paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintball Wolf Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nonthing comes close
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts 12" All American
20 ounce Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
About all you need is a new barrel.
Strengths: Durable,
Price,
Very Upgradable,
Cyclone,
Looks/Feel,
ROF (rate of fire),
Everything about it
Weaknesses: Maybe the stock barrel, but what do you expect? Spend $30 on an All American.
Review: This is an awesome marker. It's from Tippmann, so you know you aren't getting ripped-off when you get it. It's very, very durable. You won't feel like you are going to hurt it when running through the woods. It feels some John Wayne six shooter. The cyclone has yet to let me down. I have never broken/chopped a 'ball from it, and the only 'balls I have broken were from paint/barrel match. I would say more, but I would keep rambling on about how great it is. Overall, this is an awesome gun. Just go out and get it.

PS If you hear bad stuff about the A-5, it's cause they were mad that it was doing better than there Angel :)
Conclusion: By now you should be looking for the best place to get it......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

KXEcaptain Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other tippman guns as well as testing out various others
Marker Setup: Primary: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, 8" Lapco Bigshot, DO Drop Forward, X-Core 8 stage, Rear Velocity Adjuster
Secondary: Tippman M98C, RT trigger, 12" Lapco Bigshot, Gel grips, Car Stock, Tippman Expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on how you want to play, great as is, but first priority would be a barrel, followed by whatever works for you
Strengths: It rules!!!
in 3 months, not a ball jammed, broke, or misfired
Looks cool
Can be upgraded like hell
Weaknesses: Made people run in fear instead of standing and taking what was coming to them
Review: What can I say, everytime I use a new tippman gun I love them more and more. For the price, reliability, durability, accuracy, and amount of upgrades you can get, these guns can't be beat. Given, Angels, Intimidaters and the like are an over all better gun, they should be for the hefty price tag hike. But they won't take nearly the beating these will and keep pumping out the kills.
Conclusion: BUY BUY BUY!!! If you are looking for a new semi, this is it. If you have never tested one, do it NOW! Very sweet gun, may not be to everyones taste, but if your thinking about getting one, hesitate no further
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

i hate a5's Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none that are as crappy as this gun
Marker Setup: car stock, bsa red dot sight, remote, 3000 psi air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
just dont get thsi marker
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: It fell apart on me
Review: Ok when i got this gun i was really wanted to try it because I heard all of this hype about its durability and rate of fire. Well the whole durability thing is the biggest lie i have ever heard!!!!!!! So i go shoot the gun a couple times and then my safety on the gun pops out and breaks so that was really disappointing after my custom 98 also broke ( The custom 98's receiver cracked).
Conclusion: I hate this gun because it broke after 6 shots
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

'Ol Paintless Monday, January 3rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bt 4, bt delta, tippmann 98, spyders, brass eagle POS
Marker Setup: TIppmann A5: 16" JJ Barrel/14" CP/10" Tiller/3" Aluminum barrel, A5 to spyder thread insert adapter, Low profile X7 hopper, Tech T squishy Paddles, Response Trigger (Was using H.E. E-Grip until is tore itself apart.), Rufus Dawg blade double trigger (Tech T Fang Double Trigger with e-grip), Dead On Paintball 6.5 inch drop forward with On/off ASA, custom made wooden foregrip.
Azodin Kaos: ER Db Hopper
Delta 68: Dummy 12 Gram, Bottomline ASA
Spyder TL + (This is the only gun I have running off of CO2)
Invert Mini Storm LE with Empire Prophecy loader
Lapco Grey Ghost #395
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything I have done and more
Strengths: RELIABLE/ Easy to fix
Upgradable
Customizable
Recognizable
Lots of aftermarket possibilites
Weaknesses: Expensive
BIIGG Hopper catches paintballs
Feedneck catches paintballs
Stock Barrel
Can become a money pit
Review: This was the 2nd paintball gun I owned. I loved it when I first got it because it was made to work. Plain and simple it just works.

