paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator / Bob Long Intimidator

Bob Long Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Intimidator
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 258
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Specs:
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Board: SOB Board
LCD Screen: Yes
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Colors:
Red
Red/Black
Orange
Orange/Black
Black/Grey
Black/Green
Black/Blue
Black/Blue/Chrome
Black/Red/Chrome
Black/Grey/Chrome
Red/Chrome
Black/Purple
Silver/Blue/Black
Silver/Green/Black
Black/Bronze
Black/Yellow

All colors come with micropolish finish
Features:
Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
cocker kid 2k2 Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses, Bushmasters. I perfered both of these markers over the Intimidator.
Marker Setup: 2002 Push button LED Matrix
J&J full tilt
Image bolt kit
Shocktech lpr
Aardvark trigger
Centerflag gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, grip frame, ram, hammer, ram cap, bolt, reg housing, inline reg, well, a lot of things.
Strengths: The eye works well.
Weaknesses: Bad trigger, ungodly tall.
Review: I was actually relatively disapointed when I tried this marker, I expected much more from a Bob Long marker. The trigger on this is very stiff, hard to walk, it kicks a decent amount, its increadibly tall, stock trigger frame is far too large, just too many faults with this gun.

It was however pretty accurate and the eye on it works very well. Which is the only good thing I have to say about this.
Conclusion: I'm glad this product was discontinued a year ago, it doesn't deserve to be on the market, especially at the price tag they were charging.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

mysterypballer2 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None this good
Marker Setup: 2k2 timmy
-CP 12 inch barrel
-CP swoop custom trigger job
-Hybrid Lady Grips
-05 cp rail and on/off
-CP Volumizer
-CP Regulator
-CP Snatch Grip
-Equalizer 2.9 Board -Black Clamping Feedneck
-CP Ram Cap
-Ramless Bumper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip,Trigger
Strengths: Fast.
Weaknesses: Havent' seen any.
Review: Well i just got this gun in the mail today, i couldnt figure out how to go through the modes (equalizer board) but when i figured it out...wow. not only is it fast its very stylish for a older gun, its semi long but not to bad, and i see people saying that the guns high...BS or mabye it doesnt bother me since im use to big guns but other wise i think its a nice slim light weight gun and is a good buy, i got mine for 375. Finally i shot it today but it didint go to well since i didint have a electronic hopper....but other wise pretty accurate, quiet, smooth. Ok i actually played with this gun the other day and i raped people...end of story. Ok im editing my review, i threw a halo on this thing and it shot even faster than before...its insane, i was shooting faster than everygun out at that feild that day onyl egos out shot me and thats about it.
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 5th, 2006 at 4:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockee712 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Shocker
Spyders
Tippman 98
A-5
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
CP Adjustable Ram Cap
CP Flame Drop
Freak 14"
WAS 2.7
CCM Clamping Feedneck
Evlution II
Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap
Clamping Feedneck
Good Hopper, Egg or HALO are good options
HPA
New Barrel
Strengths: Easy to maintain
Looks great
Great Performance
Weaknesses: Weight
Eyes
Review: I got my 2k2 timmy used, but it has performed beyond what I had originally expected. The eyes, when they were working, were awesome and the rate of fire was top notch too. The ramrods bumper had severe damage so I just got a adjustable ram cap and that fixed that problem. The milling of the marker is amazing and highly pleasing to the eye. The torpedo regulator is highly consistent with my crossfire hpa tank. The stock barrel was okay, but I got a new barrel and it was noticably more accurate and consistent. Might also be that I switched from using Monster Balls ot karnage, which is what my local field sells. The only thing I don't really like about this gun is it weighs a bit more then the markers I've used before. The weight makes it a little harder to maneuver with, but other then the weight I love my timmy.
Conclusion: Even though my 2k2 Timmy is older, it has performed really well, can't say it's as good as the new ones out now, but if you know howto play it's good enough. I would definitely recomend any of the Intimdator markers to someone looking to step up their game. I give it an 8 because I like the shocker's weight and size more then the timmy's. Although they both perform on the field very similarly, the shockers smaller profile and less kick makes it a 9.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 12:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yo soy el warg Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Shocker
Timmy is better IMO though.
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo with FBM Choke Chain feedneck and wave trigger, Powerlyte Speedline, Shocktech Supafly bolt, Evil Valve Kit w/VL valve stem; NO LEAKS!, 32 degrees springs, Twisted Volumizer, CCM reg, Polished Hammer (did it myself; dremel owns) Custom Products rail and On/Off with a 68/45 P.E. and Halo B... And the Timmy, with a Was Equalizer, CP directmount, and Iron Cross eye covers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much... Stock feedneck didn't work for my Halo, had to sand it down ='(
A bolt with slots cut for detents.
W.A.S. Equalizer
Strengths: FAST
Accurate
No Kick
Easy to operate
Easy Takedown
Weaknesses: Stock Feedneck
Hard to troubleshoot for some
easy to pinch wires.
Review: I finally got my Timmy. Picked it up on ebay for 526 shipped...with a halo and 68/45, though.

