paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
iEl-Ricx! Tuesday, November 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: Comando 2 stock & custom colored, scope, 16oz co2, 200VL hopper (i need a revvy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel (if u can recommend a good upgrade barrel for around $50 for this gun e-mail me plz)
-remove shoulder stock and get a drop forward if u play anything other then woods to make ur self more compact, or get a remote.
-new grip. (i have smaller fingers so the grooves aren't in the right place)
-Stronger springs. mybe mine where just compressed too long but it MAXED out at only 276 fps
Strengths: -looks bad @$$ got it in black and then custom colored some parts.
-great feel
-consistant (until u have a break and the paintb get into the gun, not just the barrel
-comes with its own carry case
-Takes most spyder/parhana parts.
Weaknesses: -it comes with it's own carry case (which is a good thing...if it came in like black instead of that cammo green. i'm not a big fan of cammo.)
-the gun works fine until u paint gets all in the internals
-can't really shoot through breaks with the stock barrel.
-customer service sucks.
-
Conclusion: the low down on this gun is that there where 2 versions, the GT Commando 2 and the Commando 2. most problems were experanced with the Gt Commando 2. the Commando 2 is the improved version. i give this gun a 9 bc it looks cool and i'm happy with it. but there is room for improvement. i work well with it and all it realyl needs is a better barrel. plz e-mail me if anyone can tell me about a good one. i'm looking at SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, Dye Xcel, J&J Ceramic, Taso Windforce, 32 degree Ice Cold.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EasyE Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many spyders, phantom, tracer, stingray II, autococker
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2 with new Spyder wood grip, remote, 16" 32 Degrees Nyte Stik
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel...I think the nyte stik works perfectly, maybe another grip
Strengths: I love this gun even though immediately after i got i i hated it.....When u first start using it, it tends to break a lot of balls but all u have to do for that is find a new barrel which ive found that any 32 Degrees barrels work really nicely with it. the key is just to find the right paint to match the barrel. for instance, ive tried marbs, team colors, zap, and diablo and ive found that the diablos work great with the barrel even if they arent even the best on the market..the marbs sucked with the barrel and they even cost about 20 bucks more..in some other reviews i saw that they said the ball detent didnt work but all u have to do is just take the plastic detent cover off and bend the wire a little in one direction or another and then its fixed. my grip broke once but i just replaced it with a new wooden spyder grip which gives it a cool original look.
Weaknesses: The stock gun isnt so great but all it needs is just a couple upgrades and its perfect. I had a small leak but it was nothing a little teflon tape couldnt fix. some of the other reviews said it was a litte heavy but i think its absolutely perfect, just put a remote on and the gun feels balanced light.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i wouldnt recommend buying the gun if you arent willing to put a few upgrades and some more money into it. You can find the gun for about 175 now and once u upgrade it up to perfection it'll probably set u back to about 250 but its completely worth it. if any of u buyers have any questions feel free to email me with any questions because i feel i can answer just about anything about this gun. if played against autocockers, a5's, automags, lots of spyders, and i was able to outgun them all because this gun gets great range. i was hitting people while i was out of range to them, then when i got off the field i checked the speed at which i was shooting and i was only shooting about 240 which is pretty good when u think about how much farther i can make it shoot....So buy the gun, its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SleeplessRonin Tuesday, August 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro-carbine.
32 Degrees Rebel Extreme.

I'd take the Rebel over the Commando any day.
The Pro-carbines were renters, so I don't compare them. But they seemed sturdy enough to me.
Marker Setup: Avalon Command 2, Terminator 14" Barrel, V12 Revvy, 20oz CO2 remote setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel is a must buy.
The stock barrel is so cheap and shoddy that it is an embarrassment to markers everywhere. How any company can actually sell that barrel with the marker I don't know.
Strengths: The Good...
- Looks mean.
- Hefty.
- comes with neat features like a collapsible stock.
Weaknesses: The Bad...
- Breaks enormous quantities of balls. Approximately 1 in 4 balls broke.
- Flimsy stock. The pictures look nice, but the reality is cheap.
- Cheap metal screws. Extremely easy to strip.
- Field stripping is an impossibility. Massive quantities of time must be invested in disassembling / reassembling marker.
- Barrel guard is cheap, too small for non-stock barrels, and loose.
- Ball drop preventer on the power-feeder will not turn at all. Therefore has no purpose.

The Ugly...
- The side Powerfeed is on the wrong side. A right handed person will get a nice big hopper right in the middle of their mask.
- The side powerfeed is also badly welded on.
- When a ball breaks, paint finds interesting and unique places to go. Anywhere and everywhere are the two most likely candidates.
Conclusion: I originally purchased this marker because of the relatively good reviews on this page. Of the bad reviews, they mainly seemed like rare lemons. The sad part is, I had placed my hopes in the 80%% (8.0) good rating of the gun, ignoring the other 20%% (2.0). I paid for it, and have now learned a valuable lesson. There are lemons out there, and this was a massive lemon.

