paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
nismo050 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz pepper stick. empire
Marker Setup: Black Wrath, Alamo City delrin bolt, and pin. Redz Pepper stick barrel kit. Every thing is black, just like my soul. Cross Fire 68/3000 hp with Diablo tank cover, black Egg with z board also mod. black System X drop with red macro line, FBM power angle, Haters board, trigger magnet mod. added 2k5 bob long
Recommended
Paintballs:
upper end paint, empire fuel .scorched
Strengths: There are a lot of bores and fronts.
Weaknesses: You must add O-rings or they will loosen
Review: I got the edge elite,they are the lightest barrels I own. 5 black backs, 3 red fronts. the backs are 5" long and the bores are .682" .685" .688" .691" .693" / the fronts are 10" 12" and14" total inch long. these are not the best barrels that money can buy so keep that in mind. with good paint these are very nice. for less then $100. they will fit your needs
Conclusion: If you go to diffrent fields and have to use field paint these will work very well.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onyoursix7 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts progressive 14" (couldn't shoot thru breaks) BT Apex (IS NOT A CHEATER BARREL)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, cyclone, RT, Rear cocker, dye stikkees, double trigger, J&J edge kit 14", BT apex, PMI 72/3000, Ricochet R5, PSI coiled remote, Java 4+1, PMI 68/4500, empire tank cover, dead on pro seal and powertube.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a .689 bore and halfway resembles round
Strengths: It's a kit, price, accuracy with standard sized balls
Weaknesses: Smallest breach is .685
Review: Well this barrel has been very good to me in every time i've used it, but yesterday i encountered a problem, it doesn't have a breach for the very small paints. I was using diablo heat, so the box said, and the things rolled right out of the .685 back. Other than that, this is a great barrel
Conclusion: Need one more small breach in a .683 size. Other than that, this is a very competetive barrel for an even more competitive price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dlrash Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL
Kaner
Whatever
Marker Setup: Platinum Ego
Blue Accents kit
DART and Cut Stock Bolt w/ Delrin Pin
CP Rail
Edge Kit
70/4500 Adj. Worr Gas
Halo
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high-end paintballs
Strengths: Good Quality
Good Looks
Good Internal Finish
Weaknesses: I Dunno its not really "high-end" but thats fine
Review: I got this barrel kit a while ago off the nation for $65 used. I was a bit uncertain at first because after all, its $65... Anyway I got it and was pretty impressed right out of the box. A few days later i took it out and with my Ego and Nelson Hemorhage paintballs I am proud to say I was getting results of +/- 1 with the barrel. Very smooth and straight shooting when properly matched. I love it!
Conclusion: Buy one if you want a great quality barrel for a cheap price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shotput Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion barrel
Marker Setup: Blue Ion
Clippard QEV
Lucky Stages 1, 2, and 3
J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are not oblong
Strengths: Great accuracy
Different Bores
Different Tips
Looks Great
Cheap
Weaknesses: Case is cheap
Review: When I first ordered this product I was sceptical because I was getting 5 bores and three different tips for only $77 and I thought it was too good to be true. After testing the barrel I was amazed at how accurate it was with even the cheapest paint I was smoking a 2 by 2 archery target from about 150 ft with every ball The barrels look great and all came with o-rings inside the barrel
Conclusion: This barrel system is amazing and for $77 there is not another kit that can compete with the j&j edge barrel kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamthundercats Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit (a nice alterative because of buying multiple backs for multiple guns, but a but more expensive for the inserts)
Stiffi Kit (pretty much same performance)
Hammerhead Kit (pretty much same performance)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with Halo B Rip Drive Loader, J&J Edge Elite Kit, 360 QEV, TechT L6 Bolt
Tippmann 98 Custom with Qloader System and J+J 16" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any EXCEPT smaller than .682, as that is smallest back size
Strengths: Accuracy (very nice), Interchangable Fronts, and Low Cost
Weaknesses: Only five bore sizes (I don't like the case but thats just me)
Review: I got the barrel kit at my local pro shop and gassed up my tank. It comes in a soft black case that isn't very sturdy, so be careful with it even when it's in the bag. I went home and bore sized some sucky white box I had from two weeks ago (dropped it in so the ball went into the back but got stuck = correct back size) and went out back to test it. Ball on ball accuracy, even with the deformed paint. I then went to my local field (shout out to East Coast!) and tested it out in some games. Nailed a bunch of guns and arms and got a few gogs when people poped out to check. My kill count went up a lot. The one thing to think about before you get the J&J is will you want a barrel kit that works on multiple guns. If so, I recommend the Freak Kit instead because you only need to buy one new back, not new inserts. However, I like the J&J a lot better than the Freak and balls do not break in between pieces of the barrel on the J&J, a disadvantage of the Freak. All in all, a really good barrel at a pretty decent price.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a cheaper alternative to the Sly, Hammerhead, or Stiffi Kits, the J&J Edge is just what you're looking for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HowieD521 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with JJ Edge Allstar Kit, CP Drop Foreward, Quick Disconnect Feed Neck, and soon a Black Heart Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, its a kit...
Strengths: Looks, kit ablility, quiet, lightweight, affordable
Weaknesses: Paint
Review: Very helpful with the bore sizes to match up to your paint sizes. Very accurate leaving no stray balls going out from your shooting. I'm not going to tell you how big of any area, but I kept up with the rest of my friends with Freak Barrel kits which seems to be around the standard on the market for kits. My gun is the more quiet type, but this barrel does help silence the gun even more. The barrel is lightweight but holds up well. The looks are great with different size lengths, 12" and 14". No chops, quiet, clean, great looking, affordable, and most of all, its a kit.

