paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, Spyder TL & Shutter, a borrowed Autococker. The A-5 is a good gun but I found that the other less expensive guns that I've owned was overall more reliable. Definately not as good as the Autococker.
Marker Setup: Stock A-5: coil remote......Shutter: Lapco Bigshot, Ricochet 2K, trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel or just about anything you would do to their 98 custom whenever they make the parts available.
Strengths: First off, I bought it for the looks-not an original look but at least they copied the looks from one of my favorite guns (HK MP5PDW). The Feeding mechanism/design, I thought it was a good idea (turned out not so good) and it would save money from not having to buy another electronic hopper. It has a very fast, crisp trigger, it shoots great. Paintballs are always in place and ready to shoot. Compact with a overall low profile.
Weaknesses: This gun isn't all that for what I paid for it. It shouldn't be sold for as much as I paid for it (about $330) First off, in my opinion, its got too much plastic on it and just today while playing, I got shot on the flat front part of the hopper and it left a hole-yes a hole, in the hopper the size of an egg. Is that sort stuff covered under warranty? From what I hear around that's not uncommon. The flat front of the hopper may look cool but it was a bad idea. Also, it doesn't really want to load when you're down to a low amount of balls. I don't know if its just this gun or all of the A-5's but mine breaks about 1-2 balls out of a hopper full, and i do use premium balls, i've checked the velocity to make sure it wasn't excessive too. That might not seem like alot but thats way more then what my Shutter breaks, if it ever breaks any. And also, its not as easy to completely disassemble then most of the other guns I've own. I wouldn't take this gun apart in a field or without a good source of light either. I won't comment about the stock barrel cause i think most stock barrels suck anyways.
Conclusion: At first I bought a 98 custom then sold it after a few days because I came into some more money so I decided to shell it out for what I thought would of been a better gun. I got rid of the 98 cause it was kind of plain lookin but now that I think about it, it probably was overall a better gun then this A-5 I have. For the money I spent on this A-5 I coulda got a basic Autococker to modify later which is a way better gun for the about the same price. I was really disappointed whenever I got that hole shot through the hopper of my A-5. I heard of this problem before but just thought those were freak incidents but now after seeing this happen, I'm not too hot about this gun anymore, I just can't run out and grab a replacement top half of the hopper at the local shop anytime i want after all. Before that incident I might of gave it a rating of either a 7 or an 8. Probably the 7 cause it somewhat breaks alot of balls. Now after the hopper incident I have to give it a 4, even thought that happened, the trigger is still fast, clean, and shoots without any problems most of the time so I won't go below a 4. Like I said before I am going back to my Shutter. I think I'll offer my A-5 for sale to the next guy that compliments me about it. Maybe then I but the Autococker. Overall, the money I spent on both the tippmans, I should put if into one real nice Autococker instead of wanting to own a selection of guns and keep my Shutter as a back up. I wouldn't get this gun if I were you-you can do better for the money.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

GoWH3fan Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra 06 shoots about the same but not as strong or heavy.
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra 2006 w/ 32 degrees spring set, 14" cp barrel and reg, empire reloader b, and sypder rocking triger, darkstar bolt (local shop made it), trinity grips, shocktech clamping feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel mainly.
Strengths: Comes with cyclone feed.
Shoots good.
Strong.
No way to field strip
Weaknesses: Heavy
Short barrel
Cyclone is only rated a 20 bps
Price.
Review: I will try to explain why i say every thing above.

Shoots:
It shoots very well for a blow back kick is not bad accuracy is not either it is dead even in accuracy with my spyder xtra 06 stock.

Cyclone feed:
a pretty good hopper rated at 20 bps prevents all chops with the stock trigger. The only problem is that you can not ajust it to a much higher rate of fire if you need it like if you get a trigger with ramp and that can achieve bps well in the 30'
s. Also there is no way to replace the system with a feed neck ( if there is let me know and i will edit).

Strong but Heavy:
This is much stronger than even my mr1 but is extremely heavy. In my opinion tippmann worries to much about there guns breaking to the point that they make there guns pointlessly strong. The Mr1 is better in this aspect in the fact that they make it just strong enough for the every day wear a tear and with a descent weight . tippmanns are strong to the point that if you are careless and leave your gun on the road and a car runs it over you can still pick it up and shoot it.