Do yourself a favor and buy a better marker.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ww2paintplayer Thursday, June 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares with this gun
Marker Setup: 16'' winforce and 20'' stone cold 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: nothing compares with this maker. i love this gun. the best thing is that it does not really look like a spyder or a spyder clone. it does has some simliar looks but every blow back gun has simliar looks.

Weaknesses: the only thing bad with this gun is that it is not to famouse like spyder or tippmans etc. so parts normally ahve to be ordered from the company.

Conclusion: ok i'm giong to really talk about the marker now. this marker may be on the heavy side to some but i'm 6'4'' and 260 so does not bother me any. if it is to heavy for you or you think it might be. LIFT SOME WEIGHTS. this is a very good sniper gun with the two barrels that i wrote above. the best balls that work with this gun are the higher price balls which makes sense. a high end marker that needs high end balls just makes sense to me. the new verison is MUCH better. different trigger, different co2 adapter, the dentent wire is replaced with a compsite ball dent like the ones in most spyders, longer lasting seal on the striker/hammer and the bolt, thumb vel. adujster, sure fire at 45 degrees (i have fired this gun at 30 degrees with no problems was using winter balls), and other little changes that lets the commando 2 perform better then EVER. I have ruled the field with this gun. the should stock and the ex-chamber gives you the feeld of a real gun and the stock increases your shot a lot. this gun is the very best for any skilled player
need more info than emial me at war_hero@hotmail.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Super Sniper Tuesday, May 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan side arm, Angel LCD, Spyder TL Plus, Stingray 2, And my latest a vortex AutoCocker
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2, New barrel, Re enforced side cocking mounts, new double triger frame and I tried to put a scope on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new barrel kind of makes the gun a tad bit acurate.
Strengths: The good thing is the cammando 2 can also take spyder parts. All the o - rings are the same size so I never have to fiddle with it. It look really awsome and for $216.00 you think it would be a good buy. Wrong. This is an ok gun if you know how to fix it, clean it, take care of it, and not use it in games. I sugest you get a better spyder barrel to out on the gun before anything, And a new harder spring, BUT NOT FROM THE DEALER. This gun is mainly for show. It is a very good show piece. Right now it is setting right next top my dummy gernades on the wall. I dont mean to diss this company menchaned in the fallowing but this gun truely wipes the compition of display pieces. Oh and you can shoot whole olives out of it to for food fights. The only reson why I am labeling this terribel is because it is a rip off for the money.
Weaknesses: Almost everything. When I first got it every ball I shot would brake. It turns out it had a deftive dentin pin in the casing. So I went down and got one tat my local shop, Paint Ball Head Quarters located off speedway in Tucson Arizona After I had gotten the new pin I put it in. Then I noticed that all the balls would shoot croocked like it wasnt even the right ammunition. So I called the 1 800 number and got a lady who sounded like she was chineede. I told her the problem and she said that it was my ammunition. She told me to go buy some new ammo. Well first off, I am using Marbelizers. Then I went to pro turnament Aqua's and still no good results. Then about a month after I ahd the marker, The barrel gaurd had fallen off. And it still keeps on falling off. Than the second mont the spring goes out. It souns as almost if my co2 was low. I replaced the spring and again and again and again. The replacement parts for this gun are pretty expensive, and the springs die out every month. Please keep in mind that I am a serious player and play almost every tournament here in arizona. I have made custom fittings for this gun. I made a better barrel, A better triger frame, And I got a good replacement spring that will last about six months. If you get this gun, You will pay a lot of money to get it to work. Oh and when I take off the co2, I lose half of my co2 in my tank. But not to worry, I have a fill kit also.
Conclusion: Like I say, If you get it dont use it, The balls break, not acurate, Spring dies, Barrel gaurd falls off and it is to expensive to fix it,. It makes and exalent wall desplay piece.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capt. Curby Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro Ts/DYE Exel 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, new trigger
Strengths: Well the obviouse about this gun is how it looks. I would have to say it is one of the coolest looking on the market. But i found that looks have nothing to do with whats inside.
Weaknesses: The first time i took it out of the box and tried it it chopped a ball after about 7 shots. I then ajusted velocity, changed spring, oiled the hammer, put harder balls in, ect... And it still preformed poorly. So I called the company and they sent me some free Dentin's because half of them are defective. So they came in the mail and it did make the ball breaks less but it still happend way to much. The other bad part is this gun is supposed to resemble a sniper rifle. It is one of the most in acurate guns I have ever shot.
Conclusion: Well I think that this gun is all about luck. You might get a good one...you might get a bad one. But if you can afford this gun then you would be much better off buying a Piranha,a spider, or a tippman.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a spyder, and tippmann 98's
Marker Setup: I have the GT Commando 2 with 20/16 oz Co2 tanks, remote coil line, 20" 3 peice Taso Stone Cold II barrel (which is awsome!), and Dye Fiber-optic Red Dot Site
Recommended
Upgrades:
The biggest thing would be a new barrel. The stock barrel is okay, but it's still a stock barrel, and it had quite a few ball brakes, but when i got my new barrel, i have only had 2/3 brakes with really crappy paint. Also, if you're using a 20 oz. tank, it can become quite heavy, so a remote is nice. And of course, it's always nice to have a scope, but it's not necessary.
Strengths: I bought this gun after much research, and have not been let down. With my upgrades, i was shooting at a can for teams, and i hit it 4/5 shots, dead center, from about 15/20 yards. It is pretty quiet, and very acurate. If you are using crappy paint, of course you're going to have some ball brakes, but while i was using the PMI proball paintballs, i have only experienced one brake. This gun comes with so many upgrades already, like the 6 stage expansion chamber, a STOCK(how many guns you see with those!?) double trigger, ect. Also, this gun looks great! and can take most spyder parts. It is also VERY reasonably priced, non of my friends believed i only bought it for $ 180. One last thing, if you ever have tried to take apart and clean a Tippman 98 on the field, it is a pain, but the Commando only has maybe 4/5 parts to keep track of inside, so it is quite easy. Oh yeah, hehe, and it can take Nitro too, w/o any upgrades.
Weaknesses: I don't know really what to say. Apparently, the commando 2 can't take electric grips, so that's a bummer, but nothing that's going to dissapoint me all that much. I don't know, thas about all.
Conclusion: This is a great gun, i would deffinitly suggest getting this gun for anyone, newbies or pros, just know you're probably going to want to get a new barrel. Thas about all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

