paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
sbeckett91 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2
Spyder MR1
Custom Pro
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CAR Stock
14'' SMART PARTS Linear Ceramic Dust
Pure Energy Remote Line
Red-Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Stock
Red-Dot Sight
Remote
Response Trigger
TAC-CAP loader
Strengths: -reliable
-upgrades
-Cyclone
-MILSIM look
-ease of use
-moderate-price
-included hopper
Weaknesses: -pricey upgrades
-air hog
-stock barrel lame
-no Picatinny mount
-bulbous hopper
Review: STRENGTHS

1-unlike the high-performance speedball markers (Angel, DYE) the A-5 is constructed of die-cast aluminum that can survive a bomb strike. It is not touchy like those markers and takes a punishing while still operating at peak.

2-One of the coolest aspects of the A-5 is the upgrades. It is the most easily upgraded gun on the market. Some ups are purely aesthetic while others are useful. You can put rails, grips, guards, triggers, shrouds, scopes, sights, hoppers, barrels, stocks and gun kits on the A-5. It allows you to tailor the A-5 to EXACTLY your play preferences once you find your niche. Be you a sniper, heavy gunner, dagger, or what-have-you, whatever your play style, the A-5 delivers.

3-Another useful and revolutionary concept is the CYCLONE Feed-system. It eliminates the need for an expensive electric hopper system by having a wide mouth hopper that feeds paintballs into a housing with a sprocket that force-feeds paintballs into the breach. One of the best aspects of the gun, if you ask me.

4-Unlike the funny looking speedball guns, the A-5 is constructed to mimic the Heckler & Koch MP5K submachine gun. Not only does it look cool out-the-box, but with upgrades can be made to look like just like any rifle or SMG (Tommy gun, M16, M4A1, AK-47, UMP, M82A1, MP5, G36C, UZI, and more) you can think of, making it great for scenario games. It looks cool and tough and intimidating.

5- Like the iPod, Xbox 360 and AK-47, the A-5 is popular because it is very easy to use. Once paintballs and CO2 have been installed, firing is easy:
1) Pull back cocking handle to pull back bolt.
2) Press the loading switch to feed a ball into the chamber.
3) Turn of safety; fire.
There are no complex mechanisms that require a genius to operate. Unlike high-end speedball guns, it doesn’t need to be tweaked. Just point and shoot.

6-The A-5 is not an expensive gun, but with the proper ups, can hold its own against nearly any gun on the market. If you want a great gun without a huge investment, it’s an excellent choice. If you want a competitive marker that blows away the competition, and are willing to spend money on ups, it’s great. The moderate price allows even entry-level players to get a great gun.

7-Lastly, the included hopper, built out of heavy duty plastic that snaps into the Cyclone housing, is a great value, since you do not need to buy an aftermarket one.

WEAKNESSES

1- The myriad upgrades for the A-5 are cool, but some are expensive. Still, the expensive ones usually are purely aesthetic and the A-5 is still a great gun without it.

2- Because it accepts HPA, CO2, and NITRO, the A-5 is a bit of an air-hog. If you want, buy a 20 oz. tank and remote to remedy this.

3- In contrast to the amazing Cyclone-Feed and included hopper, the stock 8.5’’ barrel is kind of dinky. My first recommended upgrade is a new barrel, preferably a Flatline or APEX.

4- A tiny problem with the A-5 is the lack of standard Picatinny/Weaver scope mounts. You can get one cheaply aftermarket, though.

5- My last qualm with the Tippmann A-5 is the shape of the stock hopper. It is a little blocky and makes a fine target for your opponent. A Ricochet barrel or TAC-CAP can fix this.
Conclusion: This is the definitive and only choice for woodsball, and a pretty good speedball gun, too. All around good for beginners and experienced alike. I give it 9 out of 10 because pothing is nerfect. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 1:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Party of A-5 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a Spyder Pilot, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with stock parts as of now
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, R/T (or E-grip, anything to up the rof), remote
Strengths: Durability
Design
Cyclone Feed System
Field Strip Capability
Upgradeability
Weaknesses: Price
Weight
Review: The Tippmann A5 brings you the latest and greatest in paintball technology. First of all, allow me to discuss the pros and cons of the marker.

