paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
foughtwolf Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AA
UL
Freak
Pipe
boomstick
Marker Setup: ion/CP reg/ CP Roller Trigger/ Dead on three inch on/off drop forward/Hybrid Clamp neck/J&J Edge kit/ Contract Killer grips(One with guy with gun in hand).

Promaster #477, CP Reg, CP flame drop, CP on/off ASA, Timmi stock feedneck, J$J barrel kit.

Shocker 05 vision #13772, CP Reg, CP drop, CP on/off ASA. Contract Killer grips (Same as Ions) HE bolt, Q-lock feedneck, all Amreican.
Recommended
Paintballs:
just about anything really, its a good system for all paint.
Strengths: Self cleaning.
Mirco-honed very well.
Colors.
Shoots darts.
Weaknesses: Maybe the fact that they stopped making the gloss black ones...
Review: ok, well we first got two backs and one front for my Ion, we didnt want to buy a full set and it be crap. Well, it worked great so we got a 'cocker kit for the Promaster. Shoots darts to the max. I've bumped it one the ground, wooden bunkers, all sorts of stuff and theres only minimal scratching on it. Its much better then the pipe or Boomsticks, and lighter. the self cleaning thing has saved my in games a few times(we have a few ferrets and the get to the paintballs sometimes and nick one open) I've had one barrel break from the whole lot of around 15 cases or paint.
Conclusion: Buy it, buy it, buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, CP one piece
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 45/4500 Air America High Output HPA, HALO-B, SP 360 QEV, NDZ Roller trigger, Trinity Slim Body blue/black fade, CP Razor drop and CP on/off ASA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything fresh. Having 6 different bores means this doesn't really matter anymore.
Strengths: Strong, lightweight, affordable, attractive, very versatile, relativly quiet.
Comes with carrying case.
Weaknesses: No .689 back.
Review: Recieved as a gift and is currently operating on my Ion. I have the full bore set (6 backs, 3 fronts). Very impressed with quality and build. Extremely lightweight barrel, and I prefer having solid backs, the FREAK's sleeves always seemed a bit vulnerable when not in the case. Very good price for the full bore set, and excellent alternative for someone who doesn't want to plunk down $200 but still wants a barrel kit.
Powedercoating on the black is uniform and very well done. Porting is smooth and effective at reducing sound. Shoot darts as long as your paint is good. Only surprise was no .689 back. Oh well, the .688 back works pretty darn well in its place. Comes in a nice little carrying case. Overall, very satisfied. J&J makes another quality product.
Conclusion: Arguably the best kit for your money. Looks good (at least IMO), shoots good, lots of options (create 12", 14", or 16" with any back at will), and is lightweight yet tough and won't scratch easily. Shoots through braks nicely as well. Strongly reccomend.
I give it a 9 for not including the .689 back.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dreamvillian Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic 14"
stock spyder and cocker barrels
16" sniper barrel
Marker Setup: 02 stock cocker (needs a new reg)
supafly bolt
custom drop
This barrel kit
Pure energy 72/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, thats the point of getting a kit so you can use any paint.
Strengths: customizable, Good price, nice ceramic coating
Weaknesses: Can be hard to install/remove on autocockers
Review: I got the 4 peice edge kit for about $70 and an 8 inch front and 10 front for 15 each. One thing to remember about ordering fronts, the length you see is counting the 5.5 inch back. so my 8 inch front only sticks out 1.5 inches past my pneumatics, Which is cool in some situations (playing front) I used this barrel with blaze and wild streak paintballs. My velocity was all over 220-302 because my reg was acting up not because of the barrel. I noticed a couple things; when using crappy paint try all of your backs until you find one that shoots straight, i ended up using .691 back with the wild streak paintballs it shot more consistently even though balls could roll right out of the barrel (they had some slim on them, tight bore caused them to hook badly).

