paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT

Airgun Designs Automag RT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Partial List of Features: Reactive Trigger™ (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown,designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases, all new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the 68AUTOMAG valve, the RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight hard anodized aluminum regulator body laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing, carbide tipped Sear Assembly, stainless steel hard line - no bulky braided hose, front grip with built in air passage for custom hookups, polished stainless steel mainbodies, new tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake, and built in filter that prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
kieron Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rt Pro, Custom 98, etc.
Marker Setup: AGD RT Pro with Intelliframe, Level 10
Warp Feed with Ricochet AK
Crossfire 88/3k with System X D/F w/ On-Off
Taso 14" Pro SS
Recommended
Upgrades:
In this order:
Level 10 bolt kit
Intelliframe
Warp Feed
Flatline tank system
Strengths: High rates of fire. This is a mechanical marker that can keep up with, or exceed most of the electros out there. Attaining 5-10 bps is very easy.
It requires very little in the way of upkeep. At the end of a day of play, put a couple of drops of lube in the ASA before you screw your tank in and dry fire approx. 20 times. That's it. Every once in a while, perform an o-ring change.
Incredible customer service through AGD and an awesome group of people in the Automag forum (www.automags.org). If the marker malfunctions, AGD will practically bend over backwards to fix the marker, and the AO tech forum is a wonderful url to visit for info, repair tips, etc.
It's mechanical and has very few moving parts. If the marker breaks down, the problem is normally an o-ring failure. Nothing more.
Weaknesses: Compatibility with other AGD products. Most of AGD's line has parts that are interchangeable with other AGD markers. Not so with the RT. You cannot swap mainbodies, frames or internals with an RT Pro, E-Mag, Classic, etc.
Conclusion: Excellent marker for nearly any level of player, recball through tourney.

With the exception of the compatibility issue, this marker is one of the best on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agd pnt bllr Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann m98, cockers, spyders
Marker Setup: smart parts teardrop barrel 12"
level 10 superbolt 2
68ci 3000psi tank
12 vlt hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
You have to get the level ten superbolt, new barrel , and a good cradle or drop foward to start out with.(otherwise the gun will be super heavy)
Strengths: This gun can shoot faster than any other gun out there!(including the electros).
Its looks are sweet ! It is just a great gun overall to have.
Weaknesses: First of all it is heavy. It is also expensive too. And you can turn it into a paint blender if you cant control your trigger finger
Conclusion: overall a good gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Snowkone_Steve Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automags with Rt valve
High-end cockers
Angels LCD, LED

Marker Setup: 01' Autococker
3 diff AA barrels (large bore and short barrel, medium bore and medium barrel, ect)
STO ram
Bomb 4 way
Palmers Rock Reg
Maddman rocket valve
Racegun frame
delrin Jam bolt
(occasionally I use my pipe)
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST LOADER
FAST RECHARGE REG
HIGH FLOW TANK
GOOD PAINT
Strengths: FAST, accurate, quiet, great customer service, AGD what else can you say?
Weaknesses: Chops paint like a mofo. Needs custom made barrels (depending on company)
Review: This gun is crazy, I used it for 2 weeks. I'm not a very good player, not aggresive compared to rest at my field. I play woods ball, and I have to say that this thing sucked the first day, you can do anything with it, EXCEPT SHOOT.

Second day however I learned how to fire the gun in small 4 shot bursts and I fell in love. It's VERY GOOD for a cover fire gun, you can lay down strings of paint very easily. Brush or branches in your way? No problem, just well shoot about 4 balls, the first two should brake the branch or pass thorugh the brush and the other twow usually find a target :P. However this isn't a really good front man gun, I dont find it easy to say -bunker somebody unless your standing up, and everyone knows that not how you plan to bunker someone when sneeking.

The 18th time was okay also (lol), the gun fired great, but had eractic velocity fluctuations when trying to unload. That was a problem, at my field theres a lot of kids (AKA me) s we only play with 280 fps and it was getting like 315 if I fired a burst of three at the chrono. That posed a problem, because at our field you have to be shooting at under 280 or the owner gives you a rental.. Ugh piranha's....

PS: the last time I used it was on an outdoor field in November (rememberance day) and here in the atlantic provinces that proves to be a problem, snow, hail, rain and wind. Not really good to play paintball but fun as hell. (I WAS using compressed air ad it WAS regulated)
Conclusion: Overall this gun was awsome, but in colder weather it's horrible i'll give it a 9 mainly because it's hard to use in cold weather and hard to use for your first time.