Anyway, immediately the Intimidator struck me as...big! For some reason, it seems much smaller in pictures, and until you hold it, you'll never really be able to comprehend how big it really is. However, this isn't necessarily a weakness, as it makes up for it in extreme performance. Also, I love the looks of 2k2 style intimidators, even the LCD membrane (which some can't stand) and the extensive milling really catches attention at the local field.

First shots:
At first, I was somewhat disappointed with this gun. Airing it up, it already had a leak. I opened it up to see what was going wrong. Sadly, the leak was coming from the solenoid. However, it was a used gun and it was bought on ebay. For some, this would be a major setback, having to send it in to BLAST to get the solenoid fixed or replaced, however, I like to tinker with things. So, I removed the solenoid and opened it up *I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOU MESSING UP YOUR INTIMIDATOR. IF YOU TRY ANYTHING THAT I EXPLAIN HERE, IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE CORRECT DISASSMBLY AND REASSMBLY OF YOUR MARKER. NOT MINE.* First off, I noted that only the top two screws need be removed, and by top two I mean the side opposite of the power inlet cable. Removing these, you will see a small, round metal shaft. If you do this, don't lose anything inside the cap of the solenoid, you will need all of it. Anyway, I removed the air barbs and popped up the metal bar by sticking a small allen wrench in there and using a bit of leverage. To my surprise, it was much like an Autococker three-way, and the problem was instantly solved-chunks of pb shells in the noid. So, cleaning and relubing this shaft, I reassembled the solenoid and marker and aired it back up. Success!

After this long and painstaking ordeal, I got some paint and a fill, and went to see how fast I could empty my Halo. In about 15 seconds, all I could hear was my drive cone spinning, and I'm not too fast at walking.

I used the gun during practices to get the feel of it, and I have to say it is somewhat heavy as compared to my Piranha Evo. However, there is literally no kick, and it seems as if though the gun shoots before you even pull the trigger. (And no, my timmy was not bouncing.)
Conclusion: Overall, I would definitely recommend this marker. However, be aware that you might need some basic technical abilities if the 'noid ever gets clogged. It is a bit heavy, but you get used to it quick. A bit pricey, but definitely worth it. If you're higher in tournament games, go for the Timmy. And if you have to, get a better tech that can handle taking apart small objects.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WILDCHILDC1 Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel IR3, Shocker SFT
Marker Setup: 2K2 Intimidator, Evil bolt, Entropy board..... 2k5 Orange Shocker Vision with dust black CP lightning drop, Trinity Dust black locking feedneck, Dye Sticky 3s, and a HE Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck and Barrel
Strengths: Very Fast Marker
Weaknesses: Size and weight
Review: I recently purchased a black to yellow fade 2k2 Intimidator for a backup to my new Shocker SFT. When I recieved it, It looked so huge compared to my new shocker, and was quite a bit heavier. I love the looks, but could lose a few inches and pounds. I turned the marker on and after reading the directions, and making setting changes... This thing is awesomely fast, and suprisedly well balanced!!! I honestly dont mind the extra weight because it feels great with the tank on it!! Its still quite large compared to the shocker, but I like it... Both have freak barrel backs and I use the same S/S kit for both and I honestly beleive it is more accurate than my new shocker shooting at a target at about 100 feet. I beleive that if this marker was about 2 inches shorter and a pound lighter I would like it better than my shocker, but because of those two issues It will stay my backup and Ill give it a 8!
Conclusion: This is a great gun if you dont mind something a little larger and heavier than the markers on top today
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBaller1818 Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2k2 Timmy
~Check-it 14inch barrel
~Check-it unimount
~2.8 W.A.S board
~Adjustable shocktech ram cap
~CP swoop trigger
~Hybrid Contract Killer Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Strengths: Fast!
Reliable
Looks
No chops....ever
Weaknesses: None
Review: this may be one of my favorite guns. I have shot a lot of guns, and I this one is near the top of my list. My favorite thing abou this gun is how reliable it is. I haevf seen people on my team not play one game an entire game becuase a shocker/Ion/BKO goes down and the have no idea what happened to it. It's also really fast. I truly love never having to clean out my barrel and bolt becuase of chops.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun for lower level/entry tournies. If you're thinking of something a little more intense, maybe you should look into other timmies (Alias, Species, Lasoya)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 5th, 2005 at 4:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morphine-pb Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
ANS GX-3 Autococker
PGI Firestorm Autococker
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2K2 Intimidator with Frenzy Board yellow to black fade, Critical Trigger, JT 2 piece 12 in. barrel, Halo B & VL Evo 2, CP ASA rail, 2005 Hybrid Contract Killer grips 45/4500 crossfire & 68/4500 Pure Energy HPA tanks, Dye tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, trigger
Strengths: Fast
Light
Its a Timmy
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an amazing gun, though it is in the older products section, I bought mine in Dec. 2004, it came with the Frenzy 116 board, which is unbelievably fast and will keep up with all of the 05' Timmys (same board). This gun with the upgraded trigger will keep up with or be faster than any gun on the market, It will eat your Freestyle or matrix for lunch. This gun is fast, easy to maintain and needs no upgrades out of the box to be fast.
Conclusion: Get this gun or any Timmy. I would recommend it to all. (sell your DM5)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Spyder...obviously, no comparison
Cockers...slower and much more maintenance-intensive
Mag...quiet, nice, but still slower
Marker Setup: Classic Timmy (older TX Storm's gun)
Here we go...
CP ram cap
CP rail
CP on/off
Tomahawk eye covers
GZ frame
Mythic Pride trigger
Sticky 3s
16" .692 Dye Ultralite
Clamping low-rise
Black v35 Halo B
PMI 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ram cap, barrel, fast hopper in order to exploit full potential, decent tank
Also volumizer, KAPP ram, Techna trigger, WAS/Frenzy if not already in there
Strengths: Fast
Efficient
Light
Quiet
Simple
Eyes
Crazy Upgrades
Weaknesses: Expensive (the newer ones)
Review: I got my Timmy used, but it still rips like no other. Even with the older SOB board, mine still can hit 15-16 with no trouble. Let's go to the strengths...

