paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Ryan314 Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B
Marker Setup: Red WGP 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker
Chrome Eclipse E2 E-Blade
Chrome Eclipse D.A.R.T. LPR
Chrome Eclipse Nexus Ram w/ Eclipse QEVs
Chrome/Red CP 2 Piece Barrel
Chrome Custom Products Regulator
Chrome KAPP- Ball detent, FX beavertail, Twisted cocking rod
Worr-Blade Bolt
KAPP Hammer Kit w/ Madmann springs
Red/Chrome CIP uni-mount
Red Halo B w/ Z-Code - 68/3000 Crossfire
Strengths: -Fast.
-Ease of operation
-Durable shell
-Not bad on batteries
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Large profile
-Will blend crappy paint
-Eyes... will not see dark shelled paint.
Review: I've had my ups and downs with my Halo B w/ Z-Code. When it works, it works awesome, but when it doesn't, it's just crap. My Halo B seems to blend a lot, and I am not using cheap paint, but this is one of those things that happens randomly. The eyes are very poor picking up dark shelled paint, but for any other paint, it works very well.

I believe they did a poor job on designing this loader internal wise. Putting everything back together and making sure you're not crimping any wires is a major hassle due to the limited amount of space. Also, the drive cones break very easily, I reccomend an aluminum one.
Conclusion: The Halo B is a great loader, don't get me wrong. When it works, it works perfectly. But this loader has a lot of areas where things can go wrong, so watch out for that. I do reccomend a Reloader B over the Halo B.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire reloader
Revy
Egg2
q-loader
Marker Setup: 04 vert cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Strengths: Very fast
Durable
Force fed
Tells when there is a jam
Lower profile that others
Weaknesses: Hard to turn on and off
large feedneck
Review: I loved my halo, but my friend wanted one and didn't want a empire b and that's all our local store sells, so he now has mine that is the only reason that I don't have a halo any more. People always complain that the eyes don't work that the new empires are so much better. I think there the exact same thing I never had a problem with it not reading dark or even black paint and since the halos are cheaper why pay more for the same thing. I had it for a little over a year and never had any problems. I even played with it in the rain and it didn't hurt it at all, but still I don't recommend it. I also put some paint in it that I didn't know was broken may be 25 out of a pod were busted and it didn' effect the eye sensor it just kept up fine. there was only one bad thing that ever happened to it and it was my fault, I picked it up by the lid and it snapped off but this showed me something good I got in contact with Odyssey through my local store and they didn't just fix it they sent me a brand new one. I think its a great product and it should be the #1 hopper of choice well it is for me.
Conclusion: Great product backed with great service defiantly a 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerKid2007 Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire reloader, Evo II, Revvy, Q-loader, and a bunch of others...
Marker Setup: Freeflow Lotus CF Body
Eclipse E-Blade
Samurai trigger
Freeflow Nylatron bolt w/ pull pin
WGP '04 hammer
WGP '04 valve
WGP '04 IVG
KAPP jam nut
KAPP Twisted cocking rod
CCM Straight pump arm
WGP Tickler LPR
Freeflow Custom SCM ram w/ QEVs
Mac Dev gladiator '04
Checkit unimount
12" Evil Pipe Kit
Halo B
Nitroduck Xstream adjustable 48CI tank
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: Heavy (can be fixed)
Review: Strengths:

low profile:
Although many people complain that "this is a big loader" its got a definite advantage in size (frontal profile wise) over its major competitor, the Evo II. I cut off about 3/7 of my feedneck to make it even shorter.

Feed rate:
Everyone knows it, Halos are damn fast. just as important as how fast it is it also keeps a very steady stream of paint comin down the feed neck. I have yet to have any problems with the motor overpowering my detents or bustin a ball in the chamber.

Construction:
This thing is down right tough. The polycarbonite construction seems to hold up much better than the evo. all parts are put together correctly and wires are neatly taped to the appropriate part.

Customer Service:
Odyssey has taken very good care of me. I smashed the front end of my hopper one day (broke my leg in the process) and Odyssey quickyl had a replacement set of shells at my door.

Feed Neck:
People who dont like the fat feedneck are stupid... By making it that wide the Halo will fit any size feedneck, and allows adjustable feednecks to get a REALLY tight fit. You also dont end up compromising the strenth of it like the Evo. One thing that i mentioned before that i reccomend you do is cut off some of the bottom of the neck to make the hopper sit lower in the gun.