Short Barrel:
It shoots accurately but is very bad on air and loud. The reason why is because tippmann did not give it enough length to gain speed in the gun there for needing more fps of the bat to gain the right speed to get good accurately. It's loud because it was not given a proper amount of porting. (this is in comparison to my cp 14in barrel the stock barrel for the 06 xtra and mr1 are far worse than this guns stock barrel.

Price:
Not very cost efficient. Let me explain

A-5 total cost for gun is about $200:
Gun w/ barrel cost about $100
The cyclone cost about $100 (rated 20bps)
Extra:
To replace barrel it cost $40

so you spent: $240

My spyder xtra $90
w/ evo III $70 (about 25 bps rate)
replacement barrel $40

you spend: $200

To add to that you want to get a new eclectic frame and board that is rated at 25bps with ramping. Now your cyclone feed will start chopping and you will be sad.
Conclusion: All in all this gun is a very good gun compares equal to spyders except tippmanns are stronger but weight more and cost more. But before you buy you might want to compare it to other guns list all the positives and negs and pick your choice. My self i would rather have the spyder for the light weight and price but, maybe you like the setup for an A-5 its all up to you. I personally think its trade for stronger gun for more weight is terrible so i give it a 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Bonusbawls Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: ~A-5~
16" Stiffi .691
Tippmann Double Trigger
APP Hittmann foregrip

Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel is a must
-Then whatever you want. A-5's are the most costumizable marker ever.
Strengths: -Built like a tank
-Reliable
-Quick Strip
-Excellent design
-Upgradable
-Cyclone Feed
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel
-Pretty heavy (3.8 lbs.stock)
Review: Well, I have been playing woodsball for four years and everybody knows A-5's are the woodsball gun. Absolutely true. They are the must customizable gun out there, with upgrades for almos every part on the marker. E-grips, Triggers, Stocks, Bolts, the list goes on and on.

DESIGN

The A-5 has a much mor eimproved design than the 98C. For one, the majority of the marker can be dissassembled by pushing the quick strip pins out, whihc makes lubing the marker very easy. The tombstone latch is another great improvement for adding a regulator, exp. chamber, or one of those special-ops foregrips. Also, this gun looks very much like an MP5, which is very cool.

PERFORMANCE

The A-5 has the best performance of any woodsball gun. It is so riliable, I have seen someone drop an A-5 in a puddle of mud 6 or 7 inches thick, take it back to his backback, and quickstrip it clean as easy as that, and it shot fine. My gun has shot in pouring rain, through frozen paint, and minus 0 degree weather flawlessly. The accuracy is dependant on what aftermarket barrel you get (I suggest Stiffi's personally).

CYCLONE FEED

The cyclone feed is a very nice system. So far, through 14 cases of paint (yes, i've been counting) I have chopped 1 ball. 1 ball!!! you just can't get any better than that. Also, that 1 ball was because of horrible paint. But I can live with 1 ball through a summer of intense woodsball. It feeds 15 BPS, which is awesome, but if you want it to go faster, like up to 25, get the vortex mod and lightning rod.

NITRO???

The a-5 is a gun that can take nitro out of the box. If you want to go low pressure, kit the kit for it, but I don't think it is neccessary. Any regulator can be fit on the A-5, but I would suggest a Palmer's Stabalizer, I will be investing in one soon. The A-5 Operating pressure is around 650 psi, so consider that when buying a tank.

MODS

Many home-made mods are also available for this marker. I would wait untill you know what you are doing before even thinking of trying these. The pen spring mod I use personally, as well as the trigger-stop, and I am looking into poloshing the internals, but then again I know what I am doing, so be careful if you are new to this gun.

Conclusion: Absolutely a must buy for woodsball. Costumizeble, Reliable, Strong.
For sure buy this gun, you cannot go wrong with it.
10/10 for sure
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

