paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder

Brass Eagle Marauder Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Marauder

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Marauder
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 375
Average Rating: 4.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Marauder sets the standard for value priced, polymer, semi-automatic markers with features that include a one step quick pull field strip pin for easy maintenance, metal internals, self-cocking velocity adjustment, right hand feed, custom designed trigger guard, double finger trigger, newly redesigned side cocking knob, and bottom line adaptor.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Marauder is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Gunboat Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental gun of some sort. The kind at Sergeant Splatter's, I have no idea what make they are.
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Eradicator (Marauder) w/ laser sight. All stock. It's so bad though, I have to use rental guns.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. It's bad enough I spent money on this marker, I'm not throwing out more of my hard earned bucks on this thing.
Strengths: What's good about this? Well, visually, it's not a bad looking gun. To the untrained eye of the unexperienced player, it is fairly aesthetically pleasing. But that's about it.

A funny (and sad) quirk of this gun is that it actually fires more accurately and chops less balls when the stock barrel is off! That's right! If you actually have to play with this thing, leave your barrel at home. Try explaining to the guys why you can't use a barrel plug :)
Weaknesses: The bad, unfortunately, outweighs the good. It's a piece of snit. But I bought it when I was total n00b, so I didn't know any better. It's faithful to its builder, Brass Eagle, since its a total piece of crap and fits alongside nicely with just about everything else Brass Eagle makes.

It was a black day for paintball when Brass Eagle bought out JT. Sigh.

But anyway, back to the gun. Many other reviews have given an indepth analysis of why its bad, so I won't even attempt it. Just know this: Don't FRICKIN' bother.
Conclusion: Considering there are pieces of DYE clothing that are more expensive than this gun, keep that in mind if you decide to buy it. DOWN WITH BRASS EAGLE!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Jerrodalonso222 Monday, August 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder something? Idk crappy mech spyder
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster silver (stock right now)
Pure Energy 68/3000 tank
Extreme Rage "overdrive" hopper (hopefuly getting new one soon)
Borrowed ASA from a friend
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun period
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: The whole thing is crap
Review: One of my friends let me shoot this gun and damn this thing suck badly, it felt like it was going to fall apart in my hands every time i pulled the trigger, it was so cheap and plasticy feeling, this gun just suck, get a spyder if you suck or are so short on money.
Conclusion: Buy a new gun
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pball847 Wednesday, June 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, Spyder, Tippmanns and all sorts of other guns.
Marker Setup: 2 Bushmasters and lots of stuff.
Recommended
Upgrades:
There aren't very many, but chances are if you buy a marker that costs this much you aren't looking to upgrade. Upgrading any low priced marker is pointless once you get to a certain point you could of bought a much better gun. The only thing worth buying is a barrel.
Strengths: It is a great gun for getting in to the game. It is reliable and doesn't break very easily. Despite what people say, the polymer is pretty durable. It is fairly accurate but could benefit from a new barrel, although I am not sure what threading it is.
Weaknesses: So what if it doesn't perform like your Angel. It costs $50.
Conclusion: If you want to get in to the game or don't play very often this is a marker to consider. The way I see it is, you should either buy a marker like this or choke up the money and buy a high performance gun. All the stuff in between isn't worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elfasto Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a (whatever the rental shack gave out)
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Marauder
Tippmann A5
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) New barrel
2) A total cleaning, de-burring
Strengths: Light, strong, comfortable to use, good fire rate, quite reliable. Uses Spyder threads
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Manufacturer's lack of attention to fine finishing
-LOUD!! It's a Howitzer!
Review: So far I have fired off 3000 rounds thru this marker. So far:

-I have had only 10 balls break inside the barrel with the stock barrel, and after getting the proper insert for my Equations Design Bizerk Pro barrel, it has chopped maybe 5 balls.
-Cleaning and maintenance is a breeze and a joy.
-This marker is very reliable
-This marker is reasonable fast (in balls per second firing). It shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger.
-At short ranges or tight quarter shooting this marker is light, easy to handle, easy to maneuver thru trees, brush.
-I can crawl reasonable well while holding this marker.

