paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
Unregistered User Sunday, November 19th, 2000
Strengths: This gun definitely looks cool. It also has a good feel when the stock is off. The double trigger is nice, and though the pull is a lot longer than most mainstream guns, it pulls at more of a down angle than most, allowing for easy speedball shooting.
Weaknesses: Most of the major components of this gun seem really cheap. With a MSRP of only $200 dollars, either there is a massive demand on this gun or the parts would have to be cheap. On a decently warm day (50 - 60 degress F) it was shooting all over, and after messing with the velocity for a while longer, it would still not shoot consistently. Most people would need to throw on a drop forward to use the stock comfortably, otherwise it just adds to the length of the gun.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like the feel. I think it is made to compete with upgraded cheap semi-autos like the spyder shutter and such, but the parts are a little too cheap. The included case is nice, but also pretty cheap. Just make sure you try it before you buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 14th, 2000
Strengths: I have had this gun for about a month now and no problems with it so far. With the right balls, it is dead accurate at 180 - 200 ft. The design is an eye catcher. I have put around 2500 shots through it on and off the paintball field and only had about 20 ball breaks. Its easy to clean and maintain. It has out performed shutters, sts and 98s in the field with accuracy and overall performance.
Weaknesses: Its one of the louder guns in the field, Be sure to use a bigger diameter of paintball, otherwise accuracy will be a problem. The designer case isnt that great.Also, there are hardly any after-market upgrades availible for this model. It is a little on the expensive side.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun, You wont see it in the top 10, but it is very competitive in the field. For long shots or pulling the trigger as fast as you can, this gun is a true performer. I would recommend this gun to anyone for all around sport. If you are on a budget, check into a tippman 98 or spyder shutter!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 1st, 2000
Strengths: Whats great about this gun first of all is the overall design. It is wicked looking and can turn heads fairly well for a gun of its class. The feel of the gun is also very good. The expansion chamber provides a very good grip together with the .45 grip that is also on the gun. It is easy to clean and maintain, it doesn't overshoot easily, and it is lightweight. The standard double trigger is also a great feature for giving tired fingers a rest. It is durable and has a solid frame that can withstand some good knocks.
Weaknesses: The stock trigger is a bit stiff, but this can be fixed easily with a trigger job that costs maybe $10. The barrel is not a standard size and it is a bit large, so the paint may drop more than expected or go off target. Most Spyder barrels will fit on this gun, so that problem too can be solved without having to replace the gun. The barrel is not ported, so the gun is a bit loud when fired.
Conclusion: This gun is great for a beginner and can be upgraded to compete on higher levels. There may be some better deals out there, but this gun is still a solid buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatty59 Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Strengths: It's fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: It is a very loud and heavy marker.
Review: I got this gun about a year ago for Christmas. I was very exited for this was my first marker and all, but when i tried it out i was disappointed. this is a very loud marker and allows anyone to find you just by the noise. It is also very heavy. But not all is bad. This gun is fairly accurate and very fun to use but i would not recommend this marker to anyone of any age with any amount of experience in paintball.
Conclusion: Don't buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Obese Tactics Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used many similar products,but i wouldnt waste your time telling them all to you.Only a couple were slightly better.
Marker Setup: I use a GT commando 2 and a Delta 68 pistal.Im currently getting a new barrel for my commando 2,a 32 degree, 16',Nyte Stickk barrel and i have a red dot sight on it also.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend buying a larger barrel and a electronic hopper.
Strengths: The power that the GT commando 2 has is incredable.
Weaknesses: The paintballs explode in the hopper sometimes.
Review: Features:

Micro-honed 13" barrel
High grade aluminum body
Barrel guard
Shoulder Stock
U-One (low pressure system & adaptor)
Sub zero Ex-chamber
Shark sight rail
Stainless steel valve
High fashion 45 grip
DM double trigger
Light trigger action
Rapid Recoil
Designer Venturi bolt
Dual connect bottom line
Circular rubber grip cover
2 screw designer elbow
Designer gun case
Conclusion: Get out there... buy it! (or atleased one close to it,such as commando 3) and play piantball! Trust me...Great gun!
~GT Commando 3 by: Avolon piantball~
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AngryMooseYo Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Spyder E-99 with Viewloader Revy w/x-board, 16" Thunderpig Ported Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trash Can
Strengths: Looks Cool At First.
Could be considered sniper gun because of stock.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Big, Inaccurate, Garbage Parts,Cheap Metal, Huge Trigger Pull, BREAKS PAINT, Stops Working Alot.
Review: This gun is trash. I bought it because it was my first gun and it looked good. The shop near me couldn't even repair it after it broke for the third time. The gun is bulky and heavy and breaks a ball every 8 shots or so. The internal parts are garbage and the customer service was AWFUL. Don't buy this gun. The trigger pull is seriously huge and paintballs curve so much there is absolutely no way that you can hit your target. PLEASE dont buy this gun.
Conclusion: Garbage, don't buy it. You will regret it. I would give it a zero but i cant so i give it a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baz154 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom and Carbines
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2, 14 inch All American Barrel, 9v hopper (soon to be a ricochet), planning on buying an electronic trigger frame, new springs and bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
....everything you possibly can....