toomuchice Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL, Automag classic, Dye Autococker, Tippmann Custom 98
Marker Setup: A-5, and autococker with new bolt, low pressure system
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, although stock isnt to bad, and if u got the money flatline. get nitro if u have the money as well.
Strengths: cyclone feed, accuracy, lightness, submachine gun style, but mostly CYCLONE
Weaknesses: Hopper is a little bulky but it really isn't a problem. nothing else
Review: the A-5 is excellent for recreatuional play. its seem big at first but it is really light. the stock barrel isn't the greatest but wha TIppmann comes with a super barrel. i have a flatline and this thing is a sniper's dream come true. i tested it against an autocker and the A-5 was able to feed faster than the autocker, making me able to rain paintballs on myu friend. the adjustable grip in the front is superb for little or big players. the finger grooves in the handle also help with stability. with the cyclone feed i havent ever chopped a ball and in speedball i tend to shoot like a madman. the cuclone is an exceleent addition to the A-5
Conclusion: this gun is perfect for experienced users and for beginners. the well balanced A-5 allows you to be stable and frim when firing. the cyclone is one of the best features of this guin. you will almost never squeegee the gun because it . the Tippmann A-5 and with its almost limitless upgrades is a perfect marker for all players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5_Domination Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 Vert Feed Autococker (A-5 can beat it any day with right upgrades)
Tippmann Model 98 Custom (A-5 is improved version of the legendary Custom)
Marker Setup: A-5
DOP Double Trigger
DOP Pro Bullet Drop Forward with On/Off
DOP Rear Velocity Adjustor
DOP Aluminum Front Grip
Tippmann A-5 Flatline
Pure Energy 68/4500 Nitrogen Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The upgrades I have make the gun much better, especially the drop forward since the gun is VERY long with and without a tank, makes it more compact
A barrel is a nice idea, still works well with the stock
Nitrogen will make it shoot more consistently, even though it is accurate already
It will be a monster if you get the E-Grip or Response Trigger System
Strengths: Accuracy
Balls per second (15+)
A RARITY TO CHOP BALLS
Field Strip System is useful



Weaknesses: Can be loud and heavy
Should have a better stock barrel
OTHERWISE NOT MUCH!
Review: All in all, the A-5 is a very underrated gun. When I got into paintball 2 years ago, this gun just came out, and it was the first one I bought. I was skeptical at first due to it having the Cyclone Feed System and mixed reviews here and there, and I couldn't be more happier when I bought it.(I also bought it being a nonconformist, everyone was obsessed with Autocockers at the time.)It was fine with C02 and the stock barrel, and I never had problems despite the low serial number (#3602) that others have had. Then I bought a 32 Degrees Ice Cold 19 Inch barrel, and sniped away. The flatline made it even better, I could hit people before they left the starting point. Later I bought all the DOP upgrades that I listed as well as Nitrogen, and the gun was even more effective and amazing. I usually play woods and indoor Sup"Air, and have beaten kids with Dyes, Autocockers, Smart Part Impulses, and other high-end markers.
Conclusion: To reiterate, this gun is very underrated, as you can tell by its low price (under 300) and is worth every penny. If you play often and competitively like I do, I strongly recommend the upgrades that I have, but you dont have to buy them all at once. If you buy this and have problems with it, the great guys at Tippmann will happily fix your problems or even replace it, all you have to do is ask. As for the other reviews, most of them got unlucky and/or were morons, so don't worry about problems, for they can be resolved. Don't listen to those Autococker boys! Buy an A-5! You won't regret it!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Thanatos2288 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've pretty much used everything out there.
Marker Setup: 2006 Dark Ego, Angel G7, Dm6, Dynasty Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Flatline
Strengths: -Very solid marker
-With flatline outranges everybody else
-Very tactical feel
Weaknesses: -Very heavy
-Very large profile
-Slow
Review: Let me start by saying that I really like the A5. It is a lot of fun to play with in woodsball or scenario ball. With that said, however, don't expect me to say that the A5 is technically superior to a modern tourney marker (aka Ego, Dm, newer angel, etc...) becuase that would be a lie. I will go into why later in the review.

A few months ago I was given an rt'ed, flatline'd, A5. While I generally use my cocker or phantom for woodsball, the past few times I've gone I pulled out the A5. I have to admit that I was really impressed with the marker. For one thing, I go to school in PA, and it is pretty cold here in the winter. Paintball markers do not like cold. My school's last order of paint has been RPS Premium, which is a VERY brittle paint. It's prone to breaking even in ideal conditions; these were anything but ideal. Despite that, I have yet to have a single breach or hopper break (I've probably shot 4 cases through it). I have had a lot of breaks in the flatline, but thanks to the design, it's remarkably easy to clean. The twist and pull connection is quite nice becuase it allows the use of a proper (non stick) squeegee, which cleans better then a stick. It was very nice to not have to worry too much about breaks, especially b/c my DM6 will not operate in these conditions, period. Imagine a paint flamethrower.


