paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
Strengths: I've only shot about a case of paint through it, but found that the GT Commando 2 is a surprisingly accurate gun. The stock barrel in Micro-honed and seemed to give the paintballs stability. The gun come standard with a fitted carrying case, shoulder stock and double trigger. All O-rings are the same size as your CO2 tanks. Cleaning is a breeze. It's comfortable to use and looks great!!! You'll get many "OOOOs" and "AHHHs" from people who first see it.
Weaknesses: As I said before, I only shot about a case of paint though it. I used it in one "pick-up" game so far. The gun seems to have bee shipped from the factory with a internal leak in it, the connection to the CO2 tank seems to be threaded slightly off, and the trigger snapped in half!!! Needless to say I contacted the company immediately because the gun is under warranty. They would not guarantee the cost of shipment for me on a gun one week old. This is still going on so I can't let you know how it's all going to end.
Conclusion: Overall, I rate the gun itself very highly, I like the look and feel of it. It shoots like a dream and is VERY comfortable to shoulder & carry. I can't quite condemn the entire gun for short-comings that might be due to one time manufacturing errors. If that was the general contentious; GM, Ford, Microsoft, etc.. would be in real trouble. I'd give this product a 10 if it weren't for these issues. But seeing these issue exit currently, I'll give it a 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 4th, 2001
Strengths: +Stock barrel is supprizingly Accurate
+Stock makes it feel like an assault rifle
+Comes with an expansion chamber
+very comfortable to hold
+Cleaning it is easy even the lock is
+Comes in its own case
+Gun is sturdy and solidly built ( i would hope so because the thing has like 20 allen wrench screws )
Weaknesses: -CO2 scares the crap out of me
-Loses too much CO2 when taking off tank
-Takes too much to get off Lock and hammer. you need to take off 5 differant sized allen wrench screws.
-Mine seemed to leak CO2 for about 1 minute now its ok
-When spliting a ball The paint makes its way to places that dont seem Possible. i split a ball and found Ball gunk in the hopper when the thing was full.
-Like most Paintball guns the Loader is in the way of the sight.
-Took too long to ship. lol
-when the gun brakes a ball IT BRAKES A BALL!!!
-The barrel gaurd serves not purpose but to look good
-The barrel gaurd can scratch the gun with unspeakable ease
-Cannot have the stock on and put on the CO2 tank. i use a 20 oz.
-Gun gets like sub-zero when taking the tank off and stays ice cold for about 5 hours
-The Tigger Gaurd is designed to Hurt your knuckles
-My safty does not work!
-A bit on the heavy side but Who cares
-Came with no instruction manual (Like it is needed)
-The paintballs smell like poo
-I was supposed to get 10 o-rings with it but they never came and i dont think they ever will
Conclusion: With that many bad things you people must think im totally nuts. But like 90%% of the bad stuff i dont care about. I only care about Accuracy. The thing is so easy to clean i split 2 balls one after another and clean up took at most 3 minutes. I would reccomend a trigger happy player to guy an autoloader or u will need a lot of time on your hands. When you do brake or split a ball No paint leaves the gun LOL! Thank you for reading this review. Make as many comments on this as you please i would love to hear your responses.


i gave this gun a nine because NOTHING is perfect that is man made. possibly if aliens made it but i dont think Aliens came to earth just to Make Humans a Perfect Paintball gun and call it the GT Commando 2 and sell it for $200
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 26th, 2001
Strengths: This gun looks awesome..guaranteed to turn some heads at the field. The shoulder stock is a great addition, and it's very accurate right out of the box. 6-stage ex-chamber kept my shots really consistant. I owned up on some guy with a shocker in a 1v1(keep in mind, all stock!!)..the rate of fire is good with the double finger trigger.
Weaknesses: It is a bit heavy (keep in mind i had to use my 20oz. on the marker due to the lack of a remote), but that's offset by the shoulder stock. The plug on the powerfeed fell off once, but all that takes to fix is a bit of tape or something. The Commando 2 will chop balls. I broke about one of every 50 i shot or so. When it does, turn it upside down to clear the chamber, fire a few shots, cover the porting and the muzzle and it'll fire pretty good for not using a squeegie. Feed it the right paint, and it'll do pretty well.
