paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
comando345 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts all american(a 2 peice barrel) j&j ceramic barrel. some stock barrels.
Marker Setup: defiant(bushmaster 2000) with an apocalypse 68ci 4500psi tank. J&J edge barrel set, evolution 2 loader, and a palmer stabalizer regulator.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any will work. marbilizer is fantastic provided you have a low pressure gun, might want to consider blaze if you have a gun that chops alot. *cough* automag *cough*
Strengths: excellent manufacturing quality, bore matching, fair price
Weaknesses: none encountered yet. it does not chop.
Review: The most striking feature of this barrel set is the high quality. the fronts and backs screw together perfectly. absolutely no chops between the front and back, a constant issue with smart parts products. the anodizing is of high quality and there has been no chipping. The bore is marked on the side of the backs making for easy selection of the appropriate back. The barrel has a smooth internal surface and works as well as any other barrel in that sense.
Conclusion: this is a high quality product for a very fair price. don't buy a freak kit, sp barrels chop where they screw together. not to mention they cost about twice as much as the J&J kit for inferior quality. just my 2 cents.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

kragshot Saturday, February 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepper Sticks barrel kit
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
Redz Pepper Sticks barrel kit
J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Trinity T-lock feedneck
Invert Reloader II
BT 45 degree mount
Barska 50mm red dot sight
modified gas thru T-stock
CP coiled remote
Crossfire 88/4500 HPA tank (LP reg)
Hogue finger groove 1911 grips
Gear Sector sling mount
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marballizer
Diablo Formula 13
Strengths: Lots of length and bore options
Unique ceramic finish
Weaknesses: Thread quality is a little off. Found burrs on both fronts and backs.
Review: Very happy with this kit. I got it mainly to supplement my Redz kit for the smaller bore sizes and shorter tips. I was a little concerned the first time I put mine together because of the feel. Ceramic on ceramic threads is like rubbing pottery together. Just make sure to use lots of lube on the threads and o-rings when assembling. Excellent performance and accuracy even using the shortest tip (8 inches overall). Using good paint I can hold a consistent 6 inch group at 15-20 yards. The first shot hit capability this gave me cut my paint usage from around a half case/day down to under a bag.
Conclusion: Overall and for the price, its a very good kit. The Redz kit has fewer bores and tips, but the quality and finish is better.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 25th, 2010 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeadWounded Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 10 piece, SP Freak, Evil Pipe
Marker Setup: Dark LCD w/A.I.R and Halo B, Milled down STO with Palmer pneumatics w/J&J Edge Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Super light and accurate, pretty much cleans itself
Weaknesses: no orings on the backs, so they rock loose sometimes
Review: This barrel is the lightest i've ever used, and probally the most accurate. the number of backs is a small problem, doesn't give you the versatility of a Freak, but the accuracy difference is substantial. this is the last kit i'll ever own. the case can be hard to open, but you learn to deal with it. got mine for $120, and it was the best purchase i've made since i bought my first rev...
Conclusion: this kit is awesome! light, accurate, and competative price wise. Get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjpomeroy Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 16"
Flatline Barrel
Stock A-5 Barrel
Lapco Big shot 8"
12' Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
WAS Egrip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Flatline Barrel Kit
88ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Pure Energy HPA
My rating scale defined
10- Oh my god this thing is awsome, drop what every you are doing and go buy one
7 - Good piece of gear
5 - Does what it is suppose to do
3 - Doesn't live up to advertised features
1- If you insist on buying this item, you should just send it to my paypal account either way your are waisting your money
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about anything due to multiple backs
Strengths: Accuracy
Flexibility
Price
Quiter
Weaknesses: Kit doesn't include a ball sizer
May be hard to find
Review: I bought mine off Ebay after searching around trying to find the Full kit (12", 14", 16" with 5 backs). I wanted the full kit so it took me a while to find. Enough about buying it on to the results. Oh one other thing I need to mention is that I spent 8 years in the Marine Corps and was my units Primary Marksmenship Instructor. So my testing was based upon some experience.

Test setup:
Marker Tippman A5 with HPA FPS 285 14" barrel.

I setup a target the size of a mans torso (1 1/2' x 2 1/2") and marked off distances of 75', 90', 120'. Using a red dot scope it dialed it is so that I had 3 shots in a row on overlapping each other exactly where I expected them to be. The paint I was using was some older field paint I had and it wasn't very good paint. I would expect the results to be better with better paint.