The best part of the A5, in my opinion, is the tactical feel. It is simply a lot of fun to utilize this marker. As a rule, there is no Rambo style play in tourney ball. It just doesnt work. Tournament markers are built with this idea in mind. They are slightly taller generally, shorter, lighter, and thinner. While this does make it easier to achieve a small profile and move faster, it is also pretty hard to get into the woodsball frame of mind with a bright red glossy marker. The A5 definitly has the right feel. It is heavy, it is big, it has an unnecessary amount of kick and a ridiculous report, but it certainly is fun to play with.

I also want to note that there are a LOT of aftermarker parts made for the A5. There are kits to make it look like an ak, an M4, an MP5. There are regs, triggers (single and double), new hopper attachments. This is truely a customizable marker.

The A5 is also fairly easy to strip, especially if your coming from a 98. It has field strip pins and a few screws which have to be undone. It is nowhere near as easy as an Ego or Dm, but significantly easier then a 98, ion, or spyder.

Also, the A5 is definitly made with quality. This may be just due to the fact that it is made of stamped alluminum, but still, very rarely do parts break on an a5. All I have to do is compare it to ions or spyders.

So far I have tried pretty hard to stay away from mentioning accuracy, speed, or other technical statistics. This is becuase they are so subjective. Not the actual specs, but what to compare it to. Obviusly an A5 is inferior to a tournament level marker, so what's the point of comparing them. Tournament markers are also significantly more expensive, though, with an A5 flatline currently running around $300 used and a Dm6 running $650 used. For those people which are reading this right now and saying that their spyder/cocker/tippy/other like marker is superior to "insert high-end here" let me quickly break down why this is not the case. The A5, and other like markers operate on an open bolt, sear-tripper, operation. This method of operation is inneficient, produces significant kick, and makes the marker less consistent as the air is mechanically operated as opposed to electronically. Most high-ends, on the other hand, run on either an electro-pnuematic or SFT principle. Both of these use a pnuematic solonoid (which is defferent from the electronic solonoid in electro spyders) to control the air. This makes them quieter, have less kick, be more efficent, and more consistent; thus the increased price and performance. This is also why it is impossible to compare sear-trippers to high-ends.

When compared to other sear-trippers, however, the A5 looks pretty good. It certainly isn't the fastest (although with an RT or E grip it certainly competes). It can be fairly accurate with the use of a good inline reg and barrel kit (I would reccoment a flatline, though, for the range). It is definitly of the highest quality, though. Both of the tippys I own have outlasted all of my spyders. Both tippys are around six years old now, and out of the countless spyders (or spyder clones) I have owned, only two still operate and they are in nowhere near as good condition.
Conclusion: Overall, I like the A5 a lot as either a fun marker, or for the casual woodsballer. If you go paintballing once a month, or don't really feel like having to do extensive repairs/cleaning/maintanince on a marker, this is probably the right one to go with. It will very rarely break down, and can just be thrown in the bottom of the gear bag without worry. The marker is not, however, by any stretch of imagination, a technically superior marker. It is big, and heavy, and loud, and a gas hog. All of these may contribute to making the marker fun to play with, but they are not advantages. Thus the score of eight.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 7:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xXMaxipadXx Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
AutoMag "Antique" (if the new ones are anything like this sucker then they kick @$$)
98 custom (bit slow and comes w/o cyclone)
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ response
Freak + Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA Tank, Upgraded Bolt, Pamler QEV, Vortex Mod, Low Pressure Kit w/ Palmer regulator, New Barrel, E-Trigger w/ APE Rampage board, Blade Trigger
Strengths: Customizable for every field.
It comes a great gun stock.
Weaknesses: Some upgrades are a bit expensive.
Review: Im writing this for all those A-5 lovers but donít really know what you can do to it to make it "God of all A-5's".Iíve done hours upon hours of research and talked to plenty of A-5 owners but I in no way know everything, so I appreciate all comments to help newcomers to paint ball trick out their A-5's. I myself am a speedballer and donít know much about stocks or all those crazy looking mods that make youíre a-5 suddenly turn into a M-16, but I do know how to make it rock $!#@ internally.

First of All I bought a new barrel. The stock isnít bad but you will see the most difference right there at the end of your gun. People say thereís no difference in after market barrels but I can out snipe my whole Team with my Freak. Flatlines are Great for woodsball but on the speedball field a ball break will cost you a game and they also have to find the right paint for the barrel unlike the freak where you find the right barrel core for the paint. A-pex barrel sounds great but Iíve never tried one. (research it) I recommend a freak or an evil pipe for speedball but J&Jís and other solid barrels are good too. I just have not tried them and I have only good things to say about Freak. Great accuracy and no problems with bps.