The first thing I got sick of was the barrel. No problem, most guns have bad barrels out of box. The second thing I got sick of was the stock hopper. Thing may as well have a bullseye painted on it it caught so much fire.

After taking care of those I was happy with the basic usability of the gun. I did some more mods, like the E Grip and put a HUUUGEE drop forward on to make it more like a speedball gun in compact feel. (Its actually more compact than most speedball guns now..)

I love my a5, but out of the box, it was kinda clunky and useless. As I used it more, I started thinking about how I would have been better off just buying a 98. After I have modded it this much and put about 700 bucks into it, I kinda wish I had just bought a MacDev or something.

The fact of the matter is this: I was relatively unexperienced with paintball when I bought this gun. This Gun has been my training wheels for paintball (my brass eagle POS was my tricycle). I use this gun all the time and will never stop using it until it breaks and there is no possible way to fix it. HOWEVER. I will not buy another one. I love it to death, but for the amount of money I have spent on it to get it to this point, I could have got something else that did the same thing except faster and with less recoil.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball, this is your magic ticket. If you are experienced, I don't know why you are reading this unless you are a milsimmer.

I was new to paintball when I got this, and I loved it. I'm still new to paintball but I have definitely grown. The great thing about my A5 is that it has grown with me and for that, I love it. If I were rating my A5 i would rate 10. But I am not rating my A5. I'm rating an A5 out of the box, so I am rating it a 7. Its too expensive for what you get out of the box.

- EDIT - I have been having issues with the Tombstone adapter. After a few shots, the tombstone shifts and the o-ring in the powertube slips upwards, causing a severe leak of air. Turns out the 'Tombstone Latch' part has broken. Why they made such a crucial part out of such crummy plastic, I do not know. My problems with the tombstone started once this latch broke and stopped as soon as I zip-tied the tombstone onto the A5. A replacement latch is darn near impossible to find so a frankenstein latch like mine might be what you have to do until you can find one. Word to the wise: LEAVE YOUR TOMBSTONE ALONE!!!! The more you take it out and put it back in, the more mileage you put on that latch! - Keeping the rating at 7 for now cuz I still love this gun.

EDIT #2 - So I ended up milling out one of the halves of the body with a dremel tool, seating a bolt where the tombstone latch used to be and screwing a washer/nut down onto the tombstone to hold it in. It's a fairly easy fix if you have a dremel tool, barely visible and WAY stronger than that plastic POS latch Tippmann put in there. I then started having a problem with the slider on the trigger sticking to the sear and not firing if the trigger was being held down as the marker was cocking. I tried replacing springs, adjusting the pull on the trigger, flipping the slider upside down and even angling the spring that pushes the slider out from the trigger. In the end, I bought a Tech T Hair Trigger set and made the sear sit a little higher up. The slider on the trigger no longer catches on the sear, preventing the gun from resetting if the trigger is being held as the hammer is cocking the sear in place. Gun is working perfectly. Will update if necessary. :)