Results
Slow fire 1 shot every 10 secs
75' 10 out of 10 in a 12" group (most of top of each other)
90' 10 out of 10 somewhere on target
120' 7 out of 10 somewhere on target

Rapid fire 10 shots in 10 seconds
75' 9 out of 10 somewhere on target
90' 8 out of 10 somewhere on target
120' 5 out of 10 somewhere on target

This has been by far the best results of any barrel for my A5. Even with crap paint, this barrel system dramatically increases the accuracy of you A5. With good paint, this could turn you A5 into a bonified Sniper Rifle, with the exception that the A5 is still too loud for this purpose.

The accuracy compared to price that this barrel provides make this barrel a must have for the A5.

Now for the bad....

I seem to break alot of paint in this barrel (more than normal). I recently played at Stallingrad II at CPX in Joliet and had a lot of problems with breaking paint. Having said that I need to clarify that everyone was having problems with breaking paint. It was so bad that they had to replace everyone's paint. However, when I switched to other paint (which was Marbelizer), I still had some breakage. The temp outside was about 45 degrees so I have a feeling it was more due to the weather and the paint than the barrel. So when it warms up some I will comeback and report if this gets better.

One good thing about all the breakage, I got to test how well it cleans itself. And the answer is NO. At least not with the type of breaks I was getting. I had to remove the barrel completely and run a squeegy through it.



Conclusion: Despite the problems with breakage (which is most likely due to other factors). This is a must have item. It will increase your accuracy, quiet down the beast of the A-5, provides alot of flexibility and is priced right. The truth of the matter is that I would rather you not buy this barrel because that will take away my advantage when I meet you on the field. So just as long as you and I don't play against each other.... Drop whatever you are doing and find you one of these kits. If you you play anywhere in Central Illinois, you should probably stick with your Flatline or stock barrel. :-)

With the exception of Switching from C02 to HPA, this is the only MOD that will get a 10 (see rating scale).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitto Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every Barrel out there lol...but similar is the Empire,cp,pipe....
Marker Setup: TES hpa Bandit Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY
Strengths: multi bore,fit,finish, PRICE!
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: Quiet , accurate, just what you expect from J&J. Shoots thru the breaks pretty darn good. No messy inserts to deal with.
50ft....right on top of each other
75'.... 2 inch pattern
100'... 3 inch pattern

The guys running the big dollar multi bore systems can go ahead and pay 150.00 plus...and you can have the same or better performance for 115.00....do the math!
Conclusion: Best bang for the buck by far!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NLM Saturday, April 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Barrel, Lapco Big Shot and Other.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, J&J Edge Barrel Kit, Pure Energy 16oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, PMI Premium and other
Strengths: Accuracy, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I am very happy with the J&J Edge 12 inch barrel kit. It was more than worth the $70 I spent for it. I was able to play through a ball break with out any effect, as far as I could tell, on performance. It is extremely quiet. The only sound came from the A5 internals and the hopper each time it fired. It was also very accurate, allowing me to land paintballs on target consistently at long distances. I also found it light weight, which is a nice bonus.
Conclusion: This is a MUST BUY for anyone looking to upgrade their Tippmann A5 with a barrel kit. I would recommend buying it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 1:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zWarlord Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels, yea doesnt realy compare
Marker Setup: WGP Tactical Trilogy
-Halo LCD TSA Backman
-J&J Edge Elite barrel Kit
-WORR Gas 70/4500
-ANS Mini Ram
-Benchmark side drop
-Shocktech Superfly bolt
-WGP Ergo Reg
-JCS folding combat stock
-JCS weaver offset
-ADCO hotshot
-CCM delrin back block
-NcStar weaver mount bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, thats the point
Strengths: 5 Bore sizes, 3 fronts, ceramic coating
Weaknesses: Scratches easily(but that adds character)
Review: This is a very accurate barrel kit. I have only come across one paint it wouldn't shoot reliably(shrapnel), but thats 'cause it was closer to oval than round. Choice of the three different front is good gives 12", 14", and 16" lenghts, though i would like to have seen a 10 inch, but no big deal really. The matching is excellent between the fronts and backs, as long as you have it tightened down it is almost seamless. As far a o-rings, it only came with five so i needed to ges some more for the rest. NOTE**#35 O-rings are what you need if anyone is curious.
Conclusion: Excelent kit a great product, super accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redbarton Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: See my profile...
Recommended
Paintballs:
JT Elite's worked fine
Strengths: Light, relatively inexpensive, nice looking, accurate
Weaknesses: Aluminum backs instead of stainless steel
Review: The Edge kits now come with 4 black backs as standard. You can choose the length and color of the tip. I'm not sure that the nickel plated backs are an option any longer. Also, you can order through your dealer (or direct from J & J), new tips in various lengths (8-14") and colors (black, blue, red, green, chrome). They're only about $21 (+ $5 for chrome), direct from J & J. You can even order a ceramic tip for the kit if you so desire.

