paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine

Kingman Spyder Imagine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Imagine

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Imagine
[ View Photos (49) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 704
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
STANDARD FEATURES:
IPI System (Intelligent Push-Button Indicator)
Firing Modes includes semi-auto, 3 burst, and Full Auto
LED Light Display Format
9 1/2" Aluminum Barrel
Sleek, Custom Design Receiver
Reactive Trigger Response, Up to 14 shots/sec
Vizion TM Rear Cocking System
Two Trigger Finger w/Regulation Trigger Guard
Anti-Double Feed
Adjustable Trigger Pull
Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip
Tournament Velocity Adjuster
Vertical Ball Feed
Low Pressure Chamber
Bottom Line Set-up w/ Stainless Steel Hose
Quick Disconnect Pin
Battery Indicator
External Recharge Port
Operates effectively on CO2 or Compressed Air
Elbow
Barrel Plug
Spare Parts Kit
Java 9.6 volt Rechargeable Battery
Java Battery Charger
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Imagine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Gilly182 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Icon-E, Bone Daddy Bl, Avalon Commando 2, 98c, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine
14' Tear drop
32* Remote
12v Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric Hopper if you want to use Full Auto
Strengths: Fast
Looks
Cheap
Reliabilty
Trigger pull
Easy to Disasemble
Low chops
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Battery dosnt come near fully charged
Review: This is a great gun. This is my first real gun but it will always be my favorite for its price. This is a cheap reliable beginner gun. All you need to do is ditch the stock barrel and get an electro hopper and u are all set to stand up to anyone. The bolt does scratch the inside of the gun but that dosnt effect the performance of anything. I recommend Rps/Pmi Big Balls. They dont break no matter how fast u shoot on semi. I play in games with this gun more than I fool around in my yard so i dont u se full auot that much but it words fine with an electro hopper. This is an amazing gun that i think all beginners should start with instead of a 98c. Oh yea the sight rail is useless for sights or just in general the vertical feed is in the way. I took mine off.
Conclusion: There is nothing wrong with this gun it is fast, reliable, good looking, cheap and easy to clean. This is also very user friendly. Remember to charge the batery befor u go to play. I got this gun and went to play and after like 3 hours my battery died. Thats the flaw overall this is a great gun. If u are thinking of anything else like a piranah or a tippmann I would go for the Imagine
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xannatharr Thursday, May 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Agressor XT, Pirhana 2000 - both were enjoyable an effective, but the Spyder Imagine is head-and-shoulders above them in terms of peformance.
Marker Setup: Cheap setup: Stock Spyder Agressor XT, 12 Oz Air System, Java 200 Rd Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel upgrade will help you get the maximum out of this otherwise excellent marker.
Strengths: Typical Spyder reliabilty, great rate of fire, simplicity of settings for the fire modes.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is mediocre, some prefer more flexibility that auto, 3-burst or semi.
Review: When I first had the chance to handle the Spyder Imagine, I was impressed by the craftsmanship, smooth action and simplicity of the settings for the three fire modes.

On the field the gun was nearly flawless: in a full day of play (around 1,500 balls fired) only one round broke in the barrel. Efficiency with gas seemed okay - a 20oz CO2 tank took me through a full day of play, and velocity seemed as good at the end of the day as it did when we started playing. The setup I was using did not feature an agitator in the loader, so the marker got ahead of the balls feeding from the loader a time or two. The "dry fires" didn't have any noticable adverse effect.

Accuracy was good-to-average, and switching between fire modes during the game was relatively easy (no pin switches to fumble with!).

