paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
cryosilver Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American 14" - More accurate and quieter than the Thunder Pig. Does not look as cool. :)
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with response trigger, A2 kit from Spec Ops Paintball and coiled remote
12" CMI Thunder Pig barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 20 oz CO2

or

AGD Minimag with 14" All American Barrel, custom hopper and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only run RPS Stingers through this barrel, and did not break a single one.
Strengths: Looks bad-ass
Better than stock
Accurate
Weaknesses: None as yet
Review: I'm not sure what the people who got the 21" barrel were thinking; anything above 14" is a waste of gas. I have the 12" barrel.

I just got this barrel yesterday, along with a reponse trigger. I put both on and ran a full hopper through to tune the trigger. The average ROF was 8-9 BPS, and I did not break a single ball. Aiming at a tree about 50 feet away, I made a 8" group firing at that rate. Most every ball flew straight.

Though the gun is still loud, this barrel is much quieter than the stock barrel. Any barrel is better than the stock barrel for the A5, but I give this one high marks for being accurate and reliable, which are the 2 biggies for the A5, since nothing is going to make it quiet.

On top of it all, the Thunder pig just plain looks badass.
Conclusion: Though I'm switching out this barrel for a more expensive carbon-fiber barrel in a few weeks, if you're on a budget, this barrel is a good choice. Make sure you screw it in tight!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TheGumby Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Smart Parts, J&J, and a few other Barrels.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 - several upgrades
Syndicate Paradox - upgraded expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that fit.
Strengths: Great Accuracy. Good Distance. Quieter than most.
Weaknesses: Tough to clean. Made Cheaply.
Review: These are great barrels. I have one on my Tippmann and on a cheap Paradox and it shoots great on both. Hard to believe for how cheap they are that they can out-shoot the more expensive barrels like the dye ultra-light and the ceramic J&J. They do appear to be manufctured a bit cheap, but I haven't seen one that doesn't perform. If you do break a ball the barrel tends to cling to paint since it's rifled. Makes field squeegies a bit tough, but if your on the sidelines just give it a shot of windex before you run your squeegy through it.
Conclusion: Overall - There's no reason why you shouldn't try one of these since they are cheap. You'll find out that it's a great product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann 98 Barrel - much worse
14" Dye Xcel - ok
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
21" CMI Thunder Pig Barrel
Halo TSA LED Frontman
M98 Adjustable Sightrail
Custom handguard
Custom Bi-Pod
Remote
850psi Pure Energy HP
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heat - good
RPS Rampage - not that great
RPS Champion - Better than Rampage
Strengths: Looks
3-piece design
accuracy
price
Weaknesses: Length (21")
3-piece design
Review: LOOKS: this barrel looks very impressive, scares all the newbies and makes everyone want to be in your team

ACCURACY: this barrel is so much more accurate than the stock (duh..) as well as the Dye Xcel, I could make one big spot of paint on a tree 40ft away (only with the Diablo Heat, RPS didn't perform that well).

3-PIECE DESIGN: the design is pretty ok, you don't need a huge bag to take it with you. There are just two problems with it:
- First, if you have totally unscrewed the barrel and you screw the parts on the wrong side, the only thing you will have is breaks. This is (I think) the thread at the end is a little smaller than at the back. So if you install it wrong, a part of the barrel comes out on the inside and breaks all the balls.
- Second, i have a custom hand guard, so if I try to unscrew the whole barrel for cleaning, only the middle section comes off (Minor problem, fixable)

PRICE: Got mine for only 25 bucks (with shipping)

Length: This barrel is so damn long, about twice as long as your marker. I wanted to buy a stock but realized it made my marker more than 3ft long, which is extremely long if you ever want to play CQB. But this makes your gun a good sniper-rifle.
Conclusion: Good barrel, especially if you can get it for 30- dollar, which gives you a good accuracy over a good range. If you have many breaks, make sure it is installed correctly. I give it a 9 because it is a good and cheap barrel, but the length is a problem
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trayne Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts Jr. Freak - no comparison. freak is better
Custom parts 16" - cp is better
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo:
-Rocking Trigger
-Superfly bolt
-Smartparts Jr. Freak 18" barrel
-Madman Tornado valve
-Spring kit
-Shim kit
-Expansion chamber
-Feedneck no rise
-Halo B loader