Pros:

Durability: Everybody knows that Tippmann Pneumatics make the most durable paintball markers available on the market today. It is no joke that you could literally bang it on a rock and still expect it to function normally. Tippmann has the reputation for making markers that are virtually indestructible.

Design: When you see a Tippmann paintball gun, you know that you're not holding any other piece of equipment. You know it is a Tippmann; it is authentic. With the A5, the marker closely resembles the H&K MP5-K.

Cyclone Feed System: this almight ball loading system feeds balls at a rate of 15 balls a second. And, like they say on the ads, with the previous Tippmann model, balls were being shot at a faster rate than they were being loaded. However, to reach speeds like 15 bps, you must get a r/t, or egrip (basically anything to upgrade the rof).

Field Strip Capability: being the mild paintballer that I am, sadly I have never field stripped this marker. I will eventually get around to it, when I literally have a minute to spare. That is all it takes is a minute to strip everything and put it back together.

Upgradeability: like it's predessor, the 98 custom, the a5 is also upgradeable. With so many things to choose from ( wide selection of barrels, drop forwards, sight rails, stocks, kits) and not to mention performance enhancers (response trigger, e-grip, bta, flatline, comp air, etc.) this marker can grow with you as a player.

Cons:

Price: yes it is expensive for just a blowback gun. I bought mine for $250.00 at a local paintball store. Although it is a little pricey, it is much better than beating yourself up for buying a piece of crap. Basically, in the long run, you will be glad you went the extra mile.

Weight: this marker is one heavy mofo. It weighs in at like 3 1/2 pounds without the tank. Many people do not have a problem with this, and I, for one, do not either. It is just a little bit heavier than I would like it to be.

Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anybody who wants to upgrade into a better gun or even start paintballing. This can be a beginner gun or an advanced gun, it just depends on the level you want to take it to. It can do anything you want, just put in some time, money, and effort, and you will have one kickass gun. You guys are just jealous that you spent so much money on a hobby and you regret it.
Oh, and by the way, this marker is not that much worse than an Angel, Autococker, etc.
They are way overrated, and I could care less of what you high end semi owners think. Don't leave stupid comments saying that I am stupid for thinking that. Us A5 owners could care less of what you guys say.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 10th, 2004 at 12:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

i_love_my_A5 Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle- Maurder
Tippmann-Custom 98
Marker Setup: Stock right now and still works awesome!
I plan to get a flatline soon however.
Recommended
Upgrades:
•From what I've heard, definitely the flatline. ( I have played with a Custom 98 with a flatline, man does it ever go straight and far. )
•Low-pressure air system
•You can keep it stock and it will still blow you away, it did me.
Strengths: •Stock Accuracy
•Cyclone system
•Durable
•Quality
•Looks Sweet

Weaknesses: •Cyclone system has one loose part (normal)
•Cyclone system takes small amount of Co2
Review: When I bought this gun online I couldn't wait for it to come.
As I opened it out of the box it glistened in the sunlight like an angel ( not the gun ) was trying to steal it because it looked so cool.
I didn't get to test it out until that weekend.
Friday night came around, my best buddy and I were shooting Mountain Dew and A&W Root Beer cans. He had a Custom 98 with a flatline, I had my completely stock A-5. He has been paintballing more than me and he hit 1 out of 9 cans. Me the rookie took aim hit the remaining 4 missing only one from 80 feet away. We set them up again he shot, I shot, he shot, I shot and so on and so forth, I hit all 5, he hit none. The reason it is nine cans is because one can flew up and went in the water and we didn't want to get it.

This gun is amazing, it is accurate with a stock 8 1/2 inch barrel, fast shooting, I was getting 16 bps stock!!!