When I upgrade to a better marker, the Spyder Imagine and Spyder E-99 will be on my list of candidates, based on my positive experience with the Marker.
Conclusion: This marker is very solid! I challenge you to find another high entry-level marker with the rate of fire and the dependability that the Spyder Imagine brings to the table. Even if you are starting out in Paintball with a limited budget, the Spyder Imagine is within reach, and will give you instant credibility, and enjoyment on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxis05 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VL Orion
Mach 404 electric hopper
stock 11 inch barrel
9 ounce pure energy C02 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS bolt
New barrel
electric hopper
Strengths: Electric
Everything else
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks
Review: This gun is AWESOME!!! With 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and 14 ball a second full auto this is a sweet gun. The ACS bolt is a must for this gun. So is a new barrel. You should get at least a 14 inch for this gun. BUY IT!!!
Conclusion: Buy it right away this is an awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2autococker Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Agressor XT . . .
Marker Setup: Nightkast Autococker
Evolution II Loader
Twisted Flame Beavertail
Belsales 44 Magnum Ram
KAPP Pro Series Cocking Rod
AKALMP Tornado Valve
Eclipse Q.E.V.s
Q.E.V. mufflers
Palmers Rock LPR
ACI Phat Flame Drop Forward
ACI Phat Dovetail On/Off
AKALMP Sidewinder Regulator
Evil Smokestack
KAPP Trigger Spring
AKALMP Pump Arm
81/4500 HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new cocking bolt
new barrel
new spring kit
electronic loader
Strengths: accuracy with a new barrel (very far and pretty good accuracy)
durable
field stripping easy
Weaknesses: chops
accuracy out of box very poor
electronic (heavy)

Review: It's a pretty good marker but for the many problems it has you would be better off just getting a Spyder Victor II for half the price. Although it is pretty accurate with a new barrel you can get the same performance only lighter and cheaper. On one weekend I was playing elimination in woodsball. It was me and my friend Tommy versus my tthree other friends Cory, David, and Gilbert. Well my friend and I decided we'd try camping. So I'm shooting a steady stream of paint at my friends when suddenly pop, a paintball broke in my gun. I figured it was only in the barrel, so my friend gave me cover fire, I clean out my barrel with my squegee, screw my barrel back in, start firing again and then pop, I start chopping again. Besides the chopping it has very good accuracy and distance with the Smart Parts All American I was shooting. I could shoot 100 to 150 feet easily.
Conclusion: The Victor II is exactly the same as the Imagine except it's lightweight and it isn't electronic with the same performance. This gun and its price and problems are not worth it. This product was a great one but after I bought I found out about the Victor II and I just flipped! Go Victor II and save yourself some money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lawman Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Evil Omen (black)
Evil Pipe, 14"
3A 71/4500 carbon fiber tank
12v Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (the Smart Parts Teardrop worked great on this gun), electric hopper (12v Revvy or similar at least, but an Egg2 or Halo for maximum speed), and possibly a delrin bolt.
Strengths: Fast, inexpensive, fairly reliable, accurate (for a blowback)
Weaknesses: Bolt may scratch the chamber, may chop paint , crappy stock barrel
Review: This was my first paintball gun, and I really have been happy with it. I bought it and have used it almost every week for over 6 months.

The good: The gun is reliable and sturdy. It can put out a tremendous amount of paint if you have a fast enough hopper. It is much more accurate than my friends' (4) Tippman A-5s , (5) Custom 98s, or other low end markers when I have my teardrop on it, despite whether I can get a good paint fit. The 3 round burst is great when you aren't forbidden to use it because you can snap out and get three or six balls off quickly and on target . The burst allows you to keep you hand immobile and concentrate on holding the gun still instead of pulling the trigger. The fastest ROF setting (said to be 13bps) will put your opponents behind cover and keep them there, but it can be a *HUGE* waste of paint.

If you want to shoot very fast and accurate though YOU WILL NEED TO GET A FAST ELECTRIC HOPPER AND A BETTER BARREL.

The bad: The stock barrel sucks badly. It is a HUGE bore that I have *NEVER* been able to fit paint into. It will chop paint if you shoot fast. You will need a hopper than can feed consistently in excess of 13 bps or you will occasionally chop paint. It is not that hard too clean, but it will not be the same until you break the gun down and clean it thoroughly. My 12v revvy could not keep up with the gun consistently when I would start shooting a lot, but a borrowed Egg2 kept up with it like a champ and I didn't chop one ball. It does have the tendency to get gacked up it you get hit in the gun's open cocking area. The gun will likely chew up the striker buffer inside if you use it a lot. I lube and clean my gun every time after I play, and I have still gone through 4 striker buffers in 6 months (a total of about 10-12 cases of paint) The striker buffers are not expensive ($5 at my local paintball store) so I don't mind too much, but if you don't change it when it gets damages you can really damage you gun.

