paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98, Spyder Shutter, Smart Parts Impulse, The list goes on.
Marker Setup: Avalon commando 2 LP
BEAR REDDOT SCOPE
DYE 14" BOOMSTICK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, maybe a new barrel but the stock one isn't bad.
Strengths: It comes with a six stage expansion chamber, the barrel is pretty good to begin with, it looks cool (especially the black one with a purpe/clear DYE sticky grip). It isn't very loud. Has a good true shot and will keep being accurate when you are shooting fast. works well in cold weather and the stock barrel doesn't break paint like some do, as long as you don't feed it brass eagle or something like that.
Weaknesses: Nothing bad, the stock can get in the way but it is easily removed.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners or advanced players. People say that there aren't too many upgrades but it already comes with a lot of the things that you would want to add to it any way.definitely worth the $180 you pay for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Worrgames Autococker, Angel 2002 LCD with 21" ceramic barrel.
Marker Setup: 2002 WDP Angel LCD with 21" ceramic sniper barrel and 4500PSI Nitrous system
Recommended
Upgrades:
I wouldn't upgrade anything, except maybe the barrel. I'ts great for a stock barrel, but since it's 100%% compatible with Spyder barrels, and there are so many Spyder barrels out there, then why not upgrade?
Strengths: I have been using Angels and Autocockers for years now and while those are some of the best guns made, I think the Commando 2 is the best gun for under 300 dollars. The speed and accuracy are comparable to my Autococker. This gun will hardly ever break balls, even if they are low quality, it's very good on Co2 conservation and it shoots balls fast. The shoulder stock is great and also helps with accuracy.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about this gun is that it's kind of hard to take apart on the field, but thats about it, everything else is near perfect.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginner or advanced player. This gun could probably perform close to an autococker, and would definitely blast the crap out of a spyder.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 rigged for sniping, (flatline, remote, stock...)
Marker Setup: just an e-dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel I have a stone cold 2 - 24"
Strengths: It comes with a lot of upgrades for $150 you get a double trigger, a velocity adjuster, raised rail, expansion chamber, venturi bolt.... The gun is FAST it outguns the tippmann by far in velocity, its accurate if you know how to shoot and if you have a good barrel. It looks great.
Weaknesses: Chops balls I would say out of 500 it chops bout 5 or less.
Conclusion: It's a good marker for its price, its fast it shoots good and you dont have 2 spend more money on upgrades it comes with what you need and more. You will need to break it down often to clean the mess of the ball breakage, but when you are playing you can really do some serious damage, its a mean killing machine if used correctly (I am saying this because I've read some reviews and they complain way 2 much) maybe my marker didnt come defective and I was lucky but I have 2 friends that also hav eit and they are doing good, so I guess I can backup what I wrote.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahana Ext Pro G3, Autococker, Sheridan PGP.
Marker Setup: HPA tank, All American Barrel, 12v Rev
Recommended
Upgrades:
As in every other post a barrel and use HPA
Strengths: Cant really say that much here im sad to say though you can crank the Velocity of this gun up on the fly and it can shoot VERY fast (in terms of FPS) I have to say that is about it read bellow as to why.
Weaknesses: Out of the box the the Hose that goes from the expansion Chamber to the rear of the gun (try to keep this non Tech for new players) was leaking. Local Paint shop had to lock tight a new one in. First game, ball breaks Alot, Using Marbalizer and All american Barrel. The next few monthly games were ok then the trigger spring busted. After Taking the gun apart I noticed that it was wayyyy too soft, these people obviously dont know a great deal about how to make a paintball gun. Also another factor here is weight, its not about the girly man factor its about the fact that its just not very light.
Conclusion: I recently bought a PMI Pirahana Pro G3 EXT and have had much better sucess with it. The customer Service is pretty poor and the warenty is not very good. PMI will give you a new gun as well as tippman, if a defect is found, Id like to see Avalon match that. Im not a Tourney player Im proud to say and obviously if you were even thinking about this gun, you more than likly are not either. For Rec players (thats not a bad thing here folks) Go with a Tippmann and or a PMI they make great makers and they have good customer Service.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
avenger
rebel
blade (this is the biggest joke in the world.)
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: everything
when i first got the gun i thought i had a broken valve but it was because the guy that filled my tank didnt fill it so i talked with that jerk. anyway it shoots far straight and has amazing accuracy if u put some decent paint in it. brass eagle paint curves but doesnt break. it also shoots through breaks like 5 out of 8 dont break if the barrel has a broken ball in it.
Weaknesses: brass eagle paint
not the gun
and guys who wont fill ur tank like there supossed to.
Conclusion: i got mine its the uprgraded version with the thumb veliocity adjuster which is really handy when u play with cheap paint and it gets a nice carry bag. only thing is that it doesnt like cheap paint but that not a bad thing because no gun likes brass eagle paint. ( except the blade)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything under the sun, I am a designer and dealer.
Marker Setup: Extensive collection.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice two-piece barrel, the stock is playable but like any stock barrel will not compare to an $80+ aftermarket barrel. J&J Full-Tilt best for barrel for your $$$.
Strengths: The latest low-pressure version offers a great deal for the money. New features include:

