paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
radishboy Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom products kit
Marker Setup: evil omen
dead on products bullet drop
check it products clamping lowrise
j&j edge kit
PDP chip
evolution 2 w/ Z board
crossfire 88/4500 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesnt the fact that its a kit eliminate the need for specific paint?
Strengths: light
looks sexy
accurate
easy to change backs
the price
Weaknesses: the case is a pain to open
doesnt come with o-rings
Review: first time i ever used this kit was at my cousins house; i had went over to help him install some stuff on his cocker. he showed me his new edge kit and i noticed that it looked beautiful. of course, it wanted to see what it looked like on my omen, so i did. he has a pond in his back yard with a metal shed on the other side, so i shot a couple rounds at it. i was amazed how straight it shot. i shot about half a hopper, all flying straight enough for me to hit whatever i wanted to. im not gonna make up a grouping form such and such feet, your just going to have to trust me.

later, i went and ordered my own (with a red tip) from paintballdiscounters.com for $114.00 (which is a wondeful price)

when i got it, it preformed just as well as it did before, even with old PMI big ball. it comes in a nifty case too, but its a pain to open sometimes. it also only comes wiith one o-ring, which isn really that big of a problem.
Conclusion: i give it a nine because there are better kits out there, but nothing comes close when you factor in price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JOBBRAVE34 Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP All American, pmi razzor, and stock barrels
Marker Setup: 2003 Cocker, drop forward, 20oz, j&j edge, and ricochet ak,
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, except brass eagle
Strengths: diffrent sized bores
accuracy
case
colors
Weaknesses: the back gets is hard to get off on a cocker
Review: I think it is the best barrel I have ever tried. The kit comes in a nice foam lined plastic case. I got the barrel with the 12 inch tip and it is black. The accuacy is superb with this barrel. I have never broke a ball yet in it with over 4000 rounds put through. Except for the one time i tried to shoot four balls at once.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel, very accurate, versitle, and you impress the newbies when you roll up with a black case for your barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MKLEMANN Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Factory Barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra, Nitro-ACI Bulldog 91ci, J&J Edge Barrel System, Drop Forward, X-Board Hopper

Angel IR3 C&C, Angel Air-68-4500, Factory Barrel, X-Board Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can use almost any paintballs. Try not to get anything too large, the inserts only go to .693. Brass Eagle doesn't shoot well from almost any barrel, including this system.
Strengths: You can shoot nearly all paintballs available.
Sturdy
Easy to Use
Good Accuracy

Weaknesses: Although there are four backs, this system won't shoot all paintballs out there.
Review: I personally like the system. I found that it provided good accuracy for my Spyder Electra. I was able to impress people with Angels, including myself.

The price is expensive but it's worth it to get rid of the hassle's when you go to different paintball fields and know you'll have a good paint to barrel match.

I know I said that you can't shoot all paintball's out there but I haven't been to a field yet that uses paintballs beyond the limits of this system. Just be careful of the paint you buy for rec play.
Conclusion: The J&J Edge Barrel System is a good purchase. It has taken me through some tournaments and performed well. I can't think of any reasons why you wouldn't want to buy the system.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 26th, 2003 at 10:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaysonPaintball Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, JJ Ceramic, ThunderPig, ACI PHAT,
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98, JJ EDGE, expansion w/ a vert adapter, Dbl trigger, venturi bolt,
32 degree remote, 20oz Co2, Empire E- hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Marbs, Chronics and Infernos
Strengths: 4 very nice looking backs and different length Tips. Ball sizing is priceless
Weaknesses: Nothing with barrels.
Review: I have used many different barrels, always looking for just the right one. I came across the Edge series on accident. You can't beat this barrel for accuracy and usability. The 4 backs I got with the 12" (total) tip is perfect. I use it on my 98C and bought it with the money from the almost worthless Flatline. If you want a HIGH QUALITY barrel at a great price, (I got mine for 115.00 w/ free shipping) THIS is the set for you. As you can see I have used most mid-upper end barrels and this one is the one for me. The box is hard to open and close, but I didn't buy a case, I bought barrels, and they rock!
Conclusion: I highly recomend this barrel set. I sold my Flatline and bought these and I am extremely happy that I did. Buy it! Just don't pay 150.00
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rodmansju Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
no other barrel kits
Marker Setup: 2k3 outkast cocker, crossfire HPA tank, j&j edge kit, PB drop fwd with on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
ive shot some no-name paint from a local store, shot well, also draxxus midnight
Strengths: affordable, interchangeable and very flexible
Weaknesses: none that i can see as of yet
Review: Just a very good buy, in my opinion--100 at first call paintball, you get four backs and a front, and any additional fronts are 22 from J+J. people say the freak is better because you only need to buy one back per marker, where for this kit you would need all new backs. Personally, I dont intend on shooting anything but this for a long time, so i was fine with the decision to get it. Besides, EVERYONE i know of or asked, that shoots a freak kit, only uses like 3 or 4 inserts anyways. and on top of that, most of my play is and will be at places where i get to bring my own paint. so if i get a bad barrel/paint match, its on me, not the barrell.
Conclusion: well worth buying, 4 barrels for 100 from a trusted name, cant be beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, CP Barrel kit, ACI Phat sleeved kit, JT 2-Piece
Marker Setup: 2001 Red CnC Angel LCD
Red and black J&J Edge kit
Red Kapp Mid-rise
Red Kapp Volumizers
Cobra Stick Trigger
Worrgas 70/4500 adjustable
Evo2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Modular bore-any paint you want.
I mainly use chronic
Strengths: Multiple bore sizes, durable (no inserts to break)
Weaknesses: Only four bore sizes (minor), case is hard to open and close
Review: On my angel I used to just use a CP One-Piece .693 barrel. It worked well enough for me. That is until I tried my friends Edge barrel. This is an amazing barrel. With the different bore sizes, I don't have to worry about what type of paint I use. I shoot chronic, draxxus and rps paint. Even if I do manage to get a break in the barrel, I can actually shoot through the break, and it'll be relatively clean after that. Unlike the freak I had on my cocker before i got the angel. One break, and the whole thing'd have to be cleaned. Otherwise I wouldn't be able to hit crap. I also like the look of the Edge. The control bore milling is pretty industrial looking and kinda nifty. I also like the lightning bolts milled into the tip. The system is really cheap as well.

