paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Fatman63 Sunday, December 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Fokus, Rebel LE
Marker Setup: Rebel LE with Ricochet 2K, and 10" Dye Ultralight (for speedball)
Fokus with 14" J&J ceramic (in the trees)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like what the one guy suggested -- a slegehammer and a grabage can, this gun is junk, looks good, but that is all it has going for it.
Strengths: Nothing, it caught my son's eye because of the design, but once he used it we found out that looks aren't everything.
Weaknesses: breaks paint, breaks some more paint, and then breaks even more paint. Flat ou, this is the owrst gun we have purchased (at our field we have over fifty guns so the comparison here is quite broad). This gun is poorly designed, the screws strip, the internals may have been sandpapered but clearly the hone never touched them. You expect to buy a gun and have it built properly out of the box, with this gun you will essentially have to finish the work yourself, and pay for replacing the junk inside with good parts.
Conclusion: garbage
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sasquatch13 Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all shapes and sizes, PMI GTI 07, the other markers that I have used are much too good to compare to this one.
Marker Setup: Drop forward, unknown barrel, dead on paintball expansion chamber,vl200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just replace the dang thing
Strengths: Milsim look, venturi bolt, expansion chamber, stock barrel isn't bad.
Weaknesses: Unreliable, SUPER loud, annoying to work on, annoying to repair proprietary screw sizes
Review: My friends and I all three bought this marker, and all three of them broke super quickly. My first friend's broke in two days, and it was not repairable. Mine broke about a year after we got them, and my last friend played with his through about 6 days worth of play. I loved this gun when i got it, but was quickly disappointed when it broke on me in nearly every game i played. On the games that I got to finish, usually my elbow would break off of the powerfeed, so i would recommend buying a gun with a vertical feed rather than a powerfeed.
Conclusion: Horrible marker overall. Tough to repair it because the screws that are everywhere, and whats worse, the screws are proprietary sized (must be custom cut because they aren't standard sized). Please learn from my mistake and don't buy this gun. It gets a 2 only because the barrel was impressive for the gun.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D-Paint Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster
Marker Setup: black ICD Promaster, smart parts s-rail and on/off asa, 68/45 fiber tank, halo b w/ rip and v35, vents avatar mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (like any other gun)
Strengths: Shoulder stock
Good on air
"Sniper" gun
Looks
Weaknesses: Not that sturdy
Trigger speed
Loud
Review: Well were to begin, this is an ok gun for woods ball. I play both woods and speed and its not a great speed ball gun but a GREAT woods ball gun. If you want it can be a sniper gun, it already has the stock and i used it a few times and it helps in long ranges but not that great in tight corners. It is great on air, i shot through 1000 paintballs on a single 20oz tank and i still was going strong on air! I love the way it looks, i reversed the bottom line to make the tank be under the gun and it looks sweat and the tank is out of the way. When i first got it, the cocking knob fell off but i just put a small bolt in it and it works better than the knob! You also got to watch out, the gun does loosen up a bet easily but that's not a big prob if you keep everything tight. It is kind of loud but a new barrel should fix that a bit.
Conclusion: All and all it is a great beginner gun if you like woods a lot. I would recommend it to any one who wants a good cheap gun. But if you play both speed and woods like me, i would go for a speed ball gun, they hold up in both cases. Hope this helps.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 11:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow31 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder victor
JT tac-5
Smart-parts Ion
Sheridan...something er other
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra(stock)
20 oz CO2
Revvy hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Electric hopper
Strengths: Cool looking
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is bad
Trigger moves side to side too much
Review: I got this gun 2 years ago and I haven't used it since that first month. I put my tank on grabbed some paint and tried it out. The first shot flew pretty straight. The second shot broke. The third shot broke. The fourth shot broke. The fifth shot broke. See where I'm going here? Now the gun is made pretty sturdy but about a week later I tried it at a local field and the cocking handle broke right off the gun. Now mine may have just been defective but for that much money I should have gone with a more well know proved brand. Go with a more reliable brand that you know you can trust.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. For that much money you can buy a nicer gun that you know will work.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Big T-Man Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Rebel
Marker Setup: Black GT Commando 2
20" JJ Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sniper barrel
Strengths: -Good as a sniper rife
-Spyder compatible
Weaknesses: -Certain parts break easily
Review: A lot of paintball players will say that this gun is not worth buying and would have you buy one running 200 dollars more. Bottom line here is that this gun is a good buy for the money, especially for outdoors. With nothing more than a JJ Ceramic barrel I have been able to pick people with single shots before they can even see me. I don't fire very quickly but I probably would not want this gun if I were more of a "spray a pray" type player. Also, if you think this gun is heavy you desperately need to lift some weights. I'm only docking a couple points due to its rate of fire, other than that this gun is a great buy.
Conclusion: If you like picking people off without hardly wasting any ammo, you want this gun and a cheap JJ Ceramic barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlbinoDingo Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted spiders, Tippman A-5 custom (assorted mods), assorted ions.
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2, 22" barrel, Offset red dot site.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
Replace bolt once a year.
Off set sighting
Strengths: Velocity, Upgradability, Easy Mechanics
Weaknesses: Stock parts are pretty crappy, chops more balls than a midget hooker. SHREDS CHEAP PAINT.
Review: Alright out of the box this was my first paintball gun. It looked pretty as all heaven, but I was young and inexperienced. This gun can be a bit of a pain in the ass if you are NEW. If you dont understand the mechanics of a gun it is downright horrible. However if you learn how to use the weapon it is one of the sexiest ladies you will ever hold. I use this marker as a woodsball sniper rifle for the simple reason that it kicks ass in that roll, but only cause i fixed it. Here are some tips for all you folks who dog this gun.

