paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Buckem Sunday, January 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 equal performance
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 drop foward, 14" tear drop barrel,macroline,extended foward grip, 91/45 nitrogen tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel quick, not that it'll make a big difference. I'm assuming a lpr even though I never got that upgrade but I'm assumming it will help.
Strengths: Looks good
Stock sight works
Weaknesses: Chops
Not accurate
Loud
Review: I just started getting back into the game about 3 months ago. I was told that the tippman A-5 was the best gun out there. I went out with a few friends of mine and and we all bought a-5s. We all went to an outdoor field and got murdered. This gun is not that great, dont believe the hype.Me and 5 of our friends( we all bought A-5s )agree that the gun is garbage. We have all upgraded and I have a lasoya timmy and my friends have impulses,autocockers and DM5s. Huge I mean humungus difference. theres is no accuracy and the worst of all is at least 45% of the time I was chopping with stock barrel and tear drop barrel. GARBAGE!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
40 Comments - Add Comment

blitz5 Monday, December 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
X-xhamber
car stock
x-7 hopper
16 in progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade to x-7 hopper looks really good and is a much smaller target
Strengths: Tough
accurate
versatile
easy to customize with tons of upgrades
cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Some upgrades mess up the gun
cyclone feed makes gun larger target
co2 use
Review: i typed up a really nice long review and then lost everythign cause i got kicked offline (stupid dial up) so i'm only gonna outline the basics.

looks
the A-5 looks really good an their are tons of upgrades that make it look better

construction
all parts made of good quality materials one weak spot on cyclone feed manual lever which i haven't broken in a ful year of bangin my baby around so don't worry abou it.

mechanics
easier to diassemble than 98/c easier to reassembel cocking spring is hard to get to stay in place when ure putting the two halves together. easy remove pins are nice and so is having trigger as seperate part of body as opposed to 98/c. its easy to customize the gun and add or removew things in a matter of moments depending on how u wanna play. sealed cocking system makes gun safe from elements even thoughits allready tough cause its a tippmann.

accuracy
good accuracy with decent paint and good temperature, barrel makes some diffrence not much though but the gun itself chops very little and still shoots good paint straight with dirty barrel.

cyclone feed
double edged sword, feeds as fast as i can shoot with stock trigger (which is pretty fast if you know how to work the trigger) but uses co2 ( i know i'm gonna get hasseled for saying that) but i still get plenty of shots from one 16oz tank.

upgrades
many diffrent barrels hoppers rails sights stocks, can switch to hpa, remote coil, xchamber, only problematic upgrades are flatline (chops like a blender) and e trigger(messed up my buddies gun dosen't work right sane dude with the flatlien so maybe its just the way he treats his gear) i personnally don't want a respnse trigger cause it uses even more co2
Conclusion: I really would have liked to post my original review but i didn't have time to write that much again so i hope this is ok. good strong gun with only a few flaws i would recomend it to any one newbie or vet, speedball or woodsball cause its very easy to customize to either style of play and your own personal style style but still has a few draw backs.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 7th, 2007 at 1:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacc33wpbstr Saturday, January 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Drallion cocker(too expensive tho), spyder xtra(sucks compared to a-5),brass eagle avenger(worse then spyder)
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5 with EGRIP(love it), shocktech drop, macroline and fittings kit, physchoballistics double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, j&j ceramic 12 inch barrel, gas threw grip,remote with slide check,2+1carrier,removed sights, custom camo paintjob on front half, trigger job and 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatley an egrip otherwise its not worth, new barrel
Strengths: Accurate(if right paint), looks cool,NEVER or rarely chops, cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Inaccurate(with certain paint),hopper is slightly large
Review: Best things about it-This gun is great and can be well worth the money if the right upgrades are bought. I suggest a new barrel(particulary longer) be bought. An EGRIP is definatley needed in order to do the job, dont bother with the r/t because for about 30 more bucks you can get the EGRIP with auto, semi, and burst. I used these crappy blue balls(i forget the name)with this gun and they were cruvign like crazy but i bought the prime ones and they work great(so accurate). With the egrip and the cyclone you can get about 20bps which is incredible. It never chopped any of the primer paint i used when on full auto(around 20bps) but the blue ones chopped probabaly about 2 for every 500 which isnt bad but just go with a higher quality paint. Hopper holds good amount of paint and is secure. Great field stripping with few screws and mainly pins for disasemble.

