paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine

Kingman Spyder Imagine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Imagine

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Imagine
[ View Photos (49) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 704
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
STANDARD FEATURES:
IPI System (Intelligent Push-Button Indicator)
Firing Modes includes semi-auto, 3 burst, and Full Auto
LED Light Display Format
9 1/2" Aluminum Barrel
Sleek, Custom Design Receiver
Reactive Trigger Response, Up to 14 shots/sec
Vizion TM Rear Cocking System
Two Trigger Finger w/Regulation Trigger Guard
Anti-Double Feed
Adjustable Trigger Pull
Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip
Tournament Velocity Adjuster
Vertical Ball Feed
Low Pressure Chamber
Bottom Line Set-up w/ Stainless Steel Hose
Quick Disconnect Pin
Battery Indicator
External Recharge Port
Operates effectively on CO2 or Compressed Air
Elbow
Barrel Plug
Spare Parts Kit
Java 9.6 volt Rechargeable Battery
Java Battery Charger
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Imagine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Paint INC Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every other spyder
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Bolt
Drop
Macroline
HPA Tank
Strengths: Price
E Frame
Room for improvement
Weaknesses: No stock reg
bolt
lack of drop
Not top cocking
Review: Spyders are all the same just with a few different options and the milling. The imagine is the by far the best eframe spyder you can buy for the money because its just like all the others without the fancy milling. Be sure to buy a new bolt once you buy it because if you shoot it with the stock bolt the inside will get scratched up as well as the bolt. I upgraded my marker dramatically. I did everything except getting a new board w/ eyes. This marker shot beautifully and is probably the best starter gun you can get next to a kingman but this marker is electronic. It is just plain great for what you buy.
Conclusion: Just starting? Get this marker and upgrade as your skill upgrades, then after you surpass the limits of the spyder you can move on to bigger, better more expensive markers. Unless you want to upgrade the marker to the max with a new board, eyes, frame, etc. A really really really good marker for its price. Dont be fooled though this is not a timmy, angel, or anything other high end gun but with guns in its price range this is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holy_imagine151 Friday, July 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I guess they're not really similar but they are markers: Piranha BL and a Tippmann Pro-carbine
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine, CP chrome 12" barrel, CP chrome flame drop, ACI Silver Vert Feed Adapter, CiP Silver Sweet Spot Trigger, shortened trigger pull, eVLution II hopper, 20oz CO2.
Strengths: IPI (push-button fire-mode switch)
easy to clean and maintain
mini-expansion included
Weaknesses: O.K. stock barrel
kinda loud
trigger frame not waterproof or water resistent (not surprising)
Review: Overall this is a pretty good gun. easy to clean and maintain.

Though you might need to cut the velocity spring a bit if you got it brand new, well that's almost with every new gun so yeah.... When i first got it i was shootin 304 fps. i chronoed it down to about 290 and then the spring was starting to be visible. so at an arena, one of the employees gave me a more flexible spring so it could go down to about 260.

if you shorten the trigger pull (if you don't know how to do it, ask a paintball shop employee or somebody to do it for you)
I haven't chopped any balls yet. i dunno what's wrong with yer guys' imagines that are choppin lol.

a new barrel is suggested
With my new CP 12" i went to an arena and it was shootin hella accurate. no wind also help too, but you know.
Conclusion: overall a pretty good gun, it's pretty low expense too, i recommend this to noobs and novice alike.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 4:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fallachi Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Core Sharc
Spyder extra
Auto Mag
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Armson 10" pro 12v Revvy .... check that ... stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want to snipe a longer barrell... Deffinatly a Revvy Hopper( this is a must with this gun ) Regulator with a drop forward
Strengths: EVERYTHING !!!!!!!! This gun should cost about $500.00 .. Start with the price WOW you can't buy a better gun for the money and then some... eats any paint without any breaks.. but as I said you will chop paint if you do not have a Revvie Hopper. Stock barrel is good to 125 ft.. great for speedball.. Wore alot of $1000.00 guns out there and they were pissed at the performance of this gun ...This Gun Rocks... Buy one before Kingman Realizes what they have created and raises the price.... There are some bads with this gun so please read below.
Weaknesses: well let me think...........OK only one color choice but it is cool as hell ... stock grips need to be painted on the inside..... So consistant on Auto that some fields will not let you play in that mode. UMMMMM it only costs 150.00 so people think it is a entry level gun ......You have to listen to people who own Angels curse when you take them out...You will no longer be selected as "Just having a Spyder" when teams are picked...You need to cary extra paint into the game because you will need to reload... Well that is about all the "bad" there is .... I have Learned to live with it.... :)
Conclusion: There is no other gun I would recommend buying over this one unless you wast a bunch of crap on a gun that will break or needs to be worked on .. GREAT JOB KINGMAN>>>
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crosiv Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Dye Xcel barrel, Double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
The spyder imagine needs to have an eye because it chops so badly, but those are about $80. java 14" barrel. drop forward
Strengths: It looks cool, shoots fairly accurate, and it has different rates of fire.
Weaknesses: It chops paintballs horribly. There was way too much wear and tear on the bolt.
Review: Looks:
This gun looks pretty cool, especially with a black barrel, and a silver drop forward.
handles:
it is not very balanced unless you put a drop forward on it, otherwise it handles pretty good, but the front handle could be moved back a bit.
Shoots:
With a 14 inch barrel, this gun can shoot fairly accurately. the problem is: it doesnt shoot very well because it breaks every third shot. i could be shooting 1 shot at a time and wait 3 sseconds between shots and it would still break the paintballs in the barrel, and that was when i was using draxxus blaze paint (that stuff has a hefty price tag $$$) i got the self cleaning java 14" barrel because it broke them so much, and that helped a little with the problem.
Cleaning:
This gun is extremely easy to clean and maintain. it is one of the most simple guns i have ever seen.
The good stuff:
really the only thing that i liked a lot about this gun is the fact that it is electronic and i could change the rate of fire on it.
Conclusion: Dont get it. I dont like it, i know others who didnt like it, and i have friends who get tippmanns and have tons more luck (thats why i bought a tippmann a-5, it hasnt arrived yet tho.) if you want it, go ahead, get it, but i dont recommend i, it is far to unreliable.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

