paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
a5by5 Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12" Lapco Big Shot and the stock barrels
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5, 12" Lapco Biggie, 3A 88/4500 hpa, DOP drop, double trigger, rear velocity adjust, pro seal and front grip.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Best balls seem to be Blitz, any PMI or Nelson's.
Strengths: Price-v-performance ratio offers decent product at a good value.
Weaknesses: Not as good as all the $50.00+ barrels out there....DUUUH
Review: You know
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!
I payed $12.00 for this barrel on Ebay, and for that price it works. I used it on my A-5 for a while and it was better than the stock barrel, but not as good as I wanted. So, I purchased a Lapco Big shot, and gess what, I'ts better, but is it worth the extra $40.00?
For a kid who's saving his allowance to upgrade his marker, I would say NO, the 50+$ barrels are not going to make sooo much differeance in accuracy for that. For someone who has plenty of disposable income, yes go ahead and spend the extra $$. If your a bigginner like me who has some extra cash but not a lot, GET THE THUNDER PIG!
It's going to be a great improvement over the stock barrel and get you as much as you might need until YOUR GAME improves to the point where a more expensive barrel will make a difference. SPEND YOUR EXTRA CASH ON PAINT and work on your game!
I'm an ex-USMC marksmanship instructor and have had extensive tactical training plus was rated Master class in IPSC shooting,so I know a little about rating the accuracy of a gun. Whether it may be an M16-M4 or a Paintball marker.
Conclusion: I gave this barrel to my 11 yr old son, who is using it on his Tippy 98 and he has been able to improve his game considerably, I've see his One-Shot-One-Kill several players in a game. With this barrel he has been able to MORE THAN DOUBLE the amount of people he shoots out playing at public paintball parks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kipper Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees quiet riot.empire twister
Marker Setup: Diablo sabotage,expansion chamber,rear cocking(rebel).thunderpig barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus
Strengths: The price,range and accuracy,I've been trying out various barrels on my sabotage(you might laugh but its a damn good little marker and all my friends swear by it) trying to get the best range and accuracy I can get on a fairly tight budget and this barrel has way out performed an empire twister,32 degress quiet riot and whisper and one other I cant remember but came off a new spyder aggressor.I've also had very few barrel bursts and the barrel seems to self clean if you dont have time to use your squiddgy.I,d give this barrel a 9.5 out of ten!
Weaknesses: poor finish in barrel when aquired,soon improved with metal polish and a "rabbits foot"barrel cleaner .This helped to bring up the finish inside which certainly improved range and accuracy. Also its very loud which WILL give your position away when sniping from cover!! so a good silencer IS needed
Conclusion: I love this barrel (My mates hate it as its usually pointing at them) and you cant get better for the money,I highly recommend you get one!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReconRick Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BoomStick Stiffi
Marker Setup: A-5 Fully Digi, Dogleg stock air thru, specops tombstone grip, Hopper offset, riccochet hopper, E-Grip 17bps, Flateline, 12" Stiffi, 12" Thunderpig
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pmi and evil
Strengths: Price, Tru Flight (the rifleing in the barrel), acuracy, range, Very few breaks in barrel.
Weaknesses: Lil too heavy 4 its size, little loud, more acurate barrels out there
Review: Ya sure there may be some flashyer or slicker barrel out there but i challenge u to find a better bang for your buck. This barrel is the work horse of my kit. Using Tru Flight it pops up the ball a bit more for added flight time = more range all the while keeping good acuracy. This thing is tuff too. Legendary tuff drop it off...wait no drop kick it off a 5 story house and i bet it still be fine. I been playing for more than 5 years now and when ever i do a 24 or more hour scenerio game i only use this barrel just because of its relibility. It gets thrown in the dirt, paint stuck in, it wet, muddy, and still shoots well. I recomend this for a fist timers barrel and for anyone who is into woodsball and has a barrel that dousnt keep up with the enviorment.
Conclusion: Unless u have a barrel that is around that 100 doller pluse range and it shoots fine dont bother. If u it dosnt and u need something tuff get it. If ur a firt timer get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dfo636 Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98c with an expansion chamber, cmi thunderpig 12" barrel, tippmann double trigger, 72/3000 hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, never had a ball break in the barrel or gun
Strengths: Shoots accurate, quiets the gun down, and looks sweet
Weaknesses: None that i have found, maybe it is still too loud?
Review: All in all this barrel has never let me down, in fact once my friend used my gun before and after he went out the next day and bought a 14" and he loves it just as much as myself,
if u are thinking of getting it, THINK NO MORE, JUST BUY IT u will be glad u did
it does quiet your gun down a good bit but to the people who are complaigning, its a tippmann get used to the loudness
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cmi QB (very good barrel better in all ways)
Empire Twister (very good barrel better in all ways except price)
Psychoballistics Aradus (a whole barrel kit in one barrel much more accurate)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Cheap ones- because it will break all kinds.
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Breaks paint, inaccurate, loud for it's length.
Review: This barrel breaks so much paint it's unbelievable. I used it on an auto cocker and it was braking about every 25 shots. I didn't have another choice so i took the end off and switched it for the old style CMI QB barrel and it worked fine. the tip is bad and that is where the paint breaks.
Conclusion: Buy something else this may be the worst upgraded barrel (over 10" long) ever! Unless you need a 5 inch barrel extension desperately.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

barracuda22 Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels (crap), J&J, flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, 21" CMI sniper barrel, Response Trigger, Remote Coil, 20oz CO2, 4X15 scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
any. i usually just use the walmart paint b/c it works just as well comin out of an A5 and it's cheaper.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: PROS

Distance - you may ask "why on earth would i need a 21 INCH BARREL???" some think it is too long. and for speedball it is, but in speedball you are running up field quite fast (unless you're a sissy and hide in the far back bunker until the end of the game...) and you wont need the shot distance of this barrel, but for those of you who love woodsball and scenario, this barrel gives unheard of accuarcy. i stood at one end of my back yard when i first tested it to see if the barrel was worth what i paid for. Now some of you may think, o well backyars arent that big. well i have an acre of land in my backyard and that's pretty dang far.