Tippmann A-5:
-smartparts freak 18" barrel
-Esp Trigger
-Expansion Chamber
-Spring kit
-ACS bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Accurate on regular distances.
Weaknesses: Tends to spin the ball off once in awhile. Louder than my spyder stock
Review: Thunderpig isnt that bad of a barrel. It is a good buy if you are starting out or just getting into the game but if you want your money's worth, i suggest getting a smartparts freak or jr. freak barrel. its quite a bit of money but well worth it when you see the results.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to beginners because this barrel is good for leisure fun.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amiwhoudontno Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock. and it is so much better than this piece.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine: Spring Upgrade, 13bps Hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Trust me.. Nothing will help
Strengths: Absolutely nothing
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: Total Crap!! The worst thing i have ever wasted my money on. 21"... really why would you want some thing that long on your gun. I bought this barrel thinking it would be cool on my spyder imagine. Lets juss say.. i have never broken so much paint! It isnt even accurate. i was like 10 ft. away from a tree that has a diameter of like 2 ft. i aimed right at the middle of the tree, and I MISSED. i ball that shot ( that some how didnt break ) curved WAYY to the right. So i was in disbelief. So I shot again, I STILL MISSED. So I shot again .. the ball broke and clogge up the whole barrel. after that i gave it to my dad who has a $25 GameFace gun. and it was little more acurate but balls still broke like crazy. Trust me.. the biggest waste ever.. my stock barrel shot not only more accurate but farther!
Conclusion: The only way i would recommend this to anything is if i wanted to win without a doubt.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

panteballsniper Saturday, January 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" All American/ Freak 2-piece, 14" Whisper, 12" Empire Twister
Marker Setup: Icon-E, 32 Degrees 6-Stage 2003 Expansion Chamber, 32 Degrees Remote, Empire Reloader, Special OPS bipod, 32 Degrees 6 + 1 pack, 16 oz Chrome Moly, a spare 9 oz and, of course, the CMI Thunder Pig 21". (All camoflauge)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Perhaps Draxxus, Diablo, Marblizer, or any top-of-the-line paint
Strengths: Looks awsome
Straight rifling
Its crazy how long it is
Weaknesses: Chrome parts
Straight rifling
Gaps (see review)
Review: If you are interested in buying this barrel, there are some things you might need to know about this product.

First, in a woods game, chrome parts on a marker or barrel stands out, giving your position away which can lead to a kill in the enemy's favor. l took care of that by making it camoflauge.

Second, the straight rifling is both good and bad. Unlike the twister barrel, which is in the shape of a lottogon, (a stop sign with more sides), on the inside and spirals to give the ball a football effect, the Thunder Pig Actually has ridges, which can tear holes in the ball, giving you a mess to clean up. On the positive side, the ridges don't allow the ball to spin to the sides, meaning a greater chance hitting the target.

Now there's the gaps problem. Between each of the pieces of this barrel, there is a gap about a half a centimeter. If you think about it, the ball is free falling from the first part to the ridges of the rifle, so if the ball isn't perfectly lined up, it cuts, causing the ball to break. For this, I would suggest premium quality paint that can either withstand the long jouney out or can line up good every time.

If you are planning on becoming a sniper, you should know that CO2 is very inconsistant, especially in cold weather. I would recommend either high pressured Compressed Air or Nitrogen, which will also might improve the ball break problem. Also, it takes a LOT of CO2 to push the ball out of this barrel, therefore if there is a ball coming out your barrel, its almost at a crawl. Another reason for air improvements.