(optional) Pick up a new bolt. This will improve consistency and they are cheap as hell. It doesnít really matter which but make sure you do your research because some are basically the same as stock with a different name. I hear Rufus Dawg makes pretty good ones.

If you already have the Electronic trigger good for you but for those of us that donít this is one of tho's "which way do you want to go" decisions. I doubt you will need this for woodsball. I recommend an Advanced Paint ball Electronics (APE) Rampage Board. They can get up to 20+ balls per second. Now your gun in no way can handle 20+ balls per second stock so sit tight on the rail mode until you get the HPA tank, QEV, and the Vortex mod.

Next get a HPA tank. Steel is the cheap way to go but they are a LOT heavier. You can pick a new one up for 60 bucks. Carbon Fiber is light but expensive. Its worth grabbing one if you are thing whether or not to put up the extra money because it balances your gun. This might not sound important but after running a full day with a steely on your gun you will understand.(Compressed Air and Nitrogen are basically the same thing despite what people say. Pure Nitrogen is hard to come by on your local field. Compressed Air has all that wonderful Oxygen and other stuff in it but both are used in a HPA tank so just donít worry about it)

QEV and the Vortex mod. Basically, your tube running to your cyclone is a bit wimpy to crank out 18+ bps and thatís where the QEV & Vortex mod come in. QEV is just a bigger tube so more air gets to the cyclone. There is a QEV for the Response and one for the E-Trigger. (look up a picture). Now your little plastic cyclone is breakin on you because its goin around faster than it was made to go. Vortex mod is a metal replacement for your spinner do' hicky. It also improves air efficantcy which is great because A-5's are notorious Air Hogs. Just be sure to keep your springs cause you will need them.

(You can get this any time after you get the HPA Tank) People say you don't need an HPA tank for the Low Pressure Kit but my local shop says different so Iíll believe my shop owner. Now with this kit you will need a gauge and a secondary regulator to go on the front but the hose is only made for the Techline regulator so if you were to get a different regulator (Palmer) you might need to buy a new hose. This will improve consistency, recoil, accuracy, and air efficiency. be sure you have enough money for all of it because you need all the items for it work. (gauge, regulator, Nitrogen tank, and a new hose if you donít get a Techline (Palmers are better))

NOTE :Keep you gun clean and maintained. Iíve seen people @%$#! and moan because their A-5 is acting up when all they needed to do was clean it. Donít be scared to ask how to keep it maintained. We were all new once and its not worth the pride when your $280+ gun stops working.

Please comment if I have an error in this review or if you have any questions.
Conclusion: Now have fun owning those Ion's ;-)
(no offence, love the ion)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 14th, 2006 at 8:06 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

philyup8 Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, sypders, spyder clones, bko, autococker, DM4, shocker, proto, timmies, freestyle
Marker Setup: Green 2003 Autococker with Dye Boomstick, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Hyper 2, spring kit, nexus ram, tickler lpr, Evolution II hopper, and 3a 47/3000 nitro tank. E2 BABY
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Duribility
Weaknesses: Gas hog
blow back
cost
cyclone hopper
Efficiency
accuracy
Consistancy
Review: Gas Hog - Between the cyclone feed and everything else, this gun eats air like none other.

Blow Back - Like any tippmann its a lot of blow back.

Cost - $300 you could get a 2003 autococker for 100 dollars less.

Cyclone Hopper - cant upgrade. I'd rather have a blender on my gun than that.

Efficiency - There is no regulation of air in this gun. No Reg not even an Expansion chamber, and no LPR or LPC. How lame.

Consistancy - No regulation = no consistancy.

Conclusion: Terrible. It just sucks there is nothing good about this gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
50 Comments - Add Comment

DrewRiggio Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98s of various configurations, Orracle E-Class
Marker Setup: Borrowed and Rentals, saving up for an A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basic - new barrel

Higher end - above plus...
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Strengths: Fast, reliable, inexpensive and easy to use.
Weaknesses: Increased gas use, difficult to clean cyclone if it becomes fouled.
Review: I'm fairly new to paintball, but I am definitely hooked. I want my own marker, and have some money to spend but do not want to make a purchase based only on advertising. That means I have spent some time at the field's chrono station and target range with a sack of paintballs asking people if I can test fire their markers if I provide paint. So far this form of bribery has worked well, since most folks seem to love to discuss the virtues of their markers.