trilogy-pro Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
guns that actually shoot paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything and anything
Strengths: It shoots paint
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: Ok where do I start? I was a away excited newbie and got this for 120$ I thought that since it costed more than by brother 98 Custom that it would be a great gun. I was way wrong. It worked fine for about 2 mos but then the hose leaked like crazy right in the middle between the front grip and the trigger frame, took me 2 months of no paintball to finally get it fixed! Then the feed neck strips right out of the body, sucks I know. Nother year before I get the guts up to use it again and fix it. We JB Welded it on and it holds great until I trip, hopper hits the ground and It busts off again.
Conclusion: I am really ticked at this gun and wonder why I ever bought it. Save up some more money and get a trilogy autococker. Or at least a tippmann. I advise not getting this gun because you will spend more time fixing it than playing with it.
So yeah, Im givin it a 1/10, If I could I would give it a 0 but I cant.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

HitmanSVT Wednesday, November 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder SE
Spyder TL
Tippman 98c
Tippman A5
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Check It Assault Block
Check It Drop Forward with on/off ASA
Shocktech Superfly Delrin Bolt
BT Apex Barrel
Sundragon Paintball Snapdragon Trigger
Sundragon Paintball 50g spli-switch
Polished and shaved stock stricker
32 degrees spring kit
Bob Long 0-600 PSI gauge
Viewloader EyeForce Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (14' J&J Ceramic is most economical and is highly accurate)
Loader that can keep up with 13 bps
Regulator
Bolt (Kingman ACS, Shocktech Superfly, AKA Lightening etc.)
Strengths: Price
Almost infinately upgradeable
Good for a new player, or a first electronic marker
Weaknesses: Needs GOOD loader
Stock Barrel
Loud, Lots of Recoil
Manufactureing Tolerances
Review: Alright, I'm in my 3rd season of using my Spyder Imagine. First off let me explain how I use this marker. I play woodsball ONLY, no speedball, no tourneys, and as of now no big scenereo games. We get togather on some forrest land once or twice a mont for about 6 months out of the year. You do the math, ok I'll do it for ya, thats at least 6 but no more than 12 times a year. We play ALL day, from dawn till dusk so it gets some serious useage.

Now, onto the review:

I bought this marker from my local paintball store, who recomended it when I asked for a reasonably priced electornic marker. With this marker he sold me a Ricochet AK loader, and that is where my problems began.

If this marker has one major weekness it is the fact that it is a low-end electronic marker that REQUIRES at least a mid-range force fed loader. The standard agitating hoppers will NOT feed this marker fast enough, so in effect you have to buy a loader that is "more up-town," than what people expect to find on a spyder.

The factory board is capped at 13 bps, but you'll NEVER muster that with the stock internals. However 10 bps is possible if tweak the adjustable trigger just right. The agitating hoppers are only good for about 7-8 bps, and as a result the Imagine will chop if you try to fire it without a loader that can keep up.

This frustrated me endlessly my first few times out with the marker. Other than that the marker is reasonably air-efficient, and with an upgraded barrel (just a J&J ceramic) was as accurate as any other marker out there.

Once I got a loader that could keep up, I fell in love with this marker all over again. I have since installed just about every upgrade possible for this marker, and while I admit, the money I have invested in it could have bought me a nicer marker, I'm the kind of guy that likes to take something ordinary and turn it into something special. I build hot-rods for a living, what do you expect?

I'm entering my 3rd year of ownership and my Imagine has seen LOTS of rough play, but she still hums along happily everytime I pull the trigger.

I'm able to shoot consistant 280 fps at 350 psi. I could have spent a little more and shot 280 at 300 psi or a little less, but really there is no reason. 350psi is plenty easy on the paint, and provides excelent shot to shot accuracy even when I'm busting out 10+ bps.

