paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
KoreanKyle212 Tuesday, October 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Random J&J Barrel
Empire Twister
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
68ci 4500psi Nitro
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not sure
Strengths: Price
Looks
Comes with Case
Weaknesses: No back O rings
Review: Well I originally picked this up for my old Autococker. For the price, it seemed like a good deal and I had previously had a good experience with my J&J barrel (not sure of the model to be honest). First thing I noticed was that it was sort of rough when you put the barrel together and on the gun. Next, there was no O ring on the back block (not a big deal tho). The first time I used it I noticed it was very quiet and accurate. Only thing is, it broke a decent amount of paint. I figured maybe I had a bad case and disregarded it. Next time I went I got the best paintballs available at the field (marbs). I broke paint even though the bore was matched correctly. It got to the point where I could not go a round without breaking paint. I even used a larger back (figuring maybe it was a little too small for the paintballs) and same results. Next, I figured that maybe it was my marker (relatively new, only put about 6000 paintballs through). I tried it on my old autococker and my friends cocker and had the same results each time. The second I switched to my other J&J barrel, I did not break paint the rest of the day.
Conclusion: Maybe I just have a bad kit where something wasn't honed as well as it should have been. The next time I go to my local pro shop, I am going to trade it in for another kit. From what I did see, it shot accurate and silent.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P-ballplaya1440 Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Freak system
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Electra
J&J Edge Allstar Kit
Black Halo B
48ci/3000psi Pure Energy Air Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, since it has different bore sizes
Strengths: Shoots through paint
Looks Good
accurate, only shoots darts
Just about everything
Weaknesses: Breaks paint when you have a bore size that is to small for your paint
Review: well, i just got this in the other week from J&J's website i got the allstar kit that comes with four bore sizes (.685, .688, .691, and .693) and two different sized fronts (12 inch and 14 inch) and it works like a charm! way better than the Freak system...of course, my cousin doesn't think so (he has a freak)...but when it comes to accuracy between the two i shoot darts with the edge and shoot about a 2 inch spread with the freak at about 20 yards...so if you're thinking about the freak, maybe you should reconsider and go with the Edge...it's up to you...Pay less for the superior Edge ($130) or pay more for the inferior Freak ($150)
Not to mention that J&J is probably the best barrel company on the planet
Conclusion: excellent product, J&J really exceeds exceeds my expectations and it will do the same for you 10 out of 10! Way to go J&J!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBcrawler Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick's, Freak, etc.
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker, J&J Edge series 14in. Barrel set, Revolution Loader (w/ X-board), N2, Delrin Bolt, Hinge Trigger frame, an Orracle Safety (enables you to shorten the trigger pull), And a P&P Drop Forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS paintballs rule, I recommend El Tigre, or All-star, Polar Ice is great in the winter, and if you don't want to spend that much on paint, Diablo (Draxxus) paint works well too.
Strengths: I love it!!!! Simple, yet Amazingly accurate. Easy to clean, and change sizes. For the money, you can't find a better barrel set, and it comes in a handy little case, what more can you ask for????
Weaknesses: NOTHING AT ALL!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I seriously recommend this barrel set, you can't beat it with a Stick, a Boomstick that is, ha ha ha. Get it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burns130 Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic 14" (see review)
stock barrels (they are stock)
A-5 Flatline (still love my flatline)
A-5 Apex (will be selling soon...don't like the 15-20 deg up firing angle)
Marker Setup: Wow...here goes
2 X A-5's (set up the same way except for barrels)
R/T (1/8 inch tubing)
Cippard MEV-2 (QEV)
JCS Jet Click
X-7 paddles
X-7 hopper
Palmers Stabilizer
Cabela's brand 30mm red dot scope
Allen brand aluminum front grip covered with black diamondback grip (fits perfect, feels awesome, looks downright mean)
remote with quick disconnect
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
Flatline with thumb screw kit (gun #1)
J&J Edge Elite Kit with 10/12/14 fronts (gun #2)

2 X ions (set up same way except for color/different bolt out back bodies/one polished red and one polished blue)
NDZ skeleton bolt
Clippard MEV-2 (QEV)
clamping feedneck
NDZ small rail
Empire Reloader B
CP on/off ASA
stock reg (for now)
stock board (for now)
Shocktech SSC bolt out back body (red)
Strange Ion bolt out back body (blue)
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
J&J Edge Elite kit (10/12/14 fronts)

Autococker trilogy sport

Chrony A1 chronograph



Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
X-Ball
Any will work...it's a kit
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Light
Backs are stronger than inserts
Weaknesses: No o'ring on backs
Review: I have two similar set ups (for son and self). I bought this kit for my A-5's after comparing prices/reviews of all other kits. I have not fired the freak or evil kits so I cannot compare performance.

