paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
dshfro Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
whisper barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" CMI Rifled barrel
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop w/ on-off
ricochet 2k
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything but really cheap stuff (brass eagle, etc)
Strengths: Looks
Rifling
Price
Weaknesses: Kinda loud
Review: I got a 16" for my old raptor. It really increased the performance of that old gun! I was so impressed with it I got a 14" for my spyder xtra when i got it. The barrel is surprisingly accurate for $20 (ebay!) I think the rifling helps a ton with its performance. The muzzle break makes it look mean, but it also makes it loud.
Conclusion: Not the best barrel on the market, but for $20 a super deal. 7 for the barrel, 10 for the price, so I'll give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhatDaddy3 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 12"
Marker Setup: Stock Java w/ 16" Thunder Pig barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blue Streak, Dusk, Super Swirl, any kind really
Strengths: Rifling, Many colors,
Weaknesses: Somewhat fragile, only fairly accurate
Review: Overall this barrel isn't too bad, considering the price. However, if you have the extra little bit to spend, I'd recommend something a little better. The barrel is accurate to a degree. At 100 ft or so you have about an 8" to 12" spread, so the balls aren't too well grouped. I might be a little over exaggerating i guess, might only be 6" to 8", but still....

Also i found that the barrel is somewhat fragile. When i bought mine I was lucky because i bought insurance on it. When it came in the back (part you screw in) had a little notch in it to the point that paintballs wouldnt feed through the barrel... a major problem. I did try to fix it and did by using pliers to bend it back to a straight (curved) surface and balls could feed in. However it chipped the paint, looked ugly, and would catch about 1 in 50 balls and break them in the barrel. So i sent it back and got a new one which was fine and has worked pretty good.
Conclusion: Basically, its an alright barrel for a beginner who just plays for fun, but not really designed to be accurate enought for serious or tourny play. I reccommend spending the extra $$$ on a better barrel that is more accurate. I'm getting a J&J Ceramic 12" for my new E99 and only paying $31 with shipping (off ebay) for it, a better barrel for only about $10 or $15 more. I give it a 7 because its price (i paid $20) reflects its quality.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morris07 Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator stock barrel
Stingray stock barrel
Marker Setup: BRASS EAGLE Eradicator. Custom made stalk. Vertical Adapter. 21 inch CMI Thunderpig Barrel. 4x scope. Bipod. Laser Sight on Barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Dusk. I have used Diablo Dusk and Brass Eagle Afterburner. I didnt break any of the paintballs with this barrel but Diablo flies a sinch straiter.
Strengths: Very accurate, shoots far, very quiet.
Weaknesses: length may get annoying
Review: I have had the CMI Thunderpig for about half a year now and i have yet to break 4 balls in it and have gone through close to 2,000 paintballs with it. I dont play in arenas or anything like that, i play in the woods with about 15 other friends. The barrel is very accurateand shoots very far, just the other day i sniped out one of my friends from about 45-50 yards, believe it or not. I havent really had any problems with it but if i had to name one it would be walking through the woods sneaking up on someone and hittin the barrel against a tree...the barrel is VERY long. The barrel is very intimidating. when kept clean and takin care of good, you will never NEED to buy a new barrel, if you want you can take off the handle on the barrel to make it a few inches shorter. CMI did a really good job on this line of barrels.
Conclusion: The Barrel is great. If you are one that goes and plays with friends like i do and you like to snipe, this is the barrel for you. I have never tried playin on a normal paintball field with it but id imagine it wouldnt be TOO bad there either. If you find the right paint, you wont miss...i can almost guarantee that. Great Barrel, go buy it and try it out. I give this barrel a strait 10 for 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TransitionPaint Wednesday, December 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Spyder compact deluxe jave with remote, 20 0z co2, red dot, cmi thunder pig 21" sniper barrel, venturi bolt all wrapped in a warm and cozy ghille
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING this barrel is awesome (well except brass eagle, they suck hard @ss)
Strengths: Everything
-accurate
-long
-intimidating
-easy to clean
Great barrel never chops either
Weaknesses: the only thing that is wrong with this barrel. well two things
its also made for tippmans
end is made of alluminum and dents easily
Conclusion: BUY THIS BARREL NOW!!!!!! ITS THE BEST BARREL EVER MADE LOW PRICED AND AWESOME ACCURACY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uncas41 Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock 14" barrel / Phantom 12" stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Main gun, Phantom pump w/12" stock barrel. Tippmann Pro-Lite if I'm just having fun.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like Galyans. Great paint that flies straight.
Strengths: I have shot about a 1000 rounds thru this barrel and it shoots real straight. No breaks or chopped balls. Payed $14 for it on Ebay but I have seen it sold for as low as $6.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far.
Conclusion: We have all heard the saying " You get what you pay for". But what can you say about a barrel that costs under $15 and is the equal or better than anything you will encounter on any paintball field? If the people who make this barrel can make it this good and sell it this cheap, it certainly makes me wonder why the other barrel makers are charging $100 or more for theirs?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LiteEmuP69 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A-5 with a RT and a red dot, and unfortunately a thunder pig
Strengths: A bit quieter than stock
Weaknesses: Unconsistant, a bit loud, and way to long
Review: About a year ago i wanted to be a "sniper" really bad and the old stock 8 incher was not working out for me. So instead of reading PBreviews i looked at the size and price of the thunder pig, which was a mistake. It is very inconsistent, not quiet at all, and is simply not very accurate. The good thing is that the 21 inches tends to be a little intimidating when playing your local nerds, while they are scared the good paint baller you are up against should be happy to see you and your broomstick. There have been numerous times i could not get shots of, not be able to hide well, and not be able to go places due to its length. From now on i highly recommend 16 inches.
Conclusion: Well if a VERY tight budget and you would like a broomstick then i guess get it. It is not the best barrel and i would spend the extra 5 to 10 dollars and get a much better one like the nyte stick, J&J ceramic which are all around $40. They say a rating of 5 is average and a 1 is worst, but its not the worst but by no means average i am going with a 3 right between
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pimpedoutsport Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder stock 9 in
system X 14 in
Marker Setup: spyder sport
14 in. CMI thunder pig barrel