I was impressed with the overall look and quality of the kit. It only cost me $115. I got a 12" black tip to match the color of my 2K3 BKO. The anodizing and lettering is pretty good, though it seems to chip a little too easy at the edges. The kit includes a nice, albeit cheap, plastic padded case. It also includes o-rings for all of the backs and the tip.

The barrel seemed to quiet my BKO a little more than normal (It's pretty quiet already). Accuracy and range was definitely improved upon comparision to my stock barrel. I have suffered no barrel breaks in the 400-500 shots I've put through it so far. Perfomance wise, I have no complaints and I am very happy with my purchase.

I would prefer stainless backs over aluminum for durability's sake. But, other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.


Conclusion: For the price, you can't beat this kit. It's way cheaper than the Freak, Phat, or Powerlyte barrel systems. It probably has 90-100% of the performance they offer, too. Plus, you don't have to mess with fragile inserts. If you are on a budget and want a multi-bore barrel kit, this one is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 at 7:25 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SamRG Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ICD ProMaster, J&J Edge Elite barrel kit, Halo B, Redz ASA (torpedo style), soon to come-custom bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stinger, Polar Ice, and Evil----only paint I have used so far and it works great
Strengths: *3 fronts in your choice of 8", 10", 12", 14", and 16" barrel lenght
*Build
Weaknesses: *The sound the barrels make against each other (makes you shiver like foam on foam)
Review: Build--------
Strong tips and backs. They do not dent easily nor scratch and scuff. Some aluminum barrels dent easily and are thin. The J&J kits is built very well ad is very light. The threads on the gun are also nicely made. Some threads are made loose, where the barrel shakes off the gun and the tip and back come loose. Without the included o-rings, they did not loosen and where snug. The tip and back are easy to separate, so WGP owners, the fron will come off with the back attached, will not have to fight to get the back off.I have held a Evil Pipe kit before, it felt flimsy, thin, and weak. The Evil Pipe kit i looked at was used and it had some scuff marks and chips on the tip and scratches on the back.

Looks--------
They are not as shiny as the freak, nor as colorful as the pipe kit----but they have a sleek and stealthy black design. I like the black dust finish, but some people like the polish shine. They come in only one color (black) but that is nothing to me, black goes with anything.

Performance--------
DEAD ON ACCURATE. I was shooting some Walmart paint (Scorch and Monster Ball)40 yards from the tree we were shooting and it was shooting in a circle grouping of about 1 foot in diameter with the .682 back and a barrel length of 10". My gun was set for a 400 psi output tank and we had a 850 psi output tank on the gun, I am thinking it was shooting a little over the 280 i last chronoed it at. Now if I wold have had some Evil paint to shoot, that pocket would be smaller.

Value--------
For $77, you cannot beat this kit. This kit comes with your choice of three tips to make a total barrel length of 8", 10", 12", 14", and 16" -- and 5 backs. The basic Freak Jr. Kit has only one front, one back, and three inserts for $79. Now the Freak does have the Smart Parts name on it, but it is not built as well as the J&J barrel kit or the WGP kit. With the J&J kit you are getting the same thing as some of the more expensive kits with that fad brand name.
Conclusion: This is a great kit. Very accurate, light, strong, sleek, and not so hard on the pocket.

Solution to the times when you had a shot on the guy down the field but that dang stock or overrated barrel would not give you the accuracy but give you that 5 foot pocket of fire.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

r84x Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 14" one piece barrel
Marker Setup: fully loaded Half Milled Black 2003 AKA Viking / J&J Edge Ceramic Barrel Kit / System X 68ci - 4500psi HPA / Halo B / backups are Dragun TES, and a tricked out ebolt tippmann m98c
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used Team Colors, Hellfire, Marballizer, and Bonus Ball. The beauty of a barrel kit is that you match backs to the paint, and I have had no trouble with any paint, even dimpled crappy 32 degrees stuff.
Strengths: Light, slick, durable, looks, comes with a nice case, hard to open, though.
Weaknesses: The lack of a rear o-ring, which is not a problem.
Review: I picked up one of these kits at the 2003 World Cup for $100, and used it in 3 games of college XBall. The accuracy and self cleaning were no surprise to me, as I have used a J&J 14" ceramic on my m98 for over a year. A great kit. They seem to come with either 3 or 4 backs, depending on where you get them. Very light and durable, great all-around value.
Conclusion: For a 4 back kit this can't be beat, if you need to move past your stock or one piece barrel, this is the one to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2004 at 5:31 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media