•• Gun ••
It is an amazing peice of mechanical genius. It has a great everything about it. The bolts, the response the re-cocking it's all paradise. Although I was a little skeptic of the loose Cyclone CO2 chamber thing however. It seems like it could break off if it got snagged on something, but that is the only downside about the body. The body of the gun has a great durable finish on it also, and the shiny, silver TIPPMANN *A-5* really accents it too.

•• Barrel ••
The stock micro-honed 8 1/2 inch barrel is great. 8/10 for accuracy, but not so awkwardly long like those sniper barrels, but than again whatever floats your boat, if you want dead on accuracy get a 12-14 inch barrel. (come on guys a 21inch barrel is a little over kill, can I get a woot woot)

•• Cyclone Feed System ••
This is one of the most ingenious things about the gun. It holds 5 balls ready to fire. It spins to load balls as fast as you pull the trigger. My buddy and I went through a 2000 case and it didn't chop a ball once, ever, never ever. This system can load balls faster than you need them.

•• Other ••
The sights on this gun are great too. You can adjust it to be a wider square for a faster more general aim or to a smaller square for more kill hots but a bit longer to aim.
The gun comes with all the tools you need to adjust the velocity, parts etc.
You can also field strip it with no tools, (tip: don't do it outside, You WILL lose parts, do it on a table in the garage or something)
There are also so many different ways to customize it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for anybody who loves every kind of paintball, it's great for woodsball, speedball anything. Its for newby's to pro's. It is extremly customizable.
I give it a 9.9999/10. I loved it, you probably will too. And if you are thinking of getting one DO IT RIGHT NOW, GET IT, GO BUY IT, SELL YOUR CAR ,YOUR TV IT IS SWEET!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Zinger Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah rentals
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (ditched the fore grip, Krylon-camo'd the hopper)
14" 32* Night Stick barrel
Tapco car stock (sometimes)
IYF offset rail & high rise sight (when using car stock)
some impacted dirt
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, any good quality barrel
Strengths: Rugged, reliable, doesn’t chop.
Many aftermarket options.
Easy field strip.
Flat-out WORKS.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is loud & inaccurate.
Weird rear sight.
Review: There have been a zillion glowing reviews of this marker so I won’t repeat all the praises, I’ll simply back them up with my experiences so far. In about 5000 balls shot to date, I haven’t had a single chop. The cyclone feeder really is that good. About the only thing bad to say here is that when it gets down to the last half-dozen rounds, the manual plunger needs to be worked between shots or you may get a few “blanks” when an empty cyclone arm swings past. It is fun to shoot, easy to maintain, reasonably priced, and works well as an all-rounder. That’s my take on it. Now on to some points not usually covered in reviews.

The all-black H&K MP5 inspired design will give some soccer moms pause, but then shiny markers aren't some people’s style. Just use discretion and go have fun. (And don’t make any sudden moves when the police show up at a neighborhood woodsball game.) The push-out pins and slide-out bolt and trigger groups are clearly adapted from the H&K family of firearms, which have a long history of reliability and were designed for ease of maintenance in adverse conditions. The A-5’s resemblance to the MP5 is more than skin deep. For some people this is creepy, but I look at it and think “Cool!”

But don’t field strip it in the woods. Wait until you’re back at the tables, because there are small parts to loose. As a side note, I do have to tap the rear of the receiver a few times on a table to get the bolt group to slide backward enough to grab it to pull out. It doesn’t just slip out the way the instructions imply, but the thing’s tough enough to take a little banging around.

Some reviewers have complained about it being a gas hog, but I don’t have any gripes there. Cost? When $3 of CO2 will shoot $20 worth of balls? Pfft, that’s nothing. Or is it having to swap out tanks in the heat of play a tad more often? I don’t see either of these as a real problem. And these concerns absolutely pale in comparison to the pleas I hear of “Hey, you got a spare 9 volt you can loan me?” I’ll take a gas actuated feed system over an electro hopper any day.