EDIT 3 - So, the A5 started to full auto burp on me. I started troubleshooting by taking it apart and checking for broken o-rings, cracks in the parts (especially the power tube) and scratched or warped pieces. Nothing. Nothing seemed wrong. I replaced the hammer o-ring and the mainspring. It worked, kind of, for one game and then started doing the burp again. The weirdest thing was - if it was set to around 315+ fps, it would work fine! I polished the internals, put a T fitting on the RT and Cyclone (instead of using the two port method) to cut down on the excess gas being used and still - Nothing! At this point I was starting to think it was Effed. Last ditch effort, I replaced the sear and took off the hairpin trigger set. Success! It worked like new! The sear wasn't even catching the trigger slider like I outlined in my earlier edit! Works like new! I guess my old sear had somehow become slightly bent ( which is why it was catching the trigger slider) and the hairpin trigger kit had caused it to wear down a little faster than normal. Everything is good now, though - Again - will update if necessary...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 24th, 2011 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jawshoouh Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS3
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
TechT Vortex Mod
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT QEPH
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT Zero Hammer Kick
Lapco Big Shot Barrel with Apex tip
Tippmann Special Ops Longbow Stock
Trinity Aluminum Cocking Handle
Trinity Low Profile Hopper
Ninja Remote Plug
Pure Energy Tank w/ Reactor III 70CI 4500PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
At a bare minimum, an aftermarket barrel. The E-Grip and the TechT Cyclone Max Upgrade are icing on the cake.
Strengths: Reliable, dependable, upgradeable, customizable, great ROI
Weaknesses: I can't think of anything I would describe as a weakness.
Review: This is an awesome marker. There are enough reviews here to back that statement up. The price you pay for it and what you get in return is incredible: a reliable, dependable, upgradeable, customizable paint marker. Out of the box, it's a great marker for a beginner to a monthly woodsball player like myself. It's gotten muddy, drenched in rain, splattered in paint, slammed into trees, jammed into rocks, dropped on concrete, and it just keeps going. It's like the Timex of paintball markers.

Add a few modifications to it, and it just gets better. The stock barrel isn't anything to write home about, so something a little more accurate is a must if you play often. Accuracy- AND distance-wise, I've had more luck with the Lapco Big Shot barrel with an Apex tip versus a Flatline barrel.

I personally haven't tried the Response trigger, but friends who have an A-5 with the Response prefer shooting my A-5 with the E-Grip. It takes a 9v battery that lasts forever and spits out paint at around 30bps. I'm not a big fan of spray-and-pray, but when you're covering teammates who are trying to flank enemies in defilade or advance on someone in a tower, having the option to concentrate 30bps on that single position can be of great tactical use.

With my old 72CI 3000PSI tank, the A-5 could blaze through that tank before it would use up the 1,200+ paintballs I usually carry on me. I now have a 70CI 4500PSI tank and I'm running out of paintballs before I'm running out of gas.

I would go on about the TechT mods I put in, but this is a review about the A-5, so I digress. Just see the Conclusion on the next line :)
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker to anyone who enjoys playing paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2010 at 4:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5pbgun Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (Tested)
VL Orion (My first gun)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Apex Barrel/16 inch Armson Stealth barrel
Double trigger (With pen spring mod)
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Durability
Upgradeability
Works well with almost any paintballs
Accuracy
Field stripping and Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Uses more gas
Not-so-good stock barrel
Review: First off, I havent used this in any BIG scenario or woodsball game yet.

~Strengths~

Durability: This gun is built to last. I've dropped mine on rocks and concrete and nothing happened to it at all.

Upgradeability: (Is this a word?)
There are tons of upgrades you can buy for this gun. You can make it look like just about anything you want. You can also get an RT or Egrip to make it shoot faster (For me, Double trigger is fast enough)

Paintballs:
You can use just about any paintballs in this gun (Obviously better paintballs will work better). The cyclone makes it almost impossible to chop balls.

Accuracy:
While the stock barrel its not that accurate, a new barrel will make you unstoppable. My Armson barrel works fine for me, its all about personal prefrence.*Edit* Got the BT Apex Barrel, So far I am very happy with it (only put about 200 paintballs through it).

Field Stripping and Maintenance:
This thing is actually pretty easy to field strip. I was able to completely take this apart (Cyclone and all), Clean it, And oil it all in about 15 mins. If your lazy you can just put a few drops of oil in the ASA and dry fire it a few times and your good.

~Weaknesses~

Gas:
With the cyclone this gun uses more gas than others. I use CO2 and can get about 700 shots with a 20 oz tank.

Stock barrel:
The stock barrel isnt the best, But thats expected with most guns.

