paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT

Airgun Designs Automag RT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Partial List of Features: Reactive Trigger™ (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown,designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases, all new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the 68AUTOMAG valve, the RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight hard anodized aluminum regulator body laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing, carbide tipped Sear Assembly, stainless steel hard line - no bulky braided hose, front grip with built in air passage for custom hookups, polished stainless steel mainbodies, new tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake, and built in filter that prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, June 26th, 2001
Strengths: Well, the feel for one. This gun just feels expensive, and has a nice weight to it. The foregrip feels good, but I droppped the stock trigger frame for a Benchy 2X. I also dropped the hardline hose, for a red macro. There isn't alot that needs to be upgraded, except for the barrel. The stock barrel isn't that bad really. It's got ok accuracy, but I don't get the whole 2 detent thing. Just take one out, and save it. The reactive trigger is great, it pushes your finger(s) back into the start position, making it harder to chop balls. The first time I tried this beast, I tried regular shooting, and slowly crancked up the bps. I can shoot out a solid 12 with this gun, and this thing rips. I then proceeded to hold the gun at base with my left hand, and just feathered the trigger as fast as I could with my middle, and ring finger or my right hand. This thing will spit every paintball out, and then some. I had encountered some breaks, but only minor ones, and were easily cleaned up. You must use a revvy with this SOB. And, like always, there are some who whine about having to use nitro. Well, I figure if you pay this much for a gun, you might as well pay for a good nitro system. Nitro is better anyway. And the best thing about my gun, was it was F R E E!. Thats right, sent to me by my brother-in-law, after he bought an E-Mag. I got it totally free, he also sent me my 68 Classic, for the same price. But trust me, there is alot of value in a gun like this. This particular gun was once owned by one of the Jacksonville Warriors, and the trigger job is beyond sweet. It is smaller than a mouse click, and is horribly light, add on the reactive trigger, and this thing rules. My brother-in-law has had offers in the area of $1200 for it, without air system. Lowest bid was I think $600. Just to show you that the RT can be crancked up easily with some fine tuning. I use an AA Melee system on it, and it runs great.
Weaknesses: Well, it's kind of heavy, but it's nothing big. I can lift more than that, and so could some little child, so it's fine. It's under the bad section because someone else might have a problem with it. Replace stock barrel, and you can hit anything. But then again, no gun has a good stock barrel. The Infinity barrels Angels use suck bad. Stock trigger frame. I always hated the stock frame on mags. My 68 classic I changed to a Benchy X2 also. But with a new trigger frame, and a set of hogues, your ready for anything. The old RT's with the high rise power feed suck. the feed system doest work great, and it is hard to clean. Stick to the regular power feed, or heck, if you can get a vertical, get one.
Conclusion: This gun WILL out perform any, and I mean ANY ELECTRO there is. Then again, any gun can beat an Electo if it's batters go dead. No batteries needed for this beast, so when some Electonic fanatic has his batteries die, tell him he should have bought an RT. It's kind of sad, that the Angel, even though it has the "latest technology" and is crowned the "Worlds most high tech gun", that with all of it's electronic boards, and other crap, that it still can't out shoot an RT. An RT isn't even electronic, and it can shoot 26+ balls a second. Sure, it doesnt really matter when you think that no one can shoot that fast anyway, but it goes to show you that Airgun Designs actually made a gun that is made for speed, not looks, or fancy dancy shooting modes. But for SPEED. And what is the deal with 3 and 6 shot burst on an Angel? And turbo mode is completely useless. The NPPL is going to make everyone use certain tournament boards anyway, so you might as well just buy an E-Mag. Thats one gun that you know wont die on you, ever.
Sorry, this is just turning into an Angel bash fest. And, most of the time, the guys with the most expensive gear, are the ones who stink the most.

Get an RT. Beat the price of competition, and the competition itself.