I should also mention that I've used a T-Board in my marker before, and it will shoot (bps wise) right up there with Ion's Timmy's and other "high-end" markers. It may be louder and have more recoil, but it's also many hundreds of dollars cheeper, even with all my ups.

Conclusion: In conclusion, this marker works fine righ out of the box as long as you have a good enough loader to keep up with it (I recomend the new VL EyeForce 50 bucks at Acadamy). Get a barrel and go have fun, and if you want more the aftermarket for spyders is as big, if not bigger than any other marker out there. The Imagine is worth the money.

I rate the marker as an 8 because Kingman SHOULD have included an ACS bolt, and because the marker requires a hopper that is slightly more expensive than what you would expect to use on a $100 dollar e-marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 14th, 2007 at 11:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mustang_boy_95 Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact - Harder to take apart, not as air efficient as the Imagine, Brass Eagle Stingray - Doesn't even compare to the Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, ACS Ant-chop bolt, 14" CMI Tru-Flight barrel, PMI remote w/ 24 oz. CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The biggest upgrade I would recomend is an aftermarket bolt (ACS anti-chop or other)
Strengths: Durable, light trigger pull, easy to take apart and clean
Weaknesses: Stock bolt isn't the best, electronics in grip need better protection
Review: Overall this is a great marker, especially for the price. The only problem I have is that Kingman didn't install some sort of gasket or something similar in the e-grip. There is even a small gap in the grip that makes the electronics completely exposed to the elements (rain, snow, paint). That is the biggest improvment needed. Besides that, however, the marker is fantastic. It performs great, even in cold weather. In my opinion, the marker is very CO2 efficient. It is also very easy to take apart, just one quick disconnect pin and the marker is apart, very convenient. I would definitely recomend this marker to anyone.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this is a great marker, especially considering the price. If you are looking to buy a good dependable marker while on a budget, go buy this marker right now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inzane3415 Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, A-5, Raven Nexion, Spyder Esprit, Spyder AMG Classic, Smart Parts Impulse
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel 14"
Shocktech Spring Kit (light tension spring)
VL Quantum agitator
Shocktech Drop Forward
20 oz Pure Energy CO2
PMI Pure Energy Inline Reg (running about 300 psi)
Maddman Rocket Valve
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
20 oz CO2
Everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A reg and a new valve; you can run this thing LP and it works well. Also if you do, get a low pressure chamber and a new barrel.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Electric
-Works well stock
Weaknesses: -has a slight tendency to chop w/out an agitator
Review: First of all, this is a great marker straight out of the box. So far I've been happy with all Kingman products, especially their new Nexion (that thing is sweet). I've had my marker for about 6 months and have never had to have it repaired. You can put about $150 into this gun and turn it truly awesome. I got most of my parts cheap, the Rocket Valve on E-Bay for $30.00, and the Progressive used from a friend for $25. You can run this gun low pressure and it shoots straight as an arrow. Its a little loud out of the box but now mine is whisper-quiet. I shot my friend from 20 feet away and he had no idea where I was until I shouted at him. I am very happy with this gun, especially with the rate of fire it can achieve. I've done 15 bps with it (I chopped but thats mostly because of my crappy hopper.)
Conclusion: Definitely good for the Beginner-Intermediate player, or an advanced player can upgrade it to make it work like an Impulse
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

meekeater Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Ion
68/45 tank
evil detonator
virtue board
cp roller trigger
egg hopper w/ x-board
fire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just get a new one
Strengths: I guess it's good to start on.
Weaknesses: Loud, slow, chops, inconssistent, innacurate.
Review: All right. 8.9- way too high for this gun. About 2 months after I got it (and it was my first gun), I became desperate for a new one. I would plan to go paintballing for about 5 hours, and just lose gunfight after gunfight. I spent more time cleaning my bolt after chops than I did actually playing. I would use about half a case in 5 hours, so this gun is slow. With an Ion I use 1 case every 1 1/2 hours. You can get this gun, then buy compressed air, then buy a fast hopper, then buy a new gone.
Conclusion: Yeah, if you play casually, then this gun is all right. I know a lot of people dont have a lot of money, but those that can get some, buy a new marker. If it says "spyder" on the marker, do yourself a favor and pass it up.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

imagine44 Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Black spyder imagine
14' J&J performance
ACI 6-stage sub-zero expansion chamber
Empire Reloader 2
20 oz
CP flame drop forward
Black shocktech LPC
Bandit Imagine bolt
Armson ssr (coming soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Armson, all-american, Bigshot, or J&J
but nothing over 16"

Motorized Hopper
new expansion chamber
drop forward
bolt
spring kit
Strengths: Light
speed (IPI system)
perfect for upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
stock bolt scratches
Review: The Imagine is a great gun it has excellent speed, and with a couple of mods you'll be able to own everybody. Has a low velocity but a spring kit will take care of that. Great gun for starters or somebody who plays every weekend. The weight is also great, nice and light. Don't think twice just buy it. You will not be dissapointed.
Conclusion: I give it a 10 because it hasn't let me down and it is just an overall good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media