*Edit*
The game i went to was pretty fun. There were 30+ people there and almost every single one had a 98C. My gun was able to outshoot alot of the 98C. In one situation my teammate and I were behind a big rock, and there was a guy with a flatline shooting at us and my teammate (had a 98C) wasnt able to accurately shoot at him. I took 2 shots and hit him in the mask. I would say my A-5 out perfored the 98C (Im not saying the other people stunk, There were alot of people that were better than me).

*Edit*
Got the BT Apex Barrel today. Tested it out with some old paint left over from last year and it didn't break any paint (well, after i found out my CO2 was set wayyyy to high). I'll edit/write a review on the barrel later when I get a chance to test it more.
Conclusion: If your looking for a strong, well built gun, you've found it. I would reccomend this gun for Mid level players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 10th, 2009 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

studly119 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, PMI Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed but a longer barrel would obviously help.
Strengths: Great accuracy even with the included 8.5" barrel.
Doesn't chop paint.
Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: None so far but did chop one ball when it was on maximum velocity
Review: This marker has great accuracy. I was able to hit the lid of a cambells soup can at 40' using the 8.5" barrel and iron sights. It is VERY easy to clean I have never cleaned a paintball gun before in my life but it is so easy that I was easily able to clean it in 10 minutes. I have yet to use this in a paintball arena but I know it will be a lot better than the beat-up tippmann 98's that I have been haveing to rent.
Conclusion: A great gun very accurate and easy to strip down and clean. I highly reccomend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigboss4934 Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT4 Combat

Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
OpsGear MP5 PDW Folding Stock and MP5 Magazine
32 Degrees Remote Line
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (although the stock barrel i fine for a beginner)
New Hopper
Strengths: Very Reliable
Doesn't Chop
Accurate
Cyclone Feeder
Weaknesses: Bit Expensive (but well worth it)
Bulky Hopper
Small Problem with first gun recieved (below)
Review: The Tippmann A5 is one of the coolest guns on todayys market. I modeled mine after the MP5 PDW (Personal Defense Weapon). When I received this gun from OpsGear.com i had a bad valve so the CO2 Leaked everywhere. It was tippmans fault so i sent the gun in for repair. Other than that small problem the gun is problably the best woodsball marker out there.

Ive played speed ball with this gun and ive done alright but its not what this gun was made for. Thewoods is where this beast needs to go and play. My first day with this gun was played at "Waynes World of Paintball" In Ocala. For those of you who have been there know how great there many playing fields are. there was arround 20 other kids there and we played about 10 long games. each game i scored around 2-4 kills and was only tagged twice. i owe much to the gun. but having a good gun isnt everything. its the player that counts too.

Reliability - throughout the whole day i only chopped 1 ball out of 2000! pretty damn good.

Accuracy - i took out another kid from about 60 yards away with 3 shots from the stock barrel

Cyclone Feeder - One of the reasons i bought the A-5. you be spending another $50-$80 dollars for a decent hopper that can feed at the same rate as the cyclone

I was able to get around 1000 shots per tank. which i think is pretty good.


Also The Upgrade potential on this gun is enormous. Opsgear Has gun body kits so yu can make the A-5 look like a Barrett to an AK-47. you can mount a scope, flashlights, lasers, anything.

This gun is the king of woodsball guns!