I am used to my cockers trigger pull, that may explain why I chopped so much. Oh and by the way there was some vert feed RT's made, I'M NOT TALKING ABOUT THE RT PRO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Zedthephish Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic(Nice, but not as nice)
Tippmanns, Spyders, Cockers, the usual suspects.
Marker Setup: OG RT
Warped Classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10, 'cause when it chops it hurts.
Strengths: Speed, Durability, Accuracy,Style
Weaknesses: Only takes N2, Gas Hog
Review: Bought my RT, all stock, off of ebay for a steal. I was already a huge Automag fan because of the Classic, but I decided to take the Plunge and picked it up, along with a 47ci Nitro Duck tank. It sat in my room for some time(i bought it in the midst of winter) and I anxiously awaited to try it out. When the time came, it preformed admirably. The reactivity took some time to get used to, which lead to a few short strokes here and there, but by the second or third game I got the hang of it. Once I got the hang of the trigger, my bps was good, not super-amazing, but good. I was able to lane pretty easily, and this came as a shock to my paintballing friends(we play exclusively woodsball (out of circumstance... our field closed :-( , and most shoot Tippmanns, etc.). It was an interesting experience, mostly because I don't shoot that much in terms of volume per volly. To have that sort of firepower on call was a great experience in a woodsball game. However, since I don't like spending huge amounts on anything, I have a 47ci tank. My tank was almost empty after four games, four long games to it's credit. And the couple times I chopped, any accuracy after about 50 ft was gone. A Level 10 is almost a neccesity, but on the other hand it makes the marker LESS gas efficient.
Conclusion: This marker has left an almost entirely positive mark on me. It's a fast, accurate, and sleek tank. Chopping was a minor problem, and the gas usage is not phenominal, but all in all, 9.7 out of 10, round up, that's a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 8:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agd pnt bllr Thursday, November 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman spyders autocockers
Marker Setup: smart parts teardrop barrel 12"
level 10 superbolt 2
68ci 3000psi tank
12 vlt hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
level 10 superbolt 2 ( without it the marker chops a lot of paint)
big drop foward (i have not got one yet and gun is heavy)
new barrel
Strengths: First of all the gun is faster than anything I have ever shot ! It is easy to clean and take care of. It is very intimidating:-).It can keep of with any electro on rof. It looks real cool. Pretty acurate but Istill recomend a new barrel.
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts for. Expensive. A little heavy.And thats about it.
Conclusion: Overall it is the best gun I have ever had. But without a new bolt it can become a paint blender for people who have not learned to shoot it.But people that can shoot it well can shoot it FAST!!! It is a nice gun for a novice person who has played for a year or two.It can take on any gun including angels, cockers, and anything else.But it is the player not the gun.I will give it a 9 because no gun is perfect, the gun that comes closest to that in my opinion is the e-mag
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigt4203 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Automag RT
Warp Feed
Richochet AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Warp Feed
Level 10 Bolt
ULE Kit (if you can afford it)
Double Trigger
Powerfeed
Strengths: Accuracy
High ROF
Reliable
Easy maintainance
Consistant
Durability
Weaknesses: Weight (doesn't bother me much anymore)
Review: I bought my RT from a guy for $100 with the Warp Feed and hopper at the Paintball field I play at. I love this marker. Now for my main review.

The reliability of this marker is outstanding, as with all AGD markers. The RT is built like a tank, and it weighs like one too. The weight might bother some people, but I got use to it. I don't expect a marker whose body is made out of stainless steel to be featherlight. The stainless steel construction make it durable as heck as well, you can drop it, hit it against a tree, etc. and this marker will still perform the same. Not to forget that this thing, if you take care of it, will last you years. My friend's dad has has his Automag for 20 years and the thing looks like it is almost new despite how much he has used it. The ROF on this marker is great for the gun. Toss on a level 10 bolt and a double trigger and you'll be firing fast without chopping paint. The addition of a warpfeed lowers the profile so no more hopper shots. Maintainance on this marker is relatively easy, just unscrew a piece, turn the bolt, and the entire bolt comes out. Clean it off, oil it up, and slide back in. The consistancy of this marker is great too, shooting +/- 3 fps over the chrono doing single shots. Didn't test fps while shooting rapidly but I know that RT valve recycles fast enough to not have any worries about shoot down. As I said before, my only quall about this marker was the weight, but if it bothers you that much, find a different marker or get the ULE upgrade.
Conclusion: Great marker. I was extremely lucky to get this marker for $100 and for it to be in the condition it is in now. I do suggest that if you play woodsball to remove the colored frame on the marker, it serves no real purpose except cosmetic. If you find one, buy one and you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebel mp Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto Mag RT, Angel LCD, WGP E Orracle, Vengance 2.0 auto cocker, Smart Parts Epiphany, and an old Kingman Spyder.
Marker Setup: Im the worst to ask this question too because my moods change quickly and i have too much gear (cus im a pack rat) so i dont know what ill use any givin weekend
Recommended
Upgrades:
are upgrades even available for this gun anymore? but double trigger frame, barrel, and bolt are great upgrades for this gun.
Strengths: Its fast
Weaknesses: Barrel,
finding upgrades.
Review: Well back in the day this was one of the ultimate guns too own. Mine has the double trigger frame. I have a Dye Boomstick barrel for it . Unfortunately i haven't put a halo or a force feed loader on it but the revy i have for it works fine with it till i hit the sweet spot and it goes full auto. But i love mine and do use it once in a great while.
Conclusion: Its a good gun when it came out and for alittle while till the elctros came out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mindjob Monday, November 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-mag, RT Pro, Mini-mag, Classic Mag. Angel LED, Various Autocockers, various other high end mech and electro markers
Marker Setup: LVL10
Intelliframe w/blade trigger
45/88 Centerflag hyperflow adjustable tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lvl 10
Intelliframe
Adj air tank
Parabolic power feed plug
Halo B or equivilent
Strengths: FAST
reliable
zero shoot down at rapid fire
consistent velocity over the chrono
craftsmanship
accuracy
Weaknesses: banjo bolt difficult
lack of compatablity with other AGD products
learning curve with rapid fire
Review: I had to wait for 2 years after this gun came out to buy it because of my cash flow, (or lack there of). I am and have been an advid AGD shooter since buying my first mag somewhere around 1995, and I know the ins and outs pretty well.

