paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator

Bob Long Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Intimidator
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 258
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Specs:
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Board: SOB Board
LCD Screen: Yes
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Colors:
Red
Red/Black
Orange
Orange/Black
Black/Grey
Black/Green
Black/Blue
Black/Blue/Chrome
Black/Red/Chrome
Black/Grey/Chrome
Red/Chrome
Black/Purple
Silver/Blue/Black
Silver/Green/Black
Black/Bronze
Black/Yellow

All colors come with micropolish finish
Features:
Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mderins Monday, January 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything from a Tippmann 98 Custom up...
Marker Setup: Marker is totally stock aside from the addition of an Evolution II, drop zone drop forward and Crossfire low pressure tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVO 2, EVO 2, EVO2!!!
Strengths: I am still in awe regarding the performance of this marker. It shoots so smooth and is amazing with nitro untilization. The stock barrel performed perfectly for me! The shots were dead on and groupings were so consistent! I couldn't believe the speed that this marker can fire without chopping a single ball! I shot a ton of assorted paints through this without a single hiccup. My squegee is bored!
Weaknesses: The only thing that is bad for those real sticklers like me is the maintenance of the poppet. The regs, etc are cake to clean and maintain. Removing the air barb to access the regs is a bear though. That was the only real challenge!
Conclusion: I have shot a lot of markers. I hear IMPULSE all the time. Granted, the impule is a great marker for money (although many flavors have climbed to Timmy 2002 prices) they don't touch this marker.

I don't know about you, but I am one who thinks things to death, makes a big ticket decision and then second guesses my decision going forward. This is one time that I can honestly say I will not.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Other Intimidators, even the newer 2k4s, only the 2k4's are lighter and the clams are a little more comfy.
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
ALL CP UPS
70/45 Crossfire LP Stubby
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck, new bolt, barrel, trigger, board
Strengths: Fast, light, efficient
Weaknesses: How the trigger feels, read review
Review: I got a nice used, yes used, it doesn't affect my review at all as I've shot many timmies as well, 2k2 intimidator.

My first impressions of this intimidator was that it was very nice looking and the colors flow nicely.

First Impressions:
Initially since my timmy had all the upgrades I needed I didn't have to buy any, but that's why I put them as recommended upgrades because I feel that it adds a lot to the marker.

Performance:
This marker is very nice, it's light and efficient. It's easy to tot around when you're running around and its' fast so you can lane or do whatever you want with it.

On Field:
I felt that I could compete with anyone out there on the field. This marker is easy to use and with a WAS board the marker will rip lanes. I was able to snap shoot very well with this intimidator as it was so light and the feel is very solid.

If you break your timmy, it's easy, just send it to BLAST if you can't fix the problem. The people at BLAST do good work and it will never fail.

One weakness:
For me and many others, they don't like the feel of the trigger pull. I personally don't like how it feels but if you can get over that and get use to the trigger the marker will rip. It's just one of the minor draw backs. There are triggers out there that feel nicer than a CP Swoop which I have, but still many people don't like how timmy triggers feel.
Conclusion: For the price, intimidators are one of the best deals out there. They are a leading marker on any tournament scene and in any level. They are nice. I like mine and I'm sure if you get a chance you'll like yours if you buy one.

I give it a 10 because I feel this is one marker that will be as close to perfect as you can come for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Varona Sunday, January 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel (Air Assisted), Tiny Tornado F5 Autococker (Full Blown), Intimidator (the first model), & Tried and Tested Many Electro Markers
Marker Setup: I have an INTIMIDATOR 2002, with everything that you can put on these markers, Extended LPR, New Board, Aluminum Tribal Eye Covers, Flat Trigger, a very good barrel. HALO Loader, Centerflag 4500psi/88ci, Etc., Etc...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well there are some things as mentioned above for those who wants to have the ultimate marker, but this marker comes out of the box tournament ready.
Strengths: Very good rate of fire (The anti-chop eye must be settled at FORCED) INCREDIBLY this gun shoots like a closed bolt marker design, it's because this gun it uses VERY low pressure internals (this is good because you want to blow your paintballs not spit them like high pressure marker does). No use for Oil nor squeegees (squeegees corporations will go broke with guns like these).Very good loking Display with everything you'll need right there. This gun is very lightweight, And of course is a beautifull marker.
Weaknesses: Once again if you're not a rocket scientist nor a good and avid nerd, forget about repairs yourself. Just a little bit overpriced. And if your original grip regulator's input is facing forward, you will have to live with the macro or micro line bothering the palm of your hand forever. This marker is naturally longer that other markers, so be careful at the time of selecting the length of the barrel.
Conclusion: Very Good Marker, for the price it's an excellent choice and you will receive a good customer service at the time of repair (I have shoot mine intensely for more than six months, and the only thing that have to be replaced is the cup seal). Grease em, they like it !!!, Own one, You'll see !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