Because of all of this, I am going to give this a score of a 1 out of 10. Ha! Now I have your attention
Conclusion: If you are planning to become a sniper using this barrel, I would strongly advise you to practice the one shot, one kill method. That way the money you would have spent on large quantities of perhaps not the best paint, you could use on maybe PMI Marblizer paint. If at all possible, also, try getting a better air system. Practice your shots and become an expert at determining range.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 7:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodOldPenelope Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
91/2" Stock Barrel(Sucked)
12" Viewloader VL Barrel(Sucked)
18" Thunder Pig Barrel(Semi-Good)
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2in1 Java Edition,
18" Thunder Pig Barrel,
Expantion Chamber,
E-Marker trigger frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 Degrees Team Colors,
Any PMI paint
Strengths: Not costly,
Better than stock barrel(Nice upgrade),
Looks nice
Weaknesses: It doesn't shoot that far,
breaks cheaper(Wal-mart) paint
Review: This is not the best barrel you can get but for 30$ it is well worth your money, that is if your a newbie. If you have been playing paintball for 3 or more years than I would not recommend this barrel. You can get a real nice Custom Products One Piece Barrel for about 50$, now thats a nice barrel.
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel to anyone who is making there first barrel upgrade, but for 20$ more you can get a much nicer barrel
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ThePredator Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Used on Tippman 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Zap Spank with it.
Strengths: PRICE
Consistency
Looks
No Chops for Me
Weaknesses: 3 piece design. Extremely tight between the barrel and adapter. But suprisingly accurate.
Review: I bought this as a disposable barrel to use in a single game. $32 shipped from eBay for the 21" barrel. I shot Zap Spank paintballs (also very impressive...) and I didn't have any breaks. Distance wasn't quite what I hoped for, and the barrel may have been a bit loud, but consistency was definitely right on. A few other guys with 98's were wanting to buy it from me by the end of the day. I had some newbies hiding behind trees over 100 yards away because they thought I could hit them with that long barrel.
This barrel was definitely worth buying and a great deal for the money.
Conclusion: Considering that this *is* the cheapest barrel I know of, you *sure* aren't going to beat it 'for the price'. Major improvement in consistency over stock on farther shots. For some reason everybody was afraid of the length (21"). I loved it, but I would imagine there are better barrels out there. I graded it a 9 on what I was expecting for $32... not a disappointment at all. I'm not grading it a 9 compared to a Freak or anything.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DAR_ZP06 Monday, July 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stock Barrel J&J 14 inch
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/21" thunderpig 3PIECE <---sold
Now have a JT 3.5E yellow...its my prodject gun and after that i have an impulse on the way
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS super swirls
Proballs
Any diablo
Strengths: See conclusion
Weaknesses: Distance lacks due to the 21" i only tried it at speedball regulation
Review: Ok distance
ok accuracy

Remeber, this is for the Tippmann A-5

This is great if you can hanndel a long barrel In speed ball. it puts the ball were you want it, but it is quite long.
Does Not Work Well With Spiders!!! This Is Great For All The Tippmann Fans Out There on a low budjet.



See Conclusion and Read ---------- A5BY5's Review, theres stuff in there that i missed
Conclusion: Accuracy = B+
Disstance = B-
Sound = A
Looks = B+
I took this barrel to the NY Cup Sponcored by Head Rush and it was intimidating. people became a bit woried.


Read ---------- A5BY5's Review, theres stuff in there that i missed

I give it a 8. i recomend a 40 dolor barrel such as the Wisper, or excel, much better barrles but this will do the job if your on a very tight budjet.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbsniper30 06 Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none compare
Marker Setup: '01 Sniper w/ Kill Zone dropforward, KAPP On/Off cradle, 68/3000 Pure Energy , 14" Thunder Pig
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller is better. Anything by Diablo / Draxxus is a good bet.
Strengths: -Cheap
-Great Accuracy w/ right paint
Weaknesses: Slices larger balls such as PMI
It's called THUNDER pig for a reason.
Review: Overall, this is an excellent product. I have honestly kept a 6'" pattern at 150 feet. It is a tight shooting barrel and I have never broken a ball on the field, though I did in practice while testing a variety of balls. The thing loves smaller , rounder balls such as Diablo (pretty much everything). Larger ones such as PMI get sliced open easier, but I've never had a MAJOR problem. It's also cheap, I got mine on Ebay for 26 dollars, and was the best investment I've made in a while. Only major flaw is cleaning. When you do break a ball you need to wash out your barrel and then let it dry on its own. Theres just no way to dry the grooves out effectively.
Conclusion: Overall, a good buy, for the price you pay, if you have the option to use Diablo or similar paint, it's one of the best barrels I've found on the market.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media