paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Bobby27 Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel for my Spyder Imagine(sucked)
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04 with Empire barrel kit, Apyder ACS Delrin Bolt, Overdrive electronic hopper, soon to come drop foward and remote.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Lookes good
Weaknesses: -None so far
Review: I have only used this barrel kit for a short amount of time, but I already love it. Mine came with 4 backs and so far I can match them to any kind of paint. It gave my Imagine a lot of accuracy which was tremendously needed, and the kit also really helped with the loudness of my marker.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this product to anyone. Its a great upgrade and will add accuracy to any marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moto_boy2009 Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Knockout barrel kit.
Marker Setup: piranha ext pro with jandj edge barrel system and viewloader 12 volt with extreme rage clamping feed neck and supa'fly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, different bores
Strengths: Extremely light.
Very accurate.
Two piece.
Four backs.
Different tips.
Pretty quiet.
Case.
Weaknesses: I broke one ball ever and none since then.
Review: This barrel system is awsome. Definetly a must have. If you are on a tight budget and need some barrels get this kit. From what i hear most people only use one bore size with these kits so whats the point in buying a big expensive freak or empire kit. This is just as good.
Conclusion: BUY EM. they are awsome and very good price. i got them for $69 bucks and got four backs and a really nice case with them. a must have.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Osok Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock and tested freak kit
Marker Setup: black Spyder E99 w/ Crossfire 68/45K High Output, 12v revvy w/ x-board and impeller, Dye Sticky 03 Grips, Lapco Twistlock, J&J Edge kit (black back and green front--10" overall)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any!
Strengths: Its made by J&J
Weaknesses: doesnt come w/ o-rings... no biggy
Review: I just bought the edge kit off of a friend who was buying a marker w/ different threads. I have taken it in the back yard and have put about 300 rounds thru it. Only about 1 or 2 curvers.

the groups are beautiful! it shoots where you aim. since its a kit, you dont gotta worry too much about what paint you use.

It shoots better than the freak kit. no lie. it actually comes w/ 4 backs, so dont listen to the description up top.
Conclusion: this is great buy. shoots better than a freak and costs less. even at 10 inches, it is quieter than stock too. why are you still reading this? go buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, January 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
Marker Setup: 2k3 vertical maxflo impy, equalizer bolt, brass hammer, polished ram shaft, tapeworm, new design blade trigger, j&j edge barrel, aci chrome phat flame drop forward, crossfire 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: adjustable size, accurate as heck, quiet, cleans amazingly after a break
Weaknesses: only comes with 4 backs (you can buy an optional fith back)
Review: this product is amazing, i was using my stock barrel and it was pretty accurate and very very quiet. so i was upgradeing and thoughtu sould get another barrel. J&J barrels have always caught my eye and one day of found this system for 80 bucks!!! so i bought it and put it on my gun. i was amazed. this barrel is just as accurate as a freak is the paint matches the backs you have. i was playing with three other guys with freaks and we all fired and all of the paintballs flew exactly the same. also, this barrel is queit!!! it is about as queit as a smart parts barrel. it is also very light.
Conclusion: this is an exceptional barrel and it is very cheap. you can find them online for 115 new. this is alot less than other barrel systems. it is great. you know ur getting quality with J&J
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint me gone Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tried a friends freak kit out.
Marker Setup: self built custum autococker,to much to list.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Have used it one day on january 4 for 12 hours and shot zap,Draxis,pmi premium and all worked well,the Draxis shot the best.
Strengths: nice finish,lite,barrel sizing
Weaknesses: have not found any
Review: Our group went to milwaukee to play from 9am to 10pm and i was having trouble with the balls rolling out of my armson barrel at paint ball sams in Racine and there was a guy selling gear out of his van so i purchased this system from him for 115$.It is great to be able to match paint in a cocker and the system worked great.I had borrowed a friends freak before and i like this system better and it is just as accurate.We played out doors in the cold all day and it worked great.Had some breaks but we were shooting summer paint in the cold and that was expected.Went to play indoor in the evening and shot 1300 rounds thrue it(pmi premium) and it worked great again.The case is very nice and tough and the barrel is is sharp looking and lite.I have found using longer barrels do not increase accuracy so i use the short front and do not plan on wasting money on longer fronts.
Conclusion: Looks great,works perfect,excellent finish,fits all the balls i shoot,five stars for me
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballers inc Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak kit
Marker Setup: impulse with egg hopper, nitro duck tank and j&j eage barrel
Strengths: this barrel is a very good and cheap
Weaknesses: their is nothing i can say bad about this barrel
Review: this barrel shoots very good and straight. it comes with the 4 most used bore says and if you ever want to get a longer barrel you can just get a new barrel tip. you can also just buy a the backs for a defrent gun insted of geting a whole new set.
Conclusion: this barrel is just plain and slimply the best barell
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSycloneX Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe barrel kit
Marker Setup: www.pbase.com/xsyclonex/my_impulse

