paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
staf_elite Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000 with the stone cold big stick 2... 20' cant compare yet...
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock blows get a new barrel
Strengths: nice look
affordable
nice 6stage exp. chamber
doesnt break paint often at all in less your a newbie to paintball and mess it up somehow
its gonna make me a good sniper gun when i get some upgrades...
Weaknesses: well heres my problem and i like a owner of this gun that uses a stone cold 2 big stick by taso on there commando 2 ... cause the one i have is spyder fittable but yet when i try to screw it into the commando 2 it wont go all the way it gets stuck and if i were to twist harder it would strip the inside so if any one knows the problem or have a suggest it would be much appreciated that i recieve some info before saturday thx
Conclusion: Get a new barrel , replace trigger spring with a pen spring , then must need a revy , then it becomes a really a great gun and btw shoulder stock is not bad doesnt feel comfortable with large tank behind it I recommend the remote and a harness for this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeriaLThriLLa Tuesday, November 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000, the commando is a lot better than this I just got the spyder because a friend was selling it really cheap with a 32* x-chamber.
Marker Setup: AMC GT Commando 2, custom drop forward made in my basement, 14" CP barrel, custom aluminum barrel guard, 16 oz "stubby" tank (it fits perfectly inbetween the stock and the grip without getting in the way of the stock motion, with other thanks you have to extend the stock quite a bit before it would fit.) WPP barrel extension/silencer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward if you don't use a 16 oz "stubby" tank, new barrel, and take your barrel guard to machine shop and get it milled out a bit so other barrels can fit.
Strengths: Extremely accurate and fast, way less recoil than any spyders I have fired. I comes with a true-venturi bolt, which kicks ass. Grip covers are nice, x-champer could be a little lighter but its not bad, and of course it looks so nice. Whenever I got to the field and a bunch of newbies are there they always follow me around asking about it. With the stock barrel its loud as a b**** which = big intimidation factor to newbies.
Weaknesses: Loud unless you get a new barrel or silencer, heavy, confusing to disasemble at first, thats it!
Conclusion: I have used this product since for 7-8 months now non-stop and have never had a problem. All of my friend's spyders have developped leaks and chop balls at the first sign of something foreign in the gun. If you like sniping, or having a sick looking gun, then get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray...and used a tippman 98 once..
Marker Setup: Gt Commando 2...im gonna get a new barrel tho...a nice long 16" one.....i hope..
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel....i guess...thats what everyone says
Strengths: its a great gun...i like how it looks and how it feels.......when i play on a field (i just play in brushy area with my friends....no special rules or anything...) i like to strafe alot....i dont usually get shot but i just run and shoot so it doesnt take much accuracy...i havent had a paintball break in my gun yet....i guess u guys expect too much from it...
Weaknesses: the barrel i guess....since all u "experts" dislike it...and the cost...i think it costs more because of the look...it looks cool with that silver shine to it..
Conclusion: i dont get most of u....i mean....woopdy doo...just because the gun without a super special barrel isnt the best doesnt mean u should give it a 3...just because your customized guns are awsome doesnt mean a normal one that isnt upgraded one sucks...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a Tippmann Custom 98, my gun is much more upgradable, and even though it is a less expensive gun, I haven't had a barrel break in a game ever.
Marker Setup: I have a Stock right now
Strengths: It is a great price for a gun that comes with expansion chamber, low pressure, stock, 13' barrel, and even with these upgrades the gun is still fairly light in weight.
Weaknesses: This gun chops paint like no other, and once the paint break it keeps breaking until you squegee it completely and clean it. It could be the hammer, but I would not recommend this gun if you want to acctaully shoot the paint.
Conclusion: I would not buy this gun, for the same price you could get a Pirahna STS or a Spyder EXT, these guns don't chop paint anywhere near the GT. But Pirahnas do blow alot of o-rings, but o-rings are alot less expensive then paint.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kman Sunday, November 11th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
spyder java purple
Marker Setup: gt commando 2 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: i bought the gun for the looks
being new to paintball i read the reviews listed here and thought i had made
a good purchase 8.4 out of 10 sounds good to me
could not wait to get the marker and try it and check the accuracy and cannot wait to try it in a game

Weaknesses: accurracy and breaks paint
paintballs hooks after about 25 feet
tried it in the backyard with a friend who just bought a spyder java purple all stock. we could see the balls go straight out of the barrel then hook to the left or right . some even hit the ground before the target only 50 ft away
i even missed the 3 foot wide board we were aiming at once or twice.