The paint on my tip, which is probably my fault, came a little off when I hit something. I didn't notice it until one of my friends (Freak barrel user) scrutinized my gun and barrel kit. Its going to happen eventually though if you play paintball. Barrel still runs excellent.
Conclusion: All and all this barrel is worth the money. It is cheaper than most of the other kits and still holds up to my heavy abuse. I'm happy with my investment and plan to be putting this barrel kit to full use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TBaller Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: halo drop forward clamping feedneck roller trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil paintballs
Strengths: The key strengths are it's lightness and it is cheap.





Weaknesses: None that I've found.
Review: I love this barrel it is fantastic for people that can't buy a freak barrel. I have shot Evil, Proto, Xball, RPS and Chronic paint through it with great results. The threads could be cut better but that is a small problem. This is the cheapest barrel that gives you quality results. This barrel is the best barrel for the least cash.
Conclusion: Well made barrel kit for the money. Definately worthwhile investment for the novice player or your tournement player. Your money will be well spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 7:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

byrothegyro Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak
Marker Setup: GenX-3 autococker with custom blue silver flame ano!
-3ds 3rd genaration air-o bolt
-AIM regulator
-E2 Eblade w/ Samurai 2 trigger
-ANS front pneumatics w/ QEVs
-Stilleto drop
-fireball mountians back block
-J&J Edge barrel system
-Halo B
-68/4500 Nitro Duck tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything but your really cheap stuff. I perfer marbles, but other things like evil and premium are good too.
Strengths: -Accurate
-No sleaves
-looks AWESOME!
-quiet
-good price
Weaknesses: -None that I've seen
Review: This is a great barrell system. First off it's very VERY very accurate. Second It's about the same price as a freak system. Third you don't have to mess with the sleaves like in a freak system. Those are the best parts about it, other than that it is very awesome looking, it is quiet, and it is very easy to match bore sizes.
Conclusion: Get it and you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burtoncruzer360 Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
freak<dont get it
evil pipe<nice but the edge and this about equal
ultralight<nice too but compare with this
Marker Setup: vision imp! rips
edge barrel
smart parts clamping feedneck
smart parts lpr
smart parts modded voodoo bolt (cut it to make it shorter)
new designz ram housing kit (ram housing, slick shot ram,stainless steel hammer)
dye sticky grips
blade trigger with trigger job
shocktech drop
shocktech on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
any cause it has multiple backs duh!
Strengths: nice!!
accurate!!
cleans itself!!
Quiet!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Wow i used this barrel today and i was really really surprised and at how good it is i bought it used from my friend for 50 bucks!!! Cheap!! 3 backs (older style) and 2 ceramic fronts!! When i was shooting this i was hitting the other end of the field about 70 feet almost ball on ball it was amazing and anything closer to that it was ball on ball i was shooting my imp with this barrel in aw like :o!!!!!! Go out and buy this thing asap!!!
Conclusion: Go out and buy this i see them brand new for 60 bucks on some sites! And its one of the nicest barrels ive ever seen!
So seriously if u want your gun to be accurate as a mother then go buy this asap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justin conolty Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A little bit of everything.
Marker Setup: 04 RAT JR, New Designs blade trigger, ND dart bolt, ANS jackhammer 2 LPR, Psyco ballistics bullet drop, Firebal Mountain choke chain feedneck, J&J edge kit, brass hammer. 03 cocker with MANY upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work, It is a barrel KIT.
Strengths: Different bore sizes, very lite, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Only 4 different bore sizes
Review: I got my kit for $60 off of ebay and i am very impressed with it, the case with all the backs and front in it is probably less than 1/3 of a pound! My marker is now 10x more accurate compared tot the stock barrel which was a SP progressive. What else to say.... ITS GREAT!
Conclusion: so far i love this kit and for $60 you can't beat that with a stick! BUY IT AND SUPPORT J&J!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media