Accuracy with the stock barrel is enough to get you started but not much more. At 25 yards mine will group just over 10 inches. After I added an aftermarket barrel (32* Night Stick, 14”) the group size dropped to half this, small enough to make cross-field shots feasible. Honestly, the stock barrel is so nicely machined and finished that I can’t figure why it doesn’t perform better. Must have to do with the length and porting. I wish Tippmann would either go the extra step of making this barrel actually usable, or just put on a real piece of junk (knowing that everyone’s going to replace it anyway) and drop the price $10.

Back to the sights, the rear drum sight is useable and accurate enough, but the variable width notches are weird. Tippman could’ve put in variable depth notches calibrated for, say, 0, 100, 150, and maybe 200 feet and made the thing a good deal more useful. At least it’ll be an easy swap out if anyone ever comes out with an aftermarket sight.

Speaking of aftermarket, every option under the sun is available for this marker. You can trick it out to be anything from a stubby full auto machine pistol to a long range sniper tool for the “One shot 1-- one elimination” crowd. Pretty versatile, and the parts won’t cost you an arm and a leg either. (Mine? All-rounder.)

The price for this marker is reasonable. There are less expensive markers out there that work well, but none of them come close to the A-5. There’s a certain price in any outdoor equipment (tents, mountain bikes, etc.) below which you’re just buying junk, but at or above that you’re OK. Somewhere around twice the “junk line” price is the Real Deal, and that’s exactly where the A-5 lies. It’s definitely in the sweet part of the price/performance curve, so only a little extra cash to jump up to this marker buys a lot more performance and reliability.

I’ll finish with the best feature of the A-5: it’s always ready to play. Show up at a field, screw on a 20 oz. tank, chrono the beast, and I’m on the field in 5 minutes. Then it works, without complaint, for as long as I want to play. There are lots of markers that can shoot more balls per second than an A-5, but not many markers are this easy to use, maintain, and buy.
Conclusion: Not a flyweight speedball competition marker, it’s the ultimate woodsball brawler. It is fun to shoot, easy to maintain, reasonably priced, and just WORKS.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmanuser23 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98custom, Spyder Kingman
Marker Setup: I've tried various different setups, I customize my gun for whatever Im playing.
Right now ive got a collapsible stock, proteam xchamber (just for the improved tank positioning it really doesn't change the performance of the gun), 12" barrel, tactical riser mount, offset hopper adapter, and a red dot. I am actually on my second
A5 and I have used many different setups including RT, Egrip, flatline, flatline of 98c modded for use on the A5, gas through stock kits, xchambers regulators ect... havent used low pressure though.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any accessory really will make it more fun, but I'm really big on upgrading the barrel. Flatline works good for the most part, but right now im using a Lapco 12" Bigshot. You will find that accuracy vs distance is the choice that your making when deciding to use a flatline or a straight barrel.
Strengths: Its totally customizable. You can mod to improve performance or make your marker look MilSim.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, rate of fire.
Review: A5s are great for beginners; but the gradual progression of any paintball player is toward high end markers. You just cant compete. I still use my A5 because I like it for woodsball and ive grown attatched to it.

If you want to know more about the rate of fire read tippmanns website. Its pretty plain and simple, the cyclone feed rate is 17BPS period. The firing rate is 8BPS, which you can improve with an RT or Egrip, but your not going to get past 17BPS with the cyclone. Ive seen some outrageous claims about 25 BPS out of an A5 and I have to wonder why anyone would believe that. That being said it is possible to achieve really high rates of fire with a qloader and an egrip but i have no experience with that setup because I cant justify spending that much. At that point your just trying to turn a tippmann into something its not meant to be anyway.

My experience with accuracy is mixed. As a beginner at paintball i am still learning what I can and cannot expect from a paintball gun. I am a firm believer that your barrel matters probably more than anything else on your A5. Using a good barrel will improve your accuracy. So will practice because you need to get used to the feel of shooting an A5. It doesnt really recoil, but it isnt smooth either. My biggest issue with accuracy comes at higher rates of fire. It works fine taking a single shot or snapshooting, but when your firing quickly it can be a challenge to shoot accurately.

