paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 102
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Hot Spot Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bafrank@att.net Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GAP, Zap, Draxus Rec-Sport, Diablo Heat
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Using both Flatline and Stone Cold Barrels. CO2, Aluminum and Teflon forward bolt, custom spring kit, Lapco Stainless screw kit, BSA Red Dot sight.
Recommended
Barrels:
None
Strengths: Lowest price
Weaknesses: Severe inconsistancy from lot to lot
Review: My son and I have used Hot Spot almost exclusively since we started paint-balling. Initially we used the Tippmann stock barrels and the Stone Cold 14" barrels. Performance was pretty good for both speed-ball and woods ball courses. Broken paint was rare.

We then obtained Flatline barrels for both our markers and began testing to find adequate performance. Top of the line paint, Marballizer and All Star, shot well, but at $55 and $60 a case they were a bit beyond our budget. We then tried some left over Hot Spot along with samples from a new case. Wow, it shot as well as the Marballizer.

We began buying Hot Spot 3-4 cases at a time, at less than $35 a case, with excellent results. We would sometimes go through 1 to 2 cases without ever breaking paint in the barrel. Friends would borrow a hopper full on occasion, would like it and then buy their own.

In January of '05 we bought three cases from our usual supplier online and were happy to find no broken paint when the shipment arrived. That was the last of the good news. During sight in we found paint breaking in the barrel 2 shots out of 5 in both guns. We tried everything and the problem persisted. We found balls dropped from only 18" from the floor would break. By comparison Marballizer did not break until it was dropped from higher than 5 feet above the floor. I called the dealer who blamed it on our guns and saying that the paint was not intended for Flatline barrels...so we switched to the stock and Stone Cold barrels. There was some improvement but I was still breaking 10 to 30 balls per hopper full.

I contacted the manufacturer, Nelson, and after three emails detailing the problem I have received NO reply. We then found a bag on the shelf of our storage closet of the previous order of Hot Spot. They shot as well as Marballizer. We couldn't believe it!!!

I then began to measure the paint with a ball sizer. The old Hot Spot all dropped into the .686" hole. The new paint would barely go through the .691" hole. No wonder the new paint didn't working in the Flatline barrel! We bought All Star for our next play date and have started evaluating all the inexpensive paint that is listed on some charts as "small diameter."

Conversation with several Paintball stores have confirmed that they no longer carry Hot Spot because of inconsistent diameter and breakage...this month it works great...next month's pallet load has to be returned due to sever breakage in virtually all barrels tried. At one time Nelson stood behind the paint, I am told, but now the company will not return the dealers call. We sold the remaining two cases to a friend who thought it was good enough in his gun.

My experience with these paintballs and then lack of reply from Nelson has convinced me to never use Nelson's products again!!

FOLLOW UP 4/26/05
---Today I was contacted by Nelson via email. I was told that there had been problems with their email system and the tech apologized for their failure to respond to my requests. She offered as compensation for my inconvenience a case of Hot Spot and, even more interesting, a case of their new Special Forces Series Paintballs. I am impressed with this action on Nelson's part and their apparent desire to satisfy their customers. After a chance to test these items I'll get back here with a short review.

BTW, due to the critical requirement of small diameter paint for the Flatline barrel we have added a Hammerhead Battle Stixx to our selection of barrels. I like the Flatline's flat trajectory, but its need for very expensive paint is reducing my enjoyment. We are still in a testing phase with the Hammerhead, evaluating which paint works well. At least with this barrel we'll have a chance to adjust for ball diameter.

FURTHER FOLLOWUP 5/16/05
---Been getting used to the Hammerhead barrel. This past Friday night's game I pulled out the Hot Spot and ran some of the paint through the Hammerhead ball sizer. Wow, this new stuff is BIG. It measured .693"!!! It is so large that it wouldn't drop through the barrel. I could not blow it through the barrel with the pressure of my breath. My thought were that maybe this tight fit in the rifled barrel would show improved accuracy.

First discovery, after I switched to the proper fin, when I went to the chrono, was my velocity was up at 290-295 fps. I guess with the tighter fit there is much less gas loss around the ball. I could not turn my vlocity any lower...had to switch springs. At that point the field had a failure of the lights and we had to knock off a half hour early so further evaluation was not possible. BUT, the previous lot of Hot Spot that shot so well in the Flatline sized at .686". That is a lot of difference. If Hot Spot continues to hold this larger diameter in manufacturing then this paint may work well for the Hammerhead. I'll let you know.
Conclusion: Buy something else.

