paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Darkstarops Thursday, November 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out stingray 2 with 16" spin free riffled sniper barrel- 3 stage expansion chamber, custom extra under barrel grip, ghillie cover and scope! Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" spin free projection rifled sniper barrel- bottom line adapter, a co2 gauge, and custom 6-color desert camouflage painted. Griffin B/L just now getting upgraded. Ordered a new silenced 14" barrel and a co2 gauge that both havenít arrived yet.
How do they compare with this product?
The answer
Everything stock sucks until upgraded!
This product is known for being crappy. I know believe me.
Marker Setup: SNIPER RIFLE! A fully decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-piece thunder pig spin-free projection rifled barrel (Extremely Accurate), Co2 gauge, scope, hair trigger system, Polished internals, polished barrel, and ghillie covers. The barrel is actually rifled. You can look down it and see the straight grooves! I also own a 14" see through chrome plated razor barrel and the stock barrel thatís 13" long.
Recommended
Upgrades:
www.paintball-loco.com 21" IR Spyder Sniper barrel
Co2 gauge
Polish your internals. Learn how at www.stinggroup.addr.com
Polish your barrel.
Hair trigger system (a softer trigger spring)
Strengths: SNIPER RIFFLE!
A BIG TIM SNIPER RIFLE WITH SOME MODIFIACTIONS
Well nothing at first. As you know stock guns suck. Well most of them anyways. The good is that it comes upgraded with a 6-stage expansion chamber. You can turn it in to a sniper rifle big time. I bought an extremely soft trigger spring to give it a hair trigger. Its not as touchy as an electro though. I also polished my internals. You know the hammer, venturi bolt, sear, trigger, and even the valve pin and cup seal. I know I take it to the extreme.
Weaknesses: The bad
Well there are defective guns and there are non-defective guns. It is good ratios at 50/50 because people get bad ones and good ones. Unfortunately I go the bad one. No problem for me though. I fixed it up in no time. I am a really handy man once it comes to paintball markers. I know them all. Closed bolt, closed bolt pneumatics, blowback, blow forward electro ECT. I know just about everything. I prefer this gun over my auto cocker. Why because It is a lot more accurate and doesnít take batteries. Sorry getting off point! Well some of the guns have leaky bottom lines, barrels, defective detent pins, and very inaccurate. Well you see It is all on how you use the marker. You canít go all out trigger-happy and expect it will make up for accuracy. Its not a speedball tournament gun because itís to big and heavy. But it is a good playing around gun. When I go to the field I use it because I get respect for its looks. Let alone the accuracy helps a lot.

Conclusion: Conclusion
Buy it! Upgrade it to a sniper rifle. Oh and e-mail me for questions on anything about these guns matthew_fulton18@hotmail.com. Thanks

Matthew Fulton

Proud member of Silent Steel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Hangr Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly Spyders
Marker Setup: Commando 2 w/ CMI "P" profile barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st would be the barrel
2nd would be a better expansion chamber
Strengths: Sturdy built
The stock is a nice extra
spyder compatible
Weaknesses: Has some issues "stock" from the box
Barrel is crap
Expansion chamber leaks on & off
Review: I bought this marker for the looks and boy did it get some!!
As for those people who hate the commando 2 let me just say - BLAH, BLAH, BLAH!!
Yes if you buy this marker be prepared to spend some money for upgrades, but in the long run your only gonna end up with a better marker. Those few that say spend more for a better marker ought to consider this: "If I spend more on a better marker, why not buy the commando 2 and then buy some upgrades for it too." That way I can customize it to meet my needs and not have just a stock marker!!!

At first I was unsure of the stock, but damn its great. Traded markers last time I played just for kicks, boy did i miss that stock. As for upgrades - the so called "micro honed barrel" translates into "useless piece o' crap". Get yourself a better barrel from the start. Look for something ported - like the CMI barrels. The expansion chamber has its problems too. Often needs to be adjusted to stop leakage but usually its just the start of the day and is fine the rest of the day. Watch the detent pin, the rubber breaks from time to time and caused a double feed or chopping paint.

**DO NOT USE Cheap thin shell paintballs - You will constantly break paint if you do!!!
It took me a little while to figure it out but cheap paint or thin shelled paint breaks easily in this marker. Buy quality paint that is known for a thick shell - I loved 32 Degrees Competition 2002 but cant get it anymore (damn them). If your a tight wad you probably won't buy this marker cause a spyder victor is like $70 bucks verses $130 for the commando - so it doesn't really maker.