But:

-The accuracy beyond 40 yards is quite poor. A new barrel is in order.
-The manufacturer really needs to pay attention to removing plastic flashing, metal burrs, etc. I had to completely deburr the marker from inside out to keep the balls from breaking inside and improve accuracy.
-An expansion chamber would be a definite benefit, but not completely necessary.
-A better hopper and a vent for the expelled CO2 is in order. I drilled a 6mm hole myself in order to facilitate this (OOPS, I blew my warranty. Oh well. :D)
Conclusion: For a beginner's marker, it's pretty reasonable. It's easy to handle, reliable enough once the owner works out the minor bugs with it, and with good maintenance habits, it's a marker that will last for years.

-EDIT-

Still have the BE Marauder after 1 year of play. Most people are surprised that it has lasted this long, and it performs as well as it does. No complaints.

-EDIT #2-

After retiring it after buying an A5, I loaned it to a friend, and after 3 years, 2 owners, 20K+ balls thru it, it still works. Needs new springs, but it's still trucking!!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 4:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Powerful Roger Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE-Avenger
Tippy 98 Custom
Tippy Pro Carbine
PMI Black Maxx (Same Exact Gun, 30 dollars more)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger Limiter Mod
Feedneck Gas Vent Mod
Strengths: Lightweight, Durable, Polymer Composite (Same stuff used in the glock handgun)
Consistency
Durability
Reliability
Precision
Weaknesses: Sound
Recoil
Trigger Pull is rather long
Review: I've had this gun for at least 6 months now, and I have to say it is possibly the best buy on the paintball market. This gun runs around $50-$70 and it is worth every penny and then some. This gun preforms reliably in any condition, no matter what. I was playing up in the woods in the puring rain, I dropped my gun by accident and it hit a rock. I picked it up and saw there was a nice gouge in the receiver, but sure enough the gun shot just like before. You have to use this gun for at least 6 games to understand how well this gun preforms. You can't just test it, as in you don't get to see how it preforms out in the field. This gun is a breeze to field strip, it's very light, and ultra durable. Now as for weaknesses I find the gun to be rather loud, also the trigger pull is long. The trigger pull can be shortened though. Simply the best value on the paintball market today. Great for your average paintball enthusiast. I can't say it enough, it's a great, great gun.
Conclusion: If your looking for a gun that won't let you down in rain, snow, sleet, hail or any other possible condition. If you wan't a gun that can go through hell and still preform reliably, If you want a gun that you KNOW will last the test of time, get this gun. It's not a Timmy or an Angel, it's a Marauder and it preforms great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kettleby1 Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Brass Eagle Talon Ghost (Horrible)
Marker Setup: None
Recommended
Upgrades:
All I recomend for this marker is a new barrel.... It is sort of loud and chops some paintballs
Strengths: Light weight
Polymor plastic
Shoots very far
Easy cocking
double trigger

And many more
Weaknesses: It is plastic, and it chuggs down CO2 fairly fast.
Conclusion: Overall, This marker is a great marker. All i would reconmend is a barrel change. Dispite what other people would say about this marker, it is very good, affordable price, and acts like a really expensive gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

burton11 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triad
VL Orion
Trilogy Pro
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro SF
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Use the marker as it is. This is a beginner marker, if you want to upgrade this gun, then you are better off selling it and getting a better gun.
Strengths: Light
Cheap
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Very loud
Very hard blowback
Polycarbonate body
Very slow
Review: This gun is great for beginners to get familiar with how a PB marker works and how to maintain it. Use this gun to play at your local field, and you can easily compare how this gun stacks up to other guns being used. Once you learn about other guns, figure out what you like and dont like about PB guns, and make a decision on another gun. Keep this gun for a backup, or loan it to a buddy to use when you invite him to play and he is new to the sport.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner and see this gun for sale used and for cheap, then pick it up. I wouldnt buy this new, because once you start seeing people with markers that are more accurate and have a good ROF, you will quickly realize the shortcomings of this gun and feel like you should have spent a little more and got a spyder. I give this gun a 6 because it is above average, seeing that it comes with a metal barrel instead of a plastic one like i see on many very low end markers.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberGhost0417 Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator same marker just different name
I now have a piranha r6
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 Black, Richochet 2k Hopper, 14" CMI Rifled Tru-Flight Barrel, 9oz tank + tank butt. (Expansion Chamber coming soon!!!)
NOTE: Going to buy the tru-flight QUIET BARREL, and use this as my back up. It's the SAME EXACT barrel but with a new feature, it's more silent than this one.
Recommended
Upgrades:
GET A 9oz Tank with Butt Plate
UPGRADE THE BARREL!!! Don't get anything past 14" because it's not efficient
14" CMI Tru-Flight Rifled Barrel
Rifled for Accuracy
Expansion Chamber or Gas Thru
RONIN MARKER SLING (rest your hand between games)
Strengths: Cheap and Solid (Crawl around)
Light (aim while crawling)
EASY CLEANING!!!
5BPS
Double Trigger
ACCURATE
Weaknesses: still chops with motorized hopper
heavy LONG trigger
can't hit running targets
Review: REVIEW IS BASED ON THE ASSUMPTION PEOPLE GO EVERY WEEK
SO BASICALLY, HEAVY USAGE IN FOR A LONG TIME