I will update this review once i get my new sidewinder reg. and spring kit.
Conclusion: Not a bad kit. It shot better what my J&j 14" ceramic, which is also not bad. My experience was marred by a bad reg. I was still able to see improvements when using this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TreeTalker Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic Barrel 14"
Dye Excel 14"
Smart Parts Teardrop 14"
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ E-Grip
Tapco Tactical stock
12" J&J Edge Elite Barrel Kit
32 Degree Remote
45 Degree offset
30mm Red Dot Site
PMI 72/3000 HPA Bottle
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used many different brands through this barrel. To many for me even remember. As you know some paint works well while others don't. Has nothing to do with the barrel.
Strengths: Being able to have a paint to barrel match no matter where we play.
Weaknesses: Did not find any weaknesses at all with this product.
Review: After trying 3 different barrels on our guns, we decided to go with a barrel kit. All the barrels we used worked well as long as we could get a good paint to barrel match. My wife and I got tired of having to worry if we would find a good match every time we played. So we decided to give a barrel kit a try.

I wish we would have just bought these instead of wasting our money on all the other barrels. We found a great deal on the Edge kit off ebay, so I bought to kits. We have used these everywhere we have played for the last few months. These barrels are very accurate and well made.

It shoots just as well as any of our other barrels, with the added bonus of fitting any paint out there. So if you are new to the sport I would recommend just getting a barrel kit right off the bat and saving yourself some money in the long run.
Conclusion: We give this barrel kit a 10 for many reasons. I got these off ebay for $36 each plus $10 shipping. The quality is top notch. And they are just as accurate as anything else we have used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

phantomoak Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, Empire kit, Freak kit
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05, PMI remote, HPA, Ricochet 2KX hopper (~12BPS to gun), Edge Barrel, Trinity feeder, 15* Drop, Evil Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Marbs and they worked well, Used Proball in freazing temps and they worked ok
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Gets cold easy as all get out with CO2 or cold weather...
Review: I got this barrel about a month ago, and it stepped my game up a notch over any other barrel I had tried. I can hit just about anyone with two or three shots if I have range.

The things I thought were great were that I could paint the edge of a tree or bunker well enough to scare people into staying put and I could shoot through most breaks with 2 shots.

This system came with 4 backs and at $80 it seemed to be a good deal.

Over the freak or empire kits I would pick this one 9 times out of ten. It is solid so far (as I am not very careful with my gear and nothing has dented). It is not going to have the little bits that a freak has and is lighter and just as accurate as an empire from what I can tell. Take that and the price and I would grab a J&J again.

The bad; it is darn easy to scratch the finish and grind the tip up. Also I bumped it against my car door and it took plenty-o-paint off of the car.

The other not so bad. I live in a cold area and broke a ball in the barrel (I use a size small just for kicks) and because it was around 15-25* outside the paint froze up in the barrel. I tried to shoot it out and it just made it worse. The lesson; ceramic only works above freazing.
Conclusion: I would get this if you want something that will work well for a small price. Best upgrade you can get is a barrel and this works better then ok. Odd shapped balls dont work well, as they break like crazy...9, because there are better out there (including just buying 6 barrels) and I have used it 5 times and it looks like I drove over it with a tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Funphantom Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic 1-piece
Marker Setup: E-Orracle Black/Red Fade
Black Magic Regulator
Stiffi Bolt
Belsales .44 ram w/eclipse QEV's
Dye Throttle 70/4500 w/rhino cover
unknown flame drop
J&J edge barrel kit
HALO TSA FRONTMAN LED

Vision Impulse black
I-Frame
green/amber light board (yuck)
Voodoo delrin Bolt
dye stickies
Freak Kit
run mostly on anti-siphon 20oz
Ricochet 2k

Home Milled and drilled 98custom-Blue fleck painted
Palmer's stabilizer reg
double trigger
Milled sight rail, sights, gills, lettering, and behind front grip
Dye Sticky 3's
J&J Ceramic barrel
(maybe i should sell some stuff)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality paint- With different backs you can match bore to almost any size. low quality paint is right out, what good is the sweetest barrel on paint that isn't round?
Strengths: SHoots darts, suoer accurrate, smooth for self cleaning maybe, light
Weaknesses: Too much porting? FInish
Review: Well first off it's a great barrel system that can land balls right on top of eachother. Secondly it's cheap compared to many barrel systems. Third, its VERY light, you can barely feel it on there (though im sure the stiffi's are lighter) thats about it its great. a few bad things are the finish doesn't match anything on your gun and looks smeared if you get any oil or fingerprints on it, It is also not quite as sizeable as a freak but who cares, thats overkill anyways. The thing i don't like about it th the finish is on the threads too when you put it together it makes this gross scaping noise and your like OH NO IM HURTING MY BARREL but its ok. It is also very strong i acctentally rammed the tip into a concret bunker as i slid in and i thought for sure the tip would be trashed, but it was justa little scratch and didnt hurt accuracy at all. There is ALOT of porting on this, maybe so much as to cause drag and make it less efficicient, i don't know i'm not an engineer.
Conclusion: Great Barrel kit, definitely the best bang for your buck barrel out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