paintb79 Wednesday, November 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel fly and dark with barrel kits, just got my dark cocker, genx3, cocker with hinge trigger, tippman, pt xtream, and much more
Marker Setup: Intiminator/freak system/ boomstick/ micro line/ flam drop forword/ 3 nitro tanks/ and too much for me to list

Black majic cocker/ freak system/ boom stick/ regulator/ micro

redz packs and all revys and big nitro tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get a drop forwatr and a low rise besuae this guh is high. Also a second reg and barrel.
Strengths: Well the gun shoots great: It is fast
accurate
light
compact
kills angels
for electro it is relieable
Weaknesses: well the 2 regs are a little tricky so i would get the newer ones with 1 reg.
Conclusion: I have to say this marker is of a higher class than i had expected. It is fast enough because shooting past fourteen balls persecond is pointless. The barrel is okay stock. all you need is a nitro nd a fast hopper no CO2. Still i would get this gun because it is sooo much cheaper than the others because it has 2 regs and not as facy looking big deal.

So good luck finding a marker for you but i think this or a black majic cocker is the only ways to go
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Skippy Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly Angel LCDs
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Fade 2k2 Intimidator w/ Cp drop, 68/45 Max Flow, Halo B, and Dye Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hybrid Ram Cap and Hydra Bolt
Strengths: VERY FAST and it wont chop if you outshoot your hopper because of the ACE.
Weaknesses: Hoses on the Solenoid pop off on the occasion otherwise nothing.
Review: In my experience with this product, it has out done every other marker at my local field. It has been faster then any LCDs and Electro Cockers. I have however had problems with the hoses from the solenoid popping off and that isnt fun in the middle of a game. Other then that this product had performed flawlesley and ranks best among my markers.
Conclusion: Buy this product because it is awesome. If you take awesome care of it then it will take awesome care of you during a game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

arnelcheeze Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP VF Autococker, DragunFly Mech Cocker, Angel IR3, Matrix DM#, Impulse, Spyders, Stocks and a DM4, DM5, Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: 2K2 Intimidator, W.A.S. 2.8 Board, RMR Adjustable Ram cap, Halo, RMR Spike Bolt, Wicked Eye's, Wicked Switch, Check-It Sweet Spot Trigger, magno trigger upgrade, custom internal polished rebuilt regs
Recommended
Upgrades:
W.A.S. 2.8 and set to debounce 1 (if your not in a tourny) so you can ramp your firing rate, the SOB board has to go thats old school. The new frenzy board is comparable, but W.A.S. has been around and they know what they are doing, - and adjustable Ram cap is a must, so you can adjust the bolt posistion which is very important. WAS eye, more powerful, sees through paint if paint ever gets on your eye, WAS trigger switch - lighter trigger, reverse polarity magnetic trigger, and a HALO thats about it, maybe if you dont have them already run the soft ball detents they work alot better and last longer.
I've recently upgraded to a RMR black spike bolt, supposedly black bolts help the eyes with mis-reads. The RMR Bolt is lighter than stock but the spike pull pin is heavier than the stock pin which evens it out, watch out for those fancy pull pins, they are heavy and that extra weight does affect the effiency and velocity just a bit.
Strengths: *with the W.A.S. 2.8 - continued below
Weaknesses: Stock 2K2's Timmies need a W.A.S. 2.6 board or newer.
Review: Strengths Cont.
* you can rope a true 20-22 balls per second if you have a Halo.
* I came from shooting a Ebladed Cocker the accuracy was great, but with the reliability of the Timmi is unbeatable!!!
* Very dependable ball detection system - ACE - anti chop eyes which are break beam and not reflective beam, are not affected by paint color, youll never need a squeegie again!
* Virtually no kick, no muzzle rise (E-Blades/E-cockers have high muzzle-rise)