UPDATE: I tried to turn the velocity up over 245fps and it wouldn't go past it. So I did a dumb thing and kept screwing in all the way in. I'm sure I screwed it in too much. so the refurbished marker BROKE AFTER 4 full days of paintball. About 3,300 rounds put through it. I adjusted the velocity and I'm PRETTY SURE I tightened the spring too much. It burped like it was out of gas, and it damaged the bolt and the part that catches the bolt, stripped it so it won't catch.

Now with that said, I looked for a new marker. I purchased a piranha r6 because

#1 vertical feed without adaptor
#2 trigger is short (very light too)
#3 10bps
#4 full metal body, teflon coated internals
#5 1 year warranty $50 remanufactured

What I needed in my new marker was

#1 Hit moving targets - nice short trigger
#2 lower profile vertical feed WITHOUT adaptor
What I looked for was
#1 short trigger
#2
#3 NO DROP FORWARD
#4 high rate of fire
I looked at:

spyder: xtra, victor, victor 2, some other spyders
32 degrees: rebel 02



I used PMI BIG BALLS, same seller of Marbilizar paintballs.
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
ACCURACY: Stock barrel is accurate up to like say 15 feet. WITH MY UPGRADED BARREL dang the accuracy is I don't know. Atleast 90 feet dead on. As Iwalked to class yesterday I estimated distances to see how accurate I was shooting. It was well over 100 feet. What I thought was 50 feet was more like 85+ feet. What I thought was 100 was like 165. I was tired though from paintballing the day before though.

ACCURACY UPDATED: same as above but the thing is you can't hit people that are on the run. You can't put enough balls in the air fast enough. The trigger screws you up to because it's a hard pull. To shoot it accurately you have to squeeze the trigger. That's alright if you got time to aim. If you want to rapid fire at a non-moving target you can get the job done. But if they try to run and are 50 feet away, you can't shoot a string. It's more like a 2-3 shots and the enemy's hiding already.

MATERIALS: SOLID SOLID SOLID. There's alot of plastic but it's the year 2005, mankind has gone very far in producing superior synthetic products and this is a marker that you have to intentionally throw against a well or off a building or slam it against something ON PURPOSE to break it. The co2 hose is steel braided so it's all good. The bolt is all metal.

MATERIALS UPDATE: The body is solid, however the internal parts like the bolt and the thing that catches the bolt is not too good. Mine broke pretty easily. Although I did screw the spring in too much, and broke mine, my friend has the same exact marker and it showed wear at the exact spots as well. Now,

EASE OF USE: This is my first paintball marker and it's SO EASY TO USE. Cleaning will be my first concern, because if a paintball breaks in your hopper and it leaks down into your marker some people might have problems. BUT NOT US, whoever owns one of these will tell you, you can take the marker apart, clean it, put it back together, even the barrel and paintball loader, all under 2 minutes. I did it in about 2 minutes at home taking my sweet time. On the field, stuck in a bunker with someone shooting at you, you can do it in under 30 seconds if you got a squeegee in hand. (I used a squeegee with that carpet like stuff) The marker is light weight. I use a 9oz tank to do my damage ( I crawl around with my this in ONE HAND AIMED AS I CRAWL) When I'm crawling, my marker is aimed the whole time.


Ease of Cleaning

Well it's easy to break down. Pull 2 pins and you can take out the key components you gotta clean when a paintball breaks in your hopper and leaks everywhere causing another paintball to break in your barrel. If you're bring the tools, you can clean it in the field. I cleaned it thorougly at home and it took about 3 minutes and that was one of those, I used it all day so it's time to clean it so it looks like new type of clean jobs, wiping the outside and trigger and handle and everything.
It's so easy, I'm going to be putting together a little cleaning kit and figure out where to wear it so I'll have it on the field. I most likely won't need it though, I only bust this one batch of paintballs because it was a bad 2nds batch and I was stupid enough to use it in the field. Other than that, I'm making the kit just in case. since I play woodsball and sometimes like a dork I get my barrel put into the sand by accident.