Recommended
Paintballs:
anything cant be picky about paint just be a cheapskate like me and buy the cheapest paint your just going to break it
Strengths: looks good on any gun
cheap
accurate
Weaknesses: stops the ball from spinning(not that big of a deal)
most people hate it
Review: good barrel except its not the best theres way better out there but if your have a tight budget its better than most stock barrels some people may not like it that much but i do i traded in my system X for it and if your going to but this barrel get a 14 inch anything bigger is too big and anything smaller isnt big enough
Conclusion: good barrel cheap price reccomend to anyone with a tight budget and a cheap stock barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 17th, 2003 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GT_Commando2 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32* terminator Flatline
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2 w/ Stock 6 Stage Expansion Chamber 3 piece 21" Thunder Pig Barrel 3x15 Tasco Scope. Nice
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo but never use Kingman/ Raven
Strengths: Cheap, accurate, Makes your gun look good
Weaknesses: picky on paint
Review: I love this barrel. I got it for $40 off of ebay. The barrel is so very accurate. My friends flatline is still better but i was keeping up with him. I could hit him easy from 35yds.
Ask anyone you owns this barrel and uses it he or she will agree with me. If you got any questions mail me.

Mastersat4500@yahoo.com
Conclusion: If you like outlaw paintball this is the barrel for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matn1 Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Anything that chops paint compares to it.
Marker Setup: This is on a friend's Spyder 1 marker. Pretty old, but still working.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only tried Diablo Blaze in it.
Strengths: Stock: Barrel isn't exactly great.
But the good part is that you can make it much better in very few steps:

- Buy the old ones on ebay for 20$
- Cut the ugly end off (leaving you with a 14" barrel).
- Using a flex-hone .68 caliber honing tool, and rehone the barrel (factory honing on the old revision is extra bad).
- File 2 inches at the end until it's 1mm bigger than the rest.
- Port the end with 4 series of 4 holes.

That's it! Up to now, we have only cut the ugly end off. It's extra noisy, but it's shooting darts (I know what I'm talking about, my gun is an eblabe cocker with a freak kit). The porting will prob. diminish the noise, and the honing job will make the bore size smaller and better and thus more accurate.
Weaknesses: Using the old rev of this barrel stock is actually bad. Check the ones on ebay and you'll see what I'm talking about.
Conclusion: Follow my tips and transform your 20$ CMI into a 100$ boomstick. I'm not joking. I'm giving this product a 7 because you need to do some work on it to get it to work.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pro_sniper Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra stock,and other stock barrels
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, shocktech super fly bolt, universal T-stock, 21inch thunder pig barrel, red dot scope, clear flat panel grips,shock tech low preasure cell and a sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything as long as you shoow the gun slow enough for the paint to get out of the barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Quiter than stock barrel
Intimadating
Looks bad @ss
Weaknesses: Very long
Still preaty loud
Possible to thread backwards
Un-manueverable in thick cover
Review: This barrel rocks for sniping if anyone tells you different they have not used it enough to
sight in. if valosity is too high or low it will throw the shots off.

some very minor problems would be the length and noise but these are very minor compared to the accuracy that you get from this barrel.
Conclusion: Some people say it chops paint but they might have the middle of the barrel threaded backwards i did this once to check if that was the trust or not and it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media