paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System / Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Scepter is simply the most revolutionary barrel design ever created. Its features solve every problem ever associated with a paintball gun barrel. This is the only barrel to ever use a self-align system to precisely align both bores. This alignment creates a perfectly straight flight line for the ball to travel through. The Scepter also features color coded, interchangeable bore sleeves to correctly match any size paint. These bore sleeves have been uniquely designed to load from the front and lock in place to prevent any shifting or movement during firing. Since the bore sleeves donít require O-rings to hold them in place, there is no chance of the sleeve flexing under pressure.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Shirtless FOX Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months69 of 75 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every major brand of barrel (SP, Dye etc.)
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator with everything.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS All Star
RPS Marbelizer
Diablo Inferno
Strengths: Insanely accurate. Quiet. Looks great. Reliable. Mirror Finish. Simple.
Weaknesses: See update to conclusion....
Review: I have tried many high-end barrels on the market. This barrel has by far blown me away.

1). Quite simply, the most accurate barrel on the market (period)
2). Build quality, fit and finish is perfect.
3). You can custom order colored tips at no extra charge.
4). No o-rings to deal with like the freak
5). The alignment of the bore insert makes a perfect seal.
6). Mirror finish is accurate and doesn't scratch. Buffs well (clean it with car wax)

This barrel is super-quiet. It is not the quietest, but anything quieter usually has 18 inches of straght porting. Only my A/A 16 inch is quieter, but I hate that barrel compared to this. The Scepter uses less air by being more efficient, making it quieter.

Super-accurate AND Super-quiet AND Super-efficient leaves nothing to be desired from this barrel.
Conclusion: I live near Powerlyte, so I was able to go directly to them to pick mine up. The people there were very nice and helpful. They told me all of the details about how the Scepter worked.

The Scepter combines a high quality mirror finish on every insert using military gun-barrel honing technology. Only powerlyte and dye have a honing process this high quality. Unfortunately, Dye barrels have too much porting and don't have adjustable bore. Gun honing involves a long system of heating and tempering until the barrel comes out with a mirror surface and perfect caliber.

Smart Parts Freak System uses a cheap technology called "extruding" to hone their barrels. First, a block of aluminum is dragged over a .68 caliber cylinder of metal to produce a nice cirle with a rough surface. They polish them to a simulated mirror finish, but a bore tester proves that SP barrels don't have what it takes to be as accurate as Powerlyte.

Powerlyte's innovative seal system creates a perfect seal between insert and tip. Freak systems use o-rings which create a flawed seal and vibrate the barrel when fired.

Some might argue that replacing the back-end of a barrel (like the Evil Pipe) is better than an insert, but what they don't know is replacing the back-end doesn't seal the barrel as well as Powerlyte's system of locking the insert into place.

Powerlyte's patented Side-by-Side porting is not only amazingly quiet, but insanely efficient. I have never seen anything like it. Freaks use spiral porting, which wastes gas and can cause paint to spin to the right. The Evil pipe uses 15 degree porting, which might look cool, but makes the paint bounce around at the end of the barrel, which is bad.



I would also like to talk about the Speedline version of the scepter (single bore). The speedline is compareable to the boomstick, only the speedline is more efficient and has more bore choices. Also, Powerlyte has better customer service than Dye. This coming from a guy who Dye shipped his order FOUR MONTHS late and still charged.

If you can't shell out the money for a Scepter, then the Powerlyte Speedline One-Piece is a great single-bore barrel for under $60, with all of the benefits of the Scepter minus the bore sizing (which is still VERY important, so make sure it'll work)


In closing, the Scepter is better than:
1). Freak
2). Evil Pipe
3). Boomstick
4). Any adjustable bore barrel that forces you to buy seperate backs (aka, Longbow)

Buy this barrel if you want to take your game to the next level.
Buy this barrel if you want your paint to shoot out like darts.
Buy this barrel if it is not your current barrel.