UPDATE: it's really easy to clean, but I just figured something out. I got so good at cleaning the marker because I had to clean it everytime I went to play. There would always be a chop though I didn't have my motorized hopper turned on. I have an r6 vertical feed without adaptor and it doesn't chop, even with the ricochet turned off. With the r6, I actually didn't even get a chop at all (only chop came due to me being OUT OF GAS)
Conclusion: Excellent STARTER paintball marker. Upgrade the barrel to at 14" tru-flight CMI barrel and you can shoot 90+ FEET ACCURATELY (using pmi big ball paintballs)

I used a ricocket 2k hopper that does 12bps AND it still chops paintballs. With my piranha r6, WITHOUT an electro hopper it still doesn't chop. I used my ricochet 2k but I didn't turn it on and no chops on the R6.
It won't break on you unless you try hard to break it on purpose.

If a paintball breaks in your hopper (big ball paintballs don't break), this marker is SO EASY TO TAKE APART AND CLEAN, you should carry a squeege because you can clean it in less than 1 minute. 30 seconds or less if you are getting shot at.

PERSONAL USAGE: I like to crawl around, keep my marker aimed and hit what I'm aiming at. Since this isn't too expensive, I don't mind letting it fall on rocks and stuff as I run and duck and lay down while I'm paintballing. With my 9oz tank, it's light weight so my marker is always aimed while I'm crawling, holding the marker in ONE hand only.

You don't really need anything but a new barrel, which is highly recommended. Other than that, this paintball marker is great. I would say the rapid fire isn't on the dime though, and it chops even though you have an electro hopper that does 12bps. I get like 2 chops every full day 7-8 hour day of paintballing.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 3:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zofarr Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tip98,other high and low end eletric and mechanical markers
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot,ACS,Evvy,Teardrop 14inch barrel ,JT Elite headshield w/thermal lens,co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: See Review body
Weaknesses: See Review body
Review: ---------THE bad-----------
-Plastic
-bad barrel
-chops a LITTLE paint

------- THE GOOOD--------------
-light
-can take a beating and still fire
-realiable ( what do i mean by this ? how could it be by choping paint? keep reading)


I bealive the beatuy in the marker is in its simlplicity . i mean it may be plastic but it will ALWAYS ALWAY ALWAYS ALWAYS FIRE won't always fire very well some of the time but it will ALWAYS fire i mean my friend had ALL the o rings off his B.E.M's striker(bolt)and this thing still it still fired perfectly . we played game were some peopele were making fun ofme and my maurder and guess whos gun didn't screw up in the rain? you guessed it mine. everyone elses mech marker just coudln't take it and did'n work but my mauder ? we scambled through mud and dirt and water a few of us dropped our guns inclding me some of those peoples guns didn't work ( don't get me wrong some of them did ) but my maudurder just cut right through it i broke at least a half a dozen balls in there (some from the cold and rain ) so i had alot of shells peices in there but that didn't stop it it still fired . i mena all guns eventually pack it in so naturlly after a year of almost constant use ( i mena like very weekend ) the plastic on the inside wore away and it had a few probelms loading.
Conclusion: If i had to play in a long long bad raining weather scenario game and i couldn;t have a tippman then this is what id have it would keep me alive for sure i would say get this marker to anyone who is new OR anyone who plays woods and has a elctro and doesn't want to buy a tipp for the $$$$$ this gun is cheap 99$ and just as realible in a matter of speaking
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 19th, 2005 at 12:07 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

flammingdemons Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle talon, brass eagle avenger, blade 2
Marker Setup: brass eagle marauder, viewloader 200 round hopper, jugular 24 oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly a new barrel
Strengths: very fast, lightwieght, and strong
Weaknesses: when a ball does break other balls seem to want to curve after.
Review: if you playing in the woods this is an excellent maker to use and it is pretty cheap. if you want to try and snipe someone out use brass eagle after burner paintballs, they seem to work the best in the gun. i didnt encounter very many balls breaking either. it does chop some balls but it doesnt chop many.
Conclusion: i am very happy with the performance of this gun and im proud to use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media