paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
bunkerking3 Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
About the closest product to the Halo B that I've used is the Empire B. And I would say without a doubt that the Empire B performs better than the Halo B.
Marker Setup: I use an ICD B2K(pds). It's all stock. On it I have an Empire Reloader 2 Hopper & a Pure Energy 72cu. 3000psi. Aluminum Tank. And I occasionally use a 12in. black Freestyle barrel on it.
Strengths: Fast, nice looks, durable.
Weaknesses: Heavy, not reliable, inconsistent.
Review: I'd have to say that the Halo B is a fairly good hopper, with how fast it feeds, its looks, and its durability. But on the other hand I wouldn't recommend it, because of how heavy this hopper is, its inconsistency, and its unreliability. And also from a personal experience that I had using this particular hopper. I went to an indoor paintball field & was looking forward to an awesome day playing paintball. BUT my Halo B's eyes were not working for some odd reason. So I sat down for a while trying to figure out what was wrong with it. And come to find out, the eyes were not working because of the humidity. Now I understand that, that can be a problem when using a product that has eyes on it, but I would rather get something that feeds just as fast or faster & that is sound activated. Like the Empire Reloader B. That little incident ruined my whole paintball experience that day. I was very disappointed with the productivity of the Halo B.
Conclusion: The Halo B is a decent hopper, but I would recommend many other hoppers over this one.
-Landon
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shyunobi Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, EvoII Egg
Marker Setup: Current Gun in Use:
2003 Shocker Vision - Black
Nerve Board
SP Freak Barrel
Halo B v32
CP Reg
PMI - Pure Energy CA tank 48/3000psi

Backup :
Old School Piranha VForce - Vert Feed
VL Revy w/Yboard
Old School SP Progressive Barrel 14''
Strengths: + Fast Feeding
+ Feed Method
+ Board
+ Aftermarket Parts
+ Sleek
Weaknesses: - Body scratches easy
- Sux without Ripdrive
- Fragile parts
- Funky eyes
Review: I personally like the Odyssey Halo B alot, it is $50 cheaper than the Empire Reloader and works just as well - it just doesn't have the 'sound' activated option, which I think itsn't all its cracked up to be.

Overall the Halo B has everything you need + more, also alot of aftermarket parts like the Rip Drive Kit (which you definately need) and Victory Board.

It sometimes jams, due to funky eyes or odd shaped paint. With the new Halos it will automatically stop feeding and flash red/green telling you its jammed. This is why you need the rip drive kit, so you can reverse the feeding arms to dislodge the paint jam. Without that you are just a sitting duck with no paint - as i experienced the first few times I played without a rip drive kit installed onto my halo.

The victory board is ok, it allows you to feed up to like 30bps - which I don't see when you will ever use it because most tournys cap at 15bps. But when you are with some friends and you want to throw lines, this is a good thing to have - it eats your batteries like a mofo tho. So the V board is just a for fun thing - not really necessary.

For all of you ballers out there - get a Halo its a necessity. It is better than the Egg, because of the feed mechanism - it directly pushes the balls right into the chamber unlike the Egg (which still depends alot on gravity). If you are rich, go get the Empire Reloader, but for most of us who aren't save the $50 and get the Halo B, its worth it.
Conclusion: For all of you ballers out there - get a Halo its a necessity. It is better than the Egg, because of the feed mechanism - it directly pushes the balls right into the chamber unlike the Egg (which still depends alot on gravity). If you are rich, go get the Empire Reloader, but for most of us who aren't save the $50 and get the Halo B, its worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snyper765 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 vlt revy, evoulution 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
ESP IPI 3.0 CAMD
T-Board
Smart parts teardrop 14"
Super fly bolt
PMI Remote coil
Halo B
Strengths: Fast
Consitent
Looks
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Review: Well for awhile, my rodeo only had the CAMD with the stock board on it so it only shot at like 14 BPS. Then when i got the upgrade to a T board, i shot at 22 BPS. i was gonna buy the evolution 2 because my 12 vlt revy was to slow for my gun but my friend gave me his Halo B for free because he was getting a new one. his old halo was 1 year old and was only feeding at 23 BPS. Over all, its a great hopper.
Conclusion: Buy an evolution 2 if you dont have the money to get a halo or if you dont have a friend that will give you one. But if you do have the money, totally get the Halo
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robert_pb Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 2
Revolution
empire reloader
Marker Setup: 05 speed 45 frame
Custom Parts Direct Mount ASA
Halo B- smoke
68 3000 psi fiber tank w/ empire tank cover.
Strengths: Fast
Battery efficient
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Doesn't like dark coloured shells
Review: I have used the halo b on my Angel Speed for roughly a year and i have not had a major problem. It is extremely fast, and could keep up with my angel's rate of fire (ROF). When i said the Halo is a bit heavy, i meant that in comparison to the revy and the evolution 2. But the performance definitely makes up for the weight. The Halo B is not sound activated, therefore meaning that it will not feed certain coloured paintballs (ie: black, dark blue ect). That is all that i didn't really like about the Halo.

I would definitely recommend good paint in this hopper for two reasons. One reason is that since it is a force feed hopper, it can easily push paint passed a weak ball, causing it to break. Another reason is that if you get a Halo, chances are that you have a high-end gun, and everyone knows what happens when you put crap paint in a good gun.