CNC Machining
Soft-Flex Detent
Hard Anodized Finish is Scratch Resistant (take a key to it and see)
New Venturi Bolt with Foamie
Low Pressure Operation
New Low Pressure Internals (The TRASK System)
New Long Wearing, Low Operating Temperature/Pressure Hammer Seal
Rear Thumb Velocity Adjuster with Tourney Lock
Weaknesses: New version is in short supply.
Conclusion: First off I have been involved with this sport for over 10 years, as a player, as a dealer, and as a designer. The latest version solves many of the problems associated with blow back (Spyder/Tippmann) style markers. IMO, given all its features, there is not a better marker out there for the price. Granted I may be Bias, my last name is Trask and I am the designer responsible for the new Low Pressure version. However, though I am a designer and technical director for Avalon, I maintain my own firm independent of Avalon. I speak perfect English (my forefathers immigrated here in 1628), and if anyone has any questions about the marker feel free to contact me:

traskw@srxperformanceworks.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really compares to this maker but i have used anything from splatmaster rapide to grnade launcher
Marker Setup: i have both the 20' stone cold and the 16 ' winforce both make the maker a sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you play like me (play the back field at first then move up front and be aggesive) then buy a better baarrel i like the 16 winforce
Strengths: i'm going to right the good here but tell how the maker handeled in my spring break battle in the conclusion

fast trigger pull even tho it is an inch long. people have told me two tnings when they se and hear this marker fire. 1. "i can't even see the balls in the air its so fast..." 2. "that gun sounds like it fully auto what is it?"

becuase the gun is not has know as it sould be, not a lot of people know about so you will always get ahhhh and wow cool gun

i have owned the gt commando 2 and the commando 2 (upgrade verison) both makers i have had no poblem at all.

shoulder stock helps out a lot with aiming
own ting thing that i love about the gun is that it is kinds lound (good for acarying the little baby dolls)
Weaknesses: well becuase the marker looks so good that stupid paintballers buy and do not take care of it and then they give it bad reviews. thats the only problem is that it looks to good.
Conclusion: well you see when i meen that i was playing in a battle that is what i meant. a couple of thousends players in army like theme with units and ranks, tanks, artillery, mortars, mines and grenades that actully explde due to a charge, and grenade launcher also we have special weapons made for ambushing enemy units. anyways i deplyed my troops to defend a hill and under heavy fire from the enemy and when they got close enough for a guns in range i gave the order to open fire at the uncoming enemy. the gun work wonderfully. i shoot 200 balls in less then 2 min. we defened our post and were ordered to defend a fake town. the enemy fought street to street combat. i could not ask for a better gun to take out enemy troops at 70 yards away and for its quick shooting speed at close range, which is unmachted by any semi out there. the gun worked so great no words can ever describe how well it performed. i will never sell this gun to any one there is something sepical in owning a commando 2 that can only be match with the worlds second best gun the pec master. buy this and do not listen to any one else but the ones who sounds like they know what the he@l they ar tlaking about

email me at war_hero@hotmail.com for more infor
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, piranha, tippman 98
Marker Setup: GT COMMANDO 2 with 16" DYE ULTRALITE barrel, warpig remote tank system
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel if you are going to be a sniper
Strengths: This gun only has good things about it. The commando 2 is the best profoming gun i have ever seen and used. This gun right out of the box would make an angel or cocker user sweat in worry. The gun scares the sh&t out of newbies with it's intimidation factor. If you want to be the best shooter on the field this is the gun and only gun to do that. Don't waste your money on an angel or cocker when this gun is just as good for way less money. Put a mew barrel on it and you can shoot accuratly up to 100 yards plus trust me i know. My friends have been pist at me ever since i bought my commando because i can shoot them from such a distance when their paint drops 50 or more feet in front of me. Anyway this is the best gun on the market I think.
Weaknesses: Just all the whimps that think it's to heavy or breaks balls all the time or that don't take care of the gun and say that the bolt scrches the inside of the gun.

