and comp air, but that is an extra 600 dollars, or so, i can't tell any one to do that, but the benefits would be a higher rate of fire, probably 14 bps, easy, with half the reciol, better efficiency because the lighter bolt would probably need less air to recock, and the reg would distribute it more evenly.

i think one of my favorite things about this marker is the fact that i could go berzerk and speed ball set it up, if i wanted to, or had the money, or woods/scenario ball orient it, and go dear hunter/rambo on everyones @$$es, yeah if you wanted, and a speed ball pimped A5 is rare beautiful thing, i haven't seen one in forever.

only real problem, and i have managed it, would have to be the frontal profile of this tank, the cyclone feeder can't be tucked when shooting out the right side of a bunker. but i get more hopper shots than cyclone shots, i've gotten one cyclone exclusive elimination shot at this point and that price i'm willing to pay.

one last thought this marker has great resale valure becuase they never break, and if they do it isn't to expensive to fix, as oposed to use auto cockers witch no one should ever buy. in almost one year of use i haven't broken anything, except Co2 canister O rings, what high end marker could ever say that, especially with the use and beating i hand my markers. i highly recommend braving Ebay, or your local paintball store to see what you can get. for more technical stuff read to other reviews, i might come back and update this review, but i don't want to make any promises.
Conclusion: If you like woods or scenario ball, you have to get this marker, if you like speed ball and would like a reliable tough marker, this is the one, it will take what ever you throw at it, don't let electro lovers disuade you, and if you want an electro i still recommend getting one of these with the e grip. i'm giving it a ten because it is probably the bes marker in it's range
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Duffman2765 Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; 14-inch Smart Parts TearDrop barrel; Dead-On drop forward, foregrip & double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, double trigger, drop forward (if you want to use it for speedball), expansion chamber
Strengths: Ease of maintenance
ROF
Accuracy
Awesome looks (my opinion)
Weaknesses: Gas usage
Cyclone Feed may need some tinkering
Weight
Review: I just purchased an A-5 from a friend of mine, and let me start by saying that this is one of the best guns I have ever used. I've shot everything from rental Spyders to an Angel LCD, and the A-5 can compete with nearly any gun out there. It can fire as fast as I can move my fingers to pull the trigger, which is more than I can say of some other guns I've used, both more and less expensive than the A-5. The Cyclone Feed system works just like Tippmann says it does, and Tippmann says some pretty good things about it. In one day I used around 800 rounds (using $50/case paint at a field where Marballizer costs almost $70/case) without a single break or dry-fire. That's a good day no matter what you're using.
Now, on to accuracy. I can't say how well the A-5 shoots out of the box, as I have yet to shoot it with the stock barrel attached. However, using both a 14-inch Tear Drop and the stock barrel from the 98 Custom (that's right, the standard 8.5" barrel from a $130 gun) I could place 4 balls in a row on a hanging paint can about the size of a large coffee mug from 30 feet away without too much trouble - and I'm no marksman.
Okay, the A-5 shoots straight and fast, but with the Cyclone Feed system and all, isn't it a pretty complicated gun? Not at all. Tippmann's website boasts the A-5 can be field stripped and reassembled in 60 seconds, which I think is a bit conservative. The quick disassembly pins are incredibly easy to push out - the only problem I had all day was that one of the pins is located just below the Cyclone, which makes it difficult to push in without using something like a screwdriver to get it out. Even if you need to take apart the entire gun all you need are two allen wrenches and a few minutes.
One more thing that stood out to me is the fact that the hopper is not above the gun like with most other markers, it is on the right side. Not only does this make for a more compact design overall, but it put me at a big advantage over other players because I'm a lefty. I can pop out the left side of a bunker, and the only thing an opposing player has to shoot at is my barrel. If you're a speedball or tourney player, I'd recommend learning to shoot left-handed with this gun, as it decreases your target profile by about half.
As great as the A-5 is, I do have a few minor beefs with it. The most glaring of these is how fast this gun goes through CO2. Basically, if the A-5 was a car, its fuel efficiency would probably compare to that of a Hummvee. I filled my 20 oz tank before the first game in the morning, and was out by lunch. I'd say I probably got about 400 shots out of each fill.
Another problem I had, also Cyclone Feed-related, was that near the end of the day it stopped working on me. The gun was still firing, but the blades in the feed system stopped turning, preventing any balls from getting into the chamber. I asked the guy at the proshop about this - his response? "Yeah, to fix that you'll have to open up the system and file down the rods, and maybe cut the spring too. Or just ship it back to Tippmann, they'll be able to fix it." Now I'm no expert on the mechanics of a paintball gun, so I wasn't about to try filing anything down. I was equally turned-off by the prospect of shipping my recently-acquired gun back to Tippmann to have them fix it. So, when I got home I decided to try and diagnose the problem myself. As it turned out, the man at the proshop had no idea what he was talking about, and I fixed the problem in about 10 minutes. Inside the Cyclone system is a small metal rod that hooks into a sawblade-shaped circular disk when it is pushed in by firing the gun. A spring then pulls this rod back, which rotates the blades and loads the next ball. The problem with my gun was that the metal rod was pushing up against the disk so hard that when it moved forward and grabbed the next groove, it didn't pull back because the spring didn't have enough power to overcome the force of the rod pushing against the disk (it sounds very complicated, but if you ever get a chance look at the internals of an A-5 and you should figure out what I mean in a matter of seconds). I quickly remedied this by slightly bending the metal rod out with a pair of pliers, and just for good measure I oiled all the parts as well. That's all I did - bend a piece of metal.
You'll see I've listed weight as a weakness of the gun, but I would describe it as more of an inconvenience. It doesn't really hinder me at all, but near the end of the day I started to notice that the A-5 is above average when it comes to weight. With my drop forward and 20 oz tank, I'd say the A-5 weighs in around 6 lbs when fully loaded with paint, which is comparable to an M-16. This isn't really a big issue, but I am the type of player who sprints whenever I feel a walk won't suffice, so by the end of the day I'm dead tired no matter what I'm using.
Conclusion: This gun has a lot going for it, and it's certainly another excellent product from Tippmann. My play style and the specific gun I have are really the only things that caused problems for me, otherwise the only issue is the gas consumption. Aside from that, so far the gun has performed flawlessly for me. I'm planning on using it in an upcoming tournament, and I expect I'll be able to keep up with most anything that is thrown at me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 15th, 2003 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rdoll Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 with... flatline barrel, DOP drop-forward, expansion chamber, SIG stock, E-grip, dbl finger trigger and C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip with dbl finger trigger, flatline, drop-forward and expansion chamber
Strengths: no chopping, great distance/accuracy w/ flatline, consistency,awesome look, and very tolerant of C02
Weaknesses: None that i can name.
Review: I have been doing novice tourneys for 1 year now and this gun is great. The cyclone is the strongest and best feature on this gun. The feeder works a lot better than the other guns i have fired and the A-5 gives me the consistency that i need. The E-grip is essencial for tournament play because the stock trigger pull is pretty tight. and if you plan to go pro a flatline is the key. The flatline lets me hit hoppers all the way across the playing field without having to aim high and without having to lob them over either. The flatline is a main component. if you are shooting C02 the expansion chamber is needed for better consistency. But the A-5 by itself is a great investment. I have a $700 A-5 which you truely get what you pay for...preformance. So if you are a beginner or even a novice or pro if you want preformance with a n intimidating look... go for the A-5, its worth it.
Conclusion: I would recommend my set up for anyone who likes to do tournaments because in the tournaments i have been in it proves its self worthy of tournament classification. This marker also is an awesome woods-playing gun because of its scenario look.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media