Misc: I would have rather had a trigger frame on the gun that was more adjustable. It goes from a slow to fast ROF setting, with fast being around 13bps, and slow around 5-8 (I forget exactly). If I could adjust it to a happy medium I might use the three round and full auto option more, but the slow is too slow ( I can fire faster in semi auto) and the fast causes me to occasionally chop balls with the 12v Revvy.
Conclusion: If you know you are going to stick with the sport, this is great first gun. You can upgrade a lot if you like, but even just a new barrel will allow you to be a force to be reckoned with. I love my Imagine and would buy another if I was in the same situation. I have only moved on because I bought a mid-price gun (Omen). I give it an 7 out of 10 because it is a solid practical gun that will give you a lot of good service., but it does need some upgrades to take advantage of its high speed electro frame and crappy stock barrel. It is also rated as it is because it is a lower end gun. A good one, but still lower end. You can get much better, but it will cost much more.

IT IS A GOOD ABOVE AVERAGE MARKER FOR A BEGINNER
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2004 at 7:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kman778899 Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,
Strengths: Cheap, Electronic, light
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, no drop forward
Review: When I first bought this gun I thought it would be great to have an elctronic gun like some of the other better players. After I went to the field I realized that most fields don 't allow anything other than Semi- auto. If you get this gun your most likely only going to use it on full auto in your back yard. I think you would be better off getting a really good Semi- auto gun.
Conclusion: If your on a tight budget, and you really want an electronic gun than, yes buy this. If you care new to the sport like I was this is also a good gun. If you have played for more than 6 monthes or so and you really want to keep playing than I recomend saving your money and buying a different gun. Ireally don't like this gun but that is just because I had some problems with this gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jackalhunter Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, custom pro, a-5
Marker Setup: FS-7, Halo, 68 45 crossfire, lucky 2 piece, cp reg, cp trigger, cp low rise feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: The marker
Review: My friend left this at my house after a day of messing around in the woods and never took it home. After that, it has been used by random people who play with us be it in speed ball or woods ball. Every person (including myself) despise using this marker. There is no accuracy, and no consistency at all. The bolt chops 50% of the paint that comes out, no matter what the quality.
Conclusion: Garbage
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

The Azn Invazn Friday, October 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04
J&J Ceramic 12"
Custom 9.6v 700mah Battery
Poor Man's Lightning Bolt
Modded Stock Trigger
Low Pressure Rig (home done)
Ricochet AK Hopper
Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Custom Ultra-Light Hammer
Custom High Flow Valve and Pin
Microswitch Mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (J&J Ceramics are great)
Low Pressure Setup (less kick, more air efficient)
Electro Hopper
LP Mods
Ultra-Light Hammer
Strengths: Cheap
Light-ish
Durable
Easy Matinence
Tons of mods to boost performance
Weaknesses: Kick
LOUD!
Heavy Trigger (fixed by microswitch mod)
No Clamping Feedneck (stock)
Bad Stock Accuracy
Review: Last Update: 11/15/2007

Ok, so I got this gun from a friend that didn't want it any more, so he just gave it to me. It was in ok condition, but I did some things to make it better.

For one, the lower pressure setup helps a LOT! Less kick, better air efficiency.
Two, better hopper. Without one and with fast fingers, you chop chop chop...
BARREL!!! The one I have still sucks, but J&J Ceramics are wonderful. The Lightning bolt helps with air efficiency (supposedly), so I did it, and it hasn't bothered me yet. Drilling open a few key holes in the gun helps a TON! It's an actually noticable difference. With the spring out of the trigger, and with it adjusted all the way to being very close to the microswitch, and doing the microswitch mod lets you walk MUCH FASTER!!! The stock switch has a activation tension of about 250g (I think... I read that on a forum somewhere...), and with the mod, it's so light, that a firm tap to the back of the grip can fire the gun (no joke)! And lastly, the Ultra-Light hammer improves efficiency since the hammer won't be as heavy, and less air will be needed to move it, less kick because the hammer will have less mass, and more than 14 bps and/or easier to get to 14 bps since it will move faster.

