paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Good Ole Boy Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak and flatline system
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger ..... 90/ 4500 nitro with helicoil remote . Aimshot laser system with folding stock .
Recommended
Paintballs:
Field grade or better
Strengths: Adaptable tp all balls I've ever tried !
Weaknesses: Needs smaller pouch to carry around .
Review: Very good system . Versatile to almost any paint around . Excellent fit to gun and no edges or misalignment whatsoever. Went to local huge PB firing range and store tried about every barrel system made . Flatline was so slow opponents could jump out of the way as balls headed towards them . Alright if you're shooting targets but painting dodging humans forget it. The freak system was a big pain in the butt and " NOT WORTH THE MONEY " and those stupid adapters .... oh well ! Those 20 " plus barrels same as flatline take alot of air and are as slow as grandma's mule. Bust a ball in a flatline buddy .... while you're cleaning and tearing it apart you're painted up like a xmas tree ! Cleans out as good as most ceramics !
Don't let some idiot with more cash than brains lead your buying ... freaks suck .. flatlines are for still tagets ... get this kit !
Conclusion: Great system and price is good as they're on sale everywhere. 14" barrel will do it all and is accurate as a $200.00 or more dollar system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjd10684 Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel kit on 3 diffrent markers
Marker Setup: witch one?
stock nova 700 9v revy

tippman a5 with freak

impulse with freak halo b psycho drop evil resp and evil valve

blm spyder body and palmer reg all the internals were custom made with esp frame egg2

sisters xtra 12v rev j&j edge barrel esp frame
Strengths: Several backs w\ difrent tips
Weaknesses: Only one color back.
Review: my sister bought this barrel from j&j at the IAO and used it at the senerio game. it preformed flawlessly a huge upgrade from stock barrel. also the diffrent sized backs is a big plus. bascicly it was a step in between stock and freak barrels. i would say that it was a great buy good auccrecy quietness and the good name of j&j. what else can you want.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you want the most of the auccrecy of a freak at about half of the price go for it. it does not get a 10 though because some times it loosens from the marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KrusteeButt Friday, April 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Having only used single piece barrels
Marker Setup: 2K2 WGP 'cocker, Freeflow internals, shocktech front, Bob Long bolt, E-blade
Strengths: Price!!!
Weaknesses: No Orings on backs. For Autocockers, backs difficult to remove because of gun's pneumatics.
Review: Lots of good stuff, main thing being price. 4 backs is usually good enough and for $114, I'm pretty pleased. I like the fact that it's only offered in 2 colors...reduce the number "bling-bling" idiots out there...they can keep their Freaks.

For the most part I'm happy with the purchase. Perhaps as one becomes a little more experienced and play at lots of different places, there may be a need for more backs and possibly one or two more different length fronts...but for me that's overkill. This set was just the right set-up for me. Full sized backs (instead of different sized inserts like the Freak) to me are the way to go...especially if you have a tendency to drop stuff. Ping! There goes another Freak insert! Not so with these.

It'd be nice if J&J came up with some sort of tool to remove the backs...because of the pneumatics on 'cockers there's really nowhere to get a hold on the back to remove it. But that's my only big complaint.
Conclusion: Great set, especially for the price. Hopefully J&J will make some add-on pieces to go with it...oh, and include the freakin' O-rings!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spimpulse17 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak kit...
Marker Setup: 2002 impulse, with too many mods to write out...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint, it all works good!
Strengths: It shoots straight, cleans well, and looks nice on my gun.
Weaknesses: could have a O-ring on the on the back of the barrel.
Review: When i got my kit and opend it up, it looked very nice in the case! I put it on my Impy and shot it, it shot straighter than a arrow... I loved it.. I put my gun in full auto and chopped two balls, after that i put it back in semi auto and shot one ball and it cleaned out very nice! I dont even have to carry a squeege any more. I have the blue front and black back.. And i bought the kit for 114.99 shipped! from paintballdiscounters
Conclusion: I recommend this kit to any one looking for a freak kit, cause it cost like 60.00 less than the freak kit, and it shoots straighter than it too! Buy it and you will like it...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick
Pro 1
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: 2001 Angel lcd
Centerflag inline Reg
CCM low Rise
Intellifeed
J&J Edge Barrels
Recommended
Paintballs:
Kick'n Paintballs
32 Degrees
Strengths: Barrels are very accurate
The basic set comes with 3 backs and your choice of what color tip you want.
not a very loud barrel and the good thing about a 2 piece is you can change your lengths and bore sizes quickly between games.
They come in there own tournament case
Weaknesses: i really cant think of anything bad to say about them 3 barrels for $150 cant beat that.
Conclusion: if you just got the marker it would be a good thing to invest in so you can have three different bores to startr with.