I also lightly sanded the internals which did help - just don't over sand them.
Conclusion: Overall, the Commando 2 is a great marker that just needs some TLC and upgrades right from the box but the money, time, and energy spent are well worth it. I've taken out guys with full autos and electric hoppers. Would I buy it again?? YES I would!!

I give the Commando 2 a nice 9 of 10 only because i think the guys at Avalon could up the stock quality quite a bit and still keep prices where they are now.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2004 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Death-Jolly Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've Owned:
-Avenger (really good beginner gun)
-Piranha EXT G3 Pro (current gun I own and use, I love it to death)

I've Used:
-Spyder AMG (good gun, but you need to charge it, which can get annoying, but you need to expect that from a electro gun)
-Spyder TL + (good gun as well, but i've used better)
-Prolite (1st gun I used, rental, can't remember much bout it... except being durable)
-Impulse standard, with regulator chamber (accurate and fast, but heavy, and alittle on the expensive side)
-Impulse worth around $1200 (won't chop a ball ever with vision eye, extremly fast firing, acurrate but heavy and very expensive)
-98 custom(kinda complicated with the tons of little parts, really durable though.)
model 98 (step up from 98 custom, pretty good gun)
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3
12v View Loader hopper
5000psi 68cu Pure Energy Hopper
Freak Jr 14inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
whew, I've tried just about everything posible, and they didn't seem to work.
maybe a chainsaw? or maybe at the bottom of the ocean where no one can get really pissed off when using it.
Strengths: -Best lookin gun out there
-Cool adjustable stock
-Really Nice Expansion chamber
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Bolt
-Loud
-Trigger is very stiff
Review: Just like the person before me, this is as honest as they come. I'm not exagerating anything about it.
I don't know if it was just me that had these problems, but man, did it have problems.
It just plain out, didn't work for me.

-It did have a really cool adjustable stock
-the gun looked reeeally cool in my opinion
-the expansion chamber was great
-LOOKED intimidating

- I dunno if that has anything to do with the problems I had with it.
-The place where you hook up the co2, was completly screwed up. It would destroy my -co2 canisters. I took it somewhere, and they supposedly fixed it, but I dont think they did, bc they same problem occured.
-it would cut almost every paintball. I even tried a few different barrels on it, and it still cut every, so it had to have been the bolt.
-I tried taking it apart, and it was just impossible. The parts were in there soooo tight, not even the "Strongest man" off of Espn could take it apart with out breaking it even more than it already was.
-The trigger was really stiff and you could maybe get 2 paintballs per second, if it wasnt cutting paintballs.
-It was a very loud gun. If you shot it, it was almost as loud as a real one... lol.