Accuracy - not only was i able to shoot from one end of my backyard to the other, i was able to shoot a nice, accurate and tight pattern. for those of you who dont want increased accuracy, well you're a stright up fool.

Spin - there is none! sure some of you flatline fanatics will say, "well backspin proves father distance,etc etc" and sure that is great an all. i play baseball and for farther distance you DO want backspin. but you're also just trying to hit the ball as far as you can. in paintball the object is to shoot the other guy and if you have a ball curving upwards instead of hitting the guy you were aiming at, well you're pretty much screwed. paintballs are just like back when muskets shot spherical bullets. rifleing only worked when they introduced the bullet with a cone shaped and, cutting through turbulance. with reduced to no spin, your shots are more accurate.

Price - this baby is cheap! i bought it for $30 off of ebay. much cheaper than the $100 flatline or apex barrel.

CONS

none yet!
Conclusion: This barrel is amazing. if you are tight on money yet need an amazing upgrade, this barrel is for you. i give this a 9 out of 10 since nothing is perfect and there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tpfranzen Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J & J Precision 14" barrel
tipman 98 flatline barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine LED
archon hopper
this barrel
shocktech superfly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
All i've tried worked great
Strengths: Quiet
accurate
great distance
looks sweet
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bougth this barrel as a gift for a friend i tested it and found myself keeping it. This barrel is awesome. I haven't chopped any balls and my accuracy is amazing. I have had no problems with it at all the bore is good and its treads are the perfect size and everything. You can even screw the bottom grip looking thing off and you have a 16" barrel. This is a amazing product and has performed perfectly for me.
The flatline barrels are the only reason I gave it a 9.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for spyder guns. Do buy it immediately. Its a 2 in one and sleek, quiet, then you a accuracy into the combo and you have a great deal for $40 bucks. Flatlineing barrels are the only better thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dilbones Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
vexor barrel (just as accurate, shorter, but louder)
Marker Setup: FOR MY A-5
shortened trigger pull
softened trigger pull
21" psycho ballistics barrel
20 ounce co2 tank
tasco scope

for my vexor, stock
Strengths: Intimidating
accurate...sorta
quiet
Weaknesses: Not consistent
shoots a bit short
Review: I first got this gun when I was a noob, It was pretty good, and my first time shooting it was at a truck...lol. Anyway, it makes the gun look ALOT better and it is extremely intimidating. If you dont have the right velocity setting, the barrel becomes truly inconsistent and bad. So my advice is to test the velocity to the barrel rather than the paintballs because it works well with most paintballs.
Conclusion: I would give this an 8 because it gives short shot length, is not consistent, but is quiet and intimidating (good for sniping)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbgottaloveit Thursday, January 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel 12" Thunder Pig
Brass Eagle Samarai
Brass Eagle Triad
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
12" Thunder Pig stock barrel
Delrin Bolt 2 o-rings
1- 24 oz CO2 tank
1- 20 oz CO2 tank
1- 9 oz CO2 tank
VL hopper 200 ct

Recommended
Paintballs:
I found that Scorch paintballs are the cheapest paint to use monetarily but are also the highest grade to use with this barrel.
Strengths: looks extremely intimidating. I had really high expectations for this barrel, those were not met.
Weaknesses: Chops balls 1 out of 5 most of the time.
wont hit 290 fps


Review: When I was looking to replace my stock barrel with a more accurate barrel I saw this one and could not pass up the offer. The barrel was very cheap ($$$$) but the material was not. I went ahead and cut this barrel to 16" instead of 22" and now it works okay but I am still going to get a J&J Elite Ceramic Barrel


Conclusion: do not buy this barrel unless you are looking to blow your money on a worthless item. It is a complete waste of time and money. You couldnt hit the broad side of a barn even if it was 5 feet infront of you. This barrel sucks. Dont buy it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cowboyjoe Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many different barrels
Marker Setup: automag rt with a warpfeed and a freak kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something with a shell that is like concrete or very thick shell paint.
Strengths: It shoots straight, very straight, it is back spin rifled so it shoots far.
Weaknesses: It is way too long, and likes only the thickest possible shelled paint.
Review: It is a very acurate barrel, i cant complain about that. It is a bit too long though, a shorter version of the barrell would be great. This is a good scenario barrel, but is not good for speedball. This barrel is acurate for long ranges, i shot some guy out from alomost all the way across the feild. If you are a scenario baller this is a good buy.
Conclusion: I think it is a pretty good barrel fo the money, besides the paintball poping, and the length, it is a good barrel. Great acuracy and distance.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media