I have shot them out of my cocker and my Angel and i cant give any complaints about them
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M_Foster87 Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, SP All American, Dye Excel, Evil Pipe, J&J Ceramic. But no comparison
Marker Setup: Black Rat LTD, VL Egg, Shocktech 5" Drop w/ Shocktech On/Off, 12" J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Just get the right bore and you are good to go.
Strengths: Accurate, Different Bores, Shoots through Breaks, Looks, Price,Quality
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just got this barrel for my Rat LTD and this is by far the Best barrel i have ever had. I took it out shooting and I was hitting the exact same spot on a tree from 60' every shot. No curves or anything and i was using old, cheap paint. I chopped one ball and after 2 shots the balls where going just as straight as before. The different bores is very nice. I found the perfect bore for the balls I was shooting and they were shooting perfectly. I think this barrel looks great and there are no imperfections inside or outside the barrel. For the price this is definately the best kit out there. You can find it for $70 sometimes.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel kit. For the price this is by far the best kit out there. I would suggest this to anyone that wants a barrel kit but doesnt want to spend tons of money. BUY THE J&J EDGE NOW.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ItVVazntM3 Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Stock Barrel
Frantom-II Barrel (takes freak inserts)
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
1200 Psi gauge - Hardline
WWA One Piece Feed
WWA Fr-Antom II
WWA Ghost Ring
Trigger Shoe
Telescoping T-stock
.45 grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
None
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Shoots through paint
Review: Accuracy - Due to the different bore sizes, it allows for you to have better paint matches which will give you better accuracy. Accuracy isn't the best I have seen, but it is okay.

Different Bore Sizes - It comes with 4 different backs now and fronts are interchangeable.

Shoots through paint - The Ceramic barrel was supposed to shoot through paint breaks in the barrel, when I had

On a lighter note, the barrel in the picture is for the Phantom and Phantom only! Those backs are 8.5 inches in length (to clear pump handle) while the regular backs for the EDGE Kit are 5 inches in length.
Conclusion: This barrel kit is okay, there are better out there. But for the price it cannot be beat, unless you are using a Phantom, then go with the Fr-antom II.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Parasite Thursday, January 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Lapco
-Dye
-Smart Parts Freak
-Barrels Of America
-Custom Products
Marker Setup: -2k1 Intimidator
-Clamshell Frame
-Gladiator Regulator
-W.A.S. Equalizer Board
-PMI 88/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: -No Flimsy Inserts to mess with
-Quiet Compared To Most
Weaknesses: -Cheap Nickel Plating
-Supplied Case DIFFICULT To Open (not a big deal)
-Bore Size could be marked more clearly
Conclusion: Overall i was VERY impressed with this barrel system. Low price, good quality, and a good company backing it. I've only had one disappointment with it: after accidentially leaving paint on it for a week, the nickel plating began to flake. Not a big deal due to where the paint happened to be, but this could definitely be a BIG problem, should the barrel begin to flake on the inside. Bore size is somewhat difficult to read, due to the fact that it is written in small font w/ white letters on chrome, but that isn't a critical issue.

I would reccomend this kit to anyone, especially for it's value. As long as it's cared for properly, you can expect long terms of service from it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impyshooter Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP ALL AMERICAN, DYE BOOMSTICK, J&J CERAMIC, CP
Marker Setup: GRAY TO BLACK FADE TKO VISION IMPULSE, 12V REVY W/XBOARD, SHOCKTECH DROP, 68/4500 CROSSFIRE, TAPE WORM, 14 INCH ALL AMERICAN AND A 10 INCH J&J EDGE BARREL SYSTEM
Recommended
Paintballs:
JT MAXIM, MARBALLIZER
Strengths: BARREL IS ACCURATE AND QUIET, LOOKS GOOD HAS A NICE CASE AND YOUR GETTING THREE BARRELS FOR $150 ALTHOUGH AFTER I GOT MINE I SAW IT SOME WHERE ELSE FOR $114, BUT THE BARREL WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND I HAD NO BREAKS AND WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH ITS PERFORMANCE. THE BARREL IS VERY LIGHT AND I BELIEVE THE EDGE SYSTEM COMES IN DIFFERENT COLORS, MINE IS BLACK AND I'VE SEEN A RED SET. I'VE USED JT MAXIM AND MARBALLIZER AND EVEN USED TEAM COLORS THAT LOOKED LIKE MOON ROCKS AND DIDN'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS.
Weaknesses: NONE I CAN THINK OF EXCEPT MY CASE IS A LITTLE HARD TO OPEN
Conclusion: YOU GET A QUALITY BARREL SYSTEM FROM A GREAT PB NAME (J&J) FOR A REASONABLE PRICE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KyleSchenk Sunday, November 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 2K2 Red Vert Feed Cocker
14''J&J Edge Kit
12'' Nickel BOA w/ Porting & Black Coating
CP Flame Drop Forward
CP ON/OFF ASA
Ric AK
Kapp Screw Kit
Eclipse Hinge w/ Shocktech Roller Sear
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever you like and matches the bore.
Strengths: Works good. Having the different sized control bores is nice. cheaper alternative to the freak. if you only shoot a couply types of paint the this is for you. It looks really good and i like that new tips are way cheeper than ones for anyother type of barrel. It performs the same as a dye and smartparts barrels.
Weaknesses: Hard to get more control bases if you want them. but just look around for site that carries them. The tip is to large of bore to take most barrel plugs. thats fine just use a barrel condom.
Conclusion: Really good barrel for what you pay for it. The only thing that bothers me is that J&J is now sending them with 4 backs instead of the 3 that i got. I would have to say if you looking for a new barrel, definatly check this one out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media