I gave it a 3 for the minor good things about it...
Conclusion: I sold it to someone on ebay. They replyed saying it worked great for them, so I guess it was just cursed for me or something?? or maybe they havent experienced the problems yet. Like I said earlier, I don't know if I was one of the rare people who got a messed up Gt Commando 2, all I know is that, if you were to go by what I experienced with this gun, the bad out weighs the few good qualities by tons.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Home_Slice Wednesday, May 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: ALL STALK
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrle
Strengths: A good gun, Good accuracy, fast shootin, snazy lookin, and scairy looking. I bit on the loud side but it doesnt really change the game too drasticly. i have been able to sneek up on 5 peeps and get 3 of them and my other team member got the other 2. The gun its self does come with a compleat diagram of the gun so if you do take it apart you will have something to look on to put it back together
Weaknesses: Like most ppl have said it is a bit heavy and like one person has said the customer service does suck. But i have only needed it once. Sometimes it will break the balls and that sucks but usually you can set the volocity to the right setting and it wont break any.
Conclusion: all in all it is a solid gun. i have gone up against peeps with very good guns and i have beaten them... although it is not nessecarily the gun that makes the player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Migz Sunday, July 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, tippman, Brasseagle,Viewloader
Marker Setup: Stock Commando GT 2 with VL 200 hopper, 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a New new barrel, Electric hopper, E-trigger, but not really necessary. Definite upgrades remote line setup and raise the site rail (Feed tube in the way).
Strengths: Accurate, Good looks, Good on CO2, Tough.
Weaknesses: Heavy with 20oz bottle. Stock in the way at times. The stock site is usless.
Review: Well I bought this used on ebay and got a chance to use it I have to say it's a great gun. All these other people who say the guns crap make me want to wonder if there even talking about the same gun. Mine was used and sat for a while all that I did was oil it up attached the CO2 and it rocked. Didn't chop any balls and I mean ANY! I used field, evil and some cheap $10 dollar a bag 32 degree paint and I didn't break any of them. The only down part is with the 20oz tank it hard to use the stock, makes it kind of long and is a little heavy if your a small guy (I'm not @ 6'2" and strong like bull) but wasn't a problem for me. It did great in 100 in degree California weather using CO2 went from 12:00 to 6:00 and still had plenty of CO2 left let my friend use the rest after I left. The looks are great people kept asking me all day what it was, I also think the intimidation value is worth something it just looks mean. One more thing with the stock barrel I had no problem keeping a good shoot grouping and was able to hit people pretty accurately form across the field.
Conclusion: I have not hesitation about recommending this product. It's a good gun I got if for a good price ($60 used), works good looks good. Don't believe these friend of friend of a friend let me use their's review. The only thing that's crap is their useless reviews. I give it a 9 out of 10 because mine was used.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 4th, 2004 at 1:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hothak Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna
Marker Setup: Worr Games 03 cocker, 14" dye boomstick, 68/3000 ci, Richochet hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new body, new barrel, new bolt...etc
Strengths: none really
Weaknesses: the whole gun is pretty much crap...
Review: I suggest this gun for anyone who wants some scrap parts...well most of the gun is actually not even worth usinfg for scrap parts. Hopefully you will take my advice below...this gun is wow...bad. If you really want a gun for around this price, or any semi decent semi-auto go look at the spyder rodeo.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun, it is horrible...even thought I've only tested it, testing is all i needed to tell.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Super Sniper II Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out Stingray II with a 16" IR internaly Rifled barrel, scope Co2 gauge and ghillie covers. Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" IR barrel, Scope and a Co2 gauge. Griffen B/L just getting upgraded.
Marker Setup: Sniper Rifle!!!!!!! Completley Decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-Piece Rifled Barrel! With over size cocking and A scope with ghillie covers. This thing is so accurate its not even funy its scarry!
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 21' 3-piece barrel. The store that has it all. I decked out mu stingray 2 also. Go to www.stinggroup.addr.com/gallery/gallery.html
You can see my guns and how cool they look.
Strengths: DONT GIVE UP ON THIS JUST YET!
MAKES ONE KCIK ASS SNIPER RIFLE!



Oh Nothing at first. It comes really crappy stock. But believe me this gun makes one kick ass sniper rifle! You Upgrade It Now! When I say riffled I donít mean little holes in it the side of the barrel! ITíS ACTUALLY RIFLED! You look down the barrel and see a whole bunch of little lines that allows the ball to leave your barrel. I can hit a 12" target at 30 yards away at extreme accuracy. I put a 20x scope just so I can see what I was hitting. I am not kidding you. If you have money than this is the sniper gun for you.

1.Buy the 21" 3 piece sniper barrel
2.By co2 gauge
3. Buy a spyder or piranha replacement spring for greater power
4.Buy a scope with raised sights
5.Buy a laser pointer to put on your barrel
6. Bye a tactical bi=pod for the AT 85 select fire

Optional
7. Buy a ghillie gun cover or make your own. Then you have a true sniper gun that not only looks deadly but also is deadly. I will put some pics of my guns on the web soon if anyone wants to see them. You can see my decked out stingray 2 at
http://www.stinggroup.addr.com/gallery/gallery.ht
ml
Be sure to type that in your address bar and not just go to www.stinggroup.addr.com other wise you wonít see the photos
Weaknesses: Nothing at first. But my god this thing is upgradeable to the best sh*t ever. I mean donít give up on it yet. I know when it was stock and brand new it was a piece of crap but that is no more. if you are buying this gun and donít have any money to upgrade it, DONT buy it. But if you do. UP GRADE IT. this is what I did. First I had a defective detent pen. So did everyone else. Trust me. Then my spring goes dead. It never shot straight anyways, and every time I took the co2 it sounded like I would lose half of the co2 tank. Do this.