-Efficient as crap- a case off a 68/45

-Quiet- with a nicely ported barrel, can be whisper quiet. Puff Puff...

-Lighter than most guns in its class, especially the new models (geez, sounds like a car commercial...)

-Has excellent eyes; don't worry about using a Revvy. The first day I played with it, a case of $30 seconds through it, NO chops or barrel breaks.

-FAST! Has 3-way adjustable trigger, and I have mine set up just right...so smooth and buttery...it rips.

Upgrades- a Classic can take the upgrades that a 2k2 can take (clamshell, WAS/Frenzy, all that good stuff)

Consistent- with a high-flowing tank and the right sequence for setting up the regs...279, 280, 280, 280. Sick.

Simple- just needs lube in a few places, and you're good. It's basically a Spyder with a ram instead of a hammer...but don't take that as a bash, it just means that there's less to worry about.

Now, (sigh), to the weaknesses.

Expensive- Alias, ND, Dark, Atomix, RL (rare, though) will all cost you dearly (1300+). It's not that it isn't worth it, just that it's a bit much. Luckily, Classics and 2k2s can be had for anywhere from 500-600, and they're only a tad bit slower, due to a longer bolt design.
Conclusion: All in all, I am very happy with my Timmy. It can throw ropes with the best of them, despite its relative age. Try a Classic at your local field and you'll love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BallBuster Sunday, November 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ans Gen X 3
Stock 99 Angel
C&C Ir3
Dark & Rock Ir3
Impulse
Tippmann
Spyder
Marker Setup: yellow to green classic timmy with freak anodized to the front of the gun so it still fades low rise clear evolution 2 delrin bolt volumizer dual gagues on the haig and low pressure sides crome tribal aluminumeye covers aluminum eyes ans gen x 2 reg macro line 2002 clam shell trigger frame crome reaper trigger clear dye stickey grips kapp drop forward center flag 88 3000 djustable tank ecualizer semi board chip and i think thas it
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel just fine but freak is better good reg and aluminum eyes covers before i got mine the plastic ones cracked when i dove behind a bunker.
Strengths: every thing it shoots just a far as any cocker its ultra low pressue and doesn't eat the gas super quiet and shoots fast then any angel i ever seen and farther i mean if your in a tourney and your shooting 20 feet in front of you an angel is great but if you ever wanna play rec or something like that it can do any thing and more than an angel can ive had a lot of expereance with angels for over 3 years and i like the timmy so much more because of everything ive said all ready.
Weaknesses: nothing is bad about the gun the only thing i didnt like was the trigger frame thats why i got the clam shelll because its a 45 grip frame. and thats the onl thing i didnt like
Conclusion: better than any angel ive shot even in tourneys and its just as accurate ans any cocker and shoots just as far or farther now i put about 50,000 rounds throught it the first 3 months and the solinoid whent out and i got it replaced and put 120,000 more in the last year and nothing else has happened to it so its is really reliable and easy to clean like clean the blot ram re lube and put back in thats it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcooldude Monday, July 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
angel, bushmaster, autococker, auto mag, and no comparison to the boblong timmy
Marker Setup: ans in line, kapp 3 dz, pmi 4500 68ci tank. x bard revy, higly needed,
Recommended
Upgrades:
aoll of above and a freak or boomstick
Strengths: the modes are easy to program, as a ccurate as a cocker even better. easy to use and great feel. The gun also has an eye sensor and wont fire unless the ball is in the chamber but u can bypass it. The trigger is like a mouse click and has three screws to adjust it to ur liking. The whole gun and its modes are toatally adjustable to ur customization.
Weaknesses: the grip isnt standard so cant get a dye sticky. Stock is ok barrel but aftermarket beetter. Also there is no safety on the gun and it takes to long to turn it off and on before a game. Not a big deal though
Conclusion: this is the best gun for the price and preformance, it has racked me up a lot of kills for only less than a month and two days of playing. So far it has satisfied my need for fast paced shooting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media