A word about flatlines. You have the distance to hit people without flatlines before you are in they're range. In theory you should own, but i cant tell you how many times i've shot about 100 balls to hit something like at a hopper or a barrel or a leg or whatever it was that was sticking out. Sometimes you just cant hit your target with the flatline. The distance you will achieve is impressive; but accuracy at those distances is unpredictable even with the best paint. Also, if you break a ball, you may have to stop using it until it has been properly cleaned. Im at the point where i just want an accurate barrel.

A word about the cyclone. My first A5 worked better for some reason. I do believe people have ball chopping problems with the cyclone because my new A5 has chopped marbs and i dont know why.
Conclusion: This is a decent gun for anyone, but great for begginers. Experiment with different barrels. A flatline will put a smile on your face! I have had alot fun using an A5.

The biggest thing i wanted to bring up is that in paintball fire superiority is the name of the game. If your bunkered down you dont have time for accurate, consistent shots that we woodsballers like to claim we are capable of. You dont have a whole lot of time to do anything and you need to react before the opposition gets position on you. You need a HIGH RATE OF FIRE marker if you want the best chances of eliminating your enemies, so get the best gun you can afford. That being said I can count the number of speedball games ive played on two hands. I love woodsball and my tippmann, If this is you then you will be happy with an A5.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:10 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Akarikon Sunday, January 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X-Alot Better
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
9oz Co2
200 Hopper

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electro hopper-not cyclone feed
Strengths: Can look down gun to aim
lots of upgrades
hard to break
Weaknesses: Cyclone Feed-A Gas hog
Barrel
Review: This review is on the stock gun. My friend owns an A-5 and we go paintballing. He wants to use my Spyder so we trade guns for the day. We are using Anarchy paintballs. I start shooting and at about 6bps-one chops. I know it cant be the paintballs. I am shooting some more and it chops even more. I am angry and want to know whats happening. I take off my hopper, and there are some paintballs in the cyclone. I shoot and the cyclone feed is chopping the balls! So I give it one last chance-A few balls go straight. The accuracy is decent, but not as good as my Spyder. It gets to about only 35ft, with a stock barrel (not a flatline) but the accuracy is good. It is also big and bulky
Conclusion: I do not reccomend this product with my bad experience with it. I reccomend a Spyder TL-X or Imagine if you want electro
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
57 Comments - Add Comment

PB_Slayer Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: A-5:
Red Dot Scope
CAR Stock
Response Trigger
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
68 cc 4500 PSI Nitro tank
Remote Hose Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Respone Trigger
E-Grip (Not legal at all fields)
Strengths: Cyclone Feed
Very Accurate
Very Reliable
Easy to field strip
Easy to upgrade
Rarely chops
Weaknesses: Considered loud
Response Trigger uses lots of air
Review: *** Paint ***
Many types of paint work well with the A-5. The paint I use the most is PMI Stingers. What I don't recommend using is the Hurricane paint. I could not get 1 shot off without that paint breaking in the barrel. At least that was my experience with it. 8/10

*** Accuracy ***
The accuracy on this gun is amazing. You look at some speed ball guns and some of them shoot all over the place. I wonder how they can even hit people. The A-5 shoots practically dead on every shot (with an upgraded barrel). 10/10

*** Looks **
The gun looks pretty decent too. It's based off the Heckler & Koch MP5K. It is easily upgradeable, and you can virtually make it look like anything you want. And nothing really "clashes" with it either. Any combination of upgrades will look cool. 10/10

*** Feel ***
For me, the gun is pretty comfortable to hold. The only thing that may get in your way is the hopper. Certain mods can easily change that though. Other than that, awesome. 9/10

*** Speed ***
Of course, depending on what trigger you have, the A-5 outputs a different FPS. According to Tippmann, the RT puts out about 15 BPS, while the E-Grip can go up to 17 BPS. The problem with the RT is that you have to hit the "sweet spot" on the trigger. That means squeezing it just the right amount in order to get the piston moving as designed. Even then, it stops after about 5-6 shots, and you have to find that sweet spot again. 8/10