N_toxicated Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
for the price.... nothing

got a mac dev matchstik - better accuracy overall better quality
Marker Setup: b2k4 pds - cp reg, cp on/off w/ cp rail drop, vapor valve, SCM-III, delrin bolt pin, z-board egg, polish internals, j&j edge kit(ceramic) 5 piece, and CCM low rise.

tes - jam anti-chop bolt , maddman rocket valve, DOA bullet unimount, polish internals, zenitram dragun tooth trigger, and matchstik 5 piece
Recommended
Paintballs:
any... there are four bores in this kit
Strengths: Light
clean through breaks very very well
accurate
price
Weaknesses: Carring case that came seems kinda cheap

Review: this barrel is lighter then my stock barrel that came w/ my b2k. So thats a plus.
wow, and if u manage to chop a ball this thing is super slick, cleans out so well i didn't even notice i chopped a ball till after i finish my loader. Even w/ a chopped ball, it cleaned itself out so well(only a couple of shots after the break), the accurracy was still there. The carring case that came w/ mine was crap, it was like soft fabaric flaps held together by velcro, so i replace it w/ a dye boombox .
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price ... got mines for about $67 w/o shipping
performace wise .. this barrel can shoot darts w/ the right paint to bore match
i give it a 9 because the amount this thing cost and the amount of performance u get
get this barrel if your on budget like me ... or get this barrel if you ain't ...ya'll love it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 3:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowMech Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 with E grip
J&J edge kit barrel
AK 47 expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
any due to the bore sizes even oblonged and dimpled paint
Strengths: Self cleaning
Easy to read sizes
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got to use my J&J edge kit fo rthe first time today. I got the kit with the 12 inch and 16 inch barrel lengths. The kit comes in a solid plastic case. I was using the Auto responce mode throughout the day and was shooting a tremendous amount of paint. I shot nearly a case of paint rippling streams of paint each time. The paint I was using had numerous dimples and some were football shaped. I still shot it all with ZERO breaks.

I finally decided to give an intentional break and shot 2 rounds into my barrel cover. I then removed the cover and fired once. Paint litterally poured out the barrel. I fired again missing slightly to the side of my 6 inch target 50 feet away. I then fired another round and hit the target. I shot numerous shots and achieved 2-3 inch patterns.

Conclusion: The self cleaning capability was amazing to the point I am returning my squeegee unused. I am very satisfied with the qulity of the product. This is a wonderful kit for the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Worr Pimp Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL, Evil Pipe Kit, a lot of others...
Marker Setup: Black Dust DM4, 68/4500 PMI , CP ROLLER, Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
I was using PMI Premies...Seemed to work fine.
Strengths: Sexy because of black dust...quiet and accurate...NICE CASE
Weaknesses: Hard to fine new tips.
Review: This paintball barrel kit worked fine for my Dye DM4. I only had 1 break the whole day of the tournment and that was on the side line so I was able to clean it right away. I do believe my air was kinda choke. I was able to shoot lines pretty accurate. I was using a 12 in. kit. It is quiet also. For the price I got it for it was a great deal. Got to love friends that work at paintball stores.
Conclusion: I would recomend one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

medic49675 Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
equation multi switch
Marker Setup: SPYDER SE, J&J edge 10", custom bolt and valve, Benchy double trigger, thor reg, pmi 45/4500

PTP MICROCOCKER, 10" J&J edge, thor reg, pmi 45/4500, KAPP slider frame, Palmers pneumatics

PHANTOM VSC, 12" J&J edge, Custom L stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works well with various sized balls.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light
Well built
Quiet
NO INSERTS
Weaknesses: Hard to find replacement tips
Not available with green tips stock
Review: This is by far the best barrel kit I have ever owned. As you can see I have them on all my guns now and wouldn't trade them for anything. I have tried many brads of barrels and barrel kits over my years of play, and J&J has consistantly turned out excellent products time and time again.
Conclusion: BUY THIS NOW if you are in the market for a multi bore barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media