paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel- the first one
Marker Setup: Obviously i use the GT Commando 2; I have an Armson 16 in Stealth barrel, 20 oz CO2 (about to get a 48 ci 3000 psi nitro)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitley the barrel, and anything you can do to increase the accuracy of the gun. Nitro would be nice. Also, any sight rail you have could help (I dont know; I've never used a sight.
Strengths: It has a lot of things on it that you normally wouldn't get off the bat from other markers (the sight rail, an awesome stock, the ok barrel, the expansion chamber, and an over all cool look). I was using a case of RP All Stars- 500 rounds, playing with my friends. It was in the lower 40s that day, and most guns will get a lot of ball breakage in that weather. I didn't break one. I also just finished off a case of Brass Eagle paint ( I know its cheap, but 14 year olds don't have a great inflow of cash), with only one ball break.
Weaknesses: When I first recieved it and put some paint through it, it leaked from crevaced I didnt even know existed, but mainly from the expansion chamber, the cocking bolt, and the bottomline CO2 "connector" (I dont keep up with all of the terms for parts. In lame man's terms, the place where you screw in the CO2). I sent it back to the company, and in a couple of weeks I got it back, as good as new. The expansion chamber makes it a little tricky to unscrew air, but it isnt too bad. One other thing- there are no electronic or automatic grips compatible with the GT Commando 2 (to my knowldege).
Conclusion: Over all I would say that this is a good gun for snipers, or those who prefer to take very accurate shots rather that "spray and pray". A speedball player may not want this gun, but I think that reasonable price probably makes up for all short falls it has.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viper M1 - lots better
Vision Impusle... not even similiar
Strengths: Well... it's a cool looking gun, and when it worked.. it worked well (I was using el tigre so no breaks) I dunno about all these people talking about the barrel sucking, its a lot better than most stock barrels.
Weaknesses: Everything else. The internals are low quality and have worn down way too quickly. After a week of use it died... I still dont have a clue why it doesn't work., i've had it looked over by 2 techs.... it just sucks is the problem. If you are planning on buying this, don't give into looks, a Tippman will serve you much better.
Conclusion: Don't buy it and save yourself money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98
Marker Setup: Gt commando 2 w/14" CP barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, you can't find any more for the gun
Strengths: Looks good,
Weaknesses: stock barrel breaks balls, Porting has burrs in the inside of barrel. Leaks out of box, Xchamber, valve o rings, and braided line connection to xchamber. Gt cammondo paint an the gun will peel off easy. you won't know what this gun is after a month of use. Company Does't have 800 # and don't return email for long periods of time if a all.
Conclusion: Not a good gun for the money, lot's of burr on the inside will keep the 0 ring company's in buisness. hard to field strip, no reliable. spend your hard earned money on better product. Remember it's what is on the inside that counts. Not how good it looks.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Sheridan XTSE, VL Genisis, Stingray 2, Tiger Shark, Tippmann Pro/Carbine, Scorpion, Bruizer Outlaw
all stock expcept Pro/Carbine had a carbon fiber barrel
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: The gun is light weight, good price for all that comes with it, comfortable, looks cool.
Weaknesses: Chops balls, no real upgrades, the barrel, AMC is a piss poor company, as soon as I used my gun for the first time it had a leak where the bottom line elbow and bottle adapter meet. So far they have not contacted me, this is a manufacturer's error, they need to replace this part and have still not told me what I need to do to get this done after repeated email.
Conclusion: There are much better guns for much less. I reccomend the M98 custom. Mine is all stock and i have not busted a single ball, no problems with that one what so ever. Plus you can actually get upgrades for the 98. The company mainly affects my rating. Paintball is too expensive for a gun to not work the first time.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paul Thursday, April 12th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its the best looking paintball gun I've seen! Its very accurate straight out of the box too! I like the stock, I have a 9 Oz CO2 tank and I find it not that bad. It already comes with a lot of extra features as mentioned in other reviews. I must have been luckey compared to some other reviewers because when I hooked up my CO2 for the first time (with fingers crossed) there was no leak. Did I mention how good it looked?
Weaknesses: It was back ordered and it took me ages to get it, and since I live in Canada I had to pay $101.59 canadian in taxes and tarrifs that I was unaware of initially! But those have nothing to do with the gun, or the company that makes the gun itself. The powerfeed was turned just enough that it wouldn't load the bal into the chamber without a push from me. I actually took it apart before I realized "wait a minute, if I just turn this..." and it worked, no biggie (stupid me:)) Leaks a lot of CO2 when disconnecting.
Conclusion: I love this gun! It was worth the wait! It performs very well without upgrades and it is well worth what it costs. My friends (who have Piranahs and Raptors) are all amazed with this gun! Once I figured out what the problem with the powerfeed was (again, stupid me) I had no problems. It does leak CO2 a bit but with an on/off valve all you have to do is turn off the valve, fire off the CO2 left in the gun, and there are no problems. I DEFINATELY recommend this gun to everyone! If your thinking about getting it, I say GET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 5th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Nice Design, looks good with Chrome, 6stage x-chamber is great. Barrell is ok stock but could be better (smartparts or J&J 2stage would be good here).