*** Durability ***
If you are looking for a gun that can be dropped from the Empire State building, you found the right gun. I can't count the amount of times I have dropped internal parts, and it still works 100%. Everything on this gun is very forgiving. It will last you a lifetime. 10/10

*** Price ***
Most places I see, you can get this gun at a base stock price of about $200. With RT it's about $250, and with the E-Grip, it's about $300. Not bad, eh? 10/10
Conclusion: Final recommendation? Well, if you are looking for your first gun. This is the way to go. That last thing you want is a gun that will shatter into pieces when you drop it. And, no matter what anyone tells you, A-5s can be used for speed ball. They may not be ideal, but they can do it. Heck, there is a speed ball team that uses all Tippmanns. Final rating? 9.3/10, but rounded to 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 3rd, 2007 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

braden051087 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, but the A-5 blows that out of the water
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT
Tippmann X chamber
Rufus Dawg venturi bolt
18" Dye Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a new barrel (stock barrel isn't terrible, but it is LOUD)
Response trigger if you buy one without it already installed
Ricochet Hopper
Expansion Chamber / Regulator
-or-
If you have the money (which I don't) the low pressure kit so you can use compressed air to it's full potential
Strengths: Cyclone Hopper
Easy to Upgrade
Easy to Clean/Maintain
LOTS of available upgrades
DURABLE
Weaknesses: Consumes LOTS of CO2
prone to gun hits
Review: First of all, I'd like to say the this is a fantastic gun for rec ball, woodsball, and scenario games. I've seen alot of comments on various threads that are along the lines of "the A-5 sucks....get a <insert $1000 dollar electronic marker> instead." If you're interested in rec play and woodsball, you should probably ignore comments like this. If you're in to speedball, you're in the wrong marker category to begin with. There is a reason that pbreview breaks up markers into high-end/low-end and electronic/mechanical. I hate to be cliche but it's apples to oranges people....

That being said, the A-5 is in my opinion the best gun on the market for the committed woodsballer. Here's why:

PRICE: It may be more than a 98 Custom, but is still comparably less to other scenario guns (ex: Ariakon's newer SIM markers). I've found that the quality of this gun is well worth the price tag.

UPGRADE-ABILITY: There are TONS of mods out there for the A-5. Many of which include milsim body kits and tactical rails which are great if you're hard core into scenario games. Personally, I'd rather not lug around all the scopes and lasers and such on my marker, but to each his own. I've also found that installation is very easy. I'm not very mechanically inclined, and i was able to install an expansion chamber and upgrade bolt into mine without much trouble, something i would not have tried with my 98 (vertical adapters and power-tubes and what-not).

DURABILITY / MAINTENANCE: Tippmanns are pretty much no-hassle guns. If you oil them up before you play and clean the internals every once in awhile, they will last you almost indefinitely. The A-5 is exceptionally easy to clean because of the "field-stripping" design (BTW, they advertise that it can be field stripped and reassembled in 30 seconds or so, but I suspect that's after 15 years of doing nothing else with your time...). All you have to do is pop out a few bolts and you have access to all of the internals and the trigger parts.

CYCLONE FEED: This is one of my favorite things about the A-5. The stock A-5 comes equipped with a pneumatic hopper that feeds paint with every cycle of the gun. You literally can't out shoot this hopper. I honestly don't know why they haven't applied this same idea to speedball. It's pure genius! It does use a bit extra juice though, which brings me to the next portion of the review:

-THE CONS-

AIR CONSUMPTION: The A-5 is a definite gas-hog. This is of course, due to the gas fed hopper. All in all it is fairly efficient, but when you get to the end of your tank, the hopper starts to skip. I've found this happens in about the last 10-12 shots from your tank. If you know your hopper is full, but your not shooting any paint, then you're about out of gas hos...Tippmann has compensated for this with a manual feed button. you get one shot per click. This is slightly annoying, but if you're that out of air, then you're close to being out of the game anyway. I can live with pump action for 12 shots...

