paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Arrow Precision Sterling STP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Arrow Precision

Buy Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Arrow Precision Sterling STP
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Available in six high polished anodized metallic colors. Stain- less Steel internals (mirror polished and matched). 2-piece wood grip. 13" micro honed removable aluminum barrel. Bottom line. Stainless steel braided hose. Each valve individually set for optimum performance.
Product Availability 
The Arrow Precision Sterling STP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jimmyjam010 Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, spyder e99, tippmann A5, Mars Lt, Zeus G2, Mercury G2, walmart guns(they suck, go figure)
Marker Setup: i use a Zeus G2 running off 12 grams and clips in a holster on my side always, and then i use a sterling pump or my other zeus with hopper adapter and bottom line on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrels(not neccesary cause it shoots damn accurate with the stock barrel)
Strengths: Accurate
Tend not to shoot lots of balls
reliable
good on gas
Weaknesses: Slow, but go figure its a pump.
Hard velocity changing
Review: It can take a licken and keep on ticken. The pump is actually my freinds and he never cleans it, and he has never changed anything out of it(no new parts) and it always works. it is unbelievable. we have played in the rain, shot sunflower seeds out of it, shot lip-sol out of it. basically we beat the hell out of it, but it wont seem to break, im thinking of buying my own cause i love his gun so much. it really is unbelievable how it works so great when he treats it so badly.

Can shoot more than one ball at a time by pumping more than once then shooting(although ball speed does go down using this, but shooting at 280 or 300 it shoots two balls really good)

I really don't have a lot of experience under my belt, but i have to agree with all these other reviewers...this really is the best pump you can buy.

Hold down the trigger and pump it as fast as you can and you can get it going pretty good. It helps if you practice pumping things, and you have a strong forearm
Conclusion: If your gonna buy a pump, buy a sterling, you cant go wrong. It is a perfect ten. Reliability, accuracy, durability, efficiency, and just the fact that it is a pump make this a worth while edition to anyones arsenal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Chaffers Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fieldmaster, Bushmaster, Razorback, Black Widow, Bud Orr Sniper, Phantom, Apex Elite
Marker Setup: STP Silver with MDS bolt, Pred upgrades, MPM stock, J+J 14" and wrap around wooden grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend a stock to get the best out of a Sterling, other than that just make sure you run on liquid and that the marker stays on liquid during the game (a few mods to the external hosing can help with this). Still a beauty straight out of the box though.
Strengths: Short, smooth pump stroke.
Ergonomics
Consistency
Reliability.
Rate of fire.
Accuracy.
Balance.
Weaknesses: Cost.
Temptation to bait phantom / sniper owners as second class citizens.
Review: My Sterling is more than 16 years old, older than many players around today, though it hardly has a mark on it. I used to happily carry it into tournaments of a decent level against tricked out Autocockers and Automags, the only time I felt as though I was at a disadvantage was in the rough where one handed operation and rate of fire are important. Whilst few would dial their markers above 290 I'd be happy if I was hitting 297 on the chrono.

Against other pumps nothing even came close to the Sterling. I owned a phantom for a couple of years and though nice I missed more games than I can remember with broken power stems. A bit like driving something nice but then upgrading to a Rolls Royce. It was after all just another nelspot.

Sniper's were the closest in terms of consistency but you could slam them off the field. Had a lot of respect for sniper players who could keep up without slamfire kits though, there were some good skillful players out there. Maintenance wasn't anywhere near as easy on the snipers. Good quality kit, just not quite as well designed as the Sterling.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, you should buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tracer, Phantom
Marker Setup: GT 2000
14" Twister, 16" Tiller, 16" Nightstick
VL 200 Mag
-----------------
Sterling STP
12" DAC
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip
Small hopper
Barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliability
Trigger
Weaknesses: Smaller balls rolls out the barrel
No anti-doublefeed
Hard velocity change
Review: The Sterling STP (mine is nicknamed the Green Hazard) is a very accurate pump marker with a smooth stroke. Mine is very old and is still very accurate when shooting across an outdoor speedball field.
A barrel upgrade isn't that important, as it will shoot just about any paintball straight, as long as it has the correct diameter for the barrel. If not, it will be terribly inaccurate.

The stock trigger is very comfortable, but the stock grip can be a bit uncomfortable after an extended period of use, so a better grip is a good upgrade.
I've slamfired a few times (holding the trigger down and pump like mad) and it does perform rather well.

The thumb screws tend to unscrew themselves so be sure to check them before playing.

When comparing it to the Phantom it has the disadvantage of not having an abundance of upgrades etc. but the trigger on the Phantom can't be compared to the Sterling. The Phantom is also much cheaper than a new Sterling.