Tentative re-evaluation...try it in a big bore barrel
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 9:06 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

jdragon Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
diablo blaze, midnight, nelson splat, american, premium etc.....
Marker Setup: well 2 guns:
1) autococker w/ bomb, sto ram, ergo reg, mini-rock reg, hinge, AA 2k barrel ALL BLACK
2)spyder TL+ w/ turbo valve, ergo reg, check it derlin bolt, cp barrel, sprint frame.
i use a ricochet 2k for hopper for both guns.
Recommended
Barrels:
cp barrels .689 i think they fit pretty good
All american 2k .689
Strengths: Cheap! compared w/ premium and midnight.
hard shell, flight straight w/ right barrel(size)
Weaknesses: not heavy,fill are watery. easy wipes, not bright.
not all flight good, stinks?
Review: I will play w/ these paintballs as long as it doesn't go over 35 bucks,
They are pretty decent for recreational, that is what i play only.
I like to shoot a lot per game, so you don't feel as bad as 50 bucks for premium.
You can get em for 35 bucks. You can't go wrong w/ these paintballs.
Unless you have a smaller bore size barrel, like my J&J ceramic barrel which is a little bit smaller .687-.686
So make sure you have a .689 bore size barrel, if you are not sure ask your local store to measure it for you, they should not charge you, and if they do OMG then do not ever buy anything from them.
Conclusion: Recreational paintball on weekends?, tired of paintball 50 bucks per case?
wanna be free to shoot more w/out worrying about your limit?
then get these paintballs, it will not hurt your wallet and it will allow you to shoot more
because you know you already saved 15 bucks! by purchasing them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badmoon Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil to thin
ramage to crudy
marbalizer i like it not as much what use when i run out at the feild
eliminater i like it to good stuff still like my hot spot
Marker Setup: spyder x-tra and a-5 both evil driver
Recommended
Barrels:
most stock and high end barrels love it esp. with insertes im told
Strengths: Hard shell, thick fill. cuts thought the brush.
Weaknesses: None to sspeek of realy.
Review: all in all every instence i have used nelson hot spot. wetheir it be in the cold or heat or rain it has work for me and my team. almost no pod breaks, from a team that does alot of running. hell i even notic alot of people at the feild switching to hot spot because we talk about it so highly. it seriosly goes into the deep brush, for thouse penatrating shots. It will let a person know there hit when whering padding. i love it and swear by it in woodsball, my teams paint of choise. the only thing is the bags are a game but i like not knowing for sure. it like christmass.. i like like the varity. good stuff.
Conclusion: Use it, buy it, love it. Dont eat it thats not right. long live cheap paint of the quality of Hot Spot. In the woods theirs nothing better i think.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hudson633 Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Couldn't name it all
I've fire many brands
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion .68
Tippmann A-5
32 Degress pistol
Brass Eagle Blade (under destruction)
Recommended
Barrels:
Any i suppose
Havent found any bad ones anyhow
Strengths: Thick shell
Cheapish
Weaknesses: Extra painfull
Thin paint
Review: They are slightly cheaper than most cases but at what cost? Read on...

This was my first case, all to myself. Befor this i was shooting wind up 50. guns with crappy paint so when i got this i was like COOL. The speed in which they travel naturally like 280fps i was impressed at they way they shattered and i was instantly convinced i had some great paintballs right there but it was not to be.

Some broke from the barrel, i'd say a good 20 out of 1000 which is alot of squidgee work in a game, they had bad accuracy but i didn't notice it at the time cause i was a newbie, they are incredabily hard shells and i'm sure it would be extremely painfull to be in the way of them.

The paint is very thin and oily too, it takes some time cleaning the innerds of your marker from all the ball breaks and chops, and then a mere £/$5 up the street and i get some Draxxus and what?!? the fill is so much thicker its criminal, the roundness is almost perfect, and the shell is just right, not too thick, not too thin. The accuracy increased in my marker and i realised it was the consistancy of the shell.

I'll always fork out that extra £/$5 for better balls, don't buy this even for training and it misleads newbies.
Conclusion: They broke my frence, below average at 3.5
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 1st, 2005 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

levi333 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintballs in general...
Marker Setup: BKO3', CP reg, Cp 2-piece, CIP rise, SP mod, Vapor Valve, Vapor Bolt, Zenitram 45 frame...
Recommended
Barrels:
I used my .689 CP back, didnt work too well. Got quite a few barrel breaks. Use a .691 or bigger.
Strengths: Cheap, bright, pretty thick fill.
Weaknesses: Very un-round. Not consistant, didnt fly straight.
Review: Got them, only one in twelve bags had a break in it so i cleaned that up. Had high hopes for some cheap rec ball but the paint rarely flys straight, not consistant grouping. Just by looking at the balls i could tell they didnt look too round. I will not likely buy any more of these. I think ill try some Zap spank next time if they're in stock.
Conclusion: Good for low-grade rec playing, but thats even a stretch.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 27th, 2004 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paint Saint Monday, January 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Monster Balls
Horrible. But, they're by Brass Eagle, what do you expect?
Visible Impact
My favorite, but it's more expensive and not legal at all parks. It's pink.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot '05 w/ ACS
VL Loader
Pure Energy N2 72 cu. in. 3000 psi
Stock parts for gun
Recommended
Barrels:
I have a really nice stock barrel for my Pilot. It out shoots Freak on a mechanical at a higher rate of fire.
Strengths: Not hard, not soft
Many colors
$35 per case where I buy
Weaknesses: Fill is thick enough for the price
Color isn't what the box says
Review: Good paint. I use it for around my house and for beginners. Many of my friends use it when they can't use Monster Balls.
The shell can be orange, purple, barf (okay, olive green). The fill is always orange as far as I remember. It may be yellow also. EDIT: It is yellow.
They aren't too commonly available. I buy mine at Gander Mountain.
I wrote another review under the name of Splat Cat, but I messed up that account and can't use it any more. Check it out if you want a better review. I did find a better paint.
Conclusion: I'd give it a 7.5, but I can't really do that. Great for those who want to afford paintball or beginners.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

