paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
nick_klp Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 03 VF WGP Autococker
J&J Edge Kit w/ 14" front
Crossfire 68/4500
Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any because of the different bores.
Strengths: *Extremely accurate
*4 different bore sizes
*Very quiet
*Doesn't chop
Weaknesses: *Back piece bumps ram on an autococker
*Case is tricky to open and close
Review: I recently got this barrel kit for a mere 70 dollars on sale. An amazing price for this kit, it usually retails for around $110. After seeing how this barrel performs though, I would deffinitely paid the 110 dollars. The kit comes with 4 different bore sizez (not 3 like the site says): a .685, .688, .691 and .693 bore size. You have a choice of a 14 or 12 inch front, perferct for any player. On an autococker the bore bumps into the ram if you screw it in uncarefully. Since this only happens on an autococker and can be avoided, it's not worth worrying about. The barrel front screws in perfect to the back perfectly. As with any 2 piece barrel on an autococker, it can be difficult at times to get the back piece off the gun since the barrel sits on the surface of the gun more. This can also be easily avoided by unscrewing the front and back together when they are tightly put together. The case can be difficult to open. You have to use some energy to get it opened. Clsong it also is difficult, you need to use a lot of force and even put pressure on the inside part of the plastic where the top plastic piece connects. Once you learn how to open and close it though, it's not a big deal. Last but deffinitely not least, the barrel's accuracy is amazing. I hit a milk cartoon from 50 feet away. If you're a good shot, you can put balls right on top of each other.
Conclusion: Probably one of the best, if not the best, 5 piece barrel kits on the market and made by a trusted name. You will see where your money went with this kit and can compete with other top barrels on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

smegle5 Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic
Smartparts Progressive/teardrop
freaks
dye ultralight
dye excel
Marker Setup: Tribal mephy, jack hammer II, Edwins Lpc, Warped frame (magno trigger,25g switch) Fury chip, black magic reg, eggyII, Worr gas 70/4500, Kapp on/off, sys x web drop, J&J edge kit, mac dev delrin ball detent, drilled asa screw, high flowing valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Very light, Very accurate, High qulatity (what you would expect from J&J)
Weaknesses: no O-right (not really a problem)
Review: IMO this is one of he best barrel kits you can buy. Very very well made and very light. everything aboutthis barrel kit is flawless. front and backs go together perfectly, annodizing is very hard, no chips or blemishs after lots of hard use. And its very easy to clean because of the simple holes (unlike the freaks)
Conclusion: This is the only product ive ever given a 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mtbrdude Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, Pipe, Freak, Kaner, UL, SP barrels, etc....
Marker Setup: ICD FS8
J&J Edge kit and Stiffi
STD JDS lpr
AKA Sidewinder
CP Trigger
NOX board coming soon.
Strengths: Excellent range of bore sizes
Price
Quality
Nice case
Weaknesses: Doesn'tt shoot through breaks as well as advertised.
Review: I paid $85 USD for this barrel shipped to my house in Canada (3 tips and 5 backs). It's gotta be the cheapest kit on the market. Upon recieving the barrel I noticed that the case it comes in is very well padded. The quality of the inside of the barrel is comparable to my Stiffi, but not quite as nice as my Pipe kit. Playing with the barrel I noticed that it shoots just as well as both my Stiffi and Pipe kits. It's certainly quieter than the Pipe, but not as quiet as the Stiffi.

When it comes to shooting through breaks I was slightly disappointed. The "ceramic" coating did little to assist in cleaning out paint, and I found it's performance in this area comparable to the most other barrels out there.
Conclusion: Completely worth the money. Shoots straight and quiet. And getting a range from .682-.693 for $85 is hard to beat. Doesn't shoot through breaks as well as advertised, but it is comparable to the majority of barrels out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

US_Army_Guy Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom
-cyclone feed W/ vortex mod/ lighting rod/ squishy paddles
-Ricochet hopper
-Palmers male reg milled directly to the cvx valve
-Tapco collapsible stock
-Rocket Cock 2
-Fang Trigger
-Empire nano ASA
-Dye Sticky grips
-Response Trigger W/ larger hose fittings
-polished internals
-J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
-removed "Tippmann" , rounded rear site, & filled in warning lable
-Custom Duracoat paint job by Conlee Customs
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, this barrel system eats paint for breakfast
Strengths: Quality
accurate
price
never breaks paint (at least so far for me)
Weaknesses: None
Review: Absolutely great barrel system. I was able to pick the the Elite kit for 90 bucks shipped, and I got more then my moneys worth. I've yet to chop paint with this and if my regular J&J is any indication, this barrel system will shoot right through a barrel break and have you back in the game in 2-3 shots. From 50ft, which in my opion is the typical shooting distance in paintball, this thing is a nail driver. Also, the case that comes with this kit is top notch and offers space for future tips/backs if you don't get the full kit.