Bad things- the sight i think is really stupid and pointless so i just took it off. The hopper is kinda big with the cyclone and all. I traded my drallion cocker(worth about 300) for this a-5 with all the ups on it presently except the remote(worth about 400) so i think i really got a good deal after hearing and witnessing how bad the drallion is compared to this. Now this gun is not worth the regular 250-300 dollars unless you are definatley planning to buy a lot of ups for it or at least the egrip is a must. With upgrades and all it will get the "WOW" when people see it on the field. It will be almost as good or even better then any cocker with the neccesary upgrades(EGRIP).

MYTH- i have heard that this gun wastes co2 b/c of the cyclone running off the co2(which i think was a great idea instead of using batteries) but this is not true. I put a nine ounce tank on my spyder and was able to shoot just about the smae as the a-5.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the 250 bucks if you plan on putting many or at least the EGRIP on it. GREAT GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpecOps51 Friday, June 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with R/T and 14" dye boomstick (significant upgrade)

Dangerous Power F8 Fusion (hahaha nice try)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power F8 Fusion, Halo B, 68ci/4500, CP reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is a must, Flatline or Dye work well
Use HPA
Strengths: Hard to break.
Weaknesses: Chops paint, air hog, accuracy not the best.
Review: I have only played with this gun for one day and came away less than impressed. I let my friend play with my DP F8 Fusion and I played with his A-5, I was asking for my Fusion back after the first game. He's got the flatline on it and runs a 68ci/4500, uses an R/T.

The Good
This gun will always shoot, you may not hit what you'd like to (read further) but it will work. Very durable.

The Bad
This gun will not shoot the advertised bps, and even if the gun could shoot that fast the cyclone wont feed that fast w/o breaking paint.

Flatline adds distance, kills accuracy, I couldn't hit the ocean standing on the beach with that thing.

Blows through air like no other. I get about 1200 shots off of a 68ci/4500psi tank on my Fusion, rocking out 750, 800 tops on this beast.

Incredible pain to take apart and clean quickly. I had a ball break in the cyclone and get fed into the barrel. Oh my god, it was horrible, near impossible to field strip w/o losing something. And it breaks paint often.

I've read quite a few reviews that state the "upgradeability" of this gun as a plus, but the fact is the these "upgrades" are required to make it competitive, and an A-5 + R/T + Flatline + etc. = enough money to buy a helluva lot better gun
Conclusion: Not worth the money it costs to upgrade. A person with an A-5 that can compete with a cocker, automag, or decent electro, has spent enough money on it to buy a way better gun than what they have. One that breaks less, paint, is more accurate, and eats less air.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

surferdudeblue Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98(not very upgradable)
Tippmann Model 98 Custom(highly upgradable but not as good in my opinion)
Tippmann Pro Carbine(very accurate but slow)
All spiders(crap)
Autocockers(my favorite but different catagory)
Timmies(expensive but good)
Shockers(light and fast but for speed ball)
Matrixes(nice but not for woods ball)
Angel(very fast but also not woods ball)
Marker Setup: 2002 Autococker w/ new body kit
E-blade 2
Freak System Barrel kit
Derlin bolt
CP reg.
68/4500 psi. Crossfire nitro tank
&
Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger
32 Dergree Bolt
Double Trigger
Dye Ultralite Barrel
3000 psi. Nitro Duck tank
&
Stock Camo Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel(Dye ultralite, Dye Boomstick)(stock is crap)
response trigger(quick,easy shooting and tournament legal)
double trigger(if you want it)
nitro tank(much better than co2 & worth the expense)
new bolt(makes a huge difference)
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to work on
Accurate
Rugged
Great begginer gun
Very Upgradable
Weaknesses: only able to shoot about 15 bps
stock barrel is CRAP
consumes too much air
Review: The tippmann A-5 is the ultimate woods ball gun for both begginers and veterans alike.

Tippmann itself is known for making excellent, reliable paintball guns. These things

are indestuctable. Unlike other paintball guns the A-5 will take a beating and still work

flawlessly. Through rain, mud, and snow the A-5 will work until you quit. The gun is

capable of about 15 bps. so you'll be sending your friends for cover. This baby is also

suitable for speed ball(on an amatuer level)! This marker is also very upgradable(even

more upgradable than the 98 custom). The only problem is that this thing is a gas hog.

Don't let that stop you however.
Conclusion: Like I said, this gun is the ultimate woods ball gun period. Durable, accurate,

upgradeable, and inexpensive all in one package.This thing rocks. I'm only giving this a

nine because there's always room for improvement. Get this gun.



Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Armando Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, WGP 2002/2003 Autococker, Various Kingman Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, BP-JCS Red Hot Power Tube, Pro Team F/X Sniper Stock, Smart Parts All-American 14", Flatline, E-Grip, Madman Spring Kit (Very Light Trigger Pull), Lapco Red Dot Sight (Yes i actually use this), and of course Evil Paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
I strongly recommend the E-Grip. The A-5 was made to be a fast gun and with the removal of the trigger sear and replacing it with the metal bar that now activates the hammer the gun sees its greatest power.

Secondly, I recommend the Blackpoint Engineering JCS Red Hot Power Tube. There are only 2 customized bolts for this gun, which is sad, but I can tell you that this sure beats the hell out of the stock and Dead-On bolts. I used a 14" stock Spyder barrel with this bolt and it was extremely accurate! If you don't believe this find someone who has a Red Hot Power Tube and look at the stock bolt and compare how much spacing the front bolt makes with the gas tube.
Strengths: - Fast Cyclone Feed
- Easy Field Strip
- Accurate
- Intimidating
- Price
Weaknesses: - 800 PSI HP operation
- Heavy.
- Loud
Review: First off, I would like to start by saying that most of the rumors created about this gun are out of jealousy. I am talking about the fact that many Speed ball players consider this gun to be too big and bulky to play with. This is absurd. The hopper's size is no bigger than a Halo B or Egg Loader. I have played several tournament-class games preparing for a major tournament at Friendly Fire Paintball and beat the hell out of Autocockers, Angels, Shockers, Intimidators, etc. It's not the gun, it is the player that makes the game.

I started out with this gun in 2002 because of problems with the Cyclone Feed system in the previous versions. I purchased it with a flatline barrel, a PMI 47 CI 3000 PSI tank, and some Evil Paint Rounds. I performed similar tests found in the A-5 Owner's Group Forums and was very proud with my purchase. The first time I brought it to the field very few A-5s were around except me. After the first couple of games people started asking me about the large barrel and what it did. They came by during games and were amazed by the speed and distance the paint rounds came out of the gun. I myself questioned why so many people told me not to buy the gun. It was like everyone had a pistole and I had a M-60 Machine Gun that fired farther than their guns. It kicked butt.

As the following years went along I read up on the best upgrades for the gun and surprisingly found few to purchase. This kind of halted any performance boosts in the gun and somewhat shattered my plans. I tried many different paints during this time and was upsetted by the fact that I had to spend a good amount of money every time I played to buy a super premium paint because of the High Pressure operation. Evil, Marbalizer, and a couple other paints worked well without problems.

After a couple months I found out about some upgrades that made the A-5 better than anything on the field. The JCS Red Hot Power Tube, tons of new barrels such as the amazing Smart Parts All-American, the E-grip, the Madman Trigger Kit, and a little upgrade on the A5OG forum called the "Cue Tip" Upgrade.

I brought the gun to the field and by walking the trigger I fired faster than a guy who had a Bob Long GZ Intimidator and he stopped to watch as my gun ripped up 5 people clustered in one bunker. It was awesome. During several speed ball games I took the Sniper Stock off my gun and used a JCS Rear Velocity Adjuster to lower its profile a bit. The games went smoothly and its outcome in my team's favor. We all used A-5s with similar setups.
Conclusion: This gun is definitely not for beginners as its price suggest it is for intermediate to advanced players. Intermediate players will love the stock gun out of the box for a huge advantage over beginner to intermediate players.

Advanced players who want to win big will enjoy upgrading this gun to their tastes and dominating. I know I have.

I give the gun a 9/10 because of the issue with High Pressure operation that disables the use of thin-shelled rounds. The 9 points are given for the excellency of upgradeability, ease of field stripping, and overall power.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Highrise Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Empire Twister Barrel
Tippmann 4 chamber exp. chamber
Proteam Starfire bolt
42in Steel braided remote line
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Proteam Starfire bolt
Flatline Barrel
Expansion chamber
Strengths: Ease of use
Dependability
Quality of product
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Can be air hungry
More heavy than some markers
Review: Hello all. First and foremost I would like to congradulate Tippmann pnuematics for designing a great marker. You guys really know how to do your jobs. Now, for the review.

PRICE:
You must all understand that the $370 that is listed at the top of this review board is the MSRP. In other words, its the price that Tippmann projected the A-5 would cost to design, mass produce, and ship nationwide. But I guarantee that you won't find that price tag on an A-5 box anywhere.