GUN HITS: The stock hopper for the A-5 has a large flat area in the front of it. It's basically a bull's-eye. Absolutely no hope for a bounce on this puppy. If you're out from a gun hit with an A-5, then chances are it was the hopper that got splattered. For this reason I recommend getting a ricochet hopper. It's much more low-profile and angular so it's less of a risk for a hopper hit.

other than these few things, I haven't found anything else to complain about
Conclusion: If you're into rec ball, woodsball, and/or scenario games then I strongly suggest you buy an A-5. It is a great gun that is easily affordable, upgradeable, and maintainable. At times the gas-consumption can get a little annoying, but nothing is perfect. I give this gun a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Poopilicious Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
RT Mag
Custom made Autococker
Autococker GXE
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c w/ upgrades, though i have fired others and at times borrow my friends' for a few games to try theirs out
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel if you have the money
Strengths: accurate
durable
can compete and hold its ground with the mid range markers (~$500 markers)
Weaknesses: a bit noisy
heavy, but not as heavy as some other markers out there
Review: PROS:

accuracy - in my last game, i tried this out for a game and i find it more accurate than the autococker, though im comparing it to the ~$500 and below autocockers since i never tried the highend ones personally as of yet. i was able to shoot through brush without the paint popping on twigs, which is something i havent been able to do SO EASILY AND CONSISTANTLY on any gun (minus the overpriced $1,000+ guns though those guns are on a league of their own).

theres a myth about it being a gas hog... it can go through 2 bags of paint w/o refill, thus the gas thing is a myth, unless the people who used this didnt have an expansion chamber.

it's good for back and mid play, not so sure about front play. the setup i tried had a flatline on it so it would have been pointless for me to play front since i can snipe people off without having to go far to begin with.

you cant break this thing. seriously. i know someone who never maintains his gun and owns one. it lives up to tippmann's trademark indeed.

i felt no difference between nitro and c02 on this gun. it seems to be consistant with both.

the sight is a big improvement over the 98c

has VERY LITTLE PARTS TO LOSE when field stripping!!! BIG IMPROVEMENT ON TIPPMANN'S PART! their website is right when they claim you can take it apart and put it back together in a minute!




CONS:

a bit on the heavy side but i've found electro guns and RT Mags to be heavier than this

with the flatline on, it seems a tad loud, though it's hard to figure out where the sound is coming from for some odd reason. i mean, i can tell who has a 98 custom by the sound of the bolt and i can pinpoint where they are, for example, but i cant do so with the A5 w/ flatline. however, having any other barrel changes the sound issue.

the front handle i quite small. i can only grip it with half of my hand.
Conclusion: unless you have a lot of money to spend on a gun that costs more than $500, i'd say this gun is ideal. i've read many people saying how this gun chops balls, but i never had that experience with Diablo paint. the stock barrel isn't all that inaccurate but changing it is a must. The thing i love most about this gun over electroguns is that it performs just as well without the hassle of batteries, which, speaking from experience, IS A PAIN!!! nothing is worse than being in the field and having your revy shut down on you or having the gun misfire because the battery went dead. it performs consistantly no matter how much you torture the gun, which, once again speaking from experience, cant be said for many other guns. i've watched this one guy bang his gun into a tree when he slipped and fell and there wasnt a single defect in his gun afterwards. i must say that it is louder than an autococker, cant deny that one, though i've outshot a few people with autocockers over the weekend with this gun since the flatline made it all that much better, so i guess noise is a worth sacrifice in this case. im more of a woods baller than a speed baller so im not sure how well this would do in speed ball. the gun that i can compare this to the most is the RT Mag. That gun costs a lot more than this yet i still cant find any significant difference between the two except for the fact that the RT Mag shoots twice as fast.

i find people who spend more than ~$500 for a gun is wasting their money on useless electronics. i mean, come on, sure an angel and other high end guns have these features such as an LCD screen, full auto, different shot bursts, etc. but nowadays, most fields ban those features, so it'd be like saying "i own a ferrari and can do 200+mph easy"... it's cool to have the feature but you know you cant ever use it, so what's the point other than to show off!!?!?