In a word, the kit is outstanding. I had a 14" J&J ceramic that I ended up sending to J&J for a replacement because it simply did not perform as well as I had hoped. I fired two different cases of Marbalizers through it (normally a good ball for .688 barrels) and the ceramic would sometimes curve a ball significantly even though the paint/bore match was perfect. J&J customer service was great but, unfortunately, the second barrel I got did the same thing. As a result of J&J's reputation and customer service, I bought an Edge Elite kit. I am not sorry I did. The difference was immediate and marked.

Results with the Edge:
Marbalizers
.688 back (12 inch front )
90 feet (30 yards)/3' X 3' target/9 of 10 hits

.688 back (14 inch front)
150 feet (50 yards)/4' X 5' target/7 of 10 hits

While I was very happy with the Edge at 30 yards, what impressed me most was the abilty to hit the target 150' away 70% of the time. While I love my flaline which flies farther and flatter, it only hits the same target at 150' about 4 of 10 times. I was so impressed with the Edge that I recently bought the same kit for my Ions. I will update the review once I test the kit on these.

Conclusion: Great kit for any price but for $97 dollars new (with shipping and handling) from firstcall paintball, you simply cannot go wrong. BTW, as a Marine Officer with over 23 years of service, I am not easily impressed. This kit is impressive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Colby_666 Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: spyder elecrta
j and j edge barrel kit
egg 2 hopper
camd 2.0 single trigger
chrome cp flame drop
front block 15 degrees with gauge
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, its a kit
Strengths: Its a kit
Works through breaks
Looks cool
Weaknesses: None
Review: These barrels are top of the line and i love almost every thing about them. The one thing that is a pain in the but is the orings that go into the backs, they go on really hard and are harder to get off. One two occasions the oring broke while screwing on/off the barrel the oring got stuck in the threads and had to use one of those rubber wrench things to get it off. I took off all the orings on the backs and im going to try some more but nothing else wrong so far.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel kit to buy if you got the money
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonKing3409 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak kit, evil pipe kit
Marker Setup: Ion-Red SP body kit
360 QEV
L6 Bolt
T-bard
Q-Lock feedneck
Freak Kit
Cp Shorty reg
dye mini drop
cp asa with on/off
Cp Rake Trigger (soon violent products Schythe)
48/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stinger
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: I have been playing for a while and have used many different barrels. I have used everything form a PMI Razor 1 piece to my Freak Kit right now. I personally do not like the Edge kit. It was inaccurate and broke paint. the accuracy was within about the size of a tire. My new freak blows that away. The edge also broke alot of paint. the only paint it didnt break a lot of was stinger. I know it was the edge that was chopping my paint because I have not changed anything on my marker since I got the freak 2 months ago and I have only broke one ball since. This barrel does have some strentghs to it. It looks preety sweet. It is also cheap. If you are looking for a barrel to just get the job done then this is the one. It isnt pinpoint accuracy but you can still get hits with it.
Conclusion: The edge kit is a descent barrel kit. You get what you pay for. If i was you i would wait a little longer, save a little more and get a freak.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockeyhawk77 Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, Flatline, Hammerhead, Armson Stealth, Dye Stainless
Marker Setup: Micromag, x-valve, lvl10, ult, intelliframe, cp unimount, evo 2, nitroduck plasma 68/4500, J&J Edge old and new style.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any really, as long as it's decent quality.
Strengths: -Great quality
-Light
-Accurate
-Very quiet
-Neat padded case
-Looks great
Weaknesses: Seems like it might scratch pretty easily. Other than that none!
Review: This barrel kit is just awesome from the price. I got mine way cheaper on ebay. It is of great quality as you would expect from J&J. It's right up there with any of the top end kits IMO. I like the solid backs more than the inserts for the freak. It is very light. Haven't had a break yet in 6 months believe it or not, even when testing with over 1 year old Blaze so I couldn't tell you if it shoots clean or not. It is the quietest barrel I've ever used. Dead on accuracy. Mine came with all the o-rings plus 2 extra. The last barrel kit I'll ever use!! You can't beat this kit, especially for the price!
Conclusion: This kit is just awesome. It's just as good or better than any high end kit IMO and it's quite a bit cheaper to boot. Like I said already, the last barrel kit I'll ever use!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