Conclusion: The marker is one of the better I've seen out of the box. The barrel is good for stock, but not as good as aftermarket. This gun is well worth the money, just be prepared to buy good paint. Heavy, but a remote will fix that. If you want a good gun, but not quite ready to spend $400 on an autococker yet, this is the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 13th, 2001
Strengths: Wow... well first of all the gun looks awsome with its shiny black anodizing job... it looks freaking boom when you mount a scope... i had about 7 guys huddle arround me going "oooo ahhhhh"... "whats thats? its freaking amazing!" hehe (makes you feel special lol).
Anyways onto the performance shoots straight as an arrow with my CP 16" barreal screwed into it and wow... i did a test and i held the gun steady and shot the wall about 50 feet away and the ball kept landing ontop of the previous shots ... now thats a snipers dream.... now onto the bad things.... >:-(
Weaknesses: well from factory it had a leak inside which wasted my Co2 pretty fast it was a small leak but every 2 rounds i had to refill... fortunatly the refills were free. i turned up the speed of the hammer a bit and i regretted it... near the end of full field elimination i chopped a ball up nice with my bolt and there was paint in every hole inside the gun... it went up the power feed into my hopper and trashed all my paint... (about 25 rounds were left so not to terrible) and the bolt had gotten jammed... well i sat out 2 rounds cleaning the gun fully and then when i got it all back together it stoped firing balls so i stripped it down again and lubed every single o-ring then it started to fire agan ok... hehe then the last round came along and one of the employees of the field came on with his frreaking sick Angel and had a warp feeder on it and shot out like 15 bps!!! in bursts!!! well he shot my hopper and the impact didnt break my hopper but a ball exploded inside and f**ked my guns internals again... argh... time to strip the gun down again... (its not too hard but its a hastle cuz everything is held in by screws... a single pin would be a gift from god for this gun!!!! like spyders have)
Conclusion: all in all the gun is dead accurate im happy with its except for the damn leak from the factory but thats just a lemon... i have to take it to an airsmith and get it checked out i dont feel like shipping it back to texas ! (i live in canada) amazing gun if it doesnt break a ball ! hehe but there are ways to fix that problem ...
anyways this is one bad ass gun... just watch the power setting and you should have a great accurate smooth gun thats all i have to say!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is the quietest I've heard. Especially when your talking stock barrel(which is 13" with a great muzzle break).The Sub-Zero Six Stages Expansion Chamber is great not only for CO2 use but also for a very comfortable foregrip. The stock is so comfortable that you can lay back in bushes or in a bunker and pick people off. The 45 Grip,trigger & trigger gaurd are so comfortable I never want to even think of replacing them.The designer case,elbow(made like a VL-BOW in purple) and barrel plug(AVALON in purple) included are fantastic. The accuracy is excellent, the wind throws balls off, but the barrel keeps them on or near the target regardless of the wind. More extras in the case with the gun than I even bothered to hope for. Handles and looks like a dream.It's apparently fully Spyder compatible.
Weaknesses: Mine had a stripped but easily replacable screw. Avalon is sending the replacement free of charge. It ain't ugly like most other guns, RATS!!! It doesn't work with small CO2 tanks, 20 Oz. is recommended in the manual. With a 20 Oz. though you won't be disappointed. It's not loud either, double RATS!!!
Conclusion: It performs so great with just stock parts that I would only replace the barrel if you want to add other colors to match camoflage or team colors. It's worth twice what it costs. Easily better than all competition, if you have a Spyder, visit diamondgt.com and order the stock for this gun if you love the look and feel of it like I do. If you replace the bolt, get the most upgraded version of the Spyder Force __ Cycone Bolts. I would recommend it to everyone over any other gun. I may be a bit bias, I LOVE THIS GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RaceFace Saturday, January 27th, 2001
Strengths: I've had this gun since Chrstmas and absolutely love it. In my oppinion it is very competitive, I shoots better than my buddy's raptor and Model 98. The velocity doesn't drop off when you get on the trigger like a Piranha I played with once. It also goes very easy on CO2, I played for 4-5 hours at the field and also shot about 30 balls testing it in my yard and I've still got gas in the 20oz cylinder.