racestar Wednesday, May 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: gt commando 2
20oz tank
armson stealth 16" barrel
coiled remote
pmi marbelizer paintballs
adco red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel maybe a remote bk its a little heavy but u get used to it so u dont even notice
Strengths: 1. it shoots
2. it can shoot fast
3. really accurate at long distance
4. doesnt break paint with the new barrel
5. the stock barrel didnt break paint
6. has a shoulder stock so its easier to aim
7. takes almost all spyder parts so its easily upgradable
8. it doesnt waste co2 it took about 500 rnds. to use up a 9oz and over 1000 for a 20oz
9. works in any kind of weather (wind, rain, snow, freezing temps., and other)
Weaknesses: not much i can think of except it is kinda heavy when u put the co2 tank on especially with a 20oz so i recommend a remote

its very very hard to find especially the new addition

not much more i can think of
Conclusion: get this gun it is awesome i recommend it to anybody noobies or pros.
you can get the new version for $175
it hasnt broken a singel paintball on me not even the brass eagle ones
get this gun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:53 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, tippmann, cocker,sheridan,brasseagle-(you might be more accurate if you tossed to ball at them)
Marker Setup: I have the commando gt 2 with a 20 OZ tank and a harness and a 3000 psi remoter with a quick dissconnect. j&j 14 inch two piece.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrell that is all.
Strengths: Almost everything. It is accurate, shoots fast and is nice on your bank account. It doesn't use that much CO2 either. looks great and works great.
Weaknesses: you need to buy expenisve paint or it will break almost all of it. I dont get why they call brasseagle paint brasseagle because it does not fly in any since of the word, and it sure as hell is not as hard as brass. Diablo works great it will run around $70 with shipping but it is hard and flys stright and is not easy to wipe. The number to getahold of AMC is not a toll free number and when you try to ask them a question over the internet, even if it is just asking what kind of paint they would recommend they write back saying to call them. so when you write them an e-mail tell them you want an answer and not this call us at, crap. And If you finally do give in to it after the thenth time of them saying call us they can hardly speak english. BUT THE GUN IS GREAT.
Conclusion: Great for the money. I would give this a 50 out of ten rating if I could but that is beyond my power isn't it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Full stock, 12 oz tank, 4X scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, if your a sniper use a remote system
Strengths: This is the best gun i have ever used. my friends has used may different guns including spyders and said, "this gun is a spyder clone, but why dose it out perform one?" who would have thought that you can beat the original? there are reports of it going to $h!t after a month. i've had mine for almost 6 months now and it's still works great. i shot rapid fire and single shots, in both high and low speeds and i think i have only gotten 3 breaks over that 5.8 month period. and when i did break a ball it all ended up in the barrel, no where else in the gun, not even the elbow.
Weaknesses: the sight rail is usless bc of the power feed but i have a scope so it dosen't bother me. that and the bag is really ugly, should have come in black...with no writing.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun. i'm happy with it. people say it dosen't compare to their angels or auto cockers.....well duh! for how three times the price of a commando 2 it better be better. if your going to compare things, compare it by similarity and price range. i would recomend this gun to everyone, aspecially beginners
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media