1. First buy 12 new co2 seals
2. take apart your gun and replace all your seals DONT USE OIL. put the gun together with out any oil what so ever. Then oil your bolt through the cocking strip only
3. buy a true flight 21" 3 piece barrel at www.paintball-loco.co Its under spyder
4. buy a military tripod for the at85 select fire
5. Put together everything you have.
Buy a co2 gauge
6. put that on your gun.
7. Change your spring with the spring of a spyder tl or something
8. now you should have a completely working and accurate as f*ck sniper rifle.
If you have problems with your expansion chamber buy a sub zero 6 stage.
Everything is ok when you have upgraded everything. When you do that the gun last a lot longer, is a lot more acurate, and will be appreciated by you, and feared by other players.
Conclusion: BUY IT! UGRADE IT! AND GO SNIPE SOME ASS.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gtcommandohater Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and Tippmans
Marker Setup: GT Commando2, lots of duct tape
Recommended
Upgrades:
You couldn't find anything that could upgrade this piece of JUNK!
Strengths: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. Well on second thought the only good thing was I only threw a hundred or so bucks away instead of 200 or more.
Weaknesses: This is absolutely the worst piece of trash I could ever imagine a marker could be. The thing has fallen apart. Been sent back to the manufacturer which claimed they repaired it. Think they just loosened more stuff to fall off though. It's been used 3 times and it has literally spit hundereds of paintballs out of the barrel and only succesfully launched a handfull. I've tried different paint, different speed, changed springs etc... to no avail. This sport is too expensive to waste my time any more on this JUNK. I don't have a choice really since the feeder weld broke and the tube is no longer attached to the gun. When purchasing a marker do your research and go ahead and buy quality. You'll find out the marker is the not where all the money goes after a year or so. Your going to spend a heck of a lot more on paint and field fees. THIS HAS TO BE THE WORST MARKER (being generous calling it a marker) ON THE PLANET. Would give it a minus 10 but can only go as low as a 1.
Conclusion: Obvious what my conclusion is but I want to address another area. Check out the ratings but don't believe them. I posted a review of this marker (oops, there I go again) and it was removed. I was very careful not to use profanity or attack another user but apparently some self righteous person who feels only their opinion and those who see as they do should be able to post a review. Expect this one not to last long either. I scan this site often and have seen many other reviews removed. The true rating of this junk is MUCH, MUCH less than the mid 7 it's showing. I emailed the site operators for an explanation of why my review was removed and NOT to my surprise they didn't have the guts to reply.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_gunner Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Commando 2 Electronic series with a 9oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
probably a barrel
faster hopper
Strengths: Looks
Shoulder stock
Snipping possibiliy
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Loud
Accuracy
Review: What to say about this gun?

well, i know i put accuracy under strength and weekness and this is because when i was testing mine one day, had the vonocity all the way up, and the ball would seriously sudenly curve , which would work to shoot over a bunker, but not much else. so, when i turned it down, it was fairly accurate.

The cocking knob fell out of mine, so i had to make a new one.

As for breaking paint, out of 100, i broke 1 with no adverse effects. Other times ive had dozens break, making a mess. If you dont try to out shoot the hopper, you should be good.

This gun is fairly loud, so, shoot when you know when you have a shot, make the kill and move.

If you know where to look, you can get the gun for a good price.
Conclusion: If you want something that isnt a tippmann, and looks cool, and want something for woodsball, yeah, this gun would work. There are better guns, that cost more, and there are worst guns. this gun could be worst, but its not. So, think if yopu want a siffy looking gun or a gun that is worst and looks that same as everyone elses.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockpunk914 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Rodeo
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Avalon Comando 2
Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
PMI elbow
PMI Hopper
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ASAP
Strengths: Powerful- shoots over 300 fps on full velocity
Uses CO2 wisely
Durable
External Velocity ajuster
Weaknesses: Not field strippable
Chops alot of balls on stock barrel
Review: I just got it two weeks ago. I took it out on the field once and it dominates in scenario play. On a full tank of CO2 it can go over 300 fps. It is now $60 on xpaintball.com. On other websites it is $200 dollars. Get a new barrel immedietly. when i first got it a took 3 shots it chopped 1 of them. I bought a smartparts Tear drop barrel that is incredible. The whole day out on thefield it only chopped 1 out of 1000 balls fired. This gun works on all spider parts. AKA if you are an amatuer and dont want to spend alot of money get this. It is also fairly accurate. It makes it even more accurate with a new barrel. I love this gun better than my 98 custom.
Conclusion: Get this gun. But be willing to pay $50 dollars for a new barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 10:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media