IF your paint chops- Go buy marbilizers, not the bargain bag, if you use cheap paint your balls are gonna chop. 2nd turn down your velocity, this loud SOB can pump 380 if you tighten the velocity bolt all the way down. Loosen your spring that way your paint doesnt explode when the bolt hits it. Your gun will

If your accuracy sucks- Get a new barrel, the stock barrel isnt that great, i upgraded to a 22" that if you turn up the velocity a little will send the ball flying. But carry your squeegy just in case.

Buy a sight raise for the unit because the hopper is crossed the wrong way and does get in the way, also buy and off sight. It will do wonders.

So for all the people who hate this gun, go buy a speedball weapon because its the only thing this gun isnt good at. Compared to the tippman A5 with flatline this gun has the potential to be better with a little TLC, but it can also be garbage if you don't know what you are doing.
Conclusion: If you are a speed baller spend a little extra on a spyder rodeo. If you are a Woodsball player snag this and if you have the cash give it a nice barrel and learn to adjust you velocity to compensate for distance and remember higher doesnt always mean better. Take care of her and she will take care of you. She's and easy 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tony Montana 2 Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Excellorator 5.0 (about equal)
VL Orion (No wear near as good)
Spyder Victor (not as good)
Marker Setup: Psychoballistic Super Bolt Cocker
Reg.
Deadonpaintball Drop forward with on/off
12V Rev
68/3000 Pure Energy fiber wrap hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scope or Red dot sight
Strengths: Accurate
Looks Great
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavy
Loud
Hard to take apart
can't field strip
Review: I use this gun as my main gun in woods ball and it's great I don't know about the people who say that the stock barrel needs to be replaced I've tryed using a J&J and it was no where near as accurate. I get people wanting to know what it is and where I got it every where I got with it. Also the people who are saying that they can't use there 20 oz. CO2 tank with the stock you just need to adjust the stock it fits my 68/3 fine and it is much bigger than a 20 oz tank.

Conclusion: Last thing I don't take care of this gun at all I keep frogeting to clean and oil it and it works great its a tank that wont stop. Buy it and use it in woods ball or as a back up. It hasn't failed me when I needed it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