With the stock barrel and the gun chopping every one in a while, my paint was litterally spiraling in the air. If you don't chop, the barrel is ok, but right after you do, you can throw your accuracy out the window.
~Edit~ Now that I have a J&J Ceramic one piece, I barely know when I chop! After about 2-5 shots, it cleans itself, and that's a wonderfull thing to have... believe me. My Accuracy is also much inproved! Now with the barrel and the microswitch mod, I'm shooting ropes!

A clamping feedneck isn't really needed, but it helps a ton. The plastic elbows always happen to fall off my gun becuase the oil from the paint gets them all slippery, and they break easy. They're only about $20-$25 for a cheap one, and it still works as well as the expensive kind!

I love this gun though, don't get me wrong. It's a great starter gun, the ease of matinence and the simple design help any new player or lazy people :) , It's cheap, and it's fun. I really only use the semi auto, but there is 3 round burst and full auto as well.

All the mods that you want to do are...
Poor Man's Lightning Bolt
Ultra-Light Hammer
Microswitch Mod
Drilling out some holes
Polishing internals
and maybe some others I'm forgetting....

I got all the mods (except the microswitch and the ultra-light) from http://www.ottersccustoms.com/index.html . it's a great website.
The microswitch mod was on the Kingman forums, and the ultra-light i did myself! All you do is get a dremel with a grinding wheel to the hammer and go along the top and the sides length wise. Make sure you don't touch the other places you grind, so that there is still some material on the edge to help the hammer travel smoothly, and don't grind the botton (the side where the sear catches).
Conclusion: Pros:
Price, Matinence, Durable, Upgradable!

Cons:
Kick, Trigger Pull, Bad Stock Barrel.

Overall, this is a wonderful gun. All the things that I listed can be fixed. If you fix all of those problems, then this gun is great for the avarage paintballer. If you want a durable, cheap gun that will get the job done, then the Spyder Imagine is the gun for you!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 15th, 2007 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

calaustria Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of types of spyders and spyder clones, and lots of high ends.
Marker Setup: I have tons of markers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Trigger
Bolt (or just mod the stock bolt)
Almost everything can be upgraded, but these are the most important.
Strengths: Cheap
Upgradable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Barrel
Trigger
Speed
Efficiency
Kick
Review: Well I've had at least five of these. I just used them for little projects and fun stuff. That was before my house burnt down. I still have on left though. So here's the review:

Strengths

Price: The thing is only $60 refurbed. Come on. That's great for new players who can't afford expensive markers. Good price for people like me to mess with them too.

Upgradable: You can get ANY part on this gun upgraded. I'm not even kidding. Boddy, barrel, bolt striker, board, trigger, grips, valve, cup seals, reg or x-chamber, ASA, body, detents, feedneck, and LPC. Everything.

Reliability: These are just as reliable as a Tippmann. Not as bulletproof, but they will never screw you over during a game.

Speed: The imagine isn't fast, but for somebody new, the speed is perfectly fine. Don't worry about it. Speed isn't the most important thing in your gun.

Weaknesses

Efficiency: The marker is a blowback, so it's not going to be that efficient. However, it will still probably be more efficient than a Tippmann.

Kick: The gun kicks considerably, but it is a blowback. That and it cost $60. It's not a high end gun, so you should expect kick anyway.

Trigger: The trigger is pretty un-walkable, and you need a new microswitch to really be able to walk it. Again, speed really doesn't matter that much though.

Barrel: The stock barrel sucks. It has barely and porting, so it's loud as all hell. It's also only 8" long and ugly. DO NOT buy a barrel over 16" for it however, that is stupid. I would reccommend a 14" J&J ceramic barrel or a CP one-piece barrel.
Conclusion: All and all, it's a great beginnner marker. For only $60, you can get into the sport of paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 11:09 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

zubyac Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine, with 12 inch two peice barrel, new spring, and a macro line set.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper, barrel, regulater, bolt,compressed air.
Strengths: Reliable, durable, cost, accuracy,barley chops.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: If you are an exspreianced player and are lookin for a good gun i would get the imagine. Its a great gun and reliable, it shoots well and will barley chop. There are also tones of upgrades for this gun. I would recamend the halo tsa lcd frontman for the hopper. Ditch the stock barrel and get a two peice. Its way better.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you are a novice cause it can compete with most of the other guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media