paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Bob Long Dragon Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 66
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Dragon Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
RedDragon Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is close to it!!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Dragon Intimidator with Wicked Air Sportz board and the wicked switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS board and wicked switch
Strengths: Fast,amazing accuracy,no ball breakage,light weight,easy to use and clean
Weaknesses: No weakness on gun only thing is manual sucks
Review: This gun is got everything! It is fast. A light and short trigger pull. Light weight. Extreme accuracy! Easy to use and clean. No ball breakage. If you got the WAS board it is way better. Get the wicked switch too. Then you are set to kick butt!!!! There is no downside besides the manual.
Conclusion: This gun rocks because of everything it can do!!!!!!!! If you got the cash to get a expensive gun dont waste your money just get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gazpacho Thursday, August 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dark lcd angel
Marker Setup: blue/chrome dragon intimidator, halo c, crossfire 88ci 3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grips, volumeizer
Strengths: this gun, like all timmys, rips!
Weaknesses: i guess it is the price. same gun as the rest of the timmys.
Review: I am very pleased by this gun in it's performance and looks. i could have gotten any timmy, but i have always liked the dragons. i would recommend any of bobs guns. they have definitely won this angel guy over! my only concern is the mantinence involved, but i have heard that there is not thatmuch to it.
Conclusion: like i wrote before, a halo is a must. you could get by with something else because of the eyes, but to really unleash the dragon, get a halo or a egg
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Does a Raven Primal count?
Marker Setup: Dragon Intimidator, frenzy 113, custom reloader b, empire barrel kit, NDZ super lite on/off, empire poppet valve, CP sling blade trigger, CP ram cap.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, adjustable ram cap, perhaps the feedneck if you need something shorter, maybe even a bolt with detent slots.
Strengths: Fast, effecient, reliable, easy to maintain and fix, balance, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Some kick to it.
Review: I bought this marker used from somebody in the mid-summer and had to have it repaired as the previous owner did not take good care of it internally at all. About the only thing it had going for it at first was that it turned on. After some tech work by one of my local shops it was ready for some action.
This was my first truly high-end marker and I was blown away by the speed of this marker and not to mention the accuracy once I had a good paint to bore match with my barrel. The stock trigger had some issues, side to side slop and the screws would walk themselves out. I attribute it to the misuse it saw though and I quickly changed the trigger to a CP sling blade, which increased the overall bps by 2-4, depening on how much time I had to fire.
The stock bolt isn't bad at all though it has some kick to it, nothing I'm complaining about as I don't seem to notice it. Some detent slots would be nice in it or simply changing out the bolt for one with slots in it, it saves wear on the detents. I haven't chopped with this marker while playing which is amazing in my opinion and I've run about 3 cases of paint through it thus far.
Maintenance is very easy, I was a little intimidated (no pun intended) to do any tech work on it at first but found it rather easilly. I changed out the poppet valve to an empire delrin one to eliminate the need for a cupseal and after some time to remove the grip frame, the hosing, and then the front block it was rather simple and easy to put back together. Cleaning and lubing the regs is just as easy as nine times out of ten and problems with consistancy usually means it's time to clean the lpr and hpr. I'd say about every two cases the pistons should be removed, wiped clean along with the insides, and then relubed and placed back. Even then I usually get around +/- 4 at the chrono and can hold it at around 280 fps all day without having to touch my regs again; provided I keep it aired up properly.
The only issues if any would be the weight, which can be tiring if you're just holding it in between games, a snatch grip add-on would solve this easilly enough. But with two hands during a game I don't really have an issue or notice it. Even the feedneck might be an issue but I haven't found anything wrong with the stock one despite it being a little high, I believe it's a mid-rise but it's not a priority to change out. And the kick, some people don't like the kick but it's the 2k2 style so it has more then the 2k5 style. A simple change of the bolt and possibly a lighter ram would do the trick, nothing super major needs to be done to this marker to get it to preform well though.
Conclusion: Once I fixed this up it was heaven to use and the milling is second to none, possibly the most unique milling out of all the Intimidators and other markers to date. Fast, reliable, simple to work on and accurate. All of my issues with it since it was fixed have had to do with relubing o-rings and that's all. This marker has definately made me a timmy fan for life.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bojackson Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 04 Speed, Shocker
Marker Setup: Dragon 04' (CP reg/drop forward, Frenzy Board)
Halo B w/ rip drive
Crossfire 4500/88
Freak Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing?