garafatt Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used various types of spyders,tippmans, and brass eagles.
Marker Setup: I use a gt Commando 2 with 16 inch nyte stikk sniper barrel,bipod, viewloader electric hopper, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None for a new user stickwith stock till yea get how the gun works.
Strengths: Sounds beefy looks beefy .
Weaknesses: Some times it seems to me like it chops balls on occasion.
Review: It works good if u treat it good clean it replace orings and use lube Then you will probobly kick a's. It is very reliable and good for long duration games. I get quite a bit of good comments about the gt commando 2, if your a real warrior you'll like this gun. Nov 20th canobie paintball new england 800 player big game.
Conclusion: Buy it use it then customise it to your type of playing .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kLavier Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders- any of them are better than this crap
ACI- better than spyders
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet
Palmer Stabilizer (regulated @ 350psi)
9oz co≤
Viewloader 100rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
it's like a really cheap copy of a spyder, so if you really did want to upgrade it, anything from a spyder should be compatible on it.
Strengths: Fairly accurate stock
Looks so cool
Looks so cool!
Weaknesses: Chops every ~10 balls
Gas leak
Impossible to field strip
Review: i bought this as my first gun when i first started paintballing. obviously, i had no idea about performance or what good brands to buy, so i bought the coolest looking gun i saw. this gun really is the coolest looking gun i've ever seen, and i got several "nice gun" comments when i took it to the field. but dont be tricked- this gun is only comparable to a brass eagle! i was constantly having problems with this gun, from the bolt knob falling off (if you screw the knob in too tight, then the gun wont cock right and it pinches the spring, if you dont screw it in enough it works its way out and falls out on the field.), air leaks at the ASA where the expansion chamber screwed in, air leaks in the 1/8" gas line, and chops every time i even shot it a few times. this brings me to another thing- the gun is a NIGHTMARE to take apart! forget ever doing it anywhere but a workbench, you need to undo 4 screws with an allen wrench just to get the bolt out. the parts are very cheaply made and scrape and wear themselves down from just shooting the gun. i paid $140 for this gun and spent probably half that in just repairs for it. a year later, after gettign frustrated enough, i sold it to a newbie that thought it looked cool for $100. i consider myself lucky i was able to get any money out of selling it.

a second note, yes this gun looks very intimidating with a stock on it, but a stock on a paintball gun has the be the most useless idea ever. the purpose of a stock is to control your recoil while shooting rapidly. here's a radical concept- air guns that just shoot at 280fps have feather light recoil compared to black powder rifles. the recoil is comparable to less than that of a .22 rifle. if you really want something similar to a stock, you can tuck the air tank up against your shoulder. forget even considering buying this worthless gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a waste of money. With the money you could spend on this gun, you could buy a spyder and maybe even an upgrade or 2 on it. If you want a piece of crap gun (like this) but you dont want to waste your money, just get a brass eagle from wal mart.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrimreaperII Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99 (much better gun)
Marker Setup: I use a Tippman A-5 with a Flatline Barrell, Egrip, 4 position collapsable carbine stock, and a 20oz Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a new barrell. Immediately. Or rather, while the gun is still being shipped.
Strengths: Looks, Accuracy, Intimidating sound, Comfy stock, Fair Co2 life even on a 9oz
Weaknesses: Stock barrell
Open bolt clogs.
Difficult maintenance
Prone to breaking.
Parts.
Breaks ball easily
Review: Let me please put an end to all this argument and discussion finally and expose the truth:
The gun does look incredibly nice. It is very accurate with an upgraded barrell. However, it's only that accurate should you be lucky enough to not break the ball in the chamber. The Co2 has a good life though. Unfortunately, it's too hard to maintain it. The sound of it is very intimidating and so is the look, however its performance doesn't even come close to measuring up to those two factors. The parts are very poorly manufactured, some don't even fit right and can come loose. Nothing except Avalon's parts fit it internally, so if you break a cupseal, which is very likely to happen within a week or two, you have to go find one of theirs. Fortunately, I'll be nice and give anyone who buys this a link where they can order replacement pars: http://www.diamondgt.com/ The gravity feed is horrible, can't come close to keeping up with the guns possible ROF (Rate of Fire for you noobs). The bolt, unfortunately like most guns, is open, leaving it very prone to paint, dirt, ball shards, and anything else that might get in there. Good luck even getting this thing apart to try and fix what's wrong.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you're a noob who doesn't mind ordering tons of replacement parts. If you're a noob looking for a cheap package gun, go for it, but only if you plan on using it for a very short period of time or can't afford better. Otherwise, I'd definately suggest going for a Tippman A-5, or a 98 Custom if you can't afford the A-5. I'll give it credit for its accuracy WITH AN UPGRADED BARRELL (ONLY), its nice look, and very intimidating sound, but that's about it.
This thing is nowhere near what it's cracked up to be. It's like the infamously flawed Chaut Chaut of World War I. You should probably avoid it at all costs if possible.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media