I've read a few reviews saying their kit didn't have o-rings on the backs. I found a small pouch in my kit with the o-rings. Was a bit of a pain to slip them on, but no big deal.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good quality barrel kit and don't want to spend an obscene amount of money, this is the way to go. Nowadays you can pick this kit up with 4 backs and 1 front for less then 100 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yomillio Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No kits... just different stock barrels as well as a SP Progressive.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Egg 2
J&J Ceramic Edge Kit
Polished Internals
RT
Ported Feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Its a kit, so bore dosent matter.
Strengths: Shoots through breaks easily
Accurate
Quiet
Good Looks
Light
Price
Weaknesses: Tip only avalible in ceramic now
Only 4 backs but 4 is enough
Review: I just bought this barrel in spring and it has treated me well. When i first opened the kit, I was in awe. The porting looks great, and I like the double texture/color or the ceramic tip and the gloss black back. As I put in the weakness area, the tips now are only avalible in the black ceramic finish. This is not nessasarily a bad thing, but if you want a different color you can't get it ano'ed or anything. The ceramic finish is nice, because its less "sticky" than aluminum for when you get a break. I could typically shoot through a break in a few shots. The barrel is very accurate as long as you have a decent paint and a good paint / bore match. It is more quiet than most that I have used. What makes this barrel shine is that you payed only $100 (or less) for a barrel that works as good if not better than the more expensive kits out there today. This, however, is limited to the fact that you only have 4 backs. Its really not a big deal as it has the most popular bore sizes.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a barrel kit and money is tight, this is the kit for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann T Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 stock barrel, M98 stock barrel, Spyder stock barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with a j and j elite edge barrel kit

Spyder e-99 stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything its a kit
Strengths: It can fit any paintball.
Looks awesome
Weaknesses: Haven't found any
Review: I got this barrel off of Ebay for $95. It is originally $150. I tested this barrel with by stock barrels of my A-5 and M98 and Spyder. This barrel kits butt. It made my gun alot quieter and increased by range and accuracy. This barrel also looks sharp. I was hitting a paint container at 30 yards with old brittle and dimpled paint 9-10 times. At 50 yards i was hitting it 8-10 which is pretty good.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this product to anyone that is interested in a cheaper barrel kit that is still high quality.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odbriangmd Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: TIPPMAN A-5 RESPONSE TRIGGER, , REMOTE TO 68/4500hp, TIPPMAN COLLAPSABLE STOCK, SWAT FORCE RED DOT SIGHT, J&J ELITE BARREL KIT,/14"ALL AMERICAN, TIPPMAN DOUBLE TRIGGER.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything except RPS premium. Marbs excell small ball, bore .682.
Strengths: Multiple tips and bore sizes to match
Weaknesses: Scratch easily. Freak kit has more inserts/bore sizes.
Review: I got me Elite Edge Kit for christmas. Absolutely love it. Used to shoot 14" all american, with good accuracy, but bore is huge .693. I initially thought about getting a freak kit, but liked the idea of separate backs, instead of inserts. My kit came with 5 backs from .682 to .695, with 3 tips (10,12,14). When playing i use marbs when normal and polar ice when cold, i set up my 14, with the appropriate back for example 14/.682 with marbs (very small ball), then i set up the 12" with the next bore up (.685) just in case i get a weird break. Breaks are rare if using the right paint but no paint is perfect. (especially if force to use field paint). The gun does shoot well thru breaks, the next 2-3 will shoot a little off, but not drastically. The paint does however stay in the little venting holes, i am no scientist, but maybe paint in the top vents holes and none in bottom, can affect ball flight, anyway, when action was not heavy, i mearly switched barrels. I have not used the 10 tip yet. The luxury of having multiple barrels available in a single game is huge. Now having an all-american as my 3rd barrel is really great. Mine came with 6 orings.
Conclusion: Awesome product, would buy again and again. Great value. Money not an issue, would have bought Freak kit, if i thought it would benefit.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 at 7:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supersam08 Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jj one piece ceramic, not as good
98 flatline, the edge is SOOOO much better
Stockc barrel for a Wrath, worked better than i thought is would, still no where near the edge
lucky 15 -- pretty nice, i like the edge better though
Marker Setup: 2k3 vf cocker (black with red eblade)
superfly bolt
mpp ram w/ QEVs
J&J edge kit
red KAPP detent