Photo: http://piggelin.mine.nu/bildarkiv/paintball/greenhazard00.jp
g
Conclusion: It is the Rolls-Royce of pump markers for a reason. A new Sterling STP will cost you 300 € so a Phantom is a better choice if you don't want to spend alot of money on a pump. The Sterling however is the best pump around.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob Ryan Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP-
Marker Setup: Sterling STP 20oz Co2 Gravity hopper
PMI Black Maxx 9oz Co2 Grav hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Fun to shoot, Made in UK instead of china better quality than chinastuff
Weaknesses: The hose can chafe your wrist little bit but no big deal
Review: I orderd this from xpaintball and when i got it i was suprised at how small this marker is from the pictures ive seen it looks the size of a pump autococker but its extremly small weighs maybe 2 lbs its light some features are-

13 inch barrel
.45 grips
trigger shoe
very light trigger pull
short pump stroke
Conclusion: Overall very good marker sturdy and durable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cabrown Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman C3 propane
Marker Setup: Imangine, J&J Ceramic, Remote, 9V Hopper, Flex 8 Goggles
Strengths: VERY ACURATE, fun to shoot
Weaknesses: Not any that i could see
Review: Well I was exited when i first went out to play paintball, because i was going to get to try out my new Spyder. I came out and chopped so many balls that i was considering renting. My friend then suggested that i use his sterling that he had brought as a backup. I knew it was a pump, but i didn't want to rent so i agreed. He set it up for me and i began to play. On the third shot i took i took someone out from fifty yards up a hill with only his leg sticking out from behind a bunker. I was then hooked. I had a blast. I was sneaking around and making shots that i had never made before. I always used to make fun of him for using that pump while we were using semi's, but i then realized why. It will totally change your play style. You will try to MAKE shots, instead of just taking them. I would recommend this marker to anyone. A great buy for anyone that wants to have some fun, while making fun of his friends at the same time for getting beat by a pump.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, it is alot of fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ariade Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC Phantom, Sniper 2, Sniper 03
Marker Setup: Phantom (stock and direct feed) with either a 4oz tank or a 9oz. Nothing else (it doesn't need it).
Tippmann Pro/Carbine (stock, needs nothing)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't need anything really...
Strengths: Ultra smooth pump stroke, accurate, and well built.
Weaknesses: Paint on the stock barrel wears off after time. Pricey.
Review: This is a wonderful pump gun, and take it from me, I've tried almost all of them... It has just about the smoothest and most wonderful pump stroke I've ever tried, plus stock it's amazingly accurate. I'm not a fan of the bottom line threads, but I replaced them on my friends, and now everything's fine. The only gripe I have is that the paint on the stock barrel gets worn away over time as you pump the gun, but nothing some Krylon or Tremclad won't fix. They're pricey, however, so if you want one but can't afford one new try ebay.
Conclusion: A great gun, rare, but great. A status symbol among pump players, that's for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kylixz Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom with a little tricks from Punisher's Customs.
Marker Setup: Well, as I have only had the gun for a while... not much.
Green Sterling STP from BunkerBoyzPaintball. Very nice.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much needed so far. You really should get a compressed air tank. Possibly a regulator
Strengths: Extremely smooth pump stroke. I can't stress this enough. I've held many different pumps... and this seems to be the smoothest of them all. Accuracy and efficiency compares to the Phantom.
Weaknesses: Slightly harder than a phantom to field strip. The bolt comes out easily for cleaning, but re-attaching the gripframe can be a little tricky.
Conclusion: Wow. I am amazed by this gun. I used to love my Phantom for stock class play, but this thing blows it out of the water because it is so smooth. I'm going to be getting some nice internal upgrades for it I hope... courtesy of Punisher.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Aci Traccer with a 12", ventury bolt and M16 style grip frame, but i really gets old compared witha sterling
Marker Setup: Sterling Stp Turbo with adjustable ventury bolt and 14" barrel / AGD Minimag with 12" teardrop, Ventury bolt, Hurricane valve, Fullflow.........
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an adjudtable Ventury bolt and a very long barrel and prepare to be the king of speedball/ supairball
Strengths: The good... everythig.... easy to clean, easy to dismantle, very good acuracy, very resistant, indeed it's unbreakable. very good pump action, so smooth to arm. i use mine with a vl 2000 and it never broke a ball in it, very good slam.
Weaknesses: Nobody could dare saying a bad thing of it, it's the best pump action gun in the world. forget everything, even the phantom can't make it.
Conclusion: Oh my oh my, this is the British Rolls Royce of guns. nothing else is that good. Runs perfect even with co2 ( that's what i use )
If you like pump action playing go and get one, don't bother looking other markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LordChaos Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock Sterling STP w/ Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ported Barrel
Strengths: Extreamly accurate.
Consistant.
Autotrigger.
Smooth pumping action.
All but unbreakable.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is loud.
Difficult to adjust velocity.
Conclusion: Hands down the best pump out there. I'm consistantly taking on (and taking out) mid level semi's with it. Consistant performance even after serrious abuse (tripping, falling, and smacking it into a rock had no effect other then scuffing the finish). I'd give this one higher then a 10 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 6th, 2001
Strengths: This is the best pump is ever used!!! At first I wondered what all the hype was about so I decided to go and buy one.... what can I say apart from, its just the best pump gun you can buy. I my gun for the whole day at my local paintball site, it never even broke a ball, leaked gas, mis-fired due to my double cocking. I just couldn't no matter how hard I tryed, fault it during play.
Weaknesses: As the others say, it is a little tricky to adjust the velocity at first but once you've got it setup its great. The only thing that could effect my balls was the wind. Very expensive though, but you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Brilliant paintball marker definately THE one to look at if you are going to purchase a pump gun. A good beginners marker if your not planing on upgrading for a long while, and your not to rough with it. As aswell the other man said it can't get 10 becuase of its price but if it were a bit cheaper I would. Awsome gun :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media