the spyder performed with great accuracy and very consistant groups
we tried the cheap paint that came in the package deal in both guns
and i bought some diablo blaze paint from a nearby shop
same result the commando repeatedly hooked almost every shoot and the spyder was straight shot after shot . the spyder had problems with only one ball the commando broke a couple in the barrel
Conclusion: the gun looks sharp
accuracy leaves much to be desired
i could probably hit someone behind a tree
being new i have not been in a game yet and maybe doing something wrong
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 4th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is my first, and i am happy with how it looks. How it works however is a different story. It looks cool and does, in fact looks like an assault rifle on the feild. It is light and the stock helps to steady aiming. A Major head turner.
Weaknesses: Its shooting is a very large problem. The stock barrel sucks to high heaven. I shot 10 shots in my back yard and 8 out of 10 balls were shreded after initial firing. REPLACE THE BARREL, other wise, it should be fine.
Conclusion: This gun has an optimal performance, as long as the barrel is not the stock version. It looks good, shoots well, and is a light gun to carry around. Good gun for newbies with lots of money.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

metalbonsai Saturday, November 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Looks sweet as shizzat. When I first got it I soiled myself. It is very easy to maintain and take apart. No hassle. One size o-ring, cool! Fires as sweet as an entry level gun will. Sweetnes accuracy with a new barrel. Spyder compatability is really cool. Upgrades out of the box are really nice. No breaks yet. Gun is a good weight with a remote, otherwise a little clumsy. Or I am a little clumsy.
Weaknesses: The barrel guard is loose. Its a little loud. Stock barrel is ok.... There is no site line on the top of the gun (blocked by the loader). Small air leak in mine, but very easily fixed with Teflon Tape.
Conclusion: Very recommended. The good stuff outweighs the bad stuff by far. In fact, I dont even notice the bad stuff most of the time. The only thing that really bothers me is that the site line on the top of the gun is completely blocked. Ill just have to raise it, then no biggy. I recommend a REMOTE and a NEW BARREL. Leaks are easily found and fixed if you know what you are doing. This gun is spactacular for anyone to use! Stop reading and go get it stupid!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 31st, 2001
Strengths: Very reliable. I have shot 500 balls through and no breaks r problems. It is very accurate with the stock barrel. I have been shooting a 12 x 24 filing cabinet at 110 feet and I can hit it with 9 out of 10 shots using average paint. I have no clue what those other jackasses are talking about with their chopped balls, and air leak comments. The stock barrel is medium bore (.689). It won't eat large bore paint very well. I don't shoot large bore paint so that is ok. This is the first gun I have owned and I am very happy with it.
Weaknesses: I don't like the lack of the ability for a quick takedown. They shold have used some thumb screws to allow for an easier take-down. It is quite reliable, so this isn't a huge issue to me. Also, the lack of a usable instruction manuel is another thing I dislike.
Conclusion: This is the s*%%@!! I really like this marker. I would recomend it to anyone. With the low pressure chamber and the 6 stage expansion for arround $160, this marker cannot be beat for the money. I have had no mechanical problems with this marker whatsoever.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 31st, 2001
Strengths: This is a great gun. Shoots straight every time. It is great because it can take use all spyder upgrades. After some tweeking it works great. I have had no problems with it yet. Looks cool too. The stock is great and is easy to clean up.
I highly recommend this gun. It is a great buy!
Weaknesses: Not a whole lot. I does break balls once and a while but I may not be using the right balls.
Conclusion: It requires a fee tweeks such as the indent wire. I don't think they upgrades are nessesary but I have made them to see if they make a difference.
It is a little pricey but I got mine in an auction for less.
It is right up in the top with spyders and I even think tipmanns.
I highly recommend it. Great starter gun beats Brass Eagle any day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 30th, 2001
Strengths: This gun shoots good when it works, it has a stock, and it looks cool.
Weaknesses: I have had two of these guns. The first one, I just got it that day so I took it out side to shoot it, it broke paint in the chamber so when I went to take it apart to clean it the screw on the side was to tight so I stripped it. I sent it back and they sent me a new one. The second one, I was out in the woods playing and it started leaking CO2 out of the body for no apparent reason, none of the seals where broken. I just sent it back to be repaired and when I get it back I plan on selling it and getting a Spyder AMG.
Conclusion: If you get this gun get a backup also. It is very unreliable.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media