UPDATE - The barrel is rock solid on the field and in the equipment bag. However, The inserts are fragile when not locked in the barrel so be carefull storing them. I had an insert laying in my garage 6 feet from the hard concrete. It fell and dented the end. Of course, the barrel still rules since that was my own ignorance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 5th, 2005 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Full Freak, Custom Products set
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator w/clamshell, WAS Equalizer, Sidewinder Reg, Delrin bolt, barrels, hoppers, yada yada yada
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can use anything!
Strengths: Sturdy, consistent, accurate
Weaknesses: Looks of the tip...but it's not that bad, really.
Review: I love this system! Everything about it screams "quality"...finish is excellent, accuracy and consistency are tops, and it cleans itself out quickly. The inserts are Teflon-coated and always stay in position, and the case for it is much more compact than the Freak's, and it won't crack!

Some people don't like the tip design, but it works well and seems to be pretty quiet.

The largest insert takes a little more effort to get in and out, but I guess you have to expect that unless they make the walls thinner. Then it would be as fragile at the Freak!
Conclusion: I think that this is one of the best systems out there. The price is competitive, and the aluminum and stainless steel backs are the same price. PowerLyte's customer support is the best!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jonscilz Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye, kaner system, smart parts, and a few others
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP E-Class Orracle with shocktech drop forward (with on/off) and 45/4500 PE Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything really especially when it comes to size... obviously the higher quality you use the better they work but this barrel makes even the worst paintballs satisfactory... i only shoot all stars if i have a choice
Strengths: Ball on ball, higher quality than any other barrels, matching paint size (obvious), customer service.
Weaknesses: Nothing...maybe better carrying case - this has nothing to do with the barrel performance itself.
Review: ok first off let me say how awesome powerlyte's customer service is. i oredered this barrel in the 5 piece kit directly from the powerlyte website in the 14" with stainless steel rear and turned out they were out of the stainless steel rears for a few weeks. I really wanted the stainless back to match my guns color and an all black barrel wouldnt look so hot (the aluminum comes in black although they say you can anodize in any color you want if you can wait). they offered an aluminum back with some other options instead. I was in a rush to get the barrel due to some games comming up in a few days that i wanted to get some use on the barrel in so i called them to see what i should do. turns out the guy i talked to (i wish i could remember his name paul or greg maybe?) hooked me up with a *free* aluminum rear to hold me over until they got the stainless steel rears in, at which point they would ship me the ss rear free of charge! how awesome is that?! thats a $64 rear from the manufacturer for free! you really dont see customer service like that anywhere and i am very appreciative of how friendly and helpful they are there!

now onto performance. really there isnt much left to say about these that hasnt already been said by the other reviewers. the barrel really is amazing. they supposedly hone the barrels much better than other companys do and instead of convering up bad honing with ceramic and other coatings, they get it smooth enough so that a smoothing coating isnt necessary. this theoretically means that the smoothness of the barrel should last much longer than other coated barrels. whether this is true or not i wont know for a while i guess but i do know it shoots straighter with more accuracy than ive seen in any other barrel before. i havent had the opportunity to test a freak kit which was my other option before i got this. i ended up with the scepter due to a lot of bad reviews about the inserts in the freak kit and i made a good choice. the inserts lock into the rear of the scepter as you screw in the front which hold them in really tight.... no loose inserts to throw off your shots at all. as far as accuracy and precision it's really amazing. my teardrop and kaner system as well as other barrels ive used dont touch this thing. the boomstick is close but still not there.. and with the added bonus of paint size matching at the same price as a boomstick,if not less, why would you waste money on something that everybody else has when you can get a better performing barrel with more options. you know what they say about the real performance of a gun is in the barrel and paint only and this is so true. my e-orracle is consistent and fast as any gun out there and keeps my breaks to zero but the scepter has it shooting literal darts now like people say... worth every penny
Conclusion: get this barrel if you want to really see how a barrel can make all the difference in your game. you will not be dissappointed... look at the other reviews: not a coincidence. powerlyte is an awesome company, friendly staffed, and doesnt cut corners when it comes to their products. I paid $200 from powerlyte directly and it may not be the cheapest you can find it (eBay or other distributors) but you cant be happier with their customer service, especially when i ended up with a free $64 rear. I was almost skeptical at first too but i have never been more pleased!!!! A+ to powerlyte on probably the best barrel ever made.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BlackRiver Friday, November 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Smart Parts Freak, Equation System
Marker Setup: Have used most everything at one point or another but currently have a Matrix and GX3 Cocker with 68/4500 preset tank, either 12v Revo or eVolution II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything made. With the sleeves you can change bore sizes based on paint. AWESOME!!!
Strengths: I bought my kit for about $160. It came with 3 sleeves, carring case/barrel bag and stickers. This barrel kit is AWESOME. The sleeves lock in from the front of the back piece, thereby providing a much better "stick" than that achieved with Freak or similar systems. Also, the performance on this barrel is incredible! It is by far the most accurate barrel I've every used. Powerlyte makes these kits in both Aluminum and Stainless Steel configurations and in 12in and 14in lengths.
Weaknesses: Absolutely NUTTIN'. These things are awesome!
Conclusion: Best barrel or barrel kit on the market. If you shop around, you can find them at very good prices.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:42 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