The only thing that I would say isn't the greatest about the barrel is that it only comes with four bore sizes. And they're kinda funky ones too. I'm used to .686 and .689. Not .685 and .688. But thats not a big issue either. The case is a pain to open and close, but that has nothing to do with the barrel.
Conclusion: Great barrel, good looks, great price. What more could you want? Awesome product overall. I recommend this barrel to anyone and everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmike1888 Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razzor
Smart Parts Progressive
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
SP Q-Lock Feedneck
Crossfire 68/4500 High Output
Empire Reloader B
J&J Edge Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a kit...anything should work.
Strengths: Great performance increase over stock.
Pretty quiet
Good quality
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I bought this kit at a field store. I brought it home and tested it on year old DBX paint. It performed ok...I had no breaks at least. I used it at the field the next day with this paint called V1. I had never heard of it, but it was the most expensive paint the field was selling that day. I had the .685 back, and I grabbed 15 balls and 12 of them blew through easily and the rest were just a touch tougher.

The barrel was pretty accurate until I started getting breaks like crazy. The barrel cleans itself decently, but it takes quite a few shots. I bumped up the size to .691 and I had no more breaks. Ive never seen the accuracy of a top of the line kit like the freak or pepper sticks or something like that, so I cant honestly say much about its performance.

The spread seemed ok to me. WAY better than stock at least.
Conclusion: From my first impressions this kit worked good. Pretty accurate. I think alot of the problem was the paint choice. I'll give it another shot with different paint.

I cant see myself sticking with this kit. I wanted a Powerlyte Sceptor.

I'll update this review next weekend when I play again.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

taylorjames Friday, January 30th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak Barrel System
WGP Kaner Barrel System
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Vertical AutoCocker
-12" Freak Barrel System
-Palmer's Micro Rock LPR
-KAPP F.A.T. Ram
-Check-It Full Force 3.0 Bolt
-AKA Sidewinder HPR
-ANS Quickfire Frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums (except pure pink shell, it broke easily, very brittle shell), Marbalizers, All Stars
Strengths: Cheap alternative to Freak,Kaner or Empire
Weaknesses: Accuracy and smoothness of the barrel (inside)
Review: 1st Impressions
I liked the case it came with, and the fact I had a barrel system for only $99.

1st Usage
Had quite a few barrel breaks, even with the correct bore. I even went to a bigger bore sometimes to avoid such problems, still occured. The threading seemed to scrape every time I put into the marker. I learned you get what you pay for.

Continued Use
Only used twice, I was displeased with my balls curving or the occasional barrel break and traded for a Freak System.
Conclusion: Save your money and buy something else. Either the 4-Piece Empire or go big and get the new all Stainless Steel Freak.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

dyebpoy Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp barrel, empire kit, freak kit
Marker Setup: Dye Dmc with Virtue chip cp barrel kit and cp reg, Halo B, and crossfire 68/3000 carbon fiber tank
"back up gun"
Smart parts ion, with mushie board, cp barrel kit, cp reg, hybrid feed neck, hybrid grips, cp rail and on off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything its a kit
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Back are to short,
Breaks paint
inaccurate
Review: This is a really bad barrel kit! it is pretty inaccurate compared to lots of other barrel + it breaks paint and is just not really a good kit and is not close to worth the money! there isn't really much to say but this is a really bad kit DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Don't buy this kit
please tell me if you think this review was helpful or not
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

evilpaintball07 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Driver barrel(accurate, loud)-worse
Dye ultralite-(accurate, breaks balls)-worse
Lots ofStocks-worse
All American-(accurate, expensive)-about the same
Marker Setup: -Evil Omen 2.0
-VL evlution 3
-Draxxus 45/4500 tank
-J&J edge kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
I'ts a kit, it can use just about any
Strengths: -QUIET
-accurate
-kit
-looks cool
-cheap
-no barrel breaks
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as $150+ barrel kits (of course)
Review: Get This barrel. They are the best in their price range by far, $65 at firstcall paintball. These are the quietes barrels I have ever put a paintball through. I noticed a huge difference in noise from my stock barrell. The accuracy was pretty good, especially with the 12 inch tip.
Conclusion: I would defenitely buy this over any other barrel under $120.

Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 11th, 2007 at 2:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media