paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, August 16th, 2001
Strengths: I love this gun. I bought this about a year ago and havent had any major problems. The stock barrel is great(for a stock barrel). The expansion chamber works great for cold weather(i live in wisconsin) and for the first few months i used the stock quite a bit. About three months ago i played in a big scenerio game with it. To skip a long story, my gun(along with the rest of my team's guns) got sand in them. I was unable to clean it out right away and it still fired great. throughout the whole day i only chopped one ball(when my tank ran out of air). Now the bolt and part of the reciever are slightly scratched but still fired excellent. Another great thing about this gun is that all on the internal o-rings are tank o-rings which makes it incredibly easy to replace o-rngs(and cheaper too).
Weaknesses: Like everybody else said the tank gets in the way of the stock. There are three ways to fix this: 1)go remote(you will also avoid firing liquid altogether if any ever gets past the xchamber) 2)use a smaller tank 3) remove the stock and just use a 20oz CO2 tank as a stock(you can shoulder it nicely). Also, the stock trigger sux! The pull is long and hard. I fixed this by putting in a softer spring and a trigger block. I now have the shortest, softest pull possible on this gun. One more small little tiny problem was that the bottomline sprung a leak after about 11 months but this was fixed with teflon tape.
Conclusion: I suggest this marker to anyone who is looking for a good, cheap marker that is great stock. I have bought a 16" Custom Products one piece barrel, a palmer vertical stab, and a 12v revy. Anyone who says this gun sux, doesnt deserve to own it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EasyE Tuesday, August 7th, 2001
Strengths: This is gun is almost perfect with just a few upgrades....The stock barrel has great accuracy as long as it doesnt break balls, which unfortunately happened to me a lot of times. That problem is easily fixed with a new barrel(I bought a 16" Nyte Stikk and i havent had a break in about 1500 balls). What i did with the stock is..dont use the screw that holds it to the gun and just put it on and take it off whenever i want to during play. The stock steadies the gun tremendously and increases accuracy a ton so its def a plus for the gun. The gun comes with so many extra features that would cost a ton individually(Venturi bolt, stock, raised site rail, expansion chamber, bottomline, etc.)
Weaknesses: The only small problem with the gun is the stock barrel but like i said earlier is easily fixed. And anybody who says that the gun is heavy must be a huge wuss because its not any heavier than most guns.
Conclusion: This is gun is absolutely perfect for the price and it is much better than the competition(Spyder 2000, Spyder Compact, Tippman 98, etc.) I would definately recommend anyone who wants an accurate, reliable, and sweet a$$ lookin gun then this is the one for u!! For about $200 this gun is the best for the price. I use Zap Performance Plus paintballs and the work perfectly with the gun.

BUY THE GUN!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lavahead Friday, August 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Adjustable Stock
Durable
Comes with expansion chamber and low pressure system
Weaknesses: Chops balls if not top quality paint
Short Stock Barrel
No Vertical ASA adapter
Conclusion: The barrel guard is useless, since it isn't big enough to fit around aftermarket barrels (pretty minor problem). The stock is a nice touch, but could get in the way if you play indoors a lot. I had the common CO2 leak in the bottomline, but that was easily fixed (teflon tape). I added a 16" Custo Products barrel and the accuracy improved dramatically, but I have to use Marbalizers or it tends to chop paint. Overall, it performs about the same as most guns in the $200 price range-fairly average, and can be made much better with a new bolt or barrel.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: First just look at it. It is probably one of the more threating looking guns if someone has no idea what it is. The price $200 was reasonable when I bought it. When shopping for my new gun I looked at future cost such as a raised sight rail, expansion chamber, and bit longer barrel than most stock barrels, and a ventri bolt. If buying a gun without these things already on it, the cost would be over $200, easily. The arm stock is wonderful in making more accurate shots. Just jam the stock into your arm the gun becomes so much more steady. More accurate then most of my buddies guns with strictly stock equipment on it. You must realize more after market accessories on a gun the better the gun is suppose to be, mostly true in all the cases I have seen. One other feature that I like about this gun is the one size o-ring through out the entire gun (Same size that goes on the CO2 tanks), even the o-ring on the expansion chamber is the exact same size as the rest. Cleaning and up keep on this gun are not that bad compred to the spyder and Tippman 98.
Weaknesses: The first bad thing I noticed about this gun was the weight (a little on the heavy side). This is easily fixed with a remote system (must get to reduce the majority of the weight). Secondly is there is no quick field stripping the gun, if you have a problem other than paint breaking in the barrel call your self out. When the paint does break it only seems to make the majority of the mess in the barrel and no where else in the gun. Also the CO2 tank gets in the way of you shorting the arm stock but is easily fixed with a remote system on your back. Still have a little problem with paint breaking but usually is my fault because I shoot to rapidly for the guns internals to keep up (Remember people this is not an Angel or automatic gun, this is only a $200 semi begginer gun). Had only one o-ring bust on me in my first three months with this gun and that was the one on top of the expansion chamber but one size o-ring made this easy to fix.
Conclusion: This gun performs well with just the stock equipment but a remote system upgrade is suggested. Other upgrades I foreseeing being strictly on a personal preference. It is definetly worth the cost because of the barrel, expansion chamber, ventri bolt, nice stock barrel. I had a F4 Illustrator last season and had nothing but problems with it as soon as I got it out of the box, this gun the biggest problem I had with it in three months was the o-ring breaking on top of the expansion chamber. If you can set aside on how heavy the gun is compared to others and are just begging to play I would reccomend this to just about to anyone.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 9th, 2001
Strengths: Ive had this gun for about 4 months and have had almost no problems so far.It shoots straight and accurate at 180 feet.The stock is a nice addition and can steady your arm and so is the expansion chamber.The stock barrel shoots a lot better than most stock ones do and it is 13", which is longer than most stock barrels.O and the looks could scare the S*** out of newbies.