The Timmi 2K2 is an incredible marker, with the WAS 2.6 or hjigher you can seriously throw some paint. I would recomend a Halo. The speed is awesome be prepared to spend alot on paint especially if you are playing backman. just remember with the timmi 2K2 and W.A.S. 2.6 or higher, a Halo, and debounce set to 1 you can ROPE paintballs!!! NOTE: you cannot use debounce 1 in sanctioned tournamnets.
- Truly an awesome marker with proven pneumatics and electronics, you can't be beat!!! Sure the Ebladed cockers shoot further and tighter but the timmies shoot faster and more reliably, and never break paint. with that combination you will take them all on!!!
- The only marker that i have used that comes close to the reliability and speed would be the DM4, which costs about $1500!!!!!!!!!!
Although this is an older marker, with the above upgrades it still and will hang with the Alias's, the DM4's 5's, Angels, not to mention the E2 cockers. although i now have a DM 5, i will never sell my 2K2...

Conclusion: - Truly an awesome marker with proven pneumatics and electronics, you can't be beat!!! I've played with Ebladed cockers and they shoot further and tighter but the timmies shoot faster and more reliably, and never break paint.In my opinion Timmy's are better than impulse's, Matrix's aside from the DM4, and shockers, Eblades, Racegun Cockers. - with that combination you will take them all on!!!
- join the Empire - the Naughty Doggs did....! as far as and problems, i have never had even a slight problem, i bought my 2K2 used, about a year ago, it still has all the original Orings, i havent had to change them yet, and im still getting velocity readings that are 5 apart. One of the most reliable markers i have ever owned. it is the mercedez benz of paintball markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 24th, 2005 at 10:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXniTemAreXx Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias, Dragon, GZ, Z series... a lot of timmys- basically the same (except GZ, newer timmys are smaller)

Viking- timmy is just as fast, lighter, but less efficient

DMFizzle- timmy is more efficient, and just as fast, but is a bit louder
Marker Setup: 2k2 Timmy
Frenzy 113
CiP unimount
CiP ram adjuster
Dye UL
Halo B
Crossfire 68/45 (hp)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is a bit small.. cant really wrap around with it. If you prefer a longer barrel I suggest that.

Rail/Uni- doesnt come with one

Fast Loader- because you'll need one to squeeze every bit of performance out of this marker


Strengths: Fast, efficient, easy to mantain, easy to adjust trigger, nice milling, eyes, price
Weaknesses: Will spend more money on paint :(.
Review: This marker is an incredible piece of equipment (as is any other intimidator). Its been very reliable... I am a very aggressive player, and I always manage to land on my equipment, or bang them on the ground when I dive, but this timmy still works, and how well it works... There are many stregnths of this marker...


Speed- this thing is a beast. Its easy to rip long stringer of 15+ bps. In todays paintball games, the speed of your marker is very important, this timmy delivers more then enough speed to keep up with ANY other marker on the market. Whether you are a front player needing to take 1-3 quick shots when snap shooting, or a back player that needs to hold down lanes, the speed of this timmy will not dissapoint you.

Efficient- This marker is very good on air when set up right. However, many fields now give free air, and having an efficient gun may not be a big strength. However, if you play back, and shoot a lot of paint during a game, I assure you that you will not run out of air.

Easy to mantain- Having an easy to maintain gun is important to many. I dont want to have to mess around too much with it, and have to spend hours cleaning the gun after I play. This timmy, thankfully, is not like that. All you will have to do after a day of playing, is take apart the regs, lube them, take out the bolt and ram, and lube them. Put it back together and go shoot faces. This should not take more then 5 minutes. It may be tricky getting the bolt back in at first, but you will get used to it.

Easy trigger adjustments- The trigger is very easy to change to your liking. It has 3 screws, one is for the back stop, one is for the activation point, and one is for the stiffness of the trigger. I took the spring out of my trigger, and now my trigger is very light and short.... perfect.