The RT valve was designed to overcome the perceived shoot down on the older A.I.R. valves on the classic and min mags. One of the benafits of the new design was that the trigger rod actually 'pushed' the trigger back into firing position after each shot. Research discovered that the higher the input pressure, the more 'reactive' the trigger became. Once you became familiar with the gun, it actually became very easy to sweet-spot the trigger and rapid fire upwards of 15 bps.

The problems early on with the RT was that the very first batches of the high-rise main bodies were incorrectly manufactured, causing a feed problem and chopping reputation that AGD was never able to shake. I owned my RT for a few years before the LVL 10 came out, and rarely had chopping issues. But as people began to tinker with the gun and find ways to make it rapid fire even faster, the RT EASILY outshot the power feed Viewloaders of the time.

Enter the LVL 10.
I broke down and picked up a LVL 10 kit online for about $65. It took me a good month to really get it tweeked and working right. It also required me to replace the reg piston with one set for a higher vent pressure, since some lvl 10 configurations used a much heavier main spring, thus increasing the reg output pressure into the powertube to overcome it.

I also find that an adjustable output HPA tank is key if you really want to fine tune your rapid fire. I run 1000 psi into the gun, and it rapid fires like mad. The really scary part is that the velocity stays +/- 6 fps over the chrono while doing it. A good high flow tank is definately recomended, such as the Max-flo or Centerflag tanks.

Another small but annoying issue I ran into with the RT was when I tried to replace my X-boarded VL with a Halo B. Seems that for some reason, balls would hang up on the power feed plug. After a little research, I discovered AGD had already ran into this and corrected it with a $2 replacement plug called the "Parabolic P.F. plug. It just has a slightly different shaped curve to help promote faster ball loading.

Conclusion: My conclusion is that this is an awesome product, that was WAY ahead of its time. Would I recomentd it now? NO. AGD has updated the RT line with the RT Pro which incorporated all of its advances. These include the newer version of the RT valve which is called the X-valve, the ULE verticle feed aluminum bodies, and the ULE Trigger kits - which lowers the pressure required to pull the trigger down to near electo-trigger levels. It also eliminates the "Bounce/Rapid fire" that disqualifies the RT for tournament use.

I have seen fully tricked out "Classic RTs" (as they are now called) on E-bay in the $250-$400 range. For that money you can't go wrong. These things can blow away any mech and many electro guns out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Insane Toad Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used (owned) anything other than, my RT and a piranha.
Marker Setup: AGD Automag RT Original
10" Smart Parts SS
Level 10 superbolt
Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet Apache
Crossfire 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Fast Hopper
Double Finger Trigger
Adjustable Tank
An Electric Trigger Frame (you will loose the RT effect though)
New Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Beasty lookin'
Old Skool Style Body
Weaknesses: Heavy
Limited for upgrades
Needs a level 10 to run well enough to play tourneys
Review: This gun is awsome, it is super fast with a hopper that can keep up with the trigger bounce (apache). You dont really need the adjustable tank as long as you have a level 10. But other than that its an amazing gun, with an amazing capabilities to stand up to today's standards
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who likes vintage peices that haul A$$.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

canehdian dude Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 Classic Mag, RT Pro, i guess all mags are similar :S
Marker Setup: Classic RT Mag, classic warp body, 12" red front/black back freak, black intelliframe, 48/3000 pure energy red macroline, PTP warp feed, soon a drop but dont know what one
Recommended
Upgrades:
warp feed, intelliframe (if you can find one), drop..
Strengths: fast:), original marker, rarer, really nice looking
Weaknesses: absolutely needs nitro isnt made anymore. no modern mag upgrades fit on it
Review: this gun is the older RT Pro. It is very fast (some people say its more reactive than RT Pros), looks great, consistant, mag reliability, sometimes referred to as a classic gun.
unfortunately, none of the modern mag upgrades fit on this gun (classic mag parts, rt pro parts, etc). the hole for the trigger frame is to large for regular mag trigger frames to fit on (small holed)but i have been told if you get a rail bushing for the trigger frame, regular mag trigger frames will fit on it. its a really good gun but unless you find used parts, its pretty much just gonna stay like how u get it. AGD offers an RT original upgrade program thing where u send your gun to them and they make it so new mag parts will fit on it (they replace the valve with an X valve and the body with a ule body). this isnt cheap though and is 350 american
Conclusion: i love this gun but i wish other mag upgrades would fit on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media