A lot of people complain that the Halo eats up batteries, but i have not had one incident where this has happened. I am able to go through about a couple of cases before the low battery indicator comes on. Just always keep a set of spare batteries, as you would when using any other electronic equipment.
Conclusion: Overall, i really like the Halo B, and i would recommend it to a player who shoots alot of paint, very fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

typelaez Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity feed, egg, and revys
Marker Setup: Indian Creek Design B2k04 with PDS
45 4500 psi crossfire tank
clear halo
profiler
Strengths: Lots , (in review)
Weaknesses: Not to heavy unless ur a pansy little girl.
Review: Hmmmmm.... the halo, hot, fast, consestant, and reliable,........... Perfect i have had this hopper for a while and only changed the batteries like 3 times, i have gone through like 10 or more cases of pant and 6 tournaments. the egg breaks to much for me so i got this. i am so happy i got this cuz every one loves them and the pros use them, cuz they are perfect.
Conclusion: Get the halo... screw the egg, the feedneck breaks and it cant go 36 bps like the halo
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

es916 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B - Similar but doesn't have the nicer features or rip drive stock.....
Egg- Halo is much better
Revvy- it's a joke that you would mention that thing with a halo
Marker Setup: 05'd Gold to Black Fade Dragon Intimidator
- Matching Empire Frame w/Frenzy 127 board
- SM-1 14 inch Kit
- CP Roller Trigger
- AKA Sidewinder Med. Reg
- Max-Flo Adj System (68/4500)
- CP Adjustable 2k4 Cap w/ Alias ram and sleave
- Empire B (gold color) & Halo B with (vic board)

Stock CCI Phantom Pump
- Back Bottle
- m16 grips
Strengths: Very fast like 22 bps feed
Durability
Colors
Weaknesses: The shell isn't the strongest
Battery life could be better
Review: When I moved in to comp guns (Angel Speed) I knew I needed something to give me a faster load. I picked up the Halo B and it's been nothing but sensational as it has reliable though 3 guns up to my 2k5 Dragon. I have never had a problem with feed rates because even with ramp, I have never been able to outshoot it or atleast never noticed it.

The shell is not the best in terms of strength but that is a very minor gripe and it shouldn't be something that would keep you from purchasing one. The feedneck does come too large by design. Plan to spend an hour or so sanding but this isn't a problem for me because it gives you the control of how tight or loose you want the fit. The worst thing about this loader is the battery life. You should get about what the manual lists as but compare that to an egg, you will think that its a hog.
Conclusion: This loader is the best, underneath the Empire B, but if you are looking for a solution to loading speed; you can't go wrong here. It's very fast, doesn't blend paint, and is of very good build quality. This is a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leons Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: silver with blue slive alias intimidator- 4500psi/71cu dye tank- unltraite barrel- halo b
Strengths: Fast
Ball capacity (about 190)
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This is one of the best hoppers out there. If you dont have a chip or something I don't think you'll need to use a victory board.
It is very fast, about 20bps and I haven't had any problem with it.
It is resistent and you can buy the shells appart if you needem.
This is not the best with battery but it's ok.
I like the cap form and the way you can use ur pods with this.
Conclusion: If you need a fast hopper buy it, or buy the reloader b.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shocker_Rocker Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: 2003 Shocker (Non-Vision)
CCM clamping feedneck
Shocktech Long dropfoward
HALO B
68cc 3000 PMI N2 Tank
Strengths: Fast,
Small for capabilities
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit some feednecks
Some balls in front don't load
Black shows fingerprints
Review: This hopper is a really good hopper. Its not as heavy as everyone says it is, if you are looking to lighten it, us a 9 volt and out paper towels around it to keep it from jiggling around. The black shows all scratches and all fingerprints, but its ok. I have had no problems with dark paint, maybe after more use or something. I bought a adjustable feedneck, otherwise you are going to have to sand the neck down, but it is thick enough to handle it. It doesn't always run, but if there is not paint in it, it will keep running untill you turn it off. Rip drive is a waste of money, if your batteries die on the field, you are never going to have enough time to spin the stupid wheel to feed the balls. Some of the balls in the front don't load unless you tilt the hopper, but thats ok too.
Conclusion: Awsome hopper, just be perpared for the down sides.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIPPY NIKY 98C Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA (doesnt compare)
Marker Setup: 04 Impulse w/ vision, Equalizer Bolt, Brass Hammer, Freak Kit, NDZ Mag trigger, NDZ Slick Shot Ram WAS Board Low-Rise, etc...HaloB SP LPR kit, 68/3000 Fiber Wrapper Nitro Duck.
Strengths: Fast
Sensor is good
Can upgrade the board.
Weaknesses: Only holds 180

Review: Well, this hopper is GREAT! i thought that i would have to get new detents but it didnt double feed, it just worked flawlessly, this can keep up wit almost every gun out there. Today it worked like a dream. Before i was using a TSA. man thank god i had vision otherwise i would be chopping like no tomrrow. But with the Halo B I felt there was no need for it.
Conclusion: Get it Period. abosolutly in the top loaders on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 13th, 2004 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

|GB| Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200
Rico AK
Revy w/ X board
Reloader
Eggy
Marker Setup: 2k3 Black Cocker #174368, 14in. St!ffi, Red Omega Bolt, Chrome WGP Tickler LPR, Chrome DYE Beavertail, Smoke Halo B w/ Z code, Crossfire 68/4500 w/ Redz cover
Strengths: Crazy fast, looks, and dependable.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is huge, and price.
Review: Well, my biggest complaint is the feedneck. The thing is HUGE. While this can be good and bad, for letting the players sand down the neck to fit their own gun, it's a hassle for me. Because I have no adjustbale feedneck on my cocker, and it simple wont it, so I've been sanding it down off and on for a couple days. The HALO B is also kind of pricey, but I bought mine on eBay so its all good.
Conclusion: IMO, the fastest hopper out there. It makes sure their is a ball in the chamber every time you fire. Awesome product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media