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, No chops.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: Ok, where do I start, this thing rips. This is by far my favorite gun that I have ever shot/owned. I have only had one ball break in it, and that was because my friend gave me some crappy paint. This thing is fast, with dead on accuracy. I hear alot of talk about how expensive they are, and if that is your only worry, then just check out ebay, you can get em used for fairly cheap.
Conclusion: This marker rocks, if your getting a timmy get this, or a russian legion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gorritaverde1 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
(none of any of these guns compare to the Dragon)
-ANS GEN X-3 cocker with eblade
-Dragun Bonez
-Spyders and Tippy's
Marker Setup: Black to Dark blue fade with WAS board
-Egg II with Z-Board
-68/3000 crossfire tank
-CP regulator
-CP drop with rail
-CP snatch grip
-CP low rise
-Evil low pressure regulator
-Superfly Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Fast hopper (I use the Egg II with Z-board and i still havent chopped)
-For more speed the Frenzy board
-For a bit of more acurracy maybe the Freak Barrel kit
-everything else is purely cosmetic
Strengths: -Fast as hell right out of the box
-Accurate
-Looks
Weaknesses: Its kind of hard to get to know them since the manual does'nt help
Review: This is my first Intimidator and i must say that it has been the best gun i've ever had. I was undeciced at first because since this gun is so pricey. But I had the money so i went for it. The best investment i've done. This gun is extremely fast, even with the stock settings, the looks... i dont even have to say it. Its the best looking gun out there. not even the DM4 compares to the milling of this gun. It is kind of hard to understand the gun at first, since the manual that it has its form an older version of a 2k2, so practically does'nt help you at all. But anyways, its not that hard. and if you dont know somthing, the guys at the forum of PBreview will help u in no time at all(thanks 4TH degree and all the guys at the Bob Long forum). The board is really simple to use, and it has a lot of nice features. The only thing that i dont like is that everytime you have to give maintanience to the gun, or if somthing is leaking or you have to change the battery, its kind of complicated to dismount the gun(cause of all the tubbings and the solenoid, etc.) But maybe that is because im used to Spyders and cocker which are easier to maintain and take care of, but no biggie, once you dismount it 3-5 times ull get used to it.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome. shoots flawless, looks extremely "Intimidating" and overall its a great gun. I'll recomend this gun to anyone who can affort it. Great gun, just need to find some things on your own and be disposed to spend some time after a day of play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rollinsmurf11 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
upgraded ion, omen, spyders
Marker Setup: red/black fade
Recommended
Upgrades:
all sorts, for speed it a trigger, maybe a board, air efficency a lpr volumizer, a new barrel (cocker threads :>)
Strengths: Pretty accurate, pretty fast stock, light cool milling, easy 2 get 2 bolt
Weaknesses: Only a month of use so im still dicovering them
Review: This is a decent gun that has lcd tht has a bps counter thts pretty accurate, a timer, it tells the modes, and it has easy to change settings.It looks cool, jus get rid of the chrome. The gun is pretty fast. Stock it shoots abt 15 bps if u can shoot it tht fast , but it nots hard.The eyes are decent
Conclusion: i recomend this product for a paintballer tht knows how to fix gun cause i cant fix this gun cause im afriad ill screw it up lol. Ill give it a 8.5
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paulskate Tuesday, August 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Ir3
Vision Impulse
Black magic autococker
Spyders
Marker Setup: Dragon inrimidator(blue to black fade)
Angel air68/4500
Halo B
Magnetic trigger
Wicked Switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt with slots for hard detents.
Barrell Kit
Strengths: Very fast, the eye works good, it is very light weight
Weaknesses: Long body, High maitnence, Trigger feels cheap.
Review: This gun is very fast, i can get 21bps, but this gun is a little uncontrolled. I mean that it is real easy to accidently shoot the gun. This is not the best gun i have shot but it is the fastest. Feels akward at first but it take a while to get use to. The gun is big t and hard to hold, the foregrip is to far from the rest of the gun.
Conclusion: I think it is a little over priced. The milling looks great and so does the color. i prefered the ir3 over this gun, it is all personal preference.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tib Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Alias
Marker Setup: Intimidator Dragon (Black to green fade)
Empire Reloader-B
Checkit Uni-mount
68/4500 tank w/ Dye cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper (Halo, Reloader-B, etc.)