go to that link, it has pics and gun specs
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything you want, the multiple bore sized back will shoot whatever brand
Strengths: 4 separate backs
shoots through breaks well
case
colors
price!
Weaknesses: whole new set of backs needed if you want to use on 2+ guns.
Review: Wow, this is an awesome barrel. I have been using it for a while now, and am really glad that I got it over anything else out there. It comes with 4 backs, all different bore sizes, so you can shoot whatever paint you want. I can shoot POS midnight one ball on top of another. If a ball ever breaks in the barrel, it shoots clean really well (shoots clean a LOT better than a freak). Its a bare bones performance machine, thats why it only comes with 4 backs (which lowers the price). The freak comes with like 8 inserts, and you will never use the 2 biggest or smallest, so you're throwing your money away. And its case is better...it may be a little tougher to open, but its small and durable, unlike the freak which is big and has a clear plastic 'window' window that always cracks. I was able to pick mine up used (in perfect condition) for only $90! (SS backs and a 14" front). But you can get them online for as little as $115 new.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel. People just overlook it and go straight for the freak, which is a mistake. Save yourself some money, and buy this equally good barrel, you wont be disappointed!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mckevern Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Cermanic Barrel back in 98.
Marker Setup: A-5
LPK with Palmer Stab
HPA
Polished Internals
Strengths: Very Accurate. Not as expensive as other barrel kits. Looks good.
Weaknesses: None found yet.
Review: Back in 97 or 98 I purchased a J&J Ceramic barrel because the sales person really pushed it hard. I was told it was accurate and it would shoot break clear after a few shots. So I purchased the barrel and found that, well for me, it didn't perform as I was told it would.
I ended up trading the barrel off and not giving J&J barrels another thought. Then a few years ago I got back into stock class and one person I played with swore up and down on the Edge kit for the Phantom. I did my research and found that it was well thought of. But put off purchasing one till I got my own Phantom. Unfortunately I found that the Micro-Shot barrel that came with mine and the stock barrel with the rings worked wonders for me.
So I purchased a A-5 and eventually purchased the Edge barrel for it when I decided the Flatline was just to heavy for me. I didn't get a chance to test it before my first game with it but I liked how it looked. So I was somewhat happy.
At the game I became completely sold as I continually hit targets at range of 50 to 60 feet on the first three rounds I'd shoot. My friends with their flatlines were wasting a lot of paint to hit one guy and I would get them in three shots. WOW.
Maybe I re-learned to shoot better since going back to Stock Class .... learned once more to make my shots count ..... Who knows .... But when I play semi I take a three round burst to judge the range and then I zero in with more three round bursts .... But I was hitting my targets with my ranging shot ... not one ... not two ... but all three ..
Conclusion: Either way ... though I was a little worried about buying this barrel system due to my past experience, I'm glad I took the plunge and I now have total and complete faith in J&J's products.
It looks good .... isn't as expensive as others ... and performs to my level of expectation. What more can I say.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

+Shadow+ Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
terminater barel
Marker Setup: 05' Smart Parts Ion- QEV,CP blade trigger, Empire nano drop, ShockTech On/Off ASA, J&J edge kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesn't matter
Strengths: Price
Light
Comes with carrying case
Weaknesses: Only 4 bore sizes
Review: well this is a very nice kit though it only come with 4 bore sizes but for eighty bucks you cant really complain, i have not had the privlage to shot nice paint out of it yet, but even the Extremly cheap stuff shot strait. it is also very light the 14" 2 peice, weighs less than the 10" stock barrel
Conclusion: Great product for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only stock barrels on this gun.
Marker Setup: Ion, Crossfire 88ci 4500psi LP tank, Halo B w\ Rip Drive, J & J Edge 16" barrel with .691 bore (I don't have the kit yet), Shocktech Low-Rise Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Empire Inertia, all the way. I used it this past weekend and the gun was still putting ball on ball at about 50-60 feet away.
Strengths: Light, good-looking, shoots straight with the right bore size paint.
Weaknesses: Wobbles when firing fast (more explained below).
Review: I purchased this barrel on December 3rd at Wayne's World during their Grand Finale scenario from the J & J Performance trailer that was there. I got my .691 back for $10 from the seconds bin (which might be why it wobbles), and the 16" red tip for $20 from the new stuff. For $30, I don't think you can get a better barrel than this one. I'll definitely be buying the whole Edge kit minus the two parts I've got now once I buy an Evolve PI regulator, Virtue\Blackheart board, Strange body, CP roller trigger, CIP unimount, Hybrid grips, and some other assorted goodies for my gun. The Empire Inertia paint we were shooting at the event was dead-on with this barrel, and I was extremely pleased with it during the entire event, except for the wobbling. Example- whenever I would get the gun to ramp, and stay there for 5-6 seconds, the barrel would be wobbling and bouncing with every shot fired, therefore decreasing the accuracy. One of my friends got the same barrel but he bought the back and the tip new, instead of getting the back from the seconds bin like I did. I'll call him this week and see if he's had any trouble with his barrel unscrewing and if he is, maybe it's something in the threading. If he didn't, then it's just my back. I'll update the review when I find out.
Conclusion: Good solid barrel, very accurate when used with paint that is the same bore-size as the back you've got on your gun. Does wobble a lot but it could just be my back because I got it from the seconds bin.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media