Nice Milling- The milling of this gun is incredible. Behind the feedneck it curves inward, and has some teardrop style cuts in the curve. At the end of the bolt is a diagonal cut, which is very nice. The bottom tube has a sort of wavy milling. The anodizing has some very minor flaws, mostly in the fading part where the two colors meet, but it will not be noticable unless you hold the gun up very close to your face, and then look very hard at the spot.

Eyes- The eyes are breakbeam style, which means paint color does not effect them at all. Eyes keep your bolt from slicing a paintball in two, which leads to inaccuracy and jamming. No one wants to chop a ball and have there gun jam while bunkering someone, thankfully eyes will prevent something like this from happening.

Price- This timmy is only $750 dollars. All of these that are made in 2004 come with Frenzy, a clamping feedneck and a different lpr. If you want a timmy, and cant afford an alias, definatly get this.

Those are the strengths that I thought of.. but it does have a weakness...

PAINT- You will shoot a lot more paint with this marker. I have gone from having a case last me 10-12 games... to having a case last me 7-8 games (im a front player btw).
Conclusion: I love it, try it, and I bet you will love it too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeguyinthesky Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias timmy - prefer more than alias
hk'ed lasoya - nothing beats this though
Marker Setup: hk'ed lasoya timmy in gloss black to dust black fade
techna triggers ( 3 kinds)
Dye UL ( dust black back, gloss tip)
Crossfire 45/4.5k tank (low pressure)
black Unimount
blue diamond Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
mine was tyhe 2K4 edition which came with
-frenzy
-species trigger
-new grips
and
-clamping feed
Strengths: accurate
fast
versatile (front or back players)
CAN get Hk'ed
Weaknesses: 2K4 is based on a 2K2 body so NOOBs will call it a 2k2
Review: when i recieved this gun i was happy, my first timmy and it had the much anticipated frenzy months before the public could get it, as well as my personal favorite ( besides techna) trigger. when i took it to my field lots of people said it was a 2K2 however i disregarded it and played. the frenzy let me control everything (including BIP and Dwell for all of you impy owners) via a fairly large L.C.D. needless to say i enjoyed the gun. i sadly traded it for an alias (which, in my hands isnt very comfortable) luckily i traded that for my pimped out Lasoya (which beats this one) however if your looking for a good reliable gun that doesn't need to be upgraded to mow down muppets then this is for you.
Conclusion: 9/10 since some parts CAN be upgraded but it is among the best ( possibly the best stock mraker) if your looking for a good reliable gun that doesn't need to be upgraded to mow down muppets then this is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hr34 Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
various markers
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimdator
Empire 10 piece barrel kit
eVlution II
Crossfire 88ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
nitro (you better have this anyway)
fast loader
equalizer board (if you care)
Strengths: pretty
fast
light
Weaknesses: not as tight of a feel as other high ends
Review: Dear God! This thing is so fast and so easy to use. Beautifully designed and low pressure. I don't know what more I can say. Well, one thing I don't like is the face that it doesn't feel as comfortable as an Angel. But then again, it has a kind of rugged feel to it. Something that makes it feel more like a man's marker. That or it's just me.
Conclusion: To put it short: choos between this or an Angel. You'll be pleased with either purchase you make. Flip a coin if you'd like.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CMurder Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Cockers
Marker Setup: Classic Timmy , Empire barrel kit
BOSS Knight
Spyder EM1
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new barrel (obvious), drop forward (obvious) , I would eventually get a new grip frame
Strengths: Stupid accuracy, Light, Feals so very nice to hold... , cant chop paint.
Weaknesses: uh... i guess the only weakness is its a bit tall.
Review: Overall this gun is VERY nice to use. I cant see why anyone would have anything bad to say about this sweet peice of machinery. The second you pick up this gun you feal the power of it... I was an average player before I purchased this gun and now I feal so confident I can take out anyone anytime .
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to ANYONE, it slays and sprays as good as any gun on the market and costs less than any gun at its level. GO BUY THIS GUN AND GET READY FOR THE FUN!

LONG LIVE PAINTBALL!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media