Strengths: -cheap
-adjustable stock
-decent fire rate
-comes with an expansion chamber
Weaknesses: -hopper blocks your view
-constantly breaking down
-stock barrel is aweful
-many pieces come loose
Review: Ok... i recieved this as a christmas gift so i haven't actually paid for any of it, but still, its been a loosy experiance, sure it looks hot, feels good when you're holding it, and could scare the crap out of newbies... but that's about all it has going for it. First time i brought it to a field it just gushed CO2 out of the barrel, I then had to pay extra to purchase a rental for that day after wasting an hour taking it apart and seeing what was wrong. I've sense fiddled with it and somehow got it to work alright, but then it started chopping every ball I shot. However I'm stuck with what i have and my parents are anal about me buying a new gun, so I've decided, to waste time and money to gut this entire piece of trash and replace almost everything with Spyder parts, new springs, new trigger frame (the old trigger pull is about an inch long...), new barrel, and possibly a better bolt if i can find one that will work. Hopefully a decent gun will come out of all this but still, don't waste the time or the tons of money it will take to make this gun competitive, the only good thing i can say about it is i got the marker and the new barrel for free, so i can't really claim i lost anything out of it, just my patience. Do NOT buy this marker, 'if looks could kill' then this gun is the exception to that cliche.
Conclusion: Don't get it, it's a waste, sure you can gut the thing with new spyder parts but WHY?, just go out there, spend maybe 20 more bucks and buy a better Spyder... I'm giving it a 4 just because it might actually work well with all the new upgrades, but without them it's a 1-2
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qamca Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Semi Markers, it's spyder based construction, so no great revolution here...
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
SP Teardrop 14"
Palmer's Female Stabilizer
Dead On Gas Thru Foregrip
VL Revolution 12v
Maddman Rocket Valve and Spring Kit
Samurai Sword as a Backup Weapon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on your further plans for paintball and you requirements... maybe a regulator? it's pretty good stock as for it's class.
Strengths: Good stock equipped, spyder clone, good starting gun, parts availability.
Weaknesses: spyder CLONE! not the real thing! the price is beyond discussion
Review: Here goes.
I bought this gun together with my 2 other pals. It was our first gun, so we were pretty excited and stuff...
However now that I'm more experienced I can honestly say, that it is not worth the money, although it's a good marker.
Generally people hate it. Even in Europe (where I live), but the truth is, it's like most guns: if you put some time into it, will serve you very well. There are no miracles: the gun has to be stripped, cleaned and lubed every game. My Commando 2 works fine, rarely chops paint, never had any gas problems like shootin snowflakes or gun freezin. However it is sorta clumzy. In general it makes the impression of a massive gun as for a spyder clone. The trigger operation is not very... smooth or pleasant. This marker is also a bit loud. Also the price is way tooo high. It's around $120 in that case I think you would do much better thing buyng Spyder Xtra or Spyder Esprit (Under $100!!! and it's an e-marker!!). Also - s**t happens as they say. One of my friends who also got that marker Had nothing but troule with it. I know, coz I whitnessed and helped him with it. First the bolt simply broke and shot out the barrel which was a lucky it didn't penetrate somebody's skull or something. His gun generally freezes every game after some time, although CO2 bottles were swapped, the gun was strpped by him and double checked by me, and seemed fine. still - reckocking problems, strange behaviour generally. I guess it's bad luck, maybe even one in a million, but it could be me and I'd get pissed probably. Screws get loose during shooting, after one long game (whole day 8am till 8 pm) I discovered I was missing 2 scres holding the velocity screw piece. But that happens with most markers during long intense use I guess.
Conclusion: The gun is pretty good, I'd give it a 7.5, against the widely spred opinion it's a piece of crap, but unless it's been given to you as a present, or you got it very cheap, second hand or something, it's noit worth the $$ (that's why I give it a 6... or maybe it deserves only a 5?). Get something better and cheaper like I wrote above.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jackel68 Sunday, August 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2 (worse)
Armotech WG-65 (better)
Vengeance autococker (much better)
Marker Setup: System X baseline Vengeance Autococker with sx 10 drop foward, tear drop barrel, Vl revelotion 2 X-board hopper, Aci Bulldog 61 cu Nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (don't spend to much money on it)
An ebay account so you can sell it
Strengths: Only Spyder clone that has a stock
Gas Efficient (nice expansion chamber)
Looks Cool
Weaknesses: Chops
Deplorable Accuracy
Trigger pull is a whore
Heavy
Expensive replacement parts
Review: Here is the scoop on this gun, it is just another poorly mexican made spyder clone. Me and my friend ordered them together and he actually got a halfway decent gun that was fairly accurate (still chopped alot). I on the other hand got a P.O.S. with a mean left hook whenever it shot and tons of other problems. I say you got a 50% chance of getting a halfway decent commando 2 from the factory. Which is obsurd you are better of getting a different gun, don't take the chance.
Conclusion: Okay if your looking for a good gun under 200 bucks get real Kingman Spyder. They were the first to make the spyder and they are still in bussiness for a reason. If your looking at the commando 2 your probably want a gun in the 150 price range, so I reccomand getting a spyder e99 ( Electronic). If you are a n00b and dont want to spend that much get a spyder xtra. Don't listen to these retards the say the commando makes a good sniper gun because they are full of it. Please do not buy this marker because you will regret it, get the real thing!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media