Conclusion: Just remember this gun was built for scenario play not speedball. you can make a speedball A-5 but you'd spend more on upggrades that a actual speedball gun. I love this gun. buy an E-Grip then you can really kick some ass. Im giving it a 9 only because of the valve problem i stated earlier.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmc65st Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
JT Tac-5
Various Spyders
Brass Eagle Raider
Marker Setup: Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (Palmer Brass, J&J, or Flatline)
E-Grip or Response
Vortex
About a million others to suit your tastes'
Strengths: Tippmann reliability & customer service
Easy to work on
Millions of upgrades/mods available
Weaknesses: Heavy for some people
Won't shoot 9 billion BPS in stock form
Review: Last fall I'm getting married, so my buddies think it would be fun to go out and try paintball for my bachelor part. Out of 14 guys, only a couple have ever played before and the rest of us are completely green. We go to a local field, just about everyone gets rentals, and we have a complete blast. So much, in fact, that after the wedding a bunch of guys run out and buy markers. They have no clue what they're buying, but see a 'great' deal on Spyder marker packages at Dick's for around $150. One of the guys that had played before swore by Spyders and convinced them that was the way to go. Knowing we were going to be playing out in the woods most of the time (outlaw) I did a bit more research on the Internet first. Every site I looked at said basically the same thing, Tippmann was a great product for woods-ball play.

So I plunk down my $219 and buy the A5. I spend another $100 on a Flatline barrel and about another $100 on mask, tanks, etc. I show up at my brother's house along with 9 other guys ready to play. We have a nice secluded spot in the woods and my brother has outfitted his garage with a CO2 refilling station. I'm the only guy with an A5, one other guy has a borrowed Tippmann 98, the rest are Spyders, some older and four are new from Dick's. We have a blast, my A5 performs perfectly all day, not one chop, not one busted ball, not one mis-fire. The Spyders on the other hand, have issues. Two of the brand new ones and three of the old ones have to replace o-rings during the day. Maybe it was the weather (around 50) or maybe it was just bad luck. Luckily, one of the guys is experienced and a "Spyder Guy" and knows them inside and out and has them up and running again. But it was a major pain to the guys who just bought them.

A couple of week later we play again, again I'm the only A5. Two of the guys have bought MR1's, a Spyder product, from the local Dick's. Again the weather was less then perfect with temps in the high 40's/low 50's. Again my A5 performs perfectly all day which the Spyder crew experiencing similar issue as before, including one of the MR1's. That guy finishes the day with a JT Tac-5 I picked up really cheap (I'll review that marker later).

At this point everyone is tired of fixing their markers twice a day and even more tired of listening to me brag about how great my A5 is and how happy I was I did a little research and spent a little more cash. The last time we played, we had 14 guys (and gals!) show up and in that crowd we had SIX A5's (six were Tippmann 98 Custom's, one Spyder and one BE Raider). One of the A5's was purchased by the "Spyder Guy", who now swears by his A5.

Now don't think that I'm bashing Kingman Spyders or think that I hate all other brands that aren't Tippmann, I'm simply relaying my experience thus far. For how my friends and I are playing (woods-ball), we have found that the A5 is a great choice, period.
Conclusion: Our group is all adults (most over 30, a few over 40, and one over 50), most of us will never enter any tourney or have a need for 25 bps, but with the A5, we could if we wanted. In the end, the Tippmann A5 shoots straight, is highly upgradable, is extremely reliable, and easy to maintain. If your looking for a marker to play in the local speed-ball tourney, you might be better suited else where, but if you're into woods-ball you won't be disappointed with the Tippmann A5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mArBiLiZa Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT
Apex Barrel
68/4000 crossfire HPA system
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel-NOT THE FLATLINE, if your going to get a barrel in that price range go with the apex.
RT
compressed air
Strengths: Durable
Dependable
Accurate
Speed (if you have RT)
Looks
Cyclone Feeding = No chops or breaks
Weaknesses: Heavy
Stock Barrel
Review: I got this gun for christmas, and the first thing i did was take off that stock barrel!!! Its horrible. Ive played with it 4 times since Christmas, and it has performed well in thick woods, a huge open field, and not-so-thick woods. This gun is a good all around gun. The cyclone feeding system prevents chops and breaks. With the cyclone feeding system and response trigger, most people say this gun is an airhog, but I got about 1000 shots out of my 68/45 crossfire each time i got it filled.
Conclusion: This gun is a good buy if you play woodsball with your friends a lot or just play for fun at fields, however, if you are looking for a tourny marker, this is not the gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media