70times7 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels - 98C, A5 (this only means I know what crap is like)
Dye Boomstick - 14"
98C Flatline
A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: A5
E-Grip w/ APE Rampage board
APE Double trigger
Palmer QEV
Vortex mod
Ricochet Hopper
Lapco offset
BSA Red Dot
DOP Power Tube
J&J Elite Edge kit (5 bases + 10", 12" & 16" tips)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost any - I don't recommend buying garbage, but I have not tested this kit with anything less than fresh good quality paint. I will be curious to see how it does with old low end field paint.
Strengths: Price
Flexibility (base sizes & barrel lengths)
Accuracy
Weaknesses: I would have preferred a zippered case
( I'm struggling for a negative here)
Review: Picked this up online for less than $100 including shipping. The seller gave me a deal because it was missing the 14" tip - the most popular size - no biggie to me. I had used the 98C Flatline before and (in spite of those who don't like them) I was very pleased with the performance. Not so when I stepped up to an A5 and stuck a flatline on it. I found that the A5 flatline has an insufficient length to obtain the necessary amount of spin. Instead of a flat trajectory it was curved, just as with any other barrel. There was, however, enough spin to send the paint in odd directions - accuracy was very poor for me. So I ditched the flatline barrel and picked up the J&J Elite Edge kit. Accuracy improved dramatically. Curved trajectory was there, of course, but now it was predictable. I was also able to provide a second player with a barrel if necessary - sure, it wasn't perfectly fit to his paint (I got first choice - go figure) but it was a HUGE step up from a stock barrel. In normal play I have never broken a ball. When testing I did try going w/ a base that was one size too small and rammed through ~25 round @ full auto. After 7 shots or so I saw the cloud of paint when I broke a ball. The next shot tailed way off to one side. The second shot was closer. The third shot and all thereafter hit the tree right where the first seven hit.
Conclusion: Once you are ready to ditch the stock barrel this system is a great value. Do not waste your money on a Flatline for an A5. For the same money or less you can pick up an Edge kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfarabee Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner Kits
Odyssey Kits
Marker Setup: 2006 WGP Autococker Black Magic
CP Reg
Empire Reloader B
J&J All-Star Elite Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball
Draxxus
Diablo
RPS
..insert favorite paint here
Strengths: Light, accurate, cleans very well, kinda quiet.
Weaknesses: Louder than 1-piece ceramic
Review: This barrel kit rocks. Extremely accurate, every ball follows the one before. If you ever break a ball in the barrel (not likely) or chop, it will clean in about 10 shots or so. The ceramic coating means your ano will not give you away, and makes it light and pretty quiet. I also have a 1-piece J&J barrel that is quieter, but less accurate. There is really nothing bad you can say about this, I would put it up against any barrel kit.
Conclusion: The Best Kit for the money. Normally I don't give 10's, but this one earned it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bronx Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak kit
Stiffi Switch kit
Empire 7 piece barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Bob Long Lasoya Timmy
Edge Barrel Kit
Nitroduck HPA
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will do.
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Backs-not inserts
Shoot through
Porting
Weaknesses: Only available in black which is a color that can show scratches.
Review: This is a great kit. I ordered the full set (5 backs, 3 tips) and am very happy with my purchase. I own the stiffi switch, the freak kit, and the empire 7 piece barrel sets and I have to say that while this set was not the most expensive, it is my favorite

Looks:
Straight badass. I like the no gloss black look. Porting is nice as well.

Weight:
Very light. Not as light at the switch, but not as heavy as my freak. Its actually a perfect balance (IMO).

Performance:
The thing is very very accurate. Ball on ball. I find it to be my most accurate set. The shoot-through on breaks/chops (which dont happen often, by the way) is great. 3-4 shots and Im good. I find that I break more with my freak than with this kit, the the shoot through w/ my freak is not as good. The switch has a very similar performace to my edge set.

Backs:
The backs are much better than inserts (IMO). They are not as fragile or as easy to lose track of. the 5 backs provided in the full set make it easy to match almost any type/brand of paintball.
Conclusion: As I said above, this is my #1 barrel kit. It is far cheaper than the switch and freak and performs better...again IMO. I like the weight and the looks of this set and would recommend it to anyone thinking about upgrading.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media