Bounces:
This has only happened to me once or twice, but the hopper is angled enough so that bounces can happen off it, although they are few and far between.

Balance:
With the entire drive system sitting behind the feedneck you get most of the hoppers weight on the grip of the gun, right where it should be.

Looks:
You cant deny it, this thing is a whole lot purtier than the monkey testicle.

Weaknesses:

Heavy if you dont do the right things



Some mods you should do:
Cut the feedneck
go to pbn and search for Halo in the hopper forum, youll get the guide to doing the 9v mod, once this is done, your halo will be MUCH lighter.
Conclusion: In the three months ive owned this I have yet to have a SINGLE problem with it, no jams no nothing, just make sure your batteries are in good shape.

You can find em for about 110.00 at sites like actionvillage and 888paintball, so what are you waiting for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

P8NTBALLER590 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v (nothing like it) but its electronic so i guess its "similar" to it
Marker Setup: 03' cocker, eblade, empire barrel kit and what not
Strengths: -Fast
-quiet
-eye sensor (good and bad)
Weaknesses: -Kinda big
-6AA
-little tough to clean
-eye sometimes doesnt detect paint
Review: I got my halo just because of my eblade i knew i needed a fast hopper so i got it. i knew it was fast and everything. i am completely satified with it, its just a battery hog (6AA) other wise im pretty happy with it unless i chop a ball in the feed neck or the drive cone breaks.
Conclusion: Overall great product i would recomend reloader b over this though just because of sound activation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

survivepaintbal Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular revvy
Marker Setup: MY SETUP
•(Camo) Tippmann 98 custom and Spyder Flash (Black to Green) w/8 stage expansion chamber
•Flatline
•Response trigger
•Gta double trigger
•Smart Parts All American Barrel
•Vl electric hopper
•Warp feed
•I use Co2!
• (soon to get)Camo V- Force Profiler
• (Soon to get)Ghillie suit
•JCS folding stock
•Rocket Cock 2
•Superfly Front bolt
Strengths: SPEED! EFFICIENCY WITH BATTERIES!Tough Shell!
Weaknesses: WEIGHT! SIZE! FAT NECK! Requires sanding on some guns. Like only 165 balls capacity. Expensive!
Review: The Halo B's negatives greatly out weighs the positive. The loader is good for some (some being: rich, doesn't care about weight, size, or the capacity.) I personally will be getting rid of mine. I find no need for a overweight item. I'll be going back to my revvy. I can't deny that this product is fast though. Should be used in tournaments more so than woodsball.
Conclusion: The hopper is good for some people and bad for others.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bumgrapes Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo A, Egg, VL Rev, VL Rev + Intelframe u/g for mag.
Marker Setup: DM4, Macdev Conquest 03 with all u/g's, Ultralite, Halo B with rev and v-board.
Strengths: Faster than my bowel movements after a dodgy vindaloo.
Easier on/off.
Sleek design.
Weaknesses: Bit pricey but worth it,
Weight, Neck size,
Not the best capacity but so what.
Review: I umm'd an ahh'd about buying one of these for a while as i'd used a Halo A and hated the on/off and general fiddlyness of the insides; also used the new sound activated Reloader which my DM4 chopped to bits on, but then one came along with a rip drive and v-board installed at a good price and I gave in - so I'm reviewing the whole thing with upgrades as there are enough variations to look at on pbreview as it is.

I'm an egg man and think that they are pretty good; on my DM4 it seems to keep up happily and i've never chopped before so why change? Well the evil paintball goblins made me buy it and sweet baby J they were right. The DM4 seems to have had an engine change or something as it spits paint out with extra venom now. I still don't quite believe the difference.

Generally it's a good design. Yes, it's a bit weighty but nothing to write home about and it has got a fat neck but I just about squeezed it into the DM4 without sanding it.
With the rip-drive on you can wind the first few balls into the neck and put some tension on it without turning the hopper on which is quite handy for chrony'ing (and flat batteries should you get caught short in-game). I haven't had the ADB troubles some here have mentioned but take the hopper off and cover the feed-pipe with your finger and you'll feel it pushing fairly hard so you may need to sort those ADBs out if they're weak.