all in all, and after polling the opinions of the 40+ people in my group (we play at Pinelands Paintball (Cousins Paintball) @ manchester, NJ most of the time), this gun is more favored ever since it came out. well i guess it's obvious now how i've tried other guns, i play with a large group constantly. and for all those people who plan on saying "he's bias; he's a tippy lover; ____ ARE THE BEST!" or any of that sort, you're missing the point of this review.

once again, all in all, i find this to be a good buy. it competes with autocockers definitely and if you dont want to go through the pain of losing parts when field stripping or high maintenance, then this is the way to go. tippmann was smart in that they designed it to have very little parts to lose when field stripping, which was a pain in the arse with the 98custom. as of rate of fire, aint blazing fast but i dont know why people complain about it because honestly, why would you want to use 20+ bps in the first place unless you're missing a lot and your finger cant even pull a trigger that fast to begin with. i was planning on buying an RT mag or an autococker, but when it comes down to it, this would be a better buy. mind you, i'm a mag fanatic but that RT mag kills a hopper way too fast if you're not watching your paint.

oh, and i give this a 9 instead of 10 ONLY BECAUSE it is a tad noisy, which sorta gives away your position but from experience, people usually know where you are to begin with if you're shooting at them. heh
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meph Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 (98Custom)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip (has a custom blade trigger)
Flatline barrel system
PsychoBallistics RVA
Omega Cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better aftermarket barrel !!
Flatline barrel system (for certain woods occasions)
RT or E-grip
Strengths: Built in force feed system, and field strip in 60 seconds !
Weaknesses: People don't like some plastic parts, stereotyped as bad for speedball
Review: Positive...
- Weight. The weight of the A-5 is quite light. It's not like a feather, but it isn't like carying a boulder. Gives it an overall good balance.
- Firepower. Stock is nice. 2 1/2 pound trigger pull, for a mechanical marker this is nothing. It's light and short. Easy to get a good string of paint. And for upgrades the RT system or E-grip fit right into place and will have you slinging so much paint that you're going to have to invest in a nice harness.
- Field strip ability. With only 4 push pins you can completely disassemble and reassemble the A-5 in just 60 seconds. And that's without practice, we've had races at the proshop and fastest time was 39 seconds (apart / back together). Don't be fooled by 'cocker owners saying "I can field strip my bolt with one push pin in 2 seconds" or Spyder owners "I can also field strip mine in less then 60 seconds." Because only the A-5 can field strip EVERYTHING. Hammer, bolt, AND valve. Good luck getting an autococker valve out, you have to buy a special tool!
- Cyclone. The cyclone and A-5 is the fastest force feed system on the market. Period. 17bps people have been getting with their RT systems on the A-5. And unlike some other force feed hoppers, the A-5 is more consistent and it doesn't crush paint or push it past the ball detents leading to chops. Not only that, but this is at least 2-inches shorter than other hoppers on the market (even shorter than some like eVLution).
- Price. It dominates in the price range. For 200-300 price range nothing even comes close. There is not a marker out there that can fire as fast, as consistent, field strip as quick, built even close to as reliable / durable, and come STOCK with a force-feed hopper system. There is no comparison.


The negative side of things...
- Plastic. Grip frame and hopper are made of plastic. I may not mind (no problems yet) it being plastic personally, but there are some people who would. So for them they might shy away.
- Grip frame. People are obsessed with aftermarket grips (DYE Stickies). And since they can't put any on, they're upset. Afterall, those DYE stickies really do make it so you can grip a marker SO much better! (note: sarcasm)
- Hopper. Bad design idea, Tippmann admitted. A flat surface right on the face of the hopper. Although I made the best of it by putting a "bullseye" sticker on the front! Quite fitting I thought.
Conclusion: Tippmanns' finest craftsmanship in one sweet package. A great marker for those wanting to upgrade from their beginning talon or Stingray II. Or even those that have the $ is great for beginning marker.
But for those of us who actually realize that it doesn't matter what equipment you use it's how you use it, the A-5 is a very nice marker any wheres. Even speedball / tournaments.

Dollar for dollar, this is one of the top choice markers on the market today.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media