I had heard good things about the A-5 and it turns out to be a very popular marker at the local field. I got to test fire several configurations of it. I have a very positive overall experience. My impressions:

The first thing you notice when walking the firing line asking people to test fire their markers is that you always know who's using an A-5. They're the ones that make you want to hold your ears when they fire near you. The A-5 is loud. If you want to hope people will not pinpoint your location after your first few shots based purely on the noise, the A-5 is not the marker for you. If you love "intimidation through big boom" this is a great choice.

The second thing you notice is that A-5 users tend to enjoy an insane rate of fire without chopping paintballs. The ones with the Electronic systems or Response Trigger allow incredible rate of fire, even when not using their "full auto (electronic) or "response trigger sweet spot" fast firing modes. The cyclone feeder keeps up with very high rates of finger pulling on that trigger.

The Cyclone is a neat and innovative addition to the marker. It keeps up with high firing rate without chopping balls because the action and the feeding system are linked. It's sort of like the World War 1 planes with a machine gun that fired through the propeller as it spun; they had a timing chain to make sure the gun fired when the propeller was not in front of the gun when it went off. Likewise, the action in the gun is timed to the feeder so that the gun fires when the cyclone has fed a ball all the way into the chamber. It's fast and rarely chops.

That brings us to the downside of the cyclone - if by happenstance you do chop a ball in the feeder, it's a fairly involved process to clean it out. Also, since it bulges out the right side of the marker it's a bit harder to conceal yourself behind cover while using it to lean out to the right and fire. Your target aspect is larger, meaning the extra size an opponent can see gives him another item on you to target. That's fairly minor compared to the cleaning issue.

Out of the box the barrels are not very good. That's no surprise to anyone here, I hope, about any marker. A decent barrel upgrade will do wonders for this marker. giving it the one element it lacks out of the box (accuracy) to complement what it does have (rate of fire). I saw mixed results with the flatline barrel from Tippmann. When it worked, it was fantastic, but its size, weight, and need for steady vertical aim will relegate you to a back player's role when using it. If you like playing back, I recommend giving it a try. Otherwise go with a more conventional barrel upgrade.

I find myself in disagreement with some others about this marker on the weight issue. Since it is mostly plastic it's very light to begin with. That's why I recommend a drop forward. With a full hopper you will still be back-heavy if you attach your CO2 or Nitrogen tank to the back of the bottom line. A good drop forward will really help balance the marker nicely. A low-pressure kit is in the works for this marker, so I'd stick with CO2 till it comes out. It's a Tippmann, so you will not tend to cause it too much damage by using CO2 - which, in my mind, is a nice advantage over higher end markers. I would suggest an expansion chamber, however, since the rate of fire can be very, very high for a C02 marker.

On the field I saw the marker put to great use. A skilled player with an A-5 could go toe-to-toe with a high end marker player on any recball or woodsball field. Checking the prices at my favroite retailer, I determined that you can really do amazing things with this marker for a very reasonable price. It's this combination of things that makes me believe my first marker will be a Tippmann A-5.
Conclusion: Moderate price combined with high durability, ease of use, rate of fire and reliable feeding make this an ourstanding choice for a first marker. I will stop short of giving it a ten because people mostly give a flat ten to anything they like, and I don't want to do that; and because while you can do a lot to trick out the marker, it is not as customizable as higher end markers like the ever-reknowned autococker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

calebtheredwood Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
Comp air or CO2
Response Trigger


Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline
Teardrop
Regulator
Two finger trigger
Strengths: ~Rounds per second
~Reliability
~Looks
~Price
~Upgrades avalible
~Ability to run on CO2
~Tippmann name
Weaknesses: None
Review: I play speedball\hyper-ball tournaments. This gun, with a few upgrades, will keep up with any thing out there. E-mags, Angels, ect... The rate of fire is unbelievable. The response trigger takes some practice and tuning, but it IS worth it. Rarely do I break a ball. It does seem to use air faster than other guns so be prepared. This gun is very reliable. My team mates use mags and cockers. They seem to have a problem every tournament with their timing or an air leak. I clean my gun after every tourney and test fire it before the next. I have never had a problem with this gun. There is no better feeling of walking off of a field after beating a team with $1000-2000 guns and yelling 'Tippmann rules the field'. Hehehe.
Conclusion: If you are looking to get a great gun for a small price that will let you do any thing, this is it. You will not be disappointed with this gun. I rate this produce as one of the most underrated products in paintball today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media