Weaknesses: The Co2 tanks can get in the way of shortening the stock, so i would recommend a remote, but i still use a tank and i havent had to worry about shortening cuz i have long arms.Power feed falls off often but can be fixed with some electrical tape.Feed gets in the way of aiming by looking down the barrel, but most guns do.It is a little bit on the heavy side but as long as your not a wuss it shouldnt be a prob.Its a little loud and the stock gets in the way during speedball but it can be removed in seconds.Field Stripping is almost impossible.Balls break often and when they do they get everywhere inside of the gun.When u get control of the velocity u shouldnt have to worry about ball breakage as often.
Conclusion: The good stuff definetely outweighs the bad so i really recommen this gun. A few upgrades wouldnt hurt but it fires well right out of the box. Definetely worth the 200 bucks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 1st, 2001
Strengths: I enjoy my GT Commando 2, I clean and lubricate the gun after every game day and have never had any problems with the gun. I think the gun is great for the price and can't wait until an electric trigger becomes available. The gun has good range and accuracy for the stock barrel. Myself, father, father-in-law, and brother-in-law all use this gun and have had no trouble with them.
Weaknesses: The Commando is somewhat difficult to take apart and clean, but once you clean it a few time it not a problem anymore. The allen head screws will round off, so buy a good set of wrenchs. The gun is heavy with the CO2 bottle attached, but with a remote its fantastic. The gun does bust some balls, but no more than any other marker that I've used.
Conclusion: I think that any beginner to advanced player would enjoy this marker as I have. The performance of the gun is great right out of the box. The price is very reasonable. Compared to other guns I can't tell any differance. I would recommend this gun to everyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 13th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is, for lack of a better term, awesome. I've played with markers from Tippman, Kingman, JT, PMI, Brass Eagle, Sheridan, and a bunch of others and I have never found a gun that I like more. It's standard barrel and shoulder stock make it great for sniping. The Double trigger and boltt let you shot almost at Full-auto speeds. I've never had a problem breaking balls or leaking CO2. The gun is great for woods guerrilla warfare and is a steal at $200. I can't think of a gun that looks as good and preforms as well for your money.
Weaknesses: Well, I suppose I have 3 minor problems with the gun. One is that it is a little on the heavy side. Strong arms are good to have with it, but if you are to weak to hold the gun up then maybe you should look into Ping-pong. Secondly, the tank screws in in such away that it prevents the shoulder stock from adjusting to a shorter size, so some one with short arms is going to have a little trouble with the gun length. Finally, when taking the tank off there seems to be a rather large CO2 release. This can be remedied by using a romote link with the gun. I consider all of these problems serioulsy minor and they should not pervent you from picking this gun up.
Conclusion: I'd have to say that I would recomend this gun to anyone. I think it compares very well to all guns costing even $100 more than it. It's accurate, sleak, well designed, and a lot of fun. The problems are few and far between and for $200 you can't go wrong. You have to try the Avalon GT Commando 2!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, June 1st, 2001
Strengths: i liked the way that the gun looked at first. this is problably why i bought it. as much as i dont like to admit it i'm a newbie. so i bought the biggest flashiest gun out there. i relize i made a good choice. tyhe stock is nice, it is very accurate, and it hardly breaks any balls.
Weaknesses: at first, it took a little changing to get it right. and after my first battle with it, the trigger & handle area was loose. if you dont get it on there exactly right, it wont fire. its really a pain when you have to hide behind a tree and dig for your alan wrenches to fix your gun in the middle of a fight. the sock can sometimes restrict movement in close areas. a little expensive, but if ya got the cash, why not?
Conclusion: i think this is a very good gun, and that if you dont mind a little ajustment work, go ahead and get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

girlyman Thursday, May 10th, 2001
Strengths: I bought this gun basically for the looks. Not really expecting it to be an above average gun. I was wrong, accuracy is fantastic even at long range. When it came to ball breaking, i burst only one, in my first game with it, since then worked fine. Stock it awsome, and i loved the look on my buddies faces when they first saw the thing. "Avalon"? they said.
Weaknesses: Well, not much, maybe the length at times, but my style of play loves to have such a big gun :) Just love to sit back and support my teammates with a hail of accurate fire...:)
Conclusion: This gun is a blast, definatly the worth the money i put forth for it. Great looks, great 'handling' good accuracy, about sums this marker up... If you newbies got the cash go ahead and purchase it, all you vets out there, this gun is good, it broke only one of my balls, and ive never had any other major problems since..the commando 2 is great to have..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 8th, 2001
Strengths: Good Accuracy with the stock barrel, Looks good(I got mine in the black), Good starter gun, Stock improves accuracy, Great for woods play, Can use Spyder Parts
Weaknesses: Maintaince is pretty constant, o-rings break, sometimes double feeds(if you use small balls), needs a few upgrades(but what stock gun doesn't), Can't see over the sight rail because of the power feed
Conclusion: Needs some tweaking and then its great. I'm going to get the following upgrades as soon as I can get the money:

Drop Forward
New Barrel(All-American or Ironman Boomstick)
A Revy
Bigger sight rail

Then it will an awesome gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media