#1 Keep your gun clean and lubed

#2 Match the paint to your barrel and the paint will not break

#3 Start a weightlifting programe if the gun is so unberably heavy
Conclusion: This gun needs to get some good advertising to let people know it's out there. This is truly the best gun on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ww2paintplayer Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all spyders, m-16 bascially every singel gun from a splatmaster rapide to a angle and go to
Marker Setup: gt commando 2 with both 20 " stone cold and winforce right now spyder tl plus
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel if you want a little more ditence and maybe a remote
Strengths: ok firstr of all I have already written two other review about the got commando 2 and this review might answer a few question about the new version. the version is a lot better every way you look at it. i even think the metal is differnet between the two model guns. first of all there is no other gun that comes even close to match the looks of the gun and the stock barrel is not really bad. PEOPLE MATCH THE BALL SIZE TO THE BARREL SIZE. i shot 350 servere ball through the stock when it was RANING they flew wonderfully at first but after a while the rain got into the barrel a little they curved but not the barrels fault. another thing is that i always turn down my vel. before i turn it up why have it up all the way anyways? the gun does not work a lot batter with is up or any gun for that matter. longer lating seals on the striker and the bolt which lets it play better in the cold i know i have played with it in 49 degrees weather and it worked wonderfully. the stock is for the gun and does help you out. SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT IT GETS IN THE WAY cry cry all yall want but TAKE IT OFF no to hard. the stock barrel is very good for speed ball or any close quaters action. i have a 16' winforce works works very well with the gun. YES the gun is a little louad but the gun itself has a GREAT INTIMADATION FACTORE TOWARDS paintballers and a lound bang bang bang helps it also. THE GUN DOES NOT DO WELL WITH BAD PAINT but that is because the gun IS NOT BAD able to use bad paint. use paint that is equal to the gun itself. like jt marbs. but remember EVEN MARBS. WILL BREAK IF IT IS TO BIG OR TO SMALL IN THE BARREL so match up the two sizes. range good really good with my 20' stone cold. "the gun is to heavy..." way way way way way way ok little babies buy a spyder if it is to heavy first of all i'm 250 and 6'4'' (big a@s paintballer would you say?) so five to ten punds does not make a difference for me but even the old 98 was "heavy" and they are heavyer then the commando2 LIFT SOME WEIGHTS BABIES!!!!!!!! and you ca also add a remote to lessen the "extrme weight" this gun is awsome no questin in my mind. you see to own a commado 2 is something of a kind i have owned a pec master and there is something sepcial in each guns. well built, good acc., intimadtion good, but to own a commando 2 is joining a small group a commando 2s that take great pride in this hobby/sport. there is few of us in this group of owners who own the best guns in the world trust me i have shot paintball m-16, m-1, m-14, grenade launchers, tanks, mortars, and other milltary looking paintball guns and the commando 2 comes very close to how they perform.
Weaknesses: (some paintballers are very picking and becuase the gun is really a great gun, we joke around with what those winers have to say about this gun)

"the trigger pull is an inch long!!!"

(i have been toald that they could not see the balls that come out of the barrel because how fast the gun and my trigger finger was no joke)

"the trigger screw is to big and catches me eye when i shoot..."

(what the gun is a big gun what do you want a little dinky little screw?)

"...the gun is to heavy...."

(LIFT WEIGHTS YOU BABY)

"...the stock barrel sux..."

(by a new one or attack your enemy closer and not hide in the back field)

"..bolt scres the inside and sometimes gets stuck..."

(all guns scrach the inside of the gun, IF IT IS NOT LUBED WELL)

that is all that i can think of right now remember most stock barrels are ok for close range not for sniper shoots. and please match the ball and barrel sizes
Conclusion: this gun is the best i'm playing sat. and will write another review on how it performs in it first major battle in a differnent name remember that i'm matt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: my GT camando 2 ,12 oz tank,and soon to be a 32 degrees terminator
Recommended
Upgrades:
terminator barrel
Strengths: it is fast,it doesnt brake paintballz hardly ever,
Weaknesses: it is loud but the terminator takes care of that,the stock barrel is kinda in accurate.

not to much after that.adn the avalon service ppl dont chekc their mail .
Conclusion: the camando is a very good gun cuz it takes spyder parts so if your looking for a new barrel for camando and the barrel says 14inch spyder barrel then you know that it fits your camando.and it isnt really heavey at least not to me i dont know why ppl always say that.

if you know of anytihng else good for a GT Camando 2 email me at goatslopper@yahoo.com
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media