Weaknesses: Ok heres where i get started. This gun is TERRIBLE, for breaking balls in the chamber. During rec play (indoor), The GTCommando2 was firing well for hte first 15 shots. After that, i was firing in succession (very slowly) and i burst the next couple of rounds. The gun itself was SCREWED OVER. It took me over an hour to get all the cell and paint out of the gun, even with my kit and squeege and all my spare parts. Also the 6stage expansion chamber became loose (i used it as a foregrip - but lightly). It just wasnt durible enough. The gun itself began to chip a bit, which leads me to the shody handy work of the commando 2
Conclusion: All in all, They took a good gun design, added a shody 6stage, a crappy long stock which makes the gun about 3 feet long. IT bursts balls like it was meant to and is difficult to clean and maintain,

All in all, DONT BUY THIS GUN, unless you like sitting out rounds (1 hour a piece)
It was my latest purchase and after about 4 weeks, i sold it to some newbie at a local field (mainly sold becuase of its looks). If you want to buy a quality gun THIS IS NOT IT. For the same price range u could buy a Spyder TL or M98, or a Spyder SE or a automag, or F4 or something with decent parts

Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ltjones Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann A5 w/ flatline
Marker Setup: A hopper and a co 2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel. i haven't seen one, but a better grip.
Strengths: It's a good noob gun, but not for ppl who r good.
Weaknesses: Innaccurate, huge trigger drawback (though it is soft), stock is annoying after a while
Review: This gun is a ood noob gun. Anyone with experience should not buy it. huge trigger drawback sucks. And dude, this is no sniper gun- it shoots like 70 feet, and it is really innacurate. And the customer service sucks bad. If it breaks, take it to your local paintball store, dont send it back to taiwan or whatever.
Conclusion: I kinda like it, but i wish i had tested it before i bought it, so i would have bought a much better gun for 10 bucks more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilly182 Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
BrassEagle talon, icon-e, spyder special edtion, 98c, spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2, gravity hopper, 9oz. C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
ELECTRIC HOPPER
Strengths: Accurate
Stock
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Breaks balls without electric hopper when shooting fast
Almost impossible to take apart
Review: This is a pretty good beginner gun. I dont suggest going to a paint ball feild without an electric hopper. It is easy to shoot faster than a gravity hopper will feed even tho the trigger pull is terrible. In all honesty it chops balls like crazy which sucks considering that I still havnt figured out how to take it apart. The stock comes in handy. on the other hand this is considerably accuret even tho its stock. Be careful nothing seems to be screwed on too tight either.
Conclusion: This is an OK beginner gun. I wouldnt recomend this considering u can get a better fun for the same price i paid for this. But if u feel its necessary to get this gun or are mezmorised by its stock like my friends are please buy a gravity hopper and have alot of time on ur hands.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 5:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPunk Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all commandos and all spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 avant,12v revy, 16 and 13 inch J&J ceramics, 20oz CO2, Remote, and ACI 6 stage ex. chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new bolt, barrel....how about u just get a new gun.
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Cheep grip....the gas thru grip is HUGE....and the whole gun is pretty heavy
Review: When I first got this gun i was excited. The third time I shot it the gas thru grip leaked like crazy, the cocking knob flew off (couldn't find it) the hammer was chipped by the bolt and the three burst stopped working (even with new batteries). So now I'm just going to type because there is a word limit, and I couldn't reach the limit because I didn't even want to typr about this gun. The only reason I typed this is so I could warn you about this gun.
Conclusion: Looks good...but looks can be deceiving. I recommend you buy a Spyder E99 avant.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Flammable Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and Piranhas
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Flatline barrel and a folding stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, its the only upgrade that you can find.
Strengths: *Cheap
*Not plastic
*kinda cool looking
Weaknesses: *It is an off-brand
*Sight rail is useless
*Stock and double trigger are just gimmicks so you will buy it.
*You get what you pay for
*Stock barrel curves real bad.
*No upgrades that you can find.
Conclusion: I would not buy this gun. Plain and simple. My friend bought one as soon as he saw it on the internet. At least its better than the wal-mart brass-eagle marker he was looking at. For what you pay for it you can get a nice spyder or piranha for the same price. The commando gt 2 (unlike the spyder or piranha) is not easily upgradeable. The raised sight is useless because of the hopper. The stock barrel makes the balls curve real bad, more so than any other markers at the same price. The stock is just a gimmick, so you will buy this gun. Also, your local paintball store will not have parts for it because it is an off-brand. You will be much better off with a Spyder, Piranha, or even a Tippmann. They all are in the same price range and have much better reliability. The commando gt 2 will break more often than the other guns, because they don't have the experience of making markers that Kingman or PMI has. Trust me, you WILL be much better off with a Spyder or Piranha. I give it a 3 for effort.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media