colonelkernel8 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze (much, much, better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
12" J&J Ceramic
Dead-On Pro-Seal
Dark Horizon Lite Titanium Bolt
Maddmann Spring Kit
Polished Internals
20oz CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
Any.
Strengths: Cheap
Average shell quality/consistancy
Weaknesses: Terrible Fill
Review: The paintballs themselves are alright in shell quality and consistancy, but the fill is just awful. It is transparent and extremely thin. I bought the "yellow" fill and the actual color was the same as an egg white. There is no way you would ever be able to detect a hit unless the target is wearing bright white, and who does that?
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend buying these. Go and buy some Draxxus paint instead, they are WAAAY better.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soldier warrior Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dusk, RPS, zap (sucks), brass eagle lol
Marker Setup: pirahna g3 sts, everything stock
Recommended
Barrels:
shouldnt matter
Strengths: CHEAP 29.99 for 2000, for the most part accurate, break on target.
Weaknesses: Fill is way way to light, balls them selves are not colorfull
Review: ok well i needed some quick paintballs for later that day, so i stopped a dunhams to buy my usual dusk but i saw this deal 2000 for 29.99. thats a steal well i thought should i just buy the dusk or should i rush to the nearest computor and see the review of thses suckers. well i took that risk and bought them.

i loaded my first hopper with about 50 and i was shocked, they were acurate, and broke on target :-) the people i shot said they hurt a bit but over all there great for woods ball, but for me and my team we will still use RPS these arent tournament grade but there worth the cash ;-)
Conclusion: There cheap, accurate, very few chops, broke on target, that avarages out on the fill but you can tell when you hit someone and when your hit. only for the price being so low they get a 10 if they were any more money it would have been a 8
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mutated Goose Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Dusk (Cheap Wally World stuff only sold in half cases)
RPS Big Ball (a little better, somewhat harder, and more expensive)
Marker Setup: *Black CCI Phantom VSC.
*45 with Hogues
*10 round feed
*ADCO Hot Shot
Recommended
Barrels:
I only have my stock one, and it seems to work great (but CCI barrels are great in the first place)
Strengths: *DIRT CHEAP!!! (33 BLING BLING'S A CASE!!!)
*GOOD SHAPE!!! (NOT A SINGLE BALL BROKEN OR DIMPLED: SHIPPED FROM PBGEAR)
*BRIGHT FILL!!! (I GOT THE GREEN SHELL/WHITE FILL AND THE FILL WAS BRIGHT WHITE!!! YELLOW WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER BUT THEY WERE OUT OF STOCK)
Weaknesses: Not much is bad about these balls.... except
*FILL IS A LITTLE BIT WATERY (VERY GOOD FOR 33 DOLLARS THOUGH)
Conclusion: Very good paintballs for the price, about equal to Big Ball, may not fit your barrel though, mine fit my CCI barrel perfectly, but CCI barrels are a larger bore than most....

GOOD BALLS!!! 9 OUT OF 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

smores Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle
Marker Setup: green vert feed 2002 cocker, eclipse trigger frame, 2002 all american w/freak front, nitroduck 3000 68 fiber, centerflag hyper reg, evo 2
Recommended
Barrels:
very large bore, like a potatoe gun pipe
Strengths: price
Weaknesses: everything else
Review: Wow, I never thought that I would find paint that was worse than brass eagle but here it is. I tried many other Nelson paints and had great luck with them, so I don't know what happened with these. Bore size is huge, paint is extremely brittle and the fill is very oily. When I first opened my case it was full of broken paint, which probably didn't help with the quality. I cleaned the entire case of paint with a towel for about an hour. The next day I went to my local field and tried them out. Numerous brakes in my barrel and horrible size consistency. Some balls would roll right through my barrel while others would not come even close to fitting. After the day I was very unhappy about the quality of the paint but decided to give it another try just because I had had such goo luck with Nelson before. The next case was no better so I used about 20 and then sold the rest to my friend who had about the same luck with them. BOTTOM LINE- don't buy this paint
Conclusion: Never buy this paint...ever. Only plus is the price
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media