Weaknesses: I don't especially like the length of this gun. Rec players who go out in the woods will love it's stock and longer barrel. However I found it a little difficult to get the gun over the tops of bunkers and felt a little exposed by leaning out far enough around the side to get the barrel on target. I'm about to go to a 12" barrel and a remote line which, I think, is the best way to solve the length problem. You can play with the stock alot shorter if you run a remote with the tank on your back. I also didn't like the "barrel guard" that came with the gun. Mine looks real cool but fell off if the gun if pointed at the ground for too long. It's not a big deal, I just don't use the barrel guard anymore.
Conclusion: I love it, the accuracy was so good on mine that the balls never swerved. I had to worry about aiming up to get the longer shots but never ever had them go off target after they left the barrel. Spyder compatibility makes this gun one of the most upgradable on the market. Being a newbie at paintball, I would recommend it to any newbie who wanted to show Spyder and Piranha owners a thing or two about paintball. Despite the length and the tendancy mine had to break paintballs (pretty much went away after I cleaned it and got the velocity under control) I belive this gun to be a very good choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 24th, 2001
Strengths: looks scary, comes with expansion chamber. great feel for big guys stock was a great addition.
Weaknesses: powerfeed plug fell out in 2 games and lost all my paint. my remote adapter didn't fit into the co2 port. will definately get a stone cold 2 barrel for it when i get the extra money. impossible to field strip.
would definately take extra gun when playing or only use very good paint
Conclusion: its a good gun will need some little touch ups but basically after 5 minutes of work it will work fine (i reccomend electrical taping the powerfeed on:) would still recommend to anyone. every paintball gun has a few problems to start with but once you get used to it they are easy to fix. also, please don't ask why i gave it such a high rating with so much in the bad column. i like the gun alot and just letting people know what they may possibly get
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 8th, 2001
Strengths: Great look, good price, good stock barrel, nice features (expansion chamber, stock, venturi bolt, etc). Easy to shoot. Uses Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: The included case is pretty cheesy but I don't have to use it. Mine shipped with a leak where the hose connects to the bottom line - very annoying but easy to fix with some tape. Then a screw-in plug in front of the expansion chamber became loose enough to leak the second time I took it out - another couple minutes with a screw driver there. Now I think an O ring is going bad because I hear some gas escaping from the barrel - I still have to investigate that.
Conclusion: I'm disappointed with the leaks but I love the gun and it's not a big deal for me to take care of them even if I shouldn't have too. That's one reason to buy locally, I guess.

Anyway, I recommend the gun. My friends with Spyder's and Tippmans certainly respect this bad boy. In fact, one of my friends puts this stock barrel on his Shutter now that I've upgraded to a Armson Stealth. It's easy to shoot fast and accurately.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
Strengths: I thought the gun had a very nice look to it with the stock and 13 inch barrel gave it a very military style look which could intimidate newbie players. Also enjoyed the 6 chamber expansion chamber on it and thought it was a nice touch to include a case even though its not very nice it still does its job.
Weaknesses: The barrel was nothing special but most stock barrels are not. It's hard to field strip and may pose a problem in a desperate situation. the guns quite heavy which is why i believe a remote would be a good buy for it and with the stcok on the back the gun is long which may pose a problem for people who are use to spyder compacts and stingrays. also it takes some time to get the velocity down right to prevent alot of ball breakage.
Conclusion: overall I believe the gun has some great parts such as the stock which can improve your aim greatly. however I believe that a new barrel is in order as well as a remote to help with the weight problem but I find that you should definetly try it out before you buy it or else you may be dissatisfied with what you get depending on what your looking for a gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 4th, 2000
Strengths: The stock has a nice pad to it along with the whole gun, I fire around 10 balls per sec which 9 hit the target. It is a Great gun. and i would recommend it to Anyone!
Weaknesses: With the stock in a slant downward if you have a large co2 or nitrogen then it will intefere, I recommend gettin a remote. With that this is a very ideal gun
Conclusion: This gun is alot like the pirahna models, this gun however has cheaper upgrades and a very easy break down of it to install new components. I recomend this gun to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media