QUALITY:
Right out of the box, you could tell that Tippmann had built this marker for people who like to play paintball HARD. The marker is built to be able to field strip in mere seconds instead of minutes. By utilizing a series of pushpins, you can effectively strip and clean the internal workings of your marker in a fraction of the time it standardly takes.
Now, I've been playing with this marker for nearly 2 years now and my prefered version of the sport is woodsball. This is the arena where the A-5 shines. I have tripped over barbwire, fallen from a 15 foot ledge in the rain, and gone down after twisting my ankle in a rabbit hole. Each time, I came back up firing. Tippmann forged its legendary durability with its staplemark, the Pro-Carbine and that wonderful hereditary trait has been passed on to the A-5.
One thing that I must mention, is with that incredible durability came with a small price. This gun is not the lightest to ever come off the shelves. Some players might be affected by this though I am not. In woodball, players have the chance to rest while they lie in wait for their prey. In speedball, this is certainly not the case. With all the sprinting and quick draw-to-bear firing that speedball players do, this might not be the choice for them. That being said, lets move on.

ACCURACY:
Like most of Tippmann's markers, the A-5 is not highly accurate straight out of the box. The A-5's stock barrel has also fallen to one of Tippmann's hereditary traits: it kinda stinks. Don't get me wrong, the gun fires straight enough at closer ranges, but if you're looking to maintain your accuracy at further distances, you will want to invest in an aftermarket barrel. I suggest either the Empire Twister Barrel [$58.88 at www.888paintball.com###########] or if you're after distance try the Flatline Barrel [119.99 at www.888paintball.com###########]. Another factor on accuracy is of course the paint you use. I've found through trial and error that the more expensive, higher end paint fires straighter.

SPEED:
One of the best features of this marker is the Cyclone Feed system. It does exactly what it's supposed to do: make sure you have a ball infront of your bolt for every shot you make, regardless of your trigger speed. This is accomplished by using the blowback air of your marker to activate a pneumatic trigger that feeds ammo into the chamber for every trigger pull. From the time when I first aired up this marker to the game I played last Wednesday, I have never chopped a ball. The method I use to determine the paint I play with is simple: what can I afford this week? I've used paint from each end of the quality spectrum, from Blue Streak (I know, I know) to Marbalizer. The A-5's cyclone feeder loads them all the same: without error.

AIR CONSUMPTION:
I use 20 oz CO2 bottles when I play, and have yet to find a complaint about them. But, if you use CO2 and want to squeeze every shot out of your tanks, I suggest investing in an expansion chamber or a remote line. My air efficiency rose considerably after I installed mine, from approximately 1000 rounds per 20 oz , to about 1250 or so.

MODIFICATIONS AND UPGRADES:
This gun is one of the easiest markers to upgrade, and I think the 98 custom is the only other gun out there that beats it in quantity of upgrades. As you can see from my own marker setup, I have yet to fully take advantage of this ability. To drastically improve your accuracy I suggest the Proteam Starfire bolt. Its design directs the airflow in a dispersed way to even out the air hitting the ball. This allows for a more concise shot pattern. Also, definitely pick yourself up a new barrel. The stock one is good for a backup, but invest in a new barrel and you'll be amazed in the difference. The Flatline is a good choice for the snipers out there, just be ready to spend some time chrono-ing to find the optimum FPS and the best paint.
Conclusion: After all is said and done, the Tippmann A-5 is a wonderful marker in all rights. Its superior craftsmanship and great durability make it an excellent choice for only $230. If you're looking for a marker that will keep firing after years of use and won't let you down, I suggest swinging by your local shop or surfing to an online store and picking one up. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warder Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
model 98, pro-carbine, kingboy spyder sucktra...
Marker Setup: A-5 ,Flatline, x-short jcs barrel, 8-stage x-chamber, e-grip, harness with 4 140 pods, TAC CAP,2 20OZ co2 tanks, jcs mp folding stock, jcs offset rail, adco reddot sight, and remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip to flex the mighty muscles of your wonderful a-5! A good aftermarket barrel.
Strengths: below
Weaknesses: below
Review: Ok just to clear some things up, the a-5 is a good begginer gun, I know your saying omg its $230 but if you think about it thats a good deal because you dont want it to be a cheap peice of dooky! Never settle for a spyder its just wrong! I dont care what spyder owners say... Their crap and theres nothing you can do about it. The a-5 does have its problems but I'll talk about those later, I'll focus on the strengths now! The a-5 is a wonderful gun. The cyclone is a wonderful addition to the tippman line up. Its not really that big! Make an OK sign with your middle finger and thumb and you'll know what I'm talking about. This gun has never chopped on me and probrobly never will. WHO USES JT OR BRASS EAGLE PAINTBALLS?!? Thats for the spyders! I cant stop telling you how good of a gun your looking at. It can hold its own to autocockers worth $800 for only $230! It comes with the 1 year (I think or maybe lifetime?!?) warentee that tippmann is known for! And on top of that its MADE by tippmann. If you made all the parts on it metal it would be really really heavy. The plastic on it is almost indestructable, not the kind you find in other paintball guns*cough*SpYdErS*cough* And this gun works like a charm, and everything fits fine. If your reading this now dont have any worries about a bad cyclone because if has an "a" on the bottem of it that means its the updated one. The old ones did chop really bad but they fixed it.This gun can be feild stripped in 30 seconds! Then put back together in another 30 seconds!