I gave this gun a 9, because it is a very good gun. No gun deserves a 10, becasue there is always something wrong with every gun. This gun has it's faults, but very few. Choose wisly, and get an RT. You won't be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 23rd, 2001
Strengths: First I have a Micromag RT, an Adren. Angel, and an Automag RT, all are fully upgraded. I've played comp paintball for about ten years so I can officially say that this gun rocks! For those of you with chopping problems, it's not the gun, it's YOU-make sure to use a Rev, reg your psi properly and don't use the high-rise feed body. I've broken around 4 balls in my last 5 cases. I have a Z-valve in mine and depending to the input psi you can do bursts and full-auto with ease and no breaks. THIS GUN IS BETTER THAN AN ANGEL FOR LESS THAN 1/2 THE COST! Highly customizable.
Weaknesses: Stock frame sucks, get a 2X trigger and frame, stock barrel is alright, but with an up grade you'll see better performance.
Conclusion: Well worth the cost, one of the cheapest tournement guns on the market, yet one of the best, indestructable, performs 9/10 srock, when upgraded 10/10, just as fast as an Angel but much more accurate, AGD has best tech service on the planet. Get this gun and with the money you save from an angel you can spend on a frame, FREAK, and a high end nitro system. Easy to maintain. One of the best 5 guns all time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirtraven1 Friday, May 4th, 2001
Strengths: Awesome ROF, Solid Quality Marker, Looks good and not a hell of alot of goodies for it to save you money to buy paint.
Weaknesses: Not alot of goodies for it. the built in filter slows down the air to the valve.
Conclusion: No upgrades necessary. No problem keeping up with the electros, at least for me anyways, been shooting Mags for many years. Definitely worth the money, you need at least an Black Magic Cocker to try an keep up, which you will still be paying a few hundred more to do so. Cheaper than electros for those that actually have finger muscles. Durabel and reliable, hell even in the manual, it says you can hose it down with water to clean. With the RT gased up of course. Recommend.. Oh Yeah!! Not a hell of alot of aftermarket stuff, which is good... when I had my Cocker, I keep upgrading parts to get that edge, but with the RT, you already have it!! I use it with a Pre-Set Nitro Duck and have no problems with the 900psi input. So I don't know what people are saying that you need an adjustable tank? Even AGD says it isn't necessary. My friend has a Flatline adjustable and he used my Pre-Set and there was no difference using the same paint and barrel at a temp. of 70 degree.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PunkRocker Sunday, April 22nd, 2001
Strengths: Well.. What can I say, this gun is AMAZING! It ROF is incredible and the trigger pull is so much nicer than all the other non-electro guns out there. I also want to say that i TRIED to short stroke and I just couldnt do it., this gun will not break balls if you know how to use it and take care of it. Looks great and is extremely durable. RT valve acts as a built in regulator.
Weaknesses: Its a bit heavy but really no problem with a decent N2 tank and drop forward. It is Nitro/Compressed Air only but what do you expect for a gun this nice? Stock barrel is a bit weak but all (almost) stock barrels blow. You MUST have a 12v Revvy to keep up with this gun.. If you forget to turn the hopper on you WILL chop balls instantly, its that fast.
Conclusion: I own an AutoMag RT with a Dye SS 12" barrel, Dye Stickies, a 12v Red Rev, and a 68/4.5k HyperFlow w/ a Shocktech drop and it is my favorite gun to date. A stock mag w/ an aftermarket barrel, a 12v hopper and an ADJUSTABLE nitro tank will tear up the field. I also want to clear something up: For all of you who say that the RT chops balls, it is because you are using a preset tank. The output pressure on most presets is from 750-900 psi and that is too HIGH. Get a nice adjustable and reg it down to like 550-600 and the chopping will stop, trust me. The stock bolt works fine, no need to spend $50 on an ANS contrary to what many say. Get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 1st, 2001
Strengths: I own a rt pro and it shoots great.This is an awsome gun that can shoot as fast as most electro markers can and you dont need batteries to run it. It is a great looking gun with a pretty good price.i would reccomend a new barrel and a adjustable nitro tank (must). Also get a 12 volt revvy because a regular hopper just cant keep up with the rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Its a little bit heavy but not that bad and it runs off of real high pressure. the manuel says you need about 750psi goin into it but i would reccomend pumping it up to 800psi
Conclusion: this is a great non electric turney gun that shoots just as fast.its wort how much it costs and i would reccomend it to someone who has plenty of cash they would like to throw into a gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 16th, 2001
Strengths: i just got this gun and out of the box this is the best gun i have ever shot in accuracy,consistency,and over all performance. ant that rumor about this gun being hevy is crap this gun weighs almost the same as the 2000 autocockers i have one of each and i cant tell a difference in weight.also that rumor about it chopping paint that is crap too i shoot pro ball and havent broke a single ball yet.
Weaknesses: i have the rt pro and its the bomb no problems i love this gun.
Conclusion: if you are thinking of getting a fast rate of fire and dont want to go electro this is the marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 12th, 2001
Strengths: 1)RATE OF FIRE
2)Looks
3)Accuracy
Weaknesses: 1)I suppose it's heavy, but it's lighter than my cocker w/CO2 was, so I don't think it is. Maybe if you have no arm strength...
2)Had problems breaking and/or chopping paint, but that was rectified by getting an ANS Phase II bolt
3)Compared to my Cocker, the range isn't too good, even with my 14" Boomstick (maybe longer would help, but the 14 is long enough overall)
Conclusion: Stock, it's pretty good, but the ANS bolt and Boomstick helped a lot, and I would STRONGLY recommend at least the bolt, and probably a barrel as well. This gun has my friend (who usually hates Mags) drooling and desiring one. You go through a lot of paint with this, but I suppose you could tone things down or buy more paint.
Overall: I like it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 9th, 2001
Strengths: well, technically... I have an Automag RT Pro, chrome body, vert-feed, but this is a derivative of the old discontinued RT anyway.
What's good?
1. Looks: Styling baby!!! A little bit Buck Rogers/Marvin the Martian, but definitely not the same old thing. And it's functional styling, not the excess of others.
2. ROF: damn sweet. Spanks the stock 'cockers and everything else. AGD claims 26BPS in computer-pulled, plastic ball sims, but real life, this baby will still pull 10-13BPS if your 12V Revolution (and finger) can keep up. All this firepower, and it's accurate too.
3. Reliability: Legendary AGP. Only 3 moving parts - trigger, sear, bolt. Simple is GOOD in this case.
4. Reactive Trigger - pull is short, light, consistant, and responsive. Not the same as a dark angel's, but it isn't $1600+ clams either.
5. Warranty - AGD's star system.
6. Balance - solid, with good heft. Doesn't feel flimsy.
7. Video - detailed and easy to follow, if somewhat cheesy.
Weaknesses: Bad? Not much.
1. It's supposed to be a ball-chopper, but I've shot Marbs, Blazes, Big Balls, RPS Premiums, and Midnights through it, and haven't chopped much. So long as you match paint to barrel, ball size to bore size, you'll be fine - but that goes for all guns.
2. Upgrade Path: Not insane like the 'cockers, where you can change EVERYTHING, but upgrade path is still good - barrels, triggers, grips, fore-grips, electronic trigger kits, bolts, etc. And the stock parts are good to begin with.
3. Weight: Bit heavy for the kids and girls - mine weighs 7lbs, 15oz. with my Nitro Duck 90ci Tuff Skin - but I like the heft and balance. You could always go remote if this is too heavy, or grow stronger.
4. HPA Only: Oh well. So are other high-end guns.
Conclusion: SWEET!!! This gun rocks!
Pricey, but well worth the $635 I spent + $300 for the HPA.
Upgrades like barrel, drop zone II, and motorized hopper are gravy - they make a good thing better - but aren't STRICTLY necessary.
It's cheaper than an STO 'cocker, looks better, and shoots just a tad faster. Good thing I went AGD, because I was 2 seconds from getting an STO. Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against 'cockers, and definitely nothing against the STO 'cocker,... but I'll buy a SP Big Daddy 16" or Dye Boomstick 16" with the money I saved.
And I got a more unique gun.
Great Job AGD!!!


Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Davion Wednesday, January 17th, 2001
Strengths: FAST!!!!!This gun will shoot as fast as you want it and much more. Airguns designed this one to complement your trigger pull and increase speed. For those not used to the automag trigger it may take a while before you get the hang of the reactive trigger, but once you do you will rock!! If you're not careful you will break balls due to the gun outshooting any loader--even the 12V Revolution. Get a warpfeed for the ultimate in speed. Using consistent fire
I've shot approximately 12 cases through this gun and have had about 15 breaks.
Balance!!I like the weight of this gun-- it would probably be a problem if the gun was larger; but its compact size gives it an ideal balance for me.
Weaknesses: I hate powerfeeds!!
Conclusion: Upgrades: I added a smart parts wood grip (Wonderful grips), smart parts stainlss barrel, Dye stainless barrel

I own a custom Autococker 98, Air Power Vector, Budd Orr Sniper, ACI Maverick, and Tippmann Prolite

GREAT GUN!!!I plan to get the E-Mag modification through Airgun Designs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 27th, 2000
Strengths: I think this marker is a great marker because it has an intensly high ROF. The marker works great it doesnt chop unless you shoot it wrong. It is an excelently made marker.
Weaknesses: its a little on the heavy side
Conclusion: the only reason people chop with this gun is because they short stroke the trigger and they dont use the trigger properly. REMEMBER ALL RT OWNERS THE RTS TRIGGER IS VERY SENSITIVE TO TRIGGER RELEASE BE CONSISTANT WITH YOUR TRIGGER FINGER. it evern says that in the manual.
pay attention and stop trashin a great gun.

this is a Definite recomendation
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media