That's about it. With the v-board set on six it rocks. No breaks yet so fingers crossed.
Conclusion: Excellent! Solid build, simple and really makes a big difference! Worth breaking the piggy bank for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

delriach Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
Marker Setup: AVI Impulse, Freak Kit, 72ci 4500psi Crossfire, Halo B, new designs ball detents, new designs hammer kit, supa fly bolt, twister feed
Strengths: Speed, User Interface
Weaknesses: Too much power, semi-unrelyable, weight
Review: For starters, let me tell you first hand, this thing is FAST. I've shot it on angels (with the victory board) and it keeps up with the debounce set to 1. Also, the user interface is incredibly simple. One button, one led. However, this thing is a little too powerful. And I don't mean too fast. For example, I got a jam in my hopper once in a tournament, which really shouldn't happen in a 140 dollar hopper. But the motor was so powerful, I couldn't clear it without turning the hopper off. And as I was in the middle of a firefight, that was a pain. Its a miracle I wasn't bunkered. It only jammed once after that, and it wasn't the hopper's fault (I got an m&m shaped paintball). Lastly, the halo is heavy. Really heavy. Without paint it weighs as much as a full egg. Although I guess I have biceps now so...
Conclusion: All in all, it is a good hopper. I recomend it to anyone who needs something fast (but not for cockers, it will push the balls strait through the barrel...). However, it really needs the rip drive and a victory board.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint INC Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B
Marker Setup: Stock Odyssey O3
Strengths: Hard to out shoot
Rip drive installing option
Victory board install option
Weaknesses: Shell can scratch easy.
Might chop when amount of paintballs become low
Review: I was very pleased with this loader. I got one with a victory board already installed and a rip drive. The loader was fantastic and didnt dissapoint me once. Next I tried the rip drive and it preformed so so but still is a nice add on to have. Lastly this hopper is very hard to outshoot and when the victory board is installed I dont know if anyone can out shoot it. Maybe a selected few but not at a constant rate. If they do, I am shocked and amazed.
Conclusion: The price with everything installed is a bit steep but having a halo b with victory board is the perfect combination.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bowyer Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothin quite like it...eggy with a z, which i switch with this on occasion..
Marker Setup: DYE 2k3 trix
cp blade drop w/ aci on/off
halo b w/z code
eggy 2 w/z board
aci phat kit (4 pc, bein expanded to a 7 pc right now)
aci bulldog 2 68/45
Strengths: fast, low front profile
Weaknesses: ive gone thru 2 deffective boards
Review: the boards, my fault...one fried cause i connected the battery and motor connector to the board the wrong way and broke the on/off switch on the other...i use them for spare parts and stuff now..
looks cool, feeds fast enuf for my trix on the break. somethin i cant do with a revvy or rico..i can do it with my eggy, but i hafta get a new battery door (gotta hate people who shoot hot)
im a front guy who can actually shoot 16-22 bps during a game..so i like the front profile as well as the weight distribution alot better than my egg..i use the egg with crpa paint just to be safe, but ive been playin in a tourney series with whitebox runnin thru this and its been goin great..
mine senses black paint
this and my eggy weigh the same when filled with paint
i just plain old like it
Conclusion: like i sed, the boards were MY fault, not really deffective...and their nes software(s) sense black paint...i switch between this and my eggy just in case i think the paint is bad..in which case its really my fault for puttin the paint thru it in the first place..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eightballcoby Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revolution: doesnt come close to the Halo B
Marker Setup: 2003 Matrix LCD, Halo B, Adjustable low rise feed neck, 15 deg asa, mag. trigger, dye grip, CP drop, Air America Apocalyps tank, CP reg.
Strengths: Feed rate, colors, load opening diameter
Weaknesses: WEIGHT, price, complexity, neck, lid, cleaning, batteries, paint color restriction, no bats no paint
Review: Pros:
Obviously feed rate is good, it is advertised at 22+, but im not too sure about that, i have chopped 4-5 times total with a halo and my gun tops out at 17-18 bps.
Comes in lots of pretty colors
The diameter of the opening is just right for fast reloading.

Cons:
Weight, combinded with my matrix, i got a heavy gun setup
Price is very high
The inside mechanics are some complicating you should never take this loader part unless you know everything about building one, which makes cleaning it very hard.
the spot where the lid is attacthed to the loader is somewhat weak.
This loader takes 6 AA batteries, and im not joking. You will have to change the batteries more that if you had a VL revy.
Batteries die in game, then no more paint will be fed, unless you have the rip drive feature.
Dark colored paint (black for ex.) dont read well with the eye in the loader, therefore it thinks theres no paint, and trys to feed, killing your batteries fast.
Feed neck is very thick, and requires sanding, but an adjustable feed neck is a good solution.
Conclusion: Feed rate must be very important to over come the weight, price, battery cost, and complicating cleaning process
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media