drick Sunday, October 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker barrel, dye 12"
Marker Setup: 99' cocker, ans jackhammer II internals, delrin bolt, dye 45' trigger assembly / grip, evolution II hopper system, ans drop forward / bottom line for compressed air (not co2)
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil or draxxus shot very well
Strengths: accuracy, stabilized chrono, paint choices
Weaknesses: price, carry case, availiiblity
Review: well, i like the barrel kit, no question about it..

3 complaints, all about logistics related to the barrel system versus the operation of it.

1. their order entry / tracking system is pretty bad. no one could tell me when it was going to ship, or when it would arrive. i expect more than that for the price tag.

2. no competition or availiblilty to purchase online from another vendor. you can buy any other barrel system from any of 25 online stores and this in turn drives the prices down, which is good for the consumer. since i purchased directly from them, i had to pay full price. i hope that more companies begin to stock them, and that the prices go down, and selction goes up.

3. the "case " that they come in. all of the other barrel systems i looked at that cost LESS (freak, evil, etc.) come with a hard case to protect the DELICATE inserts. I've had my inserts for under 72 hours, and already chipped one of them by dropping something onto the soft case. i think powerlyte should provide a MUCH better case than the soft plastic case which really is just a holder, and provides no protection.

aside from those complaints, the barrel shoots VERY straight, with great patterns. the dye 12' barrel i was using before is put to shame by comparison.

my advice would be to wait until more online stores stock them, and to purchase it from a reseller with a hard case at the same time.
Conclusion: if you can afford this, are patient, and don't mind purchasing a 3rd party carry case for the syste, then this is the system for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
38 Comments - Add Comment

Boski Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Stock Barrel, All American, SM-1 Barrel System 10, 14, 16 inch, and Freak Kit
Marker Setup: Rogue Factor Built AutoMag ULE RT Pro, Powerlyte Scepter 5 insert kit, Empire B loader and AA 2K Armegedon Bottle
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any and all
Strengths: Quality of milling. Customer Service while ordering. Mirror finish inside. HARD CASE NOW!
Weaknesses: Needs more porting-maybe.
Review: I have changed my mind completely on this barrel. I thought the SM1s were better. However, I have shot the SMs for a year now and that is a good barrell. The however comes when I tried the Scepters for my latest marker-the Rouge Factor Built Custom ULE RT Mag.

All I can say is: OUTSTANDING!!! This thing shoots Darts! The construction is perfect and the finish inside and out is very very nice.

You will like this barrell system.
Conclusion: Buy this system-you will NOT be sorry.

And NO I AM NOT A SPONSERED PLAYER-just a happy customer!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trickedtrix Sunday, January 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Smart Parts, J&J, Custom Products, Titanium Paintball barrels
Marker Setup: Custom Anodized Purple/Black Matrix w/bolt kit and trinity
CenterFlag Dynaflow 68ci 4500
12" PowerLyte Scepter System w/SS back and all 5 inserts
Smoke HALO B with Aardvark HALO ultra Low-rise

Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you like
Strengths: I purchased the stainless steel back with all 5 inserts. It's lighter than a boomstick, but heavier that my Aluminum Freak. It's got a very unique report, unlike any barrel I've ever used. Quieter than the freak, but not as quiet as the Custom Products kit. I just played with it yesterday with PMI premium paintballs and I didn't have one break out of an entire case. The balls went right where I wanted them with the .690 insert (the paint was rather large). I thought it was more accurate than the Freak, but seemed to have the same trajectory and distance as with the custom products kit. Overall I was quite pleased with my latest paintball purchase.
Weaknesses: Powerlyte only offers 5 bore inserts, where the freak offers 8. I travel to different fields often, and find that one must have many barrels to choose from in order to get the perfect fit for whatever paint is available. I'm not holding that against PowerLyte however, since most of the aftermarket barrel kits only offer 5 bores to choose from.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone needing to be able to shoot different bore size paint. More accurate than any stock barrel, and looks fantastic attached to any marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Esprit_inCANADA Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Full Freak Kit
Marker Setup: 2k1 Adrenalin Angel

-14'' Scepter
-Dye Breech Knob
-Dye Volumizers
-Dye High Rise
-Dye Sight Rail
-Spiral Mini Reg
-Evil On-Off
-A4 Bolt
-SS Hammer
-PMI 68/3000 w/JT Tank Cover
-12 Volt Revy w/X-Board, Vortex Impellor, and VL Game Timer


Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Review Body Below
Weaknesses: Review Body Below
Review: I have ued numerous barrels on numerous markers over the months not being completely satisfied. I had never actually heard of the Scepter kit like most people untell I saw it in action and was amazed.

Look: Its kinda looks like a freak and boomstick in the same barrel, very sexy looking barrel.

Weight: Its lighter then most barrels on the market right now.

Sound: It however is louder then most barrels due to its porting, although the sound it makes is very cool and unique.

Accuracy: I was simply amazed by what this barrel can do, with my angel I got ball on ball accuracy due to its +- 1 consistency over the chrono. Shoots any paint with astonishing accuracy. My indoor feild has practises for there tournament players with unlimited seconds paint that is picked up off the ground and cleaned, it being over a month old makes it obviously bad paint but even with a scepter it shot darts.

Efficieny: This barrel alone gave me an extra 250 shots at least per fill on my gun, the increase in efficiency would probably have to be on of the best things this barrel offers.

Quality: It comes with a soft small carrying case for the 7 piece kit. Every part of this kit is made VERY well and I have'nt had a problem with it. I could'nt tell you about there customer service because I have never had to call them about anything. I actually droped my scpeter tip firts onto the concrete and it didnt dent,scratch or nic it at all.




Conclusion: As far as barrels go this is THE BARREL. It is definately ahead of its time and beats all barrels in performance. I would definately buy this barrel again and again as a matter a fact I will never be caught shooting another barrel again unless sponsorship says otherwise. The only thing that comes close to the scepters performance is the CP kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2004 at 6:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MedicBanks Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak and Custom Products
Marker Setup: Custom Mini Works Cocker
E-Blade
PowerLyte Scepter System
Evo 2
88/4500 Pure Energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you like, personally I use marbs or evil
Strengths: Sleeves lock in tight.
Easy to clean
Comes with a nice case
Basically it does what it is suppose to do
Weaknesses: I haven't been able to find anything bad about this barrel
Conclusion: The Powerlyte is a great barrel. The inserts don't move around like some other barrels. It looks pretty good, not quite as good as the new style freaks, but form follows function. This barrel outperforms the freak and the CP. I haven't tried the Evil Pipe yet so I can't say it's better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballz Tuesday, December 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak , and any barrel with various bore sleeves
Marker Setup: 02 cocker with drop fow. ,68 3000 psi, supa-fly bolt , shocktech pnuematics , messiah reg , powerlyte scepter barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
well , its up to you with this barrel
Strengths: -better than freak because of the price , internals , and lock in sleev system
-sleeves stay in place no matter what
-no o-rings to oil when changing sleeves or setup
-quality is unmatched
-looks awsome
-easy to clean with jerk squeegie
-porting actually helps direct the airflow improving my consistency , effeciantcy
and accuracy
Weaknesses: nothing really , it just doesnt have as many bores as the freak because the freak is pattented , its not a biggie
Conclusion: beyond a blessing from the paintball heavens because i cant afford the freak , and this is 3 times better. the best barrel system ive ever owned , shot and spoken of period!!!!!!!! good luck and remember-saftey first
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media