Adjustable Ram cap (A must I learned the hard way)

Then the obvious Barrel, bolt, etc. I am still pretty much using stock so i cant advise on too many upgrades
Strengths: - Fast
- Accurate
- Easiar to maintain then I thought
- Milling
- LCD simple and effective
Weaknesses: - Manual no good
- Trigger awkward
- Parts Expensive
Review: Pros:
- This gun is insanely fast right out of the box and only gets fast as you play around with the settings and as you make upgrades.
-At this point i havent invested in an After market barrel so i cant advise which one will work well, however i have the stock barrel to be acceptable to say the least.
- When I first got my marker i was quite worried about maintaining it but once i got in there and started poking around (also with a little help from some paintball forums) i was able to take the entire gun apart relube the whole sucker (poppet, ram, regs, bolt) without any problem.
- What can i say about the milling its incredible I was out at the local field and i had a problem with my gun took it over to the tech and people would just stand around looking at it, the tech had to chase a few people away cuz they were creeping him out.
-The LCD has a very simple layout and it doesnt take long to learn what it is showing you and you can access the menu and everything using only 2 buttons.


Cons:
- My manual might as well have been written in another language (Ok that might be an exageration) but it was simply a photocopy of a 2k2 marker. I had to learn how most of my setting work from other dragon owners or from trail and error. The pictures being photocopies were useless because i couldnt see what i was looking at.
- I tried my friends Alias and fround his trigger to be much lighter and easiar to move. The dragon trigger is heavier (In my opinion), however after a bit of use you hardly notice it and get used to it.
- I have had to replace several parts (A high flow barb and a cup seal) and the parts are quite expensive I payed about 7 bucks for the barb alone, but this is to be expected from a high end marker.




A few other things i will mention when you first get your dragon and pressurize it you may hear a hissing check your cup seal if it looks fine then that means you need an adjustable ram cap (this may sound odd but trust me) it took a profession tech an hour an a half before a dragon owner came up to us and mentioned this so we plop his ram and adjustable ram cap on and like magic the problem disappered.
Conclusion: I love this gun it looks beautiful and performs even better my only complaint is again the manual blows. I rate this gun a 9.8 taking off points for my above mentioned weaknesses (but seeing as i can only rate with whole numbers we'll round it up to 10 ; )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 30th, 2004 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CrazyIvan02093 Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All timmys, martixs, angles, shocker, cockers
Marker Setup: Timmy Dragon, 16 ultra light, halo B rip, 68/45 crossfire, ss hose, cp striaght rail, 32degrees on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
DYE ultra light barrel
Strengths: Speed-man this baby can rip,
Accuracy-with good barrel
Gas Efficiancy-
Looks
Weaknesses: None i can think of
Review: Wow, i got this new beast not too long ago, its been my hero since, this thing can spray paint at yout targets and accuratly though. the stock barrel is pretty bad for the price they ask for this thing, the gun itself looks great. super gas efficiant, put the same tank on most guns and you get like 200 shots less, (same with most timmys). i havent had any probs with it yet, just make sure you keep the bolt clean, the gun ant that great for front pay if theres a lot of dirt around cuase it gets in the bolt, but all you have to do s keep it clean.
Conclusion: Great gun, definatly a better barrel, bit pricy and they are getting hard to find too. If you can get your hands on one of these buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

greencockerboy Tuesday, October 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2(compares nothing), Piranha g2(still not even close),Spyder Flash(hated it),2002 green autococker(accurate wise yes, speed no)2002 DRAGON TIIMMY(KICK A$$!!)
Marker Setup: 2002 Red to Black fade Dragon(with a red cp flame drop and red cp adapter looks SWEET!)
SOB board
14in. Boomstick
88/4500 fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, not even a barrel the barrel that comes with it is awesome!!!
Strengths: Well EVERYTHING! I love this marker. It is extremely fast you don't even need to put it on full auto or anything. When I played w/it this sunday the ref. checked it for full auto. It is an extremely fast marker as well as extremely accurate. I think it is almost more accurate than my autococker and it deffinantly has a better range on it. I love it sooo much! The first game I played w/it i got 7 of the 15 players from the other team with it. It was awesome. You also get a hell of alot respect on the field with it. It is also the best lookin marker i have ever seen!
Weaknesses: Well the bad if any i if you get shot in the gun it is very hard to clean it because of all the milling on it. But that is just a little thing!
Conclusion: If you can find one and have the money GET IT!!! I got mine for $1150 from Ebay. If you ha ve anymore questions you can email me! BUT GET ONE IF YOU CAN ESPECAILLY THE ONES THAT I HEARD HAVE THE NEW BOARD IN THEM!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media