2k3 vf cocker, silver
lucky 15
absolutly nothing, works just fine the way it is
Recommended
Paintballs:
ah haha, you can use anything, the Zap that i like to use (read my review on the stuff) works best with .688 back
Strengths: - wide variety of paint
-laser etched
-looks great (perfect anno match)
- SUPERB accuracy
-Fair porting
Weaknesses: **Only for cocker owners** See review body.
Review: I found this kit on a blow out sale from the 04 line. I immediately picked this up, since it was such a good price, and I had heard so many good things about it.
*1st impressions. The kit arrived packed tightly in a hard black plastic briefcase, very sweet looking. I popped it open and all the pieces were laying in the cool nippled foam. I screwed the 14 inch front onto one of the backs and screwed it into the gun, it looked sooo hot. i went to unscrew it and only the tip came loose, leaving the back buried in the pneumatic of my autococker. >< doh't. I was able to apply pressure from the top and unscrew it by hand.

*** TESTING. i took a few balls and tried each of the backs, i found the best fit and screwed on the front. I gassed up my gun and let out a string of paint, it seemed kinda nice, i wasn't really aiming at anything but the balls went a good 60 feet with a spread of about a foot. I liked it. I had picked up an extra colored front from my shop that was a little shorter, maybe 10 inches total i think. The porting on this combined with my cocker, make each shot SO quiet, all i can hear are my QEVs hissing. Anyway, I set up a "big gulp" full of gravel on a tractor 70 feet away, i ripped a string, and to my sheer joy, only 1 ball out of maybe 15 didn't hit the cup! and after half a case of outright throwing paint, NO BREAKS, I considered crying, I was so happy.
Conclusion: I cannot wait to get into a big match with this beauty, I am gogging somebody i GUARANTEE it. Well, in conclusion, this is what my field owner uses, and he has been playing since before I was in diapers, so there must be something to this kit. I am going to give it a 9 for now, just because it worked so nicely in testing, I will update it to a 10 if i gog somebody this Saturday.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 9th, 2005 at 12:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thejones Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi
All American
Kaner
Marker Setup: 2k3 Autococker
Palmer Rock, stabilizer, low turbulance valve, and quickram
E-Blade
Shocktech Supafly Delrin Bolt
J&J Edge Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Its a kit....pretty much anything goes.
Strengths: Very well built barrel kit. Very accurate, quite, all around sweet.
Weaknesses: Can be a pain if the back gets stuck on your cocker.
Review: Man, you cant beat the price! I found this for $70. With 4 backs, it covers just about all the major sizes you use. Very nice looking barrel and whats more, it actually performs!

I've used the Kaner barrels and I must say, they are damn nice too. But I've found the performance of the Edge kit to be up there with that of the Kaner kit for a fraction of the cost!

For those having problems opening the case, you just need to put your back into it. its a little stiff, but would you rather have the case pop open and dump your barrels out? not me....
Conclusion: Very good kit, especially for the money. I highly recommend.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 10:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrbacon Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe
10" boomstick
16" J&J ceramic
14" teardrop
Marker Setup: 2002 Orracle w/eclipse e-blade. Palmer stabilizer, and LPR. Freeflow internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any
Strengths: Accurate, variable bores, good price
Weaknesses: No o-rings for the backs, that seems to be standard for J&J
Review: I am really impressed by this barrel kit. It is accurate and well made. With only 4 backs it is not quite as versitile as a full freak, but for $100 it can not be beat. Good solid construction, it does not have that fragile feel that the Evil pipe kit had (to me atleast). J&J has produced a great product, as they always do.
Conclusion: A barrel kit that is easily affordable, accurate, and a quality product. You can not go wrong with this kit.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media