Oh NO! Here comes the bad part. The cyclone isn't streamline at all and when you get hit there (if you ever do) its an ass to clean out unless you take your cyclone off. The hopper is flat in the front. A big target. Thats the only problems I've seen from my a-5.

Talking about it being a gas hog. Well its not the tippmann a-5 is an openbolt gun meaning the leftover c02 or nitro gets out behind the power tube. It takes this left over Co2 and pushes through to move the cyclone. When your down to about 30 shots left the cyclone will stop working. But if you put your thumb on the manual feed and push it whala! It loads another paintball so you can finish off the last 30 shots. WHO GETS 900 shots out of a 9oz co2 tank?!? Thats just rediculos...
Conclusion: I recomend this gun a lot. The little problems arent enough to hold back the good parts. Once you get your a-5 if you EVER have problems you can go over to www. a5ownersgroup .com These guys are awasom and will help you with any problems you run into. I give it a thumbs up!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp-mann13 Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, with an Armson Stealth Barrel, and a 20 oz. Co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel the stock barrel isn't very accurate.
Strengths: Every thing about the marker is its strength.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isn't very accurate.
Review: The Tippmann A-5 has to many strengths to name but here are some.
#1-Accuracy
When you shoot the A-5 it hits exactly where you won't it.
#2-Durablity
The A-5 you could jump on and it wouldn't brake unlike most markers.
#3-Trigger pull
The trigger pull is very light and short.
#4-The color
The color is very good for playing in the woods because it isn't bright and flashly.
#5-Range
The A-5 range is not only very long but it is extremely accurate at a long range.
#6-Upgrades
The A-5 has many upgrades to chose from. You can upgrade your A-5 to a Turnament
level with just the E-grip.
Conclusion: With getting a new barrel you'll be extremely accurate. You have to get this marker!
I love my A-5!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

onlyfortheweak Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T 98 custom..maybe
this is a pretty unique marker
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-E-GRIP (and) RT
-Flatline
-bullet drop forward
-20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you get this gun, hands down youre gonna do some upgrading. First...FLATLINE!! Get an e-grip, alot more useful than an RT. The RT screws with the pressure in your tank and giving it less time to expand. I fired like half a hopper on a full 20 oz bottle and went from 1200 psi to 900. I did the same with my e-grip on full auto, went from 1200 to about 1150. One minute later it went back up to full capacity at 1200 psi. A drop forward has been FRICKIN useful.
Strengths: CYCLONE FEED
nice design
accurate
FAST
loud (i like loudness)
better upgrades than the 98
Weaknesses: gas beast (if RT used)
price (especially w/ aftermarket upgrades)
a b%@# to field clean
Review: The cyclone feed... never missed or chopped a feed, its amazing!! The only way you'll break a ball is if you shoot cheap paintballs, an occasional faulty paintball, or your barrel size is screwed up to your paint size.

An R/T is pretty nice at first preinstalled but later on when you use it, it's fault become more and more apparent. Inconsistent ROF, gas usage and consumption, and one hard trigger pull. If you're like me, lazy and everything, get a E-Grip---shoots WAY faster and more consistent.

All in all it makes paintball very fun for the guy with this gun, mainly if you make the suggested upgrades. Where I play, most of my friend's guns break down every freakin game so they wanna use mine.. the reason is obvious. People say it's made for woodsball--which it is--and doesnt work too well on a speedball field. Shoot, it works great on a speedball field for me. Im a more agressive player, and theres just something about the A-5 that suites me perfectly.
Conclusion: Tippmann makes great stuff for players on low budgets. The A